Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Moderators Please

• 18-09-2006 10:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or do moderators annoy anyone else, the majority of them seem to be stuck so far up their own arses its unreal.
    Ahhhhh, is it a pure ego thing to be a moderator or is it actually the thing that we should all thrive to be......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Ah get over it newbie ... they do a job and most do it well. And i'm not bias, i've been banned a few times and slapped into line at least once a week since i've been here.

Obviously I'll change my tune next time i get in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

6th wrote:
    Ah get over it newbie ... they do a job and most do it well. And i'm not bias, i've been banned a few times and slapped into line at least once a week since i've been here.

Obviously I'll change my tune next time i get in trouble.

wanna be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If I ever become a mod, you have my permission to shoot me.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

wanna be

Obviously, you have been on what you believe is the bad end of some moderation.

All moderators are different, i have been banned a number of times, most of them the mod was right, one or two they were wrong.

What i suggest you do, if you have trouble dealing with the ruleset of any given online community is to either find a community that suits your opinion or turn of your computer and learn some social skills. ;)

Here is a soundtrack for you, what with you raging against the machine and all :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WoZnWO0veH8

wanna be

Thats the reaction I expect from people who bother to complain about mods. You're probably just some 15 year old emo who is sick of "the man" telling them what to do.

Grow up and cop on, seriously you bothered to make a thread to just so people who say "you go man! you f**kin rebel!"

You are not the underdog - and we will not vote for you Pedro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

I have been a member of many differnt message boards over the years and as a whole I have found moderators to be egotistical nazis. Although I would say they tend to not interfere much here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

A moderator is only a moderator within thier respective forums. Outside of those forums they are just users that have to follow the exact same rules as you in other forums.

Your chasing windmills tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

Feck sake man.... could you imagine this place without moderators..... It would run amok...

hang on......sweeeeeeeeeeeeeet!

We need them as much as they need us. :D

YEAH!! you're chasing WINDMILLS!!!

huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I have been a member of many differnt message boards over the years and as a whole I have found moderators to be egotistical nazis. Although I would say they tend to not interfere much here.

And you made 79 posts..? Wow! A veteran!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

I can play that game too! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

6th wrote:
    Thats the reaction I expect from people who bother to complain about mods. You're probably just some 15 year old emo who is sick of "the man" telling them what to do.

Grow up and cop on, seriously you bothered to make a thread to just so people who say "you go man! you f**kin rebel!"

You are not the underdog - and we will not vote for you Pedro.

Maybe I bake you a cake!!!!
    Looks like you have more issues than me, didn't start thread to humour you with your confrontational style.
    Does it really bother you that much or are you a lonely middle aged guy that needs to be really angry just because life didnt turn out the way you expected

Does it really bother you that much or are you a lonely middle aged guy that needs to be really angry just because life didnt turn out the way you expected?

I could ask you the same question :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    And you made 79 posts..? Wow! A veteran!!

This may come as a shock, but I think you will find in the big World Wide Web there are more message boards than just boards.ie. :eek:

Well come on, if you are going to complain about mods maybe some examples of the injustice?

Does it really bother you that much or are you a lonely middle aged guy that needs to be really angry just because life didnt turn out the way you expected

Eh, of course 6th knew what was gonna happen....he's into the supernatural, the paranormal and the parapsychological ya know.

In fact, i imagine the first thing he did when he woke up this morning is write that reply.

Now THATS freaky!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Looks like you have more issues than me, didn't start thread to humour you with your confrontational style.

Jesus here we go "you are probably this or that while im obviously cool"

go away

This may come as a shock, but I think you will find in the big World Wide Web there are more message boards than just boards.ie. :eek:

Fair enough... thought you just meant boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

Giblet wrote:
    go away

Here here!! :rolleyes:

Dragan wrote:
    In fact, i imagine the first thing he did when he woke up this morning is write that reply.

Actually i did it yesterday I was too busy this morning writing a reply to his next thread on PI about him not getting hugged as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Fools!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Is it just me or do moderators annoy anyone else

Nah
    Mods don't annoy me half as much as whingers.
    it actually the thing that we should all thrive to be......

Striving to be someone who has something interesting to say would be the better way to go.

Beruthiel you put the Ruth in Ruthless and the Rut in brutal - go easy on the whinger, daddy didnt hug him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

haha... he sure has you pegged, 6th!

Did you remember to feed your 78 cats this morning?

79 cats including the Ghost cat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

wanna be

He's got you on that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Maynoothman123

This is by no means a suggestion...

There was a mod before on some other site that I knew to see. He was being his usual empowered asshole self online banning me and then messing with my posts . Just acting an empowered geek.
    Anyway I saw him out with a few of his geek posse one night and I had a few drinks taken. I introduced myself to him and then headbutted him. Broken nose and lots of blood ensued. Moral of the story is just beware Mods as there is a real world out there.

6th wrote:
    Actually i did it yesterday I was too busy this morning writing a reply to his next thread on PI about him not getting hugged as a child.

Sweet, do you get a headache is people don't ask you a question you foresee them asking if you accidental answer it before hand? Cuz that must be a pain in the ass after a while!!! :)

Anyway, back to our humble OP, are you trying to tell me that underneath the desperate "rebel" act, and clevel user names referencing great white sharks to show how hard he is, there is just a small boy lucking for a hug?

Amazing i tells ya!!!! :D

Wow maynoothman the OP wants you in his gang!

Moral of the story is that I am a pathetic asshole.

Gotcha.

Dragan wrote:
    are you trying to tell me that underneath the desperate "rebel" act, and clevel user names referencing great white sharks to show how hard he is, there is just a small boy looking for a hug?

Yes its beautiful isnt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I am now too afraid to leave my house in case someone who takes the internet too seriously headbutts me. ;_;

Anyway I saw him out with a few of his geek posse one night and I had a few drinks taken. I introduced myself to him and then headbutted him. Broken nose and lots of blood ensued.

Now then, don't get me wrong, i love a good ruck and have no problem saying so, much to the chagrin of many of my fellow enlightened boardsies....however, i always suggest you make sure you dance on the right side of the law, and definitely never admit to having assaulted someone on a public board, with no provication that is defensible under the law.

Especially when IP addresses can be traced should some enterprising office of the law come across your thread!!! ;)

It should also be noted, that i am about as back to basics a person as you can get...and will happily "do the man dance" over what i feel is important to do so....and i think your a petty **** based on the above.

The rest of the guys here will really toast you!!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Wow... Where's Jules80...Jones, Sarky an Shabadu...they usually come in with some pro establishment stuff around now...??????

Hope they are all right.....

Bantam says Mods are like assh0les.... A bit smelly ..but we couldn't function without them,now could we.So I'm gratefull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

are you a lonely middle aged guy that needs to be really angry just because life didnt turn out the way you expected

If I was a mod I'd ban you for that & I hope that one of them does. 6th is a well-respected member of the boards.ie community & doesn't deserve an upstart like you making a personal attack like that.

If you want to have a pop at 6th - take it to the Thunderdome.

/Post Reported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Is it just me or do moderators annoy anyone else,

Its not just you. Mods annoy a lot of people.

Mostly its people who believe the board(s) should be run differently to how the mod is doing it.....
    the majority of them seem to be stuck so far up their own arses its unreal.
    "Majority" being a fast-and-loose term to mean what, exactly? I'd be amazed if you've had enough exposure to the total number of mods here to draw a conclusion like that.

More likely, you're drawing conclusions from a small number of fora where mods are active, and are concluding that they are power-tripping because you don't like how they enforce their rules and that therefore most mods are probably no different.

Surprisingly, most forums don't require any interventionist work from their mods from one end of the week to the other. Amazingly, you dont' see the mods power-tripping on said forums...they don't go trying to create problems so they can throw their weight around.

Busy forums, and - if I may be so bold - forums with more attraction for younger/newer members tend to be the ones where peolpe get slapped for being idiots, and then get up on their horse....possibly because they see a similarity between the mods not letting them act teh ar5e and their teachers in school doing likewise...and everyone knows its cool to hate teachers. (Unless that has changed in the past few decades?)
    Ahhhhh, is it a pure ego thing to be a moderator or is it actually the thing that we should all thrive to be......
    Neither.

Its not pure ego for all moderators (but it can be for some), and a modship is not something that every poster should be trying to achieve.

In an ideal world, being a mod requires nothing more than 2 minutes to make sure there are no idiots causing hassle. Unfortunately, the world isn't ideal, there are no shortage of people willing to cross any line you draw, and inevitably some mods have to be heavy handed.

Yes they make mistakes. Yes, they have good days and bad days. No, I don't always agree with them. Hell, when I was a mod, I didn't always agree with the co-mods of the forum I was mod of.

Y'know what, though...I still think deV hit the nail on the head when he made a comment to the effect that this is his front room, and if you don't like the rules he asks you to keep, you are perfectly free to take your ass out the front door and not return.

If you think the mods here are bad, go somewhere else. Hell, start up your own board system if you can't find one without power-tripping mods that suits your fancy. If enough people agree with you, boards.ie will collapse or fade away and you will rule The New Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

This is by no means a suggestion...

There was a mod before on some other site that I knew to see. He was being his usual empowered asshole self online banning me and then messing with my posts . Just acting an empowered geek.
    Anyway I saw him out with a few of his geek posse one night and I had a few drinks taken. I introduced myself to him and then headbutted him. Broken nose and lots of blood ensued. Moral of the story is just beware Mods as there is a real world out there.

its very wrong but its also kinda funny, i really dont like people who are internet divils/street angels. I mean im probably sarkier on some forums that i am in real life but i'm quite prepared to up my sarkiness game in the real world to defend my e-honour :)

When someone gets shirty with you here I find that offering to meet them in the real world to continue the convo usually shuts them up..dunno why that is :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I'd say its kinda common sense..... this is the internet... the real world is out there.......(points to the left)

Hill Billy wrote:
    If I was a mod I'd ban you for that & I hope that one of them does. 6th is a well-respected member of the boards.ie community & doesn't deserve an upstart like you making a personal attack like that.

If you want to have a pop at 6th - take it to the Thunderdome.

/Post Reported

Cheers Billy,

Water off a ducks back, there will always be people like this guy ... unfortunately. Its the children i feel sorry for.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

At the risk of being banned for irony - i've never been banned and have never had a run in with the mods. If you act the bollix - you'll be treated like one.

Anyone who bitches about the mods normally does it in retaliation to being banned for being a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

6th wrote:
    Cheers Billy,

Water off a ducks back, there will always be people like this guy ... unfortunately. Its the children i feel sorry for.

My pleasure 6th.
    I didn't actually report the post - but from a PM I received it got the OP's attention.

Maybe they'll be nice to people from now on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Some people really do take the interweb and themselves far too seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I introduced myself to him and then headbutted him. Broken nose and lots of blood ensued.

See, children: man who uses head as weapon ends up with brain damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

Moral of the story is just beware Mods as there is a real world out there.

You assaulted someone over something that happened on the internet?

Jesus, you're some loser.

You assaulted someone over something that happened on the internet?

Jesus, you're some loser.

This may be me being cynical, but I think he made that up...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I hate those capitalist scum!

Headbutts for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

yes, down with moderators!

headbutts all round!

bring back sesame street!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ruu wrote:

Everytime someone says they don't believe in nice moderators a little red baby Ruu dies.

Now, if you don't mind, i'm off for a cry at that poignant image. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Moderators have feelings too. :(