Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Walled towns Competition

• 22-09-2006 10:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭

Here ye, here ye

Ther be a walled towns photo competition happening at your nearest walled town. you have been warned. Prizes between 250 - 500 squids and all you need to do is take a nice picture of a poxy ancient wall. :)

http://www.heritagecouncil.ie/walled_towns/WTDay06_photocomp.html

also i propose some sort of sobreity test should be enabled for those of us let near a pc on a friday nght but maybe that s for another thread:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭bp_me

8. Derry City Council reserves the right to reproduce and exhibit without fee any image in connection with the event with due acknowledgement to the author.

This is in all the counties t&cs. I'm told this is illegal under the most recent applicable law though (can't remember the year or act though)

edit:

I think this is it http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2000_28.html

I could be wrong, but I don't think I am this time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Dundhoone

Doesnt bother me too much im taking pictures for fun!

Course if it appeared in 'jihad weekly' i'd be very upset. amd litigous. or however you spell pissed off legally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

It doesn't matter if you are doing it for fun or not. You are still being used. Photography competitions that take the liberty of using your creativity for their own personal gain should be blacklisted.

You attach more value to your photos than I do to mine.
    In fairness your pics are more valuable than what i've taken so far, you have lots more experience in this hobby/work than I do.
    I went out, shot a few pictures to enter in one of the competitions. None of them worked out too well - I wouldnt post any of em on my flickr , so that really puts them in perspective quality wise :)
    I'd rather print them up and stick them in for a chance at a few quid than just delete them!

I thought there might be a few more on the forum that might be interested in this, thats why i posted it.

I can see what you mean by being used - It would cost them a lot more than 250 - 500 quid to get a pro in to take publicity shots for them.

Dundhoone wrote:
    It would cost them a lot more than 250 - 500 quid to get a pro in to take publicity shots for them.

That's true but that's not the problem. I'd have no problem in them using the pic if I won. The problem is that they use people by making the rules so that by merely entering they have the right. That's robbery.

yes but its a local competition run by local authorities. Ultimately if they use an entry it will likely be to promote that town - to the betterment of the town.
    So by entering, you'd be doing a public service!

The best pic I took so far depicts a vandalised statue of mary next to a graffitied wall which connects to the historical wall.......methinks they wont like that one too much!

Methinks too that they will pay the designer and the printer of the brochure or whatever it is. If so why not pay the photographer? Are photographers supposed to be the only ones with cicic spirit.

That said I have let my pictures be used by local authorities for nothing, but it is nice to be asked nicely ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

ah crap!
    i was going to enter this, there's one on in my town

now i'm not so sure :(

still it'd be nice to win, although worse to lose and then see your pic in some brochure

wonder would the local politicians like the dirt that could be flung around if that happened, small print or not!!

it's a dilemma

ok I've read the fine print and i think the sentence "reserves the right to reproduce and exhibit without fee any image in connection with the event with due acknowledgement " is the important one

the event (one event! not eventS, not on every brochure, billboard etc.) the event in question is i presume the the Irish Walled Towns Day which was launched on 27 Aug last.

I'm not a lawyer but I'd say that clause restricts them from using a photograph submitted for the competition for anything else except the one event.
    i think i'll enter and keep an eye if they use my photograph for anything else which is very unlikely :rolleyes:

i've decided to enter this....see my legal interpretation above ;)

does anyone know do i need to write " © my name " or anything to ensure it is copyrighted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

I'm still trying to find the "Historic Defensive Wall" in Galway - anyone know where it is?? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭leche solara

The site where the competition is advertised says:

he following towns will be organising a Local Photographic Competition under the following theme:

“Historic defensive walls have left unique and visible impressions on our Irish towns and cities”

1. Athenry
    2. Athlone
    3. Carlingford
    4. Carrickfergus
    5. Derry
    6. Dublin
    7. Drogheda
    8. Fethard
    9. Galway
    10. Kilmallock
    11. Waterford
    12. Wexford
    13. Youghal

Yet when you click on the PDF link to see competition entry details you are brought into Derry City Photographic competition, and you're told that "Images must feature Derry's City Walls"
    You could use up a lot of your prize money getting to Derry and back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

I'm still trying to find the "Historic Defensive Wall" in Galway - anyone know where it is?? :o

I'd imagine it'd be...the Galway wall? You know, the one running through Eyre Square shopping centre?

I have a print of a photo taken of that, kinda. Worth a shot (unintended.). However, there are no entry details for the Galway City version at all (assuming there is one), only the Athenry one. So, given that it closes tommorrow, I'm just gonna walk up there with my photo and hope for the best!

Fobia wrote:
    I'd imagine it'd be...the Galway wall? You know, the one running through Eyre Square shopping centre?

LOL - thanks for that Fobia, will take a look at the weekend as havent been in there since I moved here.

the week-end will be too late for the competition it closed at 5pm on fri 29 Sep 06

Folks, it seems that some of the competitions closed on the 29th but others are open until the 12/13th october, so check with whatever county or town council is nearest.

they should be giving out a map of where the wall is still visable around the town, you have to mark where you took the pic........just so they can be sure it's there wall and not some other sexy looking wall from elsewhere!

oh!

it was different in my area, no map or anything, you just had to state when and where you took the photograph. All mine were of the same area.
    Although the heritage council websit had indicated that there were photographic competitions in the places as outlined in leche solara's post, i had taken shots of the very well preserved mediveal walls in the town of Fethard only to discover that they had not in fact any competition at all.

oh well...

Fionn wrote:
    the week-end will be too late for the competition it closed at 5pm on fri 29 Sep 06

Notr that fussed if it is, will check the webby later to see if I am still in luck. But I was more interested in knowing where it was/see it etc from a presonal point of view.

Maybe some of them were more organised than others.

Shame about Fethard, theres lots of historical building there.

@mike, I cant think of anywhere other than eyre square fo rthe original wall.
    if you are really interested, check this out. if you are familiar with the shapes of the streets as they are today, you can pick some of them out on this map

http://www.galway.net/galwayguide/history/hardiman/chapter1/old_map.html

actually might be something wrong with that link so look here instead:

[URL="http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Image:Old-Galway.jpg[/URL]

Dundhoone wrote:
    @mike, I cant think of anywhere other than eyre square fo rthe original wall.
    if you are really interested, check this out. if you are familiar with the shapes of the streets as they are today, you can pick some of them out on this map

http://www.galway.net/galwayguide/history/hardiman/chapter1/old_map.html

actually might be something wrong with that link so look here instead:

[URL="http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Image:Old-Galway.jpg[/URL]

Really appreciate the info there. Will print it off and have a gander a bit later. :D

Looks like nobody entered in the adult section for galway :P

Would have been easy money!

http://www.heritagecouncil.ie/walled_towns/photo_comp_winners.html

I got an honourable mention and some book tokens for "second" (there wasnt an offical second place!)place overall, but the 500 squids for the Cashel result was nice!

http://static.flickr.com/110/262556075_ebeaecfa5c_b.jpg

Worth entering though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Fair play, well done!

Hmm...looks like I won the Galway childrens one! No sign of a prize or anything yet, but sure even if there's nothing going for it it'll be nice for the'ol portfolio :)

should be something for that Fobia, get on to them!
    the kudos is nice, but the cash is nicer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

well done.. as Dundhoone says, the pat on the back kicks ass, but cash buys you gadgets :D

Thanks guys, I'll give it a few days (in case they sent a letter or somesuch), then I'll ring to see what's what..

hey
    well done on your achievements
    i didn't get a mention honorable or otherwise!! ;)

it's prolly sour grapes on my behalf but i didn't think the adult overall winner was anything fantastic, the children's entry i thought was pretty good tho!!