Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Gloat and Near Misses Corner

• 11-09-2006 10:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭

After time and gloat or moan to your heart's content here folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I'll start it off! I backed Dixie Belle today at 66/1 when it came in from 100/1, and again at 50s. Two small 2.50 e/w bets but still a nice return. Made all the running and was a great win.
    I also had 10 e/w on Glenbuck who did the job at 7s. I had 50 e/w on Borderlescott at 8s, an antepost bet I did last week who came 2nd. Fairly disappointed it didn't win but it ran brilliantly considering the weight it was carrying. A horse that did really well this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

just a general gloat here (ive mentioned it before and got no pat on the back for it!:p ). The 4 horses I put up in horses to follow thread all won in total 7 races in total since I posted them, with only 1 horse not winning at all. Also I gave out Double Spectre the night before it walked home at 8/1.

granted i gave out 3 or 4 donkeys here, but I hope you all jumped on the winners...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Posted a decent tip a while back Tubbertown Rose and came home @ 12/1. My collegue in work loves the feckin thing and wont stop tipping it evertime it races:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

This one goes under both gloat and near miss as i had a big big bet on pride e.w at 16/1 about 2 weeks ago for the arc.I won a bit on the place side of the bet but he should of won the race if the jockey had pulled him out earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Tush

Did a straight win double on PRINCE OF LOVE and GUADALOUP for a tidy sum,ah well always next time.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Unlucky mate. (Try thr two singles and a double next time!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭knighted_1

might as well post my near miss (or f**k up)as this sticks in my gut 8 months on

wednesday evening coming out of cheltenham jumped on a coach to town as didnt fancie the walk no one on the bus had a winner that day so the mood was sombre driver handing out copies of the next days racing so i annoucned to the packed bus "dont worry boys kadoun will get us out in the last tomorrow" i could hear the sniggers as people said no chance at 50/1

watched this horse since i seen him few years earlier at galway flying for second place under dennis cullen and had every faith in him untill i got a tip form a reputable friend that another horse in the race was the one so i turned down the 66/1 my bet on that race was 100 sterling each way

nearly vomited at the finish line when kadoun flew up the hill

was going home the next morning still sick from my bad call as i dont often change my mind and as i was checking in who is standing beside me only the furking jockey ryan holding his trophy that he won in the race -talk about rubbing salt in the wounds couldnt bring myself to congratulate him

but i will still be there next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

I read a news story on the racingpost.co.uk website about the lad who backed all horses with the letter "M" (on saturday i think), anyway it was a 10c win lucky 63, the first 5 won at very big odds, as far as i remember 12/1+50/1, the rest were big enough. As the story goes he had already won 159,000, going onto his last selection at 9/2 (i think), it lost anyway!!
    So today i said feck it, il give it a go meself. So, I looked through the index looking for a letter which had no more or no less than 6 runners (excluding irish meetings *cough* downpatrick *cough* [bring to the politics forum if u've a problem]) So there we go the Letter "K" popped out.
    Due to the way the week works PP let me have my morning off, so i missed the first race - King's Shilling (12:30 Sou) just aswell this donkey finished last.
    Not to be put off, i done the other five in an e/w lucky 31:
    Kempsey - Unplaced
    Kensington - 2nd @ 9/1
    Killard Point - 1st @ 16/1 (2nd after enquiry, thank god for double result)
    Kimono Royal - Unplaced
    Kinborn - 2nd @ 3/1

So i bet €6.20, and got a €10.25 return not bad!! I will try it again so watch this space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

I feel the need to gloat.

Some of you know that Brave Inca is my all-time favourite horse.

Anyway, I was getting worried that we had seen his best. This horse was my late fathers favourite horse too, and we won quite a bit of money from brave inca, so he owes me nothing.

I know its frowned upon, but this is the one horse who I will blindly back. I was absolutely delighted today when he won. I only had €25 quid on, but that was not the point. Even if I had no money on, I would have loved it!!

A great ride by McCoy on a great horse :)

Oooooooh Yeah, new system im working on throws up 40/1 winner Share the feeling. Just thought i get it out.

And I missed a great trading opportunity by not backing Patsy Hall for the RSA Chase.

12/12/2006 12:43:59
    Sonderborg @ 8/1
    Bulberry Hill @ 8/1
    Lockstock @ 11/1

Patent, 7 bets * 10.00 EUR

Source:Internet

70.00 990.00

Nearly set up the Crimbo money but wont complain,would have been sweet if Lockstock had landed.

Peter,
    You requested to be informed about the following runners -

United (GER) wins at 7/1
    Tiday Fury (IRE) wins at 11/8
    Billyvodan (IRE) wins at 25/1
    Kilbeggan Blade wins at 9/1

Did I back one of them? No, I had a staff night out last night. :mad:

Lucky 15.. 5329.81

sjones wrote:
    Peter,

United (GER) wins at 7/1
    Tiday Fury (IRE) wins at 11/8
    Billyvodan (IRE) wins at 25/1
    Kilbeggan Blade wins at 9/1

Did I back one of them? No, I had a staff night out last night. :mad:

Lucky 15.. 5329.81
    Damn staff dos sj !! :(

Stuck a tenner on Time to Sell, which won at 10/1. :cool:

Happy Days

Thats until I decide to put the lot on Celtic in Running at 6/4. Rangers scored in the last couple of minutes:mad:

wb wrote:
    Thats until I decide to put the lot on Celtic in Running at 6/4. Rangers scored in the last couple of minutes:mad:

Done me aswell. I done 3 tenner trebles:

Celtic
    Chelsea
    West ham (draw no bet)/Draw/Man Utd
    P.Ebdon to win the Uk Championship

If Celtic had won id have got 42(and a bit)/1 for my tenner, but they got done late on to leave me with no bets left standing at 2:15 pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭wolfe

got a tip at lunchtime for a ferdy murphy horse ibeginning with M in the 1.20 today - my phone was breaking up and i thought it was for the 2.20 race.

I got back to work and grabbed my paper on the desk. Seen a horse called majorca running in the 2.20. texted person who gave tip to put 10 e/w on it. He rings me at 2.15 from bookies saying the tip was for the 1.20 Marshall Hall and it came nowhere. I tell him to forget about the bet on majorca so. Rings me back at 2.25 to say majorca romped in at 12's. Fcuk!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Topcat101

I've gloat'd to everyone else so might as well do it here too.

Last wkend Paddycrooks were doing a away teams speical Accum. Might do it every wkend I don't know usually bet on football.

Away teams
    Liverpool
    Blackburn
    Bolton
    Chelsea

10e @ 25/1

Nice one.

Are you going to gloat in the hockey forum as well?

My luck is just in at the moment. I had a forecast new years eve on Gold response and the light fandango which paid out 365 for 5 euro. I pulled out another on saturday. Papini and Heathcote. A mate tipped papini before the off and heathcote was just a market mover. 265 for 5 euro stake. Couldnt believe it.

Well done! It was a cracking race. I was a bit disappointed with Bridgewater Boys' run, it seemed to find nothing and couldn't quicken up on the run in. Keep it up. :)

sjones wrote:
    Well done! It was a cracking race. I was a bit disappointed with Bridgewater Boys' run, it seemed to find nothing and couldn't quicken up on the run in. Keep it up. :)

Cheers jonesy. Hey, Fandango and Response are running in the same race today Wolverhampton 2.40. Surely it couldnt happen again:eek: :D:D or as they say. These things come in 3s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Hope all the fcukers I lecture about After Timing don't read this but.......

I Went through the card today at Sedgefield getting all 6 winners! Never managed it before and probably never will again! Cloudmore looked dead and buried in the last but heroically got back up to wobble over the line.

Delighted, can't wait to lose all my winnings on the darts later on.

Pighead wrote:
    Hope all the fcukers I lecture about After Timing don't read this but.......

I Went through the card today at Sedgefield getting all 6 winners! Never managed it before and probably never will again! Cloudmore looked dead and buried in the last but heroically got back up to wobble over the line.

Delighted, can't wait to lose all my winnings on the darts later on.

Well done Pighead and enjoy the winnings,you next task is to do a Frankie and get all seven.;)

Well done again.

G'Wan the Pighead. You didn't happen to have them all on an accum did ya? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

sjones wrote:
    G'Wan the Pighead. You didn't happen to have them all on an accum did ya? :)
    I wish, nah I was at work all day and was using my phone account just before each race. Seen the last race in Paddys though and availed of his Happy Hour Enhanced odds of 5/2 for Cloudmore(From 7/4).

Pighead wrote:
    I wish, nah I was at work all day and was using my phone account just before each race. Seen the last race in Paddys though and availed of his Happy Hour Enhanced odds of 5/2 for Cloudmore(From 7/4).

I must say that some of them enhanced odds deals were good this month. Part of the 'January Sale' idea I think. The odd time, I was about to take a slim price, only to notice a much better one on the specials board. I got a 3/1 winner that had a show of 2/1 about a week ago. Its always a good idea to keep an eye on these deals. I heard that there are thousands of euro that go uncollected from the specials such as a refund if beaten by a neck etc.

wb wrote:
    I heard that there are thousands of euro that go uncollected from the specials such as a refund if beaten by a neck etc.

You wouldnt believe some of the bets that are still uncollected, there are still money backs on west ham in the fa cup, Argentina/england and someone else who got knocked out on peno's in the world cup. Numerous heads on the block, side-by-side and 2-4-6-8 specials, not to mention the amount of first goalscorers who didnt play, or scorecasts where the player didnt play but the score came up.
    Id say to anyone who bets in the betting shopd and doesnt see the event, to bring your dockets back in anyway and ask the staff to check them, sure this day and age its a simple barcode scan:

*bleep*

Yeah there is money-back/€x.xx back on that
    or
    No nothing on that.

Its handier for the shop to have these bets off their system.

Happy Collecting ;)

Yesterday's bets consisted of:
    a 1 euro lucky 15 - no winners
    10 euro e/w on Kings Glen - nowhere
    a 20 euro football bet - two teams drew
    and a 5 euro each way on Lady of Scarvagh who won by 18 lengths at 50/1. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Just got a 25 e/w double up on chickapeakray at 4-1 and ellesappelle at 10-1 paid 1525 !! nice start to the wk !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭easytiger!

Was working when the racing was on this weekend and had to get on b4 I started, just went with the Donn McLean tips from Newstalk on Friday night, Heltornic, Monets Garden and Straw Bear, then on Sunday followed Dave Duggan after watching ATR, Young Desperado and Stoneraker obliged(I'll forgive the Hear the Echo tip) Anyone else have tipsters that they pay heed to?

Been waiting for Banknote to run for a while now. Didn't check my email yesterday or today (until it was too late).

Peter,

Banknote (GB)
    Ran at Lingfield 29th Mar, details available at
    http://www.irish-racing.com/v4result024200703291620.htm

:(

This is a very regular occurance at this stage.

Peter,

Two Miles West (IRE)
    Ran at Aintree 12th Apr, details available at
    http://www.irish-racing.com/v4result100200704121730.htm

Exotic Dancer (FR)
    Ran at Aintree 12th Apr, details available at
    http://www.irish-racing.com/v4result100200704121435.htm

Please Note:

Entry and Declaration Links are only valid up to day of race.
    Result Links are only valid up to 3 days after race.

Regards,
    www.irish-racing.com

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

you backed exotic right?

Oh of course! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Had 4 horses picked out to back today Jeremy, New Seeker, Dempsey and Capable Guest. The missus wanted to be brought shopping so I since I've had an awful few weeks betting wise I said feck it I'm not wasting any money on horses. Of course I come home and check the results to see all 4 win. Sometimes I hate this damn sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

had 4 up in a yankee today wooo hoooo:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭red_bairn

8.30 Beverley Kentucky Boy 7-1
    8.50 Winsdor Lady Friend 7-2 Jt Fav
    9.00 Beverley Lap of Honour 7-4 Fav

All up! Woo hoo. First big win. I am normally a small backer. Was finished work early from my own bookies when one of the girls ran saying that the lad from PP said I got my patent up. :D I was strolling along the beach at the time with a friend and my girlfriend. Wat a messed up day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭raheny red

3:00 - LeicesterCoup d'Etat 8/1Barons Spy 12/1Blue Java 3/1

Did a 50 cent CTC on this last week, won €180 - give or take. Not a lot but considering how lucky I was and for such a very small stake I was very pleased with myself :D . I've done a few of these 50 CTC's now and it's a disgusting feeling when you come so close.

Another good win for me was last years Scottish national - Run for paddy, just picked the name as the lad beside was Paddy and came in at 33s - best thing was that he didn't back it himself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Had to get this one in.

Finishing off a great week for me - just got an each way in on Crazy Bear at Kempton at 14-1.

I couldn't understand the odds they were offering considering its record. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Backed Here's Johnny at Newbury today.Thought he was going to win going to the last as he seemed to be going a bit better than the favourite.Of course the favourite fell right in front of him and that was the end of his chance.I hate last fence incidents that scupper your winning chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

Stripe Me Blue in the 12.30 at Newbury. Beaten by a head to second. Had E/W at 50/1 so can't be too gutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭raheny red

Had a tenner forceast in the 2.20 @ Catterick yesterday on the fav and 2nd fav. The fav came 2nd and the 2nd fav came 3rd - they were beaten by a 100/1 shot, Anchors Away fair play :cool: but in the meantime grrrrr:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

My first ever bet on the nags - an each way on Taravada @ 3.00 returned a mighty €8.50! I'll stick that on Temlett also each way and see what happens :)

Temlett nowhere.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

I was on that race too. Shocking!

100/1 shot wins at a canter.

No movement in the betting market for him either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭FRM

Good old Ironside 25/1 in Sussex National yesterday. Happy days !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭tommylizard

towchester today - tenner e/w double on two of jonjo's horses. Rate of knots came in @ 16's and firth of forth went off @ 3's j2f, think he's still running...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

I'm going to have a jolly good gloat about Lough Derg yesterday.
    I did 3 doubles and a treble (Oscar Park @4/7, Woodbine Willie @9/4 and Lough Derg at 4/1).
    Short price came in, WW was third, and Lough derg was beaten with about 2 furlongs to go.

But Lo! he swooped from nowhere, and I scooped my docket out of the bin for a double that looked like nothing 20 seconds previously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Had a small wager 50-1 e/w winner in Dubai today and 5 or 6 results that made some money (up 300 on the day).

Mike.

Gloat

I got the first five home in the national on let's bet. It was a simple system I read about, and it worked :D

http://www.letsbet.ie/forum/showthread.php?t=2884