Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Join the PSNI

• 10-09-2006 11:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭

Anyone know anything about training for the PSNI?

Anyone done it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

It is a similar set up to the Gardai afaik, except they get firearms training. I was offered a job with the PSNI but I was strongly advised not to go there or else I would have a messy divorce on my hands. Herself would not move north for all the money in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

What's wrong with "The North"!

I love it up there..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I think there is a certain thinking going on that southern recuited PSNI would be singled out for special treatment from the local unoffical law enforcement on both sides. :eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I'm a constable in the PSNI and I'm from Dublin. I joined years ago and can tell you that you don't get called anything that the gardai don't have to put up with down south. COMPLETELY ignore any and all comments about being under threat if you're from the south. It's absolute rubbish. If they want you, they'll get you one way or another and where you come from makes no difference whatsoever.

Feel free to ask as many questions as you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

O.K!

What's the training like?

Where do you do it?

How long does it take?

Is it residential like Templemore?

Do you get paid while training? How much??!

Thanks in advance! ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

The training is OK but like most jobs you learn most when you're out there doing it for real. Lots of theory (just like the gardai) in human rights and ethics, but good practical scenarios too.

The PSNI college is on Garnerville Road in East Belfast, just opposite the city airport.

It takes 20 weeks to get through the initial training period and then a further 10 weeks for firearms, first aid and driving, after you pass out. Then you get assigned a tutor constable for 10 weeks who will be with you every day teaching you on-the-job. After the 10 weeks are up that's your training over.

The first 4 weeks are residential. After that you can either live in Garnerville for free or rent.

You get paid while in training £20,397 plus £2,600 special allowance (for the troubles). After 20 weeks, it rises to £22,770, again plus the special allowance of £2,600 for a grand total of £25,370 or approximately €37,470

More info at www.selectnipolice.org

Hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭theAwakening

psni wrote:
    I'm a constable in the PSNI and I'm from Dublin. I joined years ago and can tell you that you don't get called anything that the gardai don't have to put up with down south. COMPLETELY ignore any and all comments about being under threat if you're from the south. It's absolute rubbish. If they want you, they'll get you one way or another and where you come from makes no difference whatsoever.

Feel free to ask as many questions as you want.

Why did you choose the PSNI over the Garda Siochána?

Many reasons. Property is far cheaper, so are cars, food and clothes. There are also plenty of opportunities to excel or specialise in certain areas or even transfer across to the UK, Canada or Australia. Taxation is far lower than Ireland and the public health service is far better than ours. At least in NI I don't have to pay to see my local GP as opposed to Ireland where it would cost me from €40-€50.

Plus I have CS and a Glock if I need to use them. The gardai have a leg off a chair, and it's not their fault either, so please don't think I'm knocking the men and women in Ireland who do the same job as me in NI. I'm just better equipped and have armoured land rovers full of backup just a radio transmission away.

Oh and then there's the money.. €37k starting is not bad but add on the overtime et al and you can clear over €50k a year without even noticing you've put in the extra hours.

Keep the questions coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

So you've never experienced serious trouble from people (criminals) up there because of where you're originally from? Are there many people from the south in the PSNI presently.

Interesting stuff.

It depends on what you mean by "serious trouble". Nobody likes being arrested. People punch, kick, spit, bite, scrab, swear, try to run away, and so on. Nothing the gardai don't deal with already. Sure, people will notice the accent and I get called names here and there, along with threats to injure me, my family or my property. Ask any garda and they will tell you they put up with the same thing in their lives.

How do I know this? Because I work with people who are ex-gardai and they tell me it's the best decision they ever made.

People are the same the world over regardless of what you may or may not believe. Dublin has huge problems with organised crime and turf wars. Gangs are killing or assaulting each other on a regular basis, just the same as NI, and it has nothing to do with your religion - and hasn't done for a long time.

Around 7,000 people applied last campaign for only 220 places. The level of people from Ireland applying to join the PSNI is gradually on the rise. I believe 3 or 4 out of every intake of 50 are from Ireland, but I know people from Dublin who have applied a few times and didn't even get past the initial selection test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

psni wrote:
    ....I believe 3 or 4 out of every intake of 50 are from Ireland, but I know people from Dublin who have applied a few times and didn't even get past the initial selection test.

What do you think they are looking for?

Just like they say in Pulp Fiction, personality goes a long way.

If you're interested, there's a book available called "how to pass the new police selection system" here which is said to be very useful. It gives you an idea on the type of questions you are likely to face on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

psni wrote:
    The training is OK but like most jobs you learn most when you're out there doing it for real. Lots of theory (just like the gardai) in human rights and ethics, but good practical scenarios too.

The PSNI college is on Garnerville Road in East Belfast, just opposite the city airport.

It takes 20 weeks to get through the initial training period and then a further 10 weeks for firearms, first aid and driving, after you pass out. Then you get assigned a tutor constable for 10 weeks who will be with you every day teaching you on-the-job. After the 10 weeks are up that's your training over.

The first 4 weeks are residential. After that you can either live in Garnerville for free or rent.

And then after all that training the petrol bombs start coming :D

Wrong I'm afraid. They don't put probationers in public order situations at that level. You have to wait 2 years if you want to be on the front line of those type of situations... and some people just can't wait to sign up!

Horses for courses I suppose...