Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arrogant Kerry fans.

• 19-09-2006 10:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭

Having seen a lot of Dublin fanbashing on this (myself included) I have to say I was not impressed by the attitude of some of the Kerry fans last Sunday. I arrived with my Roscommon flag (Rossie for the day) for my first All-Ireland was on my own (Billy no mates) in the upper Hogan, having got a late ticket. The minor final kicked off and still lots of empty seats, reckoned I was in the Mayo section. Half time came and the place began to fill up with both Kerry and Mayo. The six seats to my right were still empty right up untill the throw in of the Senior game and then were filled with "Kerry supporters". So arrogant that the couldn't be arsed to show up for the start of the Minor Final and some of them didn't bother turning up for the game itself. Then afterwards comments like ye can have that one, and ye left it behind ye etc, not impressed, hopefully some day Kerry might be glad that they got into an All-Ireland final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

That's no surprise to hear at all to me. There's a core support of certain Kerry people that take success for granted.They've been going to Croke Park for years and think it is their God-given right to win All-Irelands.
    Even when they had a few barren years in the late 80's, early '90's it didn't teach them to appreciate success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

That attitude has come from the success of Kerry over th years.Having won 34 all irelands,its natural for Kerry to be cocky.I think it would take 10-15 year period of losing Sam every year for fans to become good losers before they come good winners and appreciate the game better.

If you are a kerry man,you should be at the stadium from the first whistle even if you are very sure you will win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

Fans are people. Some people are twats.

The vast majority of Kerry fans are neither blase or aggressive. It's unfortunate that you encountered some w*nkers.

And, with all due respect, the 'core support' of Kerry don't take success for granted. If anything, it's the blase element, who know little, take success for granted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Patmc would you like to alienate any other counties entire support or are you happy to leave it at Kerry and Dublin. I am getting kind of sick of the attitude that if people dont support their teams the way others do, they cannot be real fans.

The users of this forum are people who go out of their way to discuss Gaelic Sports, and as a result of this I would regard all regular posters here as real fans. There are regular poster who I do not agree with very often, but they are fully entitled to an opinion, similarly I am entitled to mine, and entitled to argue it. But this idea that if a fan does not behave a certain way, then he cant be a fan is bull****.

It is a long drive up from Kerry to Croker, it is possible that these people had some kind of accident, or got a flat tyre, or there could be any kind of reason for their being late. What gives you the right to sit in judgement of them. You call the Kerry fans arrogant, I think the real arrogance is from people who sit in judgement, and try to criticise entire counties fanbases with sweeping generalisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Waylander wrote:
    Patmc would you like to alienate any other counties entire support or are you happy to leave it at Kerry and Dublin. I am getting kind of sick of the attitude that if people dont support their teams the way others do, they cannot be real fans.

The users of this forum are people who go out of their way to discuss Gaelic Sports, and as a result of this I would regard all regular posters here as real fans. There are regular poster who I do not agree with very often, but they are fully entitled to an opinion, similarly I am entitled to mine, and entitled to argue it. But this idea that if a fan does not behave a certain way, then he cant be a fan is bull****.

It is a long drive up from Kerry to Croker, it is possible that these people had some kind of accident, or got a flat tyre, or there could be any kind of reason for their being late. What gives you the right to sit in judgement of them. You call the Kerry fans arrogant, I think the real arrogance is from people who sit in judgement, and try to criticise entire counties fanbases with sweeping generalisations.
    First off I did say in my original post that I was appalled at the attitude of "some" Kerry fans and am aware of the generalisation issue. There was a hell of a lot of empty seats up to half time in the Minor game and a lot of these were Kerry. If you are saying that it is wrong for me to criticise some blase attitudes towards supporting your county, then this forum is bollox. I am a senior officer in a Roscommon GAA club and have spent the last 2 weeks giving up a lot of my time helping to allocate the pitiful amount of tickets we were given for the All-Ireland, turning down genuine fans who would have loved to be at the minor final. I would say that any other county in the country would have made it to the minor game if their team were playing in it. Its the way I feel about it sorry that you think I'm arrogant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

Thousands of Mayo fans left before the end of the match. To me that’s just as bad as arriving late, if not worse.

patmac wrote:
    First off I did say in my original post that I was appalled at the attitude of "some" Kerry fans and am aware of the generalisation issue. There was a hell of a lot of empty seats up to half time in the Minor game and a lot of these were Kerry. If you are saying that it is wrong for me to criticise some blase attitudes towards supporting your county, then this forum is bollox. I am a senior officer in a Roscommon GAA club and have spent the last 2 weeks giving up a lot of my time helping to allocate the pitiful amount of tickets we were given for the All-Ireland, turning down genuine fans who would have loved to be at the minor final. I would say that any other county in the country would have made it to the minor game if their team were playing in it. Its the way I feel about it sorry that you think I'm arrogant.

Sorry pat, I know it looked liked I singled out your response to attack, apologies that is not really the case. I try not to apply my personal standards to others to establish if they are real supporters or not, I look at their reactions to key events in the matches to see how much passion is there and use that as a measure. I think there is far too much of "Real fans dont do ...." type comments on this forum, and I feel they are unfair. This has really been getting to me as I am a Dublin fan, and for last season and this there are times I have felt like a second class citizen on this forum because I am a Dublin fan, and I am one of the people who reequested a GAA forum before it was here. I realise that the fact that the stadium was not full for the minor final would be a frustrating for you, but I think it is unrealistic to expect a full house at that time of the day. I know Kerry were playing in the minor final too, and it would have been great for atmosphere to have the full crowd there, but I do not agree that with any other county in their position the stadium would be packed. There are many counties out there that do not travel for minor matches, and I am sure that many of your Roscommon colleagues had not been at a minor match before the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Did any of ye take notice of the amount of kerry fans who came up to Dublin without a ticket and knew they wouldn't get them. I myself live in Dublin so it was no bother for me to watch match in pub (no fecken ticket) but i had 5 mates call up for the match and there were plenty of fans around in the pubs during match. So these Kerry fans made the long trip to croker to create an atmosphere in dublin for the match. If we were as bad as ye make us out to be sure we could of just watched it in tralee or Killarney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

Ice_Box wrote:
    Thousands of Mayo fans left before the end of the match. To me that’s just as bad as arriving late, if not worse.

That's a good point. It takes guts to wait until the end even if your team is getting battered

Waylander wrote:
    Sorry pat, I know it looked liked I singled out your response to attack, apologies that is not really the case..

Apology accepted it must be very frustrating for Dublin fans for all the abuse ye get here, but it was the Kerry fans that couldn't be arsed to go to the Minor Final I was objecting to
    Waylander wrote:
    I realise that the fact that the stadium was not full for the minor final would be a frustrating for you, but I think it is unrealistic to expect a full house at that time of the day. I know Kerry were playing in the minor final too, and it would have been great for atmosphere to have the full crowd there, but I do not agree that with any other county in their position the stadium would be packed. There are many counties out there that do not travel for minor matches, and I am sure that many of your Roscommon colleagues had not been at a minor match before the final..

This statement sums up the difference between the haves and the have nots.
    Originally from Westmeath it is hard for successful counties to realise what a big deal these games are to us lesser lights. When Westmeath won minor in 1995 (well supported by the Dubs) and u-21 in 1999 along with recent successes the place went ballistic. The excitement here in Roscommon is huge with flags everywhere (no win in Croker since 1951) and contrary to your statement 5,000 Rossies attended the semi-final but they were only given 2,500 tickets for the final. There will be at least 6-8,000 for the replay with maybe 500 from Kerry if that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Kerrynoel

maybe u should change the title of this thread to ignorant kerry fans. These guys sound like they were up for the weekend on the tear. I know of a few fans who went ticketless as plenty of bandwagon jumpers got sorted. Anybody in kerry with any interest would realise that there are some very special footballers on this current Kerry minor team. Well worth seeing.
    There are plenty people like that in every county though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

AthAnRi wrote:
    That's a good point. It takes guts to wait until the end even if your team is getting battered

That's true. But even worse was when two Kerry fans behind me left to watch the rest of the game "in the Tree" when they were 9 points up. That's ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

It takes guts to wait until the end even if your team is getting battered

plus the extra hour and a half you will spend in traffic driving home to the west because you stayed until the bitter end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Listen if you had to suffer as much as we have over the years you might understand. When the 4th goal went in i just got up and walked out without thinking really. I dont feel one bit guilty either as i just couldnt take anymore . It hurts ya know

Only 17,000 Rossies ;) compared to the wonderful 500 or so Kerry fans:confused: I mean take away the Kerry families and the boardsters and you have what maybe 200 others who could be bothered to go to such a minor event (in Kerry eyes), maybe it was Kerry day at the Ryder Cup. I hope that one day Kerry football supporters will be glad to have a team in an All-Ireland final, you deserved nothing from Saturday.

patmac wrote:
    Only 17,000 Rossies ;) compared to the wonderful 500 or so Kerry fans:confused: I mean take away the Kerry families and the boardsters and you have what maybe 200 others who could be bothered to go to such a minor event (in Kerry eyes), maybe it was Kerry day at the Ryder Cup. I hope that one day Kerry football supporters will be glad to have a team in an All-Ireland final, you deserved nothing from Saturday.

Jasus i'm sick of this horse s**t. Roscommon didn't win the minor all-ireland in 55 years, Kerry won the senior all-ireland last week! that's the reason. I know people are prob sick of seeing kerry win all-irelands but would ye stop picking at every thing we do wrong. Many people spent a bomb last week at all-ireland between train (60 euro return!!!), petrol, hotels food tickets and probably a s**t load of drink. Not to mention all the celebrations during the week in Tralee, killarney, Sure the team were in my home town friday. Fair play to roscommon for all the support and it's nice to see them win. Can we leave it at that.

Dapos wrote:
    Jasus i'm sick of this horse s**t. Roscommon didn't win the minor all-ireland in 55 years, Kerry won the senior all-ireland last week! that's the reason. I know people are prob sick of seeing kerry win all-irelands but would ye stop picking at every thing we do wrong. Many people spent a bomb last week at all-ireland between train (60 euro return!!!), petrol, hotels food tickets and probably a s**t load of drink. Not to mention all the celebrations during the week in Tralee, killarney, Sure the team were in my home town friday. Fair play to roscommon for all the support and it's nice to see them win. Can we leave it at that.
    A lot of Rossies went last week (and a lot more would have gone if they had a ticket) and spent a sh1t load of money, and went again last Saturday, @ €15 a ticket and maybe €10 for petrol money is no excuse. The poor Kerry support must have had an effect on your players can you imagine the effect the deafening silence that greeted every score would have.

Not posting about this subject anymore. (until next season i suppose)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Kerrynoel

Dapos wrote:

ya, cant people just leave the Kerry supporters thing in the past. As pointed out, we already had a big week with the all ireland win. It would have been great for us to win the minor. Do you think if we were playing the Dublin / Cork / Galway minors, that there would have been such a big crowd. This was roscommons bandwagon. welcome to the world of the bandwagon supporters. Would Roscommon be as exited about a minor final if they were in 6 senior finals since 2000. I doubt. Jeez enjoy yer victoy. Fair play to ye, ye deserved it but dont be worrying how Kerry people support their team. Also dont forget that there was a round on back league games as well as loads of championship gamesd played this weekend also.

Kerrynoel wrote:
    Would Roscommon be as exited about a minor final if they were in 6 senior finals since 2000. I doubt.

When it happens ye can slag us back;) Bandwagoners is an unfair statement for fans who turn up in their droves to follow counties who are starved of success, surely Kerry fans who only go to All-Ireland finals are the biggest bandwagoners of them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

Nobody likes sore losers but the worst thing is bad winners and it sounds like roscommon are just that. Very dissapointed with their attitude. They win an all-ireland and still complain.

This holier than thou attitude that some fans display towards other counties fan bases does get tiresome. Pat I understand where you are coming from, but if the crowd at the game was like an extra man, as you say, why would you have wanted more Kerry fans there?

Ice_Box wrote:
    Nobody likes sore losers but the worst thing is bad winners and it sounds like roscommon are just that. Very dissapointed with their attitude. They win an all-ireland and still complain.
    Sorry if it came out that way, not complaining about the win just making a point (especially after all the stick Dubs fans got), felt sorry for the Kerry minors, also after all the hassle of people asking me for tickets it annoyed me that some Kerry fans didn't show for the minor, but as has been said its all new for some counties and that Kerry have had a lot of success(and expense) in recent times so peace, and good luck to all. By the way I am originally from Westmeath living in Roscommon and married to a Roscommon woman, so don't blame the Rossies just trying to put a neutralish spin on things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 kerrywoman

patmac wrote:
    Sorry if it came out that way, not complaining about the win just making a point (especially after all the stick Dubs fans got), felt sorry for the Kerry minors, also after all the hassle of people asking me for tickets it annoyed me that some Kerry fans didn't show for the minor, but as has been said its all new for some counties and that Kerry have had a lot of success(and expense) in recent times so peace, and good luck to all. By the way I am originally from Westmeath living in Roscommon and married to a Roscommon woman, so don't blame the Rossies just trying to put a neutralish spin on things.

Just to say I was there for both matches and had loads of Rossies around me and we had good banter between us. You are going to meet twats in every match I had the misfortune to sit beside Meath supporters when they thrased us and we did wait for the final whistle and on our way out they were shouting in our faces but as I said you will meet twats.
    The majority Of Kerry supporters would love to see Mayo win an All Ireland

kerrywoman wrote:
    Just to say I was there for both matches and had loads of Rossies around me and we had good banter between us. You are going to meet twats in every match I had the misfortune to sit beside Meath supporters when they thrased us and we did wait for the final whistle and on our way out they were shouting in our faces but as I said you will meet twats.
    The majority Of Kerry supporters would love to see Mayo win an All Ireland
    Yea agree with you about the twats thing (especially the Meath ones;) ). I'll try not to generalise anymore. Kerry are always generous in defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

are you telling me that if roscommom were playing in the senior and the minor, that every single rossie would have been in the ground at 1.15? get a life man, its the same in every county,there are fans who arrive in dublin around 12.00 and the last thing that they want is to be rushing around the city to make a game an hour later, that they may only have slight interest in.if kerry were only in the minor final, im sure that every person that got a ticket, would be there from the start. to lable Kerry arrogant is an insult to the genuine fans who travel all over the county to support them, i was one of the few that made it to ennis last saturday and i wasnt exactly impressed with the bahaviour of the roscommon fans, in both games. i was on the hill for the first game and the amount of abuse that some of your fans gave to your own, yes YOUR OWN players was a disgrace, an endless stream of abuse towards young lads aiming to win an all ireland for the first time in 55 years. the last day was just as bad, booing Tommy Walsh when he went to take a sideline in the first few minutes, just because he distroyed ye the first day, constantly booing our keeper, constantly moaning at refeering decisions when ye got more than your fair share of 50/50 calls. i could go on and on about it, i have alot of mayo and galway friends and according to them, the rossies are hated in connacht for the likes of what i have just said there. there are genuine fans in ross and fair play to them, i could not begrudge them the win the last day, they deserve it purely on the basis that they have experienced more bad days than good. i hope mayo win the all ireland next year, i genuinly do and most kerry people do. its true what was said ere, its better to being a good winner than a bad looser, kerry people are the most humble people in gaa, bar none.its unfair to paint all people in a county with the same brush, but when we get labelled as arrogant and bandwagon jumpers, then its only right for us to do the same? how many of the 5000 that were in croker the last day and the 15000 from ennis, were at rossies first game in the minor or indeed the semi v meath, very very few id say. but hey, sure where would sport be without the "bandwagon" jumpers!? ciarrai abu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Gobán Saor

I couldn't begrudge Roscommon their success though I still say the Kerry lads should have had it well and truly wrapped up the first day. Anyway, we'll be seeing some of them lads in years to come in Croke Park in September;)
    Whatever Kerry fans may be, we are not arrogant. Not the real supporters anyway. Demanding, yes. Proud of our football tradition, yes. Confident, yes and rightly so. But always ready to acknowledge excellence in our opponents too. The vast majority of Kerry supporters are knowledgeable and dedicated and would always be there for the minor match and stay to the end (even for that 15 point beating against meath in '01) There's always exceptions, of course, like the kerrywoman in front of me who arrived (late) for the semi-final against Cork dressed in a red top and white trousers. :rolleyes: But most Kerry supporters are the genuine article.

Gob&#225 wrote: »
    I couldn't begrudge Roscommon their success though I still say the Kerry lads should have had it well and truly wrapped up the first day. Anyway, we'll be seeing some of them lads in years to come in Croke Park in September;)
    Whatever Kerry fans may be, we are not arrogant. Not the real supporters anyway. Demanding, yes. Proud of our football tradition, yes. Confident, yes and rightly so. But always ready to acknowledge excellence in our opponents too. The vast majority of Kerry supporters are knowledgeable and dedicated and would always be there for the minor match and stay to the end (even for that 15 point beating against meath in '01) There's always exceptions, of course, like the kerrywoman in front of me who arrived (late) for the semi-final against Cork dressed in a red top and white trousers. :rolleyes: But most Kerry supporters are the genuine article.

That is a pretty ridiculous post I have to say. You surely cant be that blind. To say most Kerry fans would be at a match that they clearly were not at is bizarre!

All I can do is call it like it seems to me. When I arrived in Croke Park for the AI final, I was delighted to find myself in what looked like a section peopled almost exclusively by Kerry supporters. By the time the Senior game started, the gaps had been filled, mostly by Mayo supporters (or Mayo supporting neutrals!) and it was about 50/50 between the two.

Also going back to the semi final, there was a good turnout by Kerry supporters for the minor match even though it started at 12.30 and the Kerry senior game wasn't on until 4 o'clock. I talked to many Kerry people that had travelled up on the day and were still there in their seats for the start of the minors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Lets stop all this county bashing. Its starting to get very old and always ends in an arguement and then a closed thread....and i have a fear of closed threads! :D

Gob&#225 wrote: »
    All I can do is call it like it seems to me. When I arrived in Croke Park for the AI final, I was delighted to find myself in what looked like a section peopled almost exclusively by Kerry supporters. By the time the Senior game started, the gaps had been filled, mostly by Mayo supporters (or Mayo supporting neutrals!) and it was about 50/50 between the two.

Also going back to the semi final, there was a good turnout by Kerry supporters for the minor match even though it started at 12.30 and the Kerry senior game wasn't on until 4 o'clock. I talked to many Kerry people that had travelled up on the day and were still there in their seats for the start of the minors.

I agree with Naked_irl and do not like the county bashing either, and disagreed with the original poster earlier in the thread. But GS he was refering to the Minor final replay which he said only had about 500 Kerry fans. Now to say most Kerry fans would go to a minor final, when only 500 actually did attend is inaccurate to say the least.

As the OP I have already apologised for the generalisation of the post and did say that Kerry fans are most generous in defeat, I took offence at the bandwagonners remark because there was more Rossies at the Semi-Final and the Quarter Final than the Final and that was because of the paltry amount of tickets given to Roscommon for the final and me being a club officer who was plagued all week by club members, and the Kerry turnout was poor for the replay. Maybe the title was wrong, should have been Late Kerry fans (or not another All-Ireland yawn ;) )

Waylander wrote:
    Now to say most Kerry fans would go to a minor final, when only 500 actually did attend is inaccurate to say the least.

I was responding to the claim that Kerry supporters were late for the minor final on the original day. Most were not. I agree the Kerry support at the replay was disappointing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

I'd say barely two thirds of the kerry support got into croker to see their minors in action

I'd say a bit more than two thirds but, yeah, a small minority would have been late. These are the bandwagon jumpers and the big day out crowd not the genuine supporters who go to club games and so on.