Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feeding fat kids McDonalds and other junk is child abuse!

• 21-09-2006 10:26pm

This pic got me thinking.

The kid has absolutley no idea of the consequences of stuffing his face full of rubbish. Yet his parents who obviously couldn't give a flying fook about their childs welfare allow him to pile the McD into him.

And if anyone was watching Sky news over the weekend you probably saw the interview with the Scottish mother who threatened to take their child out of school unless that school reverses the healthy eating policy and ban on selling junk food in the cafeteria. This particular mother went so far as stuffing take away food through the gates of the school so their child could get their daily amount of grease!!

It is up to the parents to ensure that a child gets 100% RDA of vitamins etc. If a child does not get their fill of vitamins then they are not operating at an optimum level for school therefore they will grow up fat and stupid.

So considering that should it be made law to ensure parents do not allow a child to become obese?

Should it be made law to ensure parents do not allow a child to become obese? 51 votes

Yes, hang em all
    0% 0 votes
    No, stuff them all
    100% 51 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

And if anyone was watching Sky news over the weekend you probably saw the interview with the Scottish mother who threatened to take their child out of school unless that school reverses the healthy eating policy and ban on selling junk food in the cafeteria. This particular mother went so far as stuffing take away food through the gates of the school so their child could get their daily amount of grease!!

Well she's a bloody disgrace :mad: That is outrageous.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Pardon me while I yawn.

Ive been eating McDonalds litreally since before I was born. I ate it throughout my childhood, my teens, and to the present day. Im 5`8 odd and weigh 10 stone. Admittedtly, when it comes to running I could do better, but the fact is physically im probably on the skinny side. Some people are just worse affected than others. Though Ive cut it a bit lately, last year my typical day consisted of

Morning- cornflakes coated in sugar

1pm- fly up from college to mackers for a meal

6pm- fly up to KFC/BK/Mackers again for a meal. If not this then Id get a local chipper or a pizza delivered. Through all this I was never more than 10.25 stone. Unfortunately some people are just pre dermined to be fat. If your kid is growing fat, quit feedin them mackers. If they appear to be fine, its no harm.

btw, that jkid is from the fmr USSR rep of Georgia. I doubt most families in the USSR can afford to eat in McDonalds every day, so you can hardly blame it purely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Michelin baby to be honest.

Some parents have no sense, children need a little discipline in their lives.

I dont believe you.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Goldfinger

Saw a show last night in a similar vein, some footballer stuck with a bunch of obnoxious overweight kids in an attempt to get them into a better lifestyle, and essentially save their life. I really felt for the poor guy, he was giving it loads and most of the kids just wanted a slap.
    Interestingly, though, the ones that seemed to do the best were the ones getting decent support at home.
    But why on earth should it be a struggle to convince any decent parent that it's essential to their child's well-being to not be fat?

You see these people all the time , particularly on american TV, "Oh, but my poor little Jimmy cries if I don't let him stuff his fat little face at burger king every day of the week"...so let him cry, you lazy cow! Good parenting sometimes means being unpopular for a while. Believe me, they'll thank you later.

Maybe a legal kick up the hole is all these people will understand.
    Can't see it happening, though, more's the pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

shane86 wrote:
    Pardon me while I yawn.

Ive been eating McDonalds litreally since before I was born. I ate it throughout my childhood, my teens, and to the present day. Im 5`8 odd and weigh 10 stone. Admittedtly, when it comes to running I could do better, but the fact is physically im probably on the skinny side. Some people are just worse affected than others. Though Ive cut it a bit lately, last year my typical day consisted of

6pm- fly up to KFC/BK/Mackers again for a meal. If not this then Id get a local chipper or a pizza delivered. Through all this I was never more than 10.25 stone. Unfortunately some people are just pre dermined to be fat. If your kid is growing fat, quit feedin them mackers. If they appear to be fine, its no harm.

btw, that jkid is from the fmr USSR rep of Georgia. I doubt most families in the USSR can afford to eat in McDonalds every day, so you can hardly blame it purely.

Whether you put weight on or not thats not the general issue as a whole. Its still unhealthy and regardless of what you weight its ignorant to think its "fine" if it doesn't physically show. In fact, on that sort of a diet, you are probably in general health terms, not much better off then the fat kid in the picture!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

shane86 wrote:
    Pardon me while I yawn.

Jayzus man, have you checked your cholestorel level, blood pressure at a doc?

I fear you maybe headin to an early grave, its not all about weight you know, its about whats inside those mac/kfc meals which rot your insides, seriously.

Nobody minds eating them once in a while but eating those types of meals twice a day really can kill you.
    Check out the documentary 'Supersize Me', putting on extra weight was only a factor of those meals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

Im 5`8 odd and weigh 10 stone.
    10 stone actually sounds underweight for someone whos 20 and your height.. but seriously that diet is frightening! Have u been to the doctor lately to get your cholesterol or blood pressure or anything checked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

It was way OTT but I saw a number of interviews with the mother in question. She was feeding her kid this to highlight attention to her protest. She was campaigning that the school meals are of poor quality and lack any sort of variety at all etc etc etc.. She wants kids to have a greater selection of foods and was even arguing that the burger she was giving her kid for lunch was more nutricious than the **** the school were feeding the kids.. Something like that anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Goldfinger

shane86 wrote:

Ive been eating McDonalds literally since before I was born.

What does this mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Just to highlight that I do not agree with regulalry feeding kids bad food etc etc etc..

shane86 wrote:
    Pardon me while I yawn.

Let me repeat, I dont believe you... I think your full of ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

He admitted he's full of ****, did you not read his post?

TomCo wrote:
    He admitted he's full of ****, did you not read his post?

Yeah :D

Alot of questions :D

Righto, lets begin

Well, Goldfinger, I meant my oul one had a few mackers meals whiilst I was waitin to be born (or more like refuisng, I was 3 weeks overdue and refusing to move before I was forcibly evicted by caesarean :) )

Stepbar- sorry, but I am 10 stone. My body simply refuses to put on weight, and I eat a great deal of unehalthy, tasty crap. I always hover between 9.75 and 10.25. At stressful times in my life im down to the just under 10, when its all good im just over the 10 mark. Now, probably when Im 40 Ill look like Bobby Bacalla from the Sopranos, but for the moment my metababobolbabobilboism is on overdirve, keepin me slim, stunningly attractive but with the heart of a 90 yuear old chain smoker. :)

Gurramok- no, I didnt. My oul lad urged me to when I last visited the doctor (first time in 6 odd years, I only bothered going because I needed a sick cert for work), but when I heard it involved needles i said **** that. Sorry, but Im completely fearless against everything and anything, bar needles and dentists.

As for my health, Im only on the fast food once a day now, I get a nice potato and steak or pork dinner in work every day :) Ima start tryna get the heart running again soon, as tbh Im sick of spitting up streams of saliva after a 15 minute kickabout with the lads.

In all fairness a sandwich and a bag of crisps are cheaper than a Mickey D's. I dont understand how you dont put on weight... the calories alone :eek: Do you exercise???? It must be quare exercise if you do....

Not really. Last year, id walk 3/4 mile to college/ 3/4 back home, maybe 1/4 mile throughout the day within college (Blanch IT where ya at ma niggas :D ). So i walked 2 miles, but sure so do half the working people in this country id think.

Now I walk maybe 2.5 miles per day. Fat and my skin just do not have a connection line.....yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

shane86 wrote:
    Stepbar- sorry, but I am 10 stone. My body simply refuses to put on weight, and I eat a great deal of unehalthy, tasty crap. I always hover between 9.75 and 10.25.
    Visit the Fitness forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=252

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GAA widow

Have to say, fair enough it's a pic of a couple of obese kids, but I think it's v. unfair (have seen it in a couple of national newspapers) using pics of kids to highlight "obesity" when as far as they and their families are concerned they're being photographed at the beach or on a family day out (not for their weight issue).

Bet any of ye would be horrified if a pic of ye winded up with an "Obesity in Ireland on a par with the U S of A" headline above it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

GAA widow wrote:
    Bet any of ye would be horrified if a pic of ye winded up with an "Obesity in Ireland on a par with the U S of A" headline above it.

If someone was fat enough - particularly from eating shìt like that - to be compared with a morbidly obese yank, then I doubt they would have the self-respect to care about a photo being made public about it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Why to you think they call it a BIGMac?*

*Make Adolescents Chubby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

shane86 wrote:
    Now, probably when Im 40 Ill look like Bobby Bacalla from the Sopranos

You're planning on living into your 40s? lol :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Altogether now, (to the theme tune off Batman)

Nanny nanny nanny nanny nanny nanny nanny nanny NANNY STATE!!!

Be reasonable. That kid is a big one yes, but he has featured in many magazine articles simply because he is (and I mean this most respectfully) a freak of nature. As someone else pointed out, his family is quite poor, so Maccers is hardly a daily occurance. If I remember correctly as well, that kid is actually in surprisingly good health, and his mum has been commended by doctors on her ability to deal with his massive food requirements, and they are massive, and the vast majority of his intake is actually very healthy food.

MacDonalds is an easy target, but to say its child cruelty is just plain silly. I think its a case of "oh dear, my child is fat, who can I blame this on??" Now and again, its no harm, so should we really say that because a child is overweight, they should never get to have a "treat" in Maccers? If you're gonna impose this type of behaviour control on parents and their children, then it better go further than Mcdonalds. Lets see, I think I'll have some soup instead. In front of me is a pack of soup for my lunch today and it contains:
    Monosodium Glutonate, Salt, Citric acid, Beta Apo 8 (??) Maltodrexin, Carotenal extract, Emulsifiers, Guar gum thickener, Mono diglycerides, fatty acids and so on and so on. I'm no expert on food or its contents, but I doubt all of the above are going to make me fit and healthy. Okay, I understand that its the high fat and probably salt content that pees people off about Maccers, but whatabout home bake pizza? What about all the unhealthy sh*t people eat from chippers and deli counters, some on a daily basis? Look carefully at the contents of most of what we eat and you'll see a lot of bad things in there.

Let ye who eat only homegrown organic fruit and vegetables cast the first stone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

shane86 wrote:
    If they appear to be fine, its no harm.

Just as some advice, i suggest you get a full check up and blood work done?

Weight does not equal health after all. It is worth your while to overcome the fear of needles and get your blood work done and make sure you do not have anything.

This should be done by all men at least twice a year in my opinion.

While i find your attitude and treatment of the one life you have been given pretty laughable, i suggest you stop being cool for the sake of the internet and get checked. I'm sure there is someone in your life should undiagnosed anything but an end to you. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

The fat babies should just eat their parents, then head down the road to recovery

these ma's always make excuses

Oh, the doctor says hes fine
    I can't say no to him

they shud ask for a helicopter so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

shane86 wrote:
    Alot of questions :D

Now, probably when Im 40 Ill look like Bobby Bacalla from the Sopranos, but for the moment my metababobolbabobilboism is on overdirve, keepin me slim, stunningly attractive but with the heart of a 90 yuear old chain smoker. :)
    If you make it to 40, unfortunately, being thin doesn't always mean being healthy, the strange thing is some overweight people may actually be healthier and fitter than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I dont get how people can still eat McDonalds they are mank. Also you seem to crave it every 6 months just to see if it stil does in fact taste like muck. After you eat you feel slightly queezy roughly followed in a 1/2 hour by a nice healthy run to the nearest jax to spray the bowl.

Anything that goes through your bod that fast and stinks like that on the way out CANNOT be good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

My little sis, aged 11, was born 3 months premature, weighing just under 2lb.
    Mentally, she is top notch - no problems there, no learning disabilities or anything like that, and physically, to look at her, she his a little stunner, totally perfect, however, the one place it effects her in her every day life is in her walking, and running.
    The ligaments in the back of her right leg are very tight, which kinda shortens the leg slightly, meaning that she walks with a slight limp - and in 11 year old terms, it just means she will never be the first person picked to play on any of the sports teams :p

Anyhow, the reason I mention the above - because of her slight disability, it is somewhat more difficult for her to burn of calories - she doesn't get the same kind of exercises that the other kids get by running around, playing on the green, etc.

She is 4foot 10 and weighs 7stone 3lbs - she is weighed every week, and her diet is monitored.

The intention is not to give the kid a complex - the CRC asks that we do it because with the wrong diet, it would be very easy for her to pile on the pounds and become over weight.

She exercises with the CRC regularly, and we get her to do half an hour of her stretching exercises at home.

None of the above has ever felt like a burden to anyone in my family, and I can't help but wonder how other parents seem to neglect their children, who by rights should be perfectly healthy, by allowing them fast foods on a regular basis, and doing nothing to ensure they they live a healthy and active life.

I remember when I was about 13 I was starting to get into the whole, 'lets spend the day in MacDonald's hanging out with friends' thing, I piled on a bit of weight, nothing life threatening, but the difference was visible.

My mam never said anything to me about MY weight, but said that SHE wanted to get healthy and asked if I would start going on walks with her.

Basically, she knew I was an overly sensitive teen, and didn't want to offend me by telling me I had put on a bit of weight, so instead, she cleverly helped me to shed the weight, and as I was dropping the pounds, she showered me with compliments about how great I looked - so I then wanted to say slim and healthy all by myself.

I appreciate what my parents have done for myself, and my siblings, but I don't think it should be considered 'above the call of duty', I think it is what all parents should be doing to ensure their children live fit and healthy lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

This topic reminds me of a program that I saw on obese kids, think it was based in California. It was about a little girl who was severly obese and was struggling to even walk. She had to have an oxygen mask at home & her meals would consist of maccy d's, taco bell, etc.. Her mother would keep buying this crap for her. She had to go to the hospital for some operation, can't remember what it was but on the way home from the hospital they go to the drive-thru... :eek:

Parents have to held responsible. Kids are not knowledgeable enough to realise the consequences of eating crap food. And it's not just the Maccy D's, it's also the crap that over worked parents throw out to their kids in the evenings. I think our education system should also be partly held responsible, it's a joke. There is a lot of crap taught that is of abosultely no relevance to us in later life. How about having a proper education system that includes health & nutrition, driving skills, budgeting and so on... things that everyone needs in later life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

jester77 wrote:
    Parents have to held responsible. Kids are not knowledgeable enough to realise the consequences of eating crap food. And it's not just the Maccy D's, it's also the crap that over worked parents throw out to their kids in the evenings.

I wholeheartedly agree.

As we are sharing anecdotes, I was recently staying over in a friends house, they have three kids, the oldest of which is obese at ten years of age. Now I like a good fry especially after a few pints but at breakfast the child ate more than me (a thirty-something year old man). The parents just sat there and tried to discourage the child, but she persisted. I couldn't help but notice the crap the parents were feeding the kids during the course of the two nights I stayed with them. It is no wonder these kids, and their parents, are regulars at the local doctors. A constant diet of rubbish, topped up with antibiotics is what these kids are being reared on.

And no doubt this is being repeated across the country, especially in lower-income families. So yes, I agree, parents should held accountable. Education is the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

jester77 wrote:
    Parents have to held responsible. Kids are not knowledgeable enough to realise the consequences of eating crap food.

However if you see the crap that adults post up in the fitness forum about how they can't lose weight and then you see the crap they are eating you will realise that most adults don't even know what a good diet is so how are they meant to tell their Kids
    jester77 wrote:
    I think our education system should also be partly held responsible, it's a joke. There is a lot of crap taught that is of abosultely no relevance to us in later life. How about having a proper education system that includes health & nutrition, driving skills, budgeting and so on... things that everyone needs in later life.

This is the real problem. The goverment are complaining about how much obesity is going to cost the health service and the cost to the exchequer, but what are they doing about it, feck all. Prople say there should be a ban on unhealthy food or a tax on unhealty food, will this lead to a drop in obesity rates no cause people will just pay th eexcess or worse just pick cheaper food products with even less nutrients. The only way the goverment will be able to cure this is by educating the public about what an actual healty diet consists of and how people can work out for themselves their daily nutrient needs and how to get them from different type of food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

shane86 wrote:
    Not really. Last year, id walk 3/4 mile to college/ 3/4 back home, maybe 1/4 mile throughout the day within college (Blanch IT where ya at ma niggas :D ). So i walked 2 miles, but sure so do half the working people in this country id think.

Now I walk maybe 2.5 miles per day. Fat and my skin just do not have a connection line.....yet.

I am a bit like this in college my diet was similar to what you describe and I have always been a size 8-10. I do eat a lot healthier now but I will never be obsessed with it I dont want to turn into the 'humous and chick pea' crowd. I still eat take away at least twice a week and have some chocolate everyday.
    Fat kids really are awful. I don't think diet is the only thing to blame I see so many overweight kids who just sit on their arse watching tv or playing playstation kids don't run around or climb trees anymore. yes their parents should not be allowing them to eat all of this crap but I often see where parenst are tryin to get their kids to do excercise and eat well - but often kids do not want to be fat but do not want to stop eating junk and doing no excercise either! my solution? A poster of an obese child on the wall. Parents can then explain to their kids that if they keep eating and watching tv they will end up looking like that. Whats sad though is that there are mothers like that one in scotland out there who do not try to persuade their kids to be fit and healthy and are encouraging them to eat junk all day everyday. Its even worse to see that this school tried to change and provide healthy food for the students and this mother could not see the benefits of that - someone get Jamie Oliver onto her quicksmart!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

I thought there was going to be a tax on certain foods. Wasn't there? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

shane86 wrote:
    Pardon me while I yawn.

Living on a diet like that daily is seriously not good for you, whether you put on weight or not is not the issue, but the serious damage you are doing to your body. Fast-food diets like this are likely to make you prone to heart-disease at a young age.

Perhaps you should look at the docu-movie Supersize me and perhaps you may think twice in future about trying to become McDonalds customer of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

tom dunne wrote:
    I wholeheartedly agree.
    As we are sharing anecdotes, I was recently staying over in a friends house, they have three kids, the oldest of which is obese at ten years of age. Now I like a good fry especially after a few pints but at breakfast the child ate more than me (a thirty-something year old man).

Well as a 10 year boy who is probably more active then you he would actually need more calories per day then you, especially as he doesn't get the calories you are getting form the pints the night before.;)

Ye I know the point you are making is that he was eating unhealty food etc etc, but the point I am trying to make is that the adult population itself doesn't have a decent understanding of foods so unless the goverment do something to educate people, we are just going to end up in a circle where bad eating habits are passed from one generation to the next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

A tax on certain foods???!! what a joke why does the govt decide sh*t like this without letting us vote? If I want to eat mcdonalds or KFC I will damn well eat it and should not be charged to do so. Am I to be taxed because these parents allow their kids to eat constantly and never switch of the ps2 and make them get a bit of excercise f**ks sake

As for 'supersize me' this documentary was ridiculously flawed! If they had taken an average Joe with an average diet and done this I would have been interested. Instead they took a vegan who ate unprocessed food, no dairy and no meat. Of course he got sick he would have gotten sick if he had just been switched to a normal diet with meat and dairy rather than mcdonalds!!- the human body just cant handle such a quick change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

...they took a vegan who ate unprocessed food, no dairy and no meat. Of course he got sick he would have gotten sick if he had just been switched to a normal diet with meat and dairy rather than mcdonalds!!- the human body just cant handle such a quick change

No they didn't. He ate what every "normal Joe" would eat. His girlfriend was a vegan chef, and after the documentary he ate vegan (maybe just vegetarian) for a few months to lose the weight and get back in shape then went back to meat eating.

At least, that's how I remember it, maybe I am wrong :confused:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

As for 'supersize me' this documentary was ridiculously flawed! If they had taken an average Joe with an average diet and done this I would have been interested. Instead they took a vegan who ate unprocessed food, no dairy and no meat. Of course he got sick he would have gotten sick if he had just been switched to a normal diet with meat and dairy rather than mcdonalds!!- the human body just cant handle such a quick change
    It was more than a case of him getting sick while on the diet, but that he became addicted to the fast-food and the damage it was being done to his body, his health was seriously deteriorating after about a fortnight.

Do remember this documentary went far enough to get scare enough people to take notice that Mcdonalds started putting healthy food options to their menu. You can call it flawed if you like, but one thing it did do was to show the dangers of eating a pure fast-food diet and the dangers you're putting on your body by doing so.

A tax on certain foods???!! what a joke why does the govt decide sh*t like this without letting us vote? If I want to eat mcdonalds or KFC I will damn well eat it and should not be charged to do so.

I am vehemently opposed to any form of extra tax, but think about it - the reason the plastic bags dissappeared from our landscape was because of the 15c charge.

People don't respond to words, they respond to the stick. If fast food was made as expensive as "normal" food, then, in theory at least, people wouldn't buy it as much. Couple that with a reduced rate of tax on fruit/vegtables and you may just have a recipe for success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

tom dunne wrote:
    If fast food was made as expensive as "normal" food, then, in theory at least, people wouldn't buy it as much. Couple that with a reduced rate of tax on fruit/vegtables and you may just have a recipe for success.

Actually, on the whole, living on fast food is far more expensive that living on normal food.

I do my weeks shopping for about 80 quid a week, and bear in my mind that i am a bodybuilding hopeful who's nutritional needs would be far above the norm. If you have a glance around the fitness forum you can find threads that describe my diet, but needless to say, eating 6 to 8 meals a day, made up of good healthy foods, lean meats, fruit and veg, low GI carbs and healthy fats is hardly breaking the bank.

And the normal person would need far less food than me during a week.

If i were to eat all my food from takeaways and chippers and even resturants the cost would be ridiculous. The same for any other person.

This is a case of Tesco FTW.

Dragan wrote:
    Actually, on the whole, living on fast food is far more expensive that living on normal food.

I couldn't agree more.

I can knock up a dinner for two with fresh (or frozen) veg, rice/spuds and grilled meat for around 10 Euro.

What's a Bic Mac meal cost these days? 6-7 Euro per person?

Again, it's back to education - I don't think people realise how cheap fresh fruit and veg is. I make a lot of juices and my weekly bill for fruit is around 10 Euro. That's 7 days worth of healthy juices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

What a stupid poll, and a fair few ignorant over smplistic comments too.

Just some of the issues.

Parenting skills

Most parents want the best for their children. However parenting is a skill. You dont inherit it or suddenley become a parent. Hence getting your child to ear what you would like them to eat is not straightforward, nor a simple matter of laying down the law.

Cost factor

In addition for parents on low incomes, unhealthy food is cheaper. In supermacs you can get a double bacon cheeseburger, chips and a coke for €3.50. How much for a nice balanced meal in a fast food joint?
    (Baked spud. topping and drink approx €6 euro?)
    (grilled chicken bagutte and drink 7-8 euro?)

Health issues

Finally some kids can be overweight for other reasons than bad parenting and bad diets. Problems with metabolism, overactive thyroid, inability to exercise due to medical conditions etc are just some of the reasons children can be overweight, and even obese.

If you dont know the whole story, you can t assume the parents are to blame

X

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

shane86 wrote:
    Pardon me while I yawn.

haha, I hope youre a troll...because if not, you are some idiot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

tax on certain foods???!! what a joke why does the govt decide sh*t like this without letting us vote? If I want to eat mcdonalds or KFC I will damn well eat it and should not be charged to do so

I think this is the most important part of the discussion.
    I cant believe the result on the poll. Its unbelievable that we have become so conditioned to obey that now the majority of people want the gov to monitor what we weigh.

To capitulate so readily on this issue is a sign of how molly coddled we have become as a society, expecting the gov to take responsibility for what we ourselves should be doing.

Archeron wrote:

It's a curse. I can't even get into my car after a good few pints now and weave home because of the State interfering over some 'greater good' crap. They even try to control my body, I can't drop a few e's or shoot up over the weekend because of the bloody nanny state. Just keep them away from taxing food, it's all a stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

jester77 wrote:
    I think our education system should also be partly held responsible, it's a joke. There is a lot of crap taught that is of abosultely no relevance to us in later life. How about having a proper education system that includes health & nutrition, driving skills, budgeting and so on... things that everyone needs in later life.

You are taught these skills, apart from the driving. It's called Home Economics, you learn cooking and nutrition, budgeting skills, sexual health and parenting, basic first aid and human biology, dressmaking and mending and basic diy such as how to change a plug or put up a shelf. Just because few boys ever choose this subject doesn't mean it isn't on the curriculum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Yeah I saw that thing on Sky news, was it blatantly obvious to anyone else that the woman just saw an oppertunity to make a lot of money by delivering chipper to the kids and took it, and started spouting out all that riduculas crap about just giving the kids more choice when she got caught. Didn't she own the local chipper aswell? I don't really have any strong feelings one way or the other about kids eating chipper food but she could at least be honest about her motives instead of trying to make out she was on some kind of noble campaign.

Then when she was asked why she thought it was ok to give the food to the kids she said "I'm not forcing this food on the kids I'm just giving them the choice, they don't have to eat it", now I know its not the same thing but that is exactly, exactly, word for word the excuse drug dealers give for selling drugs outside schools, it just made me smile, I was just waiting for her to say she was running a special offer, the first burger is free. But like I say its not really the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Aoide

http://img139.exs.cx/img139/999/fatkid0cp.jpg

Something seems odd about that picture. I'm not saying there aren't children that look like that, but this child looks like he's wearing a fat suit. Notice his right arm at the wrist. doesn't it look like it can't be connected to his hand? Anyone else notice that?