Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Per-fect... (boxer fight vid)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

What the ****? Why is there someone recording this? Why do those 2 guys hit the girl? This doesnt make anysense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Im not sure if the first guy didnt hit yer mans burd by accident. Still thats a very unhealthy mindset that boxer has, he should picked the missus up and ran away :D

Tho other point of note is that his arsekicking skills are actually enhanced by the funky tracksuit, i want one

Three of my mates were once knocked out by a boxer on graton street, bambambam one after t'other. Two of em had sovreign ring indentations on their faces for a week after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

I totally agree about the tracksuit!!

Peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭scuttery1

Them trackies can only be purchased from the once dismal side of the iron curtain or by time travelling to d'eighties:D
    Match em with a pair of patent leather slip ons and you be da man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭crazy monkey

Why is this being filmed?
    Possible reasons...the boxer wants to be an actor nad/or enchance his rep...
    But most likely it's the two guys who start the attack [well on the woman at least] who want it filmed.
    The camera seems very focused on them and the camera man is smart enough to film through the trees as the attack turns into a beating which is waht I presume, since we start to hear the screams of the girlfriend.

Why was this a load of cack?

The guy who hits the girl threw a really crap backfist...she was fazed but not badly hurt [thankfully].
    The two guys in the jeans [not the funly yellow and gold bruce lee inspired tracksuit ps I want one too] are not very effective from what we can see in their attack.
    The boxer however makes many mistakes.
    Here's what I think...feel free to disagree...

After the woman is hit, get her moving , get her out of the danger zone and cover her back...this may mean fleeing the scene himself.
    Or get her moving and then confront the two guys.
    If he chooses to confron the two guys [he was lucky they didn't attack together, as he might of got a real kicking -kind of silly for them not to attack together???] he should have hammered them...

When/if I am ever unlucky enough to be in this type of situation...
    I will not take the chance on two guys coming after me...I will leave them incapacitated...not stabbed/slashed or have chunks bitten out of them but unconcsious or with a break or two...

Then I will run my sweet deriere after my chick and try not to get arrested myself...

Opinions please???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

do you reckon that was planned and all 3 of them new each other? Why did he stop? he could have knocked them out cold when they were down? how come one stood back while the other took a beating? seems very staged all round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

very strange video, lots of questions :confused:

the 2 guys looked drunk to me and the 'attack' looked almost like a mistake?

but the guy did look like a fairly tasty boxer and showed just how devasting the 'sweet science' can be

confirms my personal opinion that the number 1 delivery system for dealing with the physical side of a violent confrontation is boxing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭damo

Sweet...all it was missing was a few head stomps when the knacker was on the ground with his ass hanging out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

I would agree that the strike on the girl seemed almost accidental, the striker never looked to see who was coming behind him?

The boxer knocked the guys down but not "out". He should have kicked them in the head to keep them down, no point tackling Guy #2 when #1 is behind you and carrying who knows what, or just knows how to rear naked choke!

After the fight, both of the initial players are up and presumably pissed? (Angered rather than inebriated)

Being those guys, I'd have pursued the Trackie boxer and enquired why he reacted so violently, and would he care to try again with two men ready for him this time. If he didn't leg it I see a poor outcome for Trackie Boxer :(

confirms my personal opinion that the number 1 delivery system for dealing with the physical side of a violent confrontation is boxing.

I love agreeing with John, and this is another chance to do so! :D

CLassical boxing, with or without Bare Knuckle additions, is sweet! Given a "Do Over" I think I would take on Boxing, Judo and Thai over any other Arts!

I have given this a lot of thought, not been posting here much and just trying to get back to regular training and checking where my head is at. Mini Early Mid-Life Crisis?

Either way, my thinking is this.

Boxing is the best way to throw bombs on an opponnent, we are, I think, all open to that idea? Modified a little for "street" with no gloves, palm strikes will replace most strikes to bony bits but the delivery system remains boxing :D The avoidance skills and footwork would be worth the time spent training in any case!

Judo gives us clinch and a way to throw an opponnent and remain standing hopefuly? This is a better fit (for me) with RBSD ideas than going to ground. Of course "some" Judo will teach ground finishes, but head stomping will do if they don't? BJJ will allow us to extricate and stand up again, but won't Judo do the same, if we happen to get dragged down with our throwee?
    I'm not ragging on BJJ here, just looking from an outside perspective. I haven't an SBG locally, closest Judo is thirty miles away where Dlofnep is training currently. If I could learn something from those styles, it would be more aimed towards negating the gap in my skills and enabling getting back into striking range. I don't need to be high ranked in those systems, just need enough to not get mugged by an unfamiliar range!

Thai I'm including for it's low level kicking, and elbow strikes, and the integration with clinch! I can kick low using TKD, but if the guy latches on to me I have to get him off to strike? Thai will let me move to Thai Clinch/Knees/Throws and maybe transition to Judo takedowns or he'll peel out to boxing range? Happy Days in any case!

I do still enjoy TKD training, understanding it's limits and training within or around them. I want to veer my training in the above direction, but any class I can get to I will try to learn from. If Luke has been in touch with Pearse, maybe he can persuade Luke to go the MMA route? He's not far off it at the moment in fairness, very open to new training and ideas. He's just bought a stack of mats for the clubs he runs!

I am not saying I don't rate the "Big Six"..... Boxing, Thai, Judo, BJJ,Sambo and Wrestling (Greco, Freestyle or Cornish)

Just for me and my prefered range, Boxing, Judo and Thai would seem to have it all!

Any opinions or feedback appreciated and will be taken for serious consideration unless patently humorous (MMA Conspiracy, I'm looking at you!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I have just been trawling the internet looking for a place to buy that tracksuit. No joy.

Another sweet tracksuit was Ray Liotta's in Goodfellas when he was in prison...

Hmmm... on topic?

Roper wrote:
    I have just been trawling the internet looking for a place to buy that tracksuit. No joy.

you and me both :(

this is the closest i got, looks like its karate compatible

adidas_suit_azul_amarillas.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭droc

I don't think the video's that strange, apart from the reason someone was filming it which I just can't figure out.

The boxer wails on the first guy when he hits his bird (normal), as for the other guy not immediately getting involved, he looked to me like he was trying to tell him it was an accident or something and talk the boxer down (normal)

DROC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭droc

After a second look, I'm not sure how accidental the slap on the girl was, the dude seems to look to his left in the direction of the oncoming couple before he throws the hand out.

DROC

the slap doesnt look completely accidental, also note bloke no. 2 cops the guy and his burd as they walks towards them and might have said something to mister happy slap. Either way, neither of them are agressive towards the dude but they keep making the mistake of repeatedly getting up and walking towards him. Not a good idea when someone with those hands has flicked the kill-smash-destroy to "on"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Jimkel

It just looks accidental to me, and the boxer must of had a "hard man" attitude and just took it as an excuse to hit some people. Very highly strung.

As for who was filming. It looked like the two guys were drunk and having one of those Drunk Hugging arguements! Argue/hug Argue/hug ya know the ones you see in town on a saturday night. Maybe the person was filming because they heard them outside their flat and tought they were gonna fight! People do have cam phones, pretty handy.

A few weeks ago some Toe rags fecked a rock at a window of my house, Luckily (And oddly) a neighbor filmed them in the act on her cam phone so they were caught. You would be suprised what people film.

If it's real of course. Still he did kick some ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

yes, I have questions to why this incident happened. Looks like drink was involved for sure. but lets look at the fight itelf.

The boxer did a good job....good aggressive, forward moving, basic punches.
    Sure he made a mistake, he turn his back to the guy he punched up the hill, but under pressure its hard to get it all perfect.

Yes, that was good SD in my opinion. I could see where a wee bit of Muay Thai could have fitted in, moving to kness and elbow. (or combatives...which is very same same)

That sort of boxing ability of 70s- 80s Trackie man, can only be gained by hard training, hard fast pad work, plenty of sparring, and bag and conditioning etc. Thats the sort of training I am working on now.

Of course, if the 2 drunks attacked at once, one big have to consider the nasty....eye gouge, or a good bite in the cliche range...that would certainly dispatch one guy very fast.... and thats a fact! ;-)

On boxing I am reading a copy of Championship Fighting by Jack Dempsey and it is outstanding for getting ideas for boxing training.

PS I had a black addis silk looking trackie with white stripes and loose pants legs (as in not elastic at the bottom) it was a real great pimp Huggie Bear Trackie. Especially when you can wear top with no T Shirt under it, and show off the chest hair!! Went well with Old Spice aftershave! LOL! I would love to get the same trackie again... I bought it in Ibiza!

For more comments on this fight, please click on this link to another MA forum...

http://selfprotection.lightbb.com/viewtopic.forum?t=888