Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women's Self Defence

• 12-09-2006 11:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭

The 'Reduce The Odds' program has been designed to offer the best and most effective self-defence techniques for the average woman in realistic sexual assault situations.
    • Learn a natural and effective self defence method
    • Our program highlights the difference between self-defence courses for men and women
    • Learn effective awareness and avoidance skills to prevent becoming a victim of an attack in the first place.
    • Learn to escape from the most common attacks that women of all ages are likely to face
    • The techniques taught are practical, effective and easy to perform under times of stress.
    • Learn in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere

New 4 week course starting on Tuesday 10th October

Location: Backstreet Dance Studios, Airside Retail Park, Swords

Class Times: 8.30pm - 10.00pm

Cost: €70

Classes limited to 10 participants

For more info or to book a place contact info@defendu.ie
    or phone 087 229 0332 / 087 229 7215

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

Just found out that we have to move the Women's Self Defence Course start date forward to Tuesday 17th October.... as the new venue build hasn't finished on time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 petrolhead

For 'Reality Based' self defense it hard to get better than Krav Maga. A couple of Girls from our office go every week and they swear by it! [URL="htt://www.kravmaga.ie"]http://www.kravmaga.ie[/URL]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

petrolhead wrote:
    For 'Reality Based' self defense it hard to get better than Krav Maga. A couple of Girls from our office go every week and they swear by it! [URL="htt://www.kravmaga.ie"]http://www.kravmaga.ie[/URL]
    So you know a couple of girls who go to Krav Maga, and on that evidence you say its hard to get better than it, and in the process hijack Maeve's thread publicising her course? Dubious my friend. Dubious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 petrolhead

Nothing 'dubious' about it. I didn't think a thread was supposed to be an 'Ad' and that anyone interested in one would naturally be interested in the other.

What's your interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I've seen the courses run by Defendu Ireland, they are as real as you get! Plus a very professional delivery by the instructors with no BS, which is always a good factor. The bulletman training is a real eye opener!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

Just on the topic of the Bulletman, how realistic is it? Surely the true effect of some strikes is lost or not apparent due to the protection given by the armour, or can strikes, to the liver for example, still be felt through it?

OSU,

Dave.

kenpo_dave wrote:
    Just on the topic of the Bulletman, how realistic is it? Surely the true effect of some strikes is lost or not apparent due to the protection given by the armour, or can strikes, to the liver for example, still be felt through it?

OSU,

Dave.

The whole idea of the suit is so you don't feel the strikes, it allows the person being attacked to go all out using strikes that they have trained with. It just adds a sense of realism to the training.
    Any shots to the head you do actually feel

Petrolhead... you Krav Maga guys are gas :) not the first time a thread on a board has been hijacked by someone from Krav Maga...

Our course is totally different from Krav Maga... you obviously didn't take the time to read my first post.
    Our course is designed specifically for women and girls and deals with the most common sexual assault scenarios they are most likely to face. There are 2 levels to the course (6 hours each), it's for normal everyday women, it's not expensive and although we do encourage the participants to practice as much as possible, we don't sell classes or memberships. We've had some Krav Maga girls do our course and they've had only good things to say.

In my opinion it's 1) crazy to teach women and men the same self defence stuff.... they get attacked in different ways. 2) To teach a girl to fight toe to toe with a guy as self defence is absolute madness.

Kenpo_dave - I've been training with various full body armour suits (not Bulletman) now for a good few years. As Jon says it allows the girls to practice the techniques full force. For them it can be really scary, hence more realistic... but most of them love it after there first go and it's hard to get some of them to stop (excellent stress relief). Wearing the suit you can feel the impact of the technique, but no pain... unless as Jon said a strike to the head. We don't use the Bulletman as the head piece is huge and imo not practical for head strikes as it's not head sized. We use a much smaller helmet and gum shields... riskier for the instructor but better for the student :)

That said about feeling no pain...with lots of practice your aim gets much better and you can wind the suited bad guy if you hit the right spot :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Roper wrote:
    So you know a couple of girls who go to Krav Maga, and on that evidence you say its hard to get better than it, and in the process hijack Maeve's thread publicising her course? Dubious my friend. Dubious.
    Actually maeves post could be considered spam by boards standards since it clearly is an advertisement and as such is reportable.

I've never had a problem before & I've posted our courses many times.... nor have the other guys here as far as I know.... I've never seen one deleted!

There are lots of courses and competitions being posted here all the time... there are lots right now if you have a look.... we all want to know what happening and it seems like lots of board members attend the stuff thats posted here which is great.

... and apart from here the only other place to find out what on is the Irish Fighter mag that only comes out 4 times a year!!!

Don't get me wrong I'm not saying its right or wrong.
    I'm just pointing out as I understand it that typically such an advert would be seen as a no-no on the other fora here, more so since you offer a commercial service and advertise it here.

Yeah well if Maeve was some random individual who just turned up on a board pushing some course or organisation a la Petrolhead, then I'd be dubious, but Maeve has contributed to the board and is obviously genuine. Besides its less an ad and more a "shout out".

Besides, if this board isn't for letting people know whats going on in the MA world, what is it for????

Indeed she is and it is standard practice on this forum to post such things out.
    But you got me thinking that such a thing is really an advertisement and while there are many posters who actively provide information in their fields on other forums (ie plumbers on the DIY forum, resellers on the web forums etc), they are asked to buy advertisements from boards.ie if they wish to broadcast their services and have been banned for doing the same.

This is different in my mind to say recommending an martial art, this is a commercial venture there to make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

boards always seemed to have a grey area about advertising. It's generally let slide, but the advert law can be invoked as a trump card

A lot of forums tend to have "blatant advertisement" rule, i.e someone showing up on their first few post's going "btw guys check out my brand new product XYZ" is'nt tolerated but regular posters giving out a heads up for upcoming events is. Even Irish Fighter has free events listing.

Information is good. Let information flow freely

Indeed she is and it is standard practice on this forum to post such things out.
    But you got me thinking that such a thing is really an advertisement and while there are many posters who actively provide information in their fields on other forums (ie plumbers on the DIY forum, resellers on the web forums etc), they are asked to buy advertisements from boards.ie if they wish to broadcast their services and have been banned for doing the same.

This is different in my mind to say recommending an martial art, this is a commercial venture there to make money.

This is what we do as MAists, run classes, train together, run seminars and invite each other.. most of us have links to our clubs etc in our signatures. As you can see Maeve's post has encouraged debate about different courses etc. And has been siad she didn't just come here to 'advertise' she's a regular contributer and antagonist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭ColinJennings

MaeveD wrote:
    In my opinion it's 1) crazy to teach women and men the same self defence stuff.... they get attacked in different ways. 2) To teach a girl to fight toe to toe with a guy as self defence is absolute madness.

1. Do you think someone is going to say "Hang on this is a woman, lets attack her with X" while if it is a guy will attack with Y? That just isn't the case.

2. I know plenty of female members who would be easily able to go toe to toe with the best male members and many can easily get the best of most male members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

My view is, if the post is beneficial to the forum, then it's ok. So if Maeve posts information about her courses it's fine because it's relevant to the forum and it's an opporutnity for discussion about the course to take place. The forum would be at a loss if all the MMA events, thai boxing shows, competitions, seminars and courses were "not allowed". I understand Rev Hellfire is playing devil's advocate.

Jon wrote:
    and antagonist :D

Ha ha.... I do try :p:p
    This is different in my mind to say recommending an martial art, this is a commercial venture there to make money

Not really... theres a limited number of participants (which I posted incorrectly... should be 16 not 10 and I can't edit it now :( ) We run 3 or 4 private courses like this every year... with 2 or more qualified instructors, expensive rent and really expensive equipment... we really don't make a whole lot but thats not really important.... what is really important is that the information gets to as many women as possible!
    Well done Roper, good explaination, it is more of a 'shout out' :)

I know plenty of female members who would be easily able to go toe to toe with the best male members and many can easily get the best of most male members.
    Must....not....post .... something... filthy.....

1. Do you think someone is going to say "Hang on this is a woman, lets attack her with X" while if it is a guy will attack with Y? That just isn't the case.

2. I know plenty of female members who would be easily able to go toe to toe with the best male members and many can easily get the best of most male members.

indeed, thats why all sporting events are unisex, because the vast majority women are capable of competing against men in a meaningful manner when all other factors are equal. Oh wait. sporting events are segregated by sex. Why's that? :confused:

MaeveD wrote:
    Not really... theres a limited number of participants (which I posted incorrectly... should be 16 not 10 and I can't edit it now :( ) We run 3 or 4 private courses like this every year... with 2 or more qualified instructors, expensive rent and really expensive equipment... we really don't make a whole lot but thats not really important.... what is really important is that the information gets to as many women as possible!
    Well done Roper, good explaination, it is more of a 'shout out' :)
    I'm not sure I can see a distiction between detailed 'shout out' such as the one you gave and an advert in a sporting magazine (which you would typically be required to pay for).
    As you stated yourself this is a private course (which by its nature is done for profit), so its not unreasonable for boards.ie to ask/expect that you provide the same financial support to them (via paid advert) that you would be expected to provide to a magazine which also might carry an equally detailed 'shout out'.

Colin, I'm going on the facts, how women are actually attacked.... Example: One of a rapists favoured attacks...grab a woman by the hair and drag her to a second location, this is not a common attack by a guy on another guy... fact! The research our course is based on was done by a law enforcement agent in the US. He over 7+ years interviewed hundreds of victims of sexual assault and rape, he also interviewed many convicted rapists in prison.

Come on now....??? I've been doing martial arts for 12 years and know that if I stand toe to toe with a male attacker in a real situation, chances are I'm going to lose. I think you're talking a training/competition/controlled situation... I'm not! Pound for pound you guys are at least twice as strong as us girls.

Bambi wrote:
    indeed, thats why all sporting events are unisex, because the vast majority women are capable of competing against men in a meaningful manner when all other factors are equal. Oh wait. sporting events are segregated by sex. Why's that? :confused:

By sex/weight/age/belt etc....to make it more equal, a fairer fight. I'm not talking about competition or martial arts.... I'm talking about only self defence.

I'm not sure I can see a distiction between detailed 'shout out' such as the one you gave and an advert in a sporting magazine (which you would typically be required to pay for).
    As you stated yourself this is a private course (which by its nature is done for profit), so its not unreasonable for boards.ie to ask/expect that you provide the same financial support to them (via paid advert) that you would be expected to provide to a magazine which also might carry an equally detailed 'shout out'.

Actually i'll think you'll find theres a big difference here between an advert in a sporting magazine. You'll usually be given details of the sales figures and catchment area of a magazine. Also a martial arts magazine will give you interviews and articles if you take out ad's regularly

the MA/SD backwater of boards is a little more like the noticeboard in the local supervalu. They can ask you to pay but are you gonna pay top dinar for it? nah.

I could probably do the school monitor thing and prowl boards coming up with instances of people advertising over the next few week's. I'm sure the feedback forum would get fed up with me reaal quick though :)

MaeveD wrote:
    By sex/weight/age/belt etc....to make it more equal, a fairer fight. I'm not talking about competition or martial arts.... I'm talking about only self defence.

Point being That even an environment as regulated as competition has different classes for men and women. Meaning that colin's experience of de wimmin being able to go "toe to toe" de fellas is far enough from the norm to be considered plain wrong. Multiply that by one squillion or something for rape scenarios.

Defence courses specifically for women are obviously going to be specifically different as opposed to a defence course for men. As Maeve already pointed out, the MO and pysche of a sexual attacker is 1000 times different to some yob shoutin into ur face ' what did ye call me ma..? out side boomerangs on a saturday night.

Sexual predators are cunning, they plan, they scope out, the have trial runs and in some cases are very patient and meticulous... hence why awareness is at the top of the agenda for any course like Maeve's. There is a big difference between that and sparring in a controlled environment as which was alluded to earlier.

Jon wrote:
    Sexual predators are cunning, they plan, they scope out, the have trial runs and in some cases are very patient and meticulous...

ummm...They're often so cunning that they live with their victim..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I'll agree with Rev Hellfire on this, there's really not much difference between an advert and a shout out. And most of the other boards.ie don't agree with this

BUT we've allowed people to pimp, promote and praise seminars and courses for so long AND allowed people to condemn, critisize and complain about them that the Site Admin have never asked me to clamp down. In fact, the site admin pretty much let us run around like the eejits we are, as long as we don't spill onto other fora or post anything illegal.

Colm

MaeveD wrote:
    Come on now....??? I've been doing martial arts for 12 years and know that if I stand toe to toe with a male attacker in a real situation, chances are I'm going to lose. I think you're talking a training/competition/controlled situation... I'm not! Pound for pound you guys are at least twice as strong as us girls.
    If he grabs you surely you can either kick him somewhere or punch him somewhere. You hit anyone, regardless of size in the solar plexus and they are going to stop. Similarly the philtrum, the occiput, etc are all efective tragets regardless of sex or size.

If you have a chance to stand and fight a potential rapist simply run. Why would you bother fighting someone when you can get the hell out of there. You seem to be saying women are weaker than men, so they can't beat men, yet if they attend our seminar they suddenly can? I'm sorry, but I think that is crap. After 12 years MA, you should be well capable of tackling a single attacker and if you don't you should ask yourself why.

While the muscular strangth of the average male is greater than that of the average female, there are other methods of developing power other than relying on brute force. And even if you cannot develop that much power, surely a weak target, such a the eye doesn't require much power at all to damage. A baby can poke you in the eye and it still hurts.

I can't see a situation where a woman would beat up a man and indeed those who I know who are on ar with men at the highest level are the exception, I can see situations where a woman would need to hurt a man to defend themself and most women know of at least one area that would hurt a man.

I'm not disagreeing with the need for there to be courses designed for women, I simply don't agree with the statement that it is pointless to train women as you would train men. Sexual assaults will differ, but assaults and thefts way outnumber tham even if you take into account the low reporting rates for sexual crimes. (4,300 assaults compared to 1,400 sexual crimes.) and any MA should teach you effctive methods of dealing with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 beefa

Maeve,

well done you for organising this, has the date & venue been finalised yet?

If he grabs you surely you can either kick him somewhere or punch him somewhere. You hit anyone, regardless of size in the solar plexus and they are going to stop.
    Who told you that?:) I hit people in the solar plexus damn near every night and never once have I stopped anyone (experienced) with a shot there. What are you hitting them with to make them stop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

Roper wrote:
    Who told you that?:) I hit people in the solar plexus damn near every night and never once have I stopped anyone (experienced) with a shot there. What are you hitting them with to make them stop?

I concur. One of the biggest "shocks" that I got when I first started in Kokoro was the amount of punishment the human body can take. The key to striking the solar plexus is getting a sly shot in. Catch them on a wrong breath. Adding a liver or spleen shot in too always helps :D

Hey don't get me wrong, getting hit anywhere is unpleasant, but theres very few strikes I'm going to let stop me. If I got hit in the solar plexus and had to stop I'd be very embarrassed more than anything. WTF were those sit ups for?:D

If he grabs you surely you can either kick him somewhere or punch him somewhere. You hit anyone, regardless of size in the solar plexus and they are going to stop. Similarly the philtrum, the occiput, etc are all efective tragets regardless of sex or size.

Of course you can hit/kick them... but if they are bigger and stronger than you and are trying to drag you somewhere it's very difficult. Also aiming for specific small targets in times of stress can be extremely difficult!
    If you have a chance to stand and fight a potential rapist simply run. Why would you bother fighting someone when you can get the hell out of there.

Of course... standing toe to toe with a guy is madness as i've already said
    You seem to be saying women are weaker than men

Most definitely, we are physically weaker than men it's fact!!
    so they can't beat men, yet if they attend our seminar they suddenly can? I'm sorry, but I think that is crap.

Beat.... no, that would be really stupid to have that intention in an attack by a larger male situation. Do enough to escape with the right skills, most definitely.
    After 12 years MA, you should be well capable of tackling a single attacker and if you don't you should ask yourself why.

What rubbish.... no amount of training means that anyone will definitely be able to fight of an attacker.
    While the muscular strangth of the average male is greater than that of the average female, there are other methods of developing power other than relying on brute force. And even if you cannot develop that much power, surely a weak target, such a the eye doesn't require much power at all to damage. A baby can poke you in the eye and it still hurts.

What you secret way of developing power?? Give a woman a target of approx one inch by one and a half inches in a time of stress... excellent advice... not!!!!!!!!

[quote=ColinJennings}I can't see a situation where a woman would beat up a man and indeed those who I know who are on ar with men at the highest level are the exception, I can see situations where a woman would need to hurt a man to defend themself and most women know of at least one area that would hurt a man.[/quote]

I don't understand what you're getting at. Rapists are very intelligent... the first thing they are going to expect is a kick in the groin
    I'm not disagreeing with the need for there to be courses designed for women, I simply don't agree with the statement that it is pointless to train women as you would train men. Sexual assaults will differ, but assaults and thefts way outnumber tham even if you take into account the low reporting rates for sexual crimes. (4,300 assaults compared to 1,400 sexual crimes.) and any MA should teach you effctive methods of dealing with them.

Firstly.... you're not a woman, well I hope not with a name like Colin. Martial Arts are just that martial arts.... they are not self defence and are not meant to be. Good self defence is not style specific. For instance say a female kickboxer gets attacked, a rear choke by a larger male... what kickboxing technique will she use?????
    You say 1400 sexual crimes reported.... so why is there a group called 1 in 4.... only a very small percentage of sexual crimes are reported and only 1% lead to conviction in this country!
    IMO it is dangerous to teach a women to fight like a man in an assault situation... very dangerous!!!

beefa wrote:
    Maeve,

well done you for organising this, has the date & venue been finalised yet?

Thanks beefa... yep we're starting on Tuesday 17th in Swords... pm me if you'd like more details

Roper wrote:

Good question... remember that little japanese guy who fought my hero Hickson Gracie (those white shorts ;) hmmmm) in Pride.... both eyes gouged to sh*te and he still kept going. We've seen loads of MMA guys lately fighting on with broken bones. There's no magic techniques only lucky ones!

A lot of rapists and muggers are high... whether it's drugs, alcohol, power or just an adrenaline rush. The feel feic all!

If you have a chance to stand and fight a potential rapist simply run. Why would you bother fighting someone when you can get the hell out of there. You seem to be saying women are weaker than men, so they can't beat men, yet if they attend our seminar they suddenly can? I'm sorry, but I think that is crap. After 12 years MA, you should be well capable of tackling a single attacker and if you don't you should ask yourself why.

I can't see a situation where a woman would beat up a man and indeed those who I know who are on ar with men at the highest level are the exception, I can see situations where a woman would need to hurt a man to defend themself and most women know of at least one area that would hurt a man.

Alas here in lies the differnce between self defence training and training for self protection.
    Colin I had the same view as yourself regarding self defence and the training for such, you seem to have a Taekwon-Do back ground, the same as myself. I used to teach TKD style self defence, until I began cross training and experimenting in other styles and systems to see what they have to offer. My biggest eye opener was when I attended a course by Lee Morrison on combative type training. After that I hastley dumped the techniques I was teaching at my classes and started using a more functional approach to self protection.

I notice in your post you say that a defender can just hit someone in the solar plexus or the philtrum, this is all very well. However you do not take into account the adrenilin dump and fear factor that can render a person completely useless while being attacked. This topic is huge and would fill up its own thread. Also the most important aspect to self protection training is awareness, body language skills, gross motor skills, learning the MO of a sexual predator.
    It's too simple to teach someone self defence by just saying hit here or hit there - realistically it just doesn't happen that way. Thats why courses like this one Maeve is running are important to those who wish to learn realistically.

Maybe I am just lucky that my instructor does not teach the martial art separate to self defence. Yes we learn patterns and techniques, but we also spend a lot of time learning places that effective targets.
    Roper wrote:
    Having been on the recieving end of an upset middle knuckle punch (like a lower down uppercut, just using the middle finger's knuckle)
    clip_image010_0001.jpg
    I can say I was in no state to continue for about 5 minutes afterwards. There was some luck involved as I was breathing in as he hit me, so the impact was worse than if I was prepared for it.

Admittadly the solar plexus are not an off button for the human body, but they are one place of many that do have a tremendous impact on the human body. If they are high then they will like you said not feel anything, but you can always raise it one step and do something like break thier knee, so they cannot walk and run away. I'm sot saying these are magic techniques that will stop someone completely, but something that will allow you to leg it to safety.

Having been on the recieving end of an upset middle knuckle punch (like a lower down uppercut, just using the middle finger's knuckle)
    clip_image010_0001.jpg
    I can say I was in no state to continue for about 5 minutes afterwards. There was some luck involved as I was breathing in as he hit me, so the impact was worse than if I was prepared for it.
    Harking back to my TKD days, is this a strike taken from Hwarang?

Question on this: were you sparring or was it a demonstration sort of thing? And then more on topic, how would you expect in the fury of an actual confrontation to be able to land a single knuckle in an area about 2" square when experienced fighters find it difficult to land a good punch on someones whole head?

You've just explained your method, Maeve has explained hers (I don't especially agree with it), but to be honest you've got a bit of a nerve criticising her course without seeing its content when your answer is a knuckle strike to the solar plexus.:rolleyes:
    If they are high then they will like you said not feel anything, but you can always raise it one step and do something like break thier knee
    I can low kick pretty hard, (not flattering myself there just giving you what other people who've sparred and fought me have said) and I've hit people full power to the knee area. You know what? None of them have broken knees. Now that means one of two things:
    1) Its very hard to break a knee/leg with a kick,
    or
    2) I'm ****e.

Most people would probably say the answer is 2), but given the amount of Thai boxing fights out there and the lack of broken knees in those and vale tudo, Kyokushin, san da and all the other full contact disciplines that allow low kicks, I'm going to say that your logic is faulty. No offence.

Hwa Rang AND Ge Baek!! tut tut tut...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

Colin, I don't know what to say. I'm actually driving myself crazy trying to think if I would be making the same claims five years ago.

Precision stricking is a really great in theory. It makes skill the great leveller. But the unfortunate truth is that weight and size and strenght are just overwhelming.

Another thing to note is that i've been hit pretty much everywhere possible at this stage, many times by people who were trying to cause me actual physical damage. Never once have they stopped me dead in my tracks. And these were people the same size or bigger than me.

I've had my nose busted (thanks dave), been kicked in the nuts innumerable times, shots to the solar plexus, throat, knees, kidneys and everywhere else. Sure they hurt a bit, but with the adreneline you just grimmace/smile/chuckle and get on with it.

A small woman is not going to stop a determined attacker with a single strike.

As for Maeve's thing, I don't feel qualified to give my opinion, becuase she hasn't posted that much information, nor have I ever seen her train.

Also, how's life?

Colin that strike brings back bad memories... my big brother used to give me dead arms using this when I was a kid... I probably deserved them though :D

I personally don't think it would be a good technique for a girl to use in an attack situation, kicking at the knees would be better for a woman imo depending on how it's done...good chance the attacker will fall over, giving a chance to escape....

TwoKingMick... Like I've said before, I'm never going to post details of what we do on an internet board... due to the nature of it and for no other reason... I'm sure you understand? I agree that a small woman would be lucky to stop a determined attacker with one strike... but I do think she can do enough with one strike to give her time to escape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

I understand.

I also noticed that you had one more post than me, so i'm using this to catch up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

he's still one up on you mick.

you still in korea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

The secret of Self Defense is finally out....the "Ye old mid knuckle".

Ever use in a real situation? Didn't think so....

Has your instructor ever used it in a real situation? Didn't think so....

dlofnep wrote:
    he's still one up on you mick.

you still in korea?

SHE.... dlofnep

Oops still one up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Hi Colin, I'm sure you experienced that strike as you have stated and it had the stated effects, however, I have to say it seems you have the impression that this strike or however you will break a leg or knee with work under pressure. I have worked therapeutically with most types of offender over the years, as well as victims of sexual violence or assualt, so it gives me a small insight into the world of the attacker, they will not want to get hurt, they will not want to take a hit, they will hit with aggression and suprise, maybe more that one. Sometimes a weapon will be involved, sometimes not, sometimes as a form of intimitdation, very little intent, sometimes not, i.e. the first you will know about the intent is when your struck. The list can go not but how would such strikes work if your attacked from behind, either a form of takedown or a hold for their partner to do the work. I'm not attacking your style of MA and saying its shi*e for self defense, each to his own, however, I think you need to have a look at how attacks ramdom or not occur, and whether you training can adapt to it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

MaeveD wrote:
    [New 4 week course starting on Tuesday 10th October
    I strongly advocate that women should receive SD, and this may be a good start, but are there any refreshers or followups after this 4 week course? Four weeks is not very long to train for a defense against male assault, and much would be lost over time without followups, if not continuous training?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

I think we can all agree that we'll be shocked if Colin is over 15 years of age.

Dude, watch some <truth> UFC* </truth>.

Peace

*WARNING: Not an add for the UFC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Four weeks is not very long to train for a defense against male assault, and much would be lost over time without followups, if not continuous training?

I'd agree... Most people who go on training courses wont continue training afterwards, and some of the knowledge may be lost. Something I'd advise anyone to do - is to keep on practicing well after the course has ended, even if it's only 10 mins a day by yourself. And have one or two follow up lessons at some point.

It's no substitute for training constantly at a Dojo/GYM but it will definitely increase your chances of getting through some kind of attack. And if you implement your "awareness" training properly, you may be able to avoid any such attack in the future.

Some training is better than no training....