Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you address the Gardaí on the street?

• 10-09-2006 12:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭

Anytime I pass a Garda on the street, I say "A Gharda" with a brief nod. They always respond with something (not a raised baitín). They're a public service and are there to acknowlege the presence of the people. That's the way I see it.

In compariosion, when I lived in deh UK for 2 years, I would never say "Hello police man/woman". It wouldn't really be acceptable.

Anyone else do this or would you just ignore them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

do you say hello to any other random strangers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

Anytime I pass a Garda on the street, I say "A Gharda" with a brief nod. They always respond with something (not a raised baitín). They're a public service and are there to acknowlege the presence of the people. That's the way I see it.

In compariosion, when I lived in deh UK for 2 years, I would never say "Hello police man/woman". It wouldn't really be acceptable.

i like to give them an ice cold stare, or i'm often known to remark in my campest voice possible "nice badge officer"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Well the Garda in my town I know by name because he used to train our football team so I was used to calling him by his first name. Anyone else I know acknowledges the Gardai with "howya Gard".
    In the US now, I rarely see any police on the streets but anytime I do I just ignore them or a brief nod. I think I'll make oinking noises the next one I see. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭JaysusMacfeck

It really depends on where I am, my mood, and what the situation is.

No matter where I am, if there's only one person per 10 minutes, I will say hello to them. Other than that, I'll just stare ahead on walk on. I usually always say hello to people in quiet public parks, walking areas, rural places, etc

When I did this in Spain, my Spanish friends didn't understand why I would be bothered to address complete strangers. I guess it's because I don't come from a densely populated country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

howya guard always goes down well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I don't acknowledge them, or if they smile or say hi to me, then I'll return the gesture, like any stranger!

A couple of related questions...

1. Does anyone else feel a bit nervous when they pass by a Garda, like they've done something wrong? I get a bit anxious, like if I look at them they're gonna think I'm a criminal! :p

2. Do any of the rest of ye feel a sense of "awe" sometimes when ya see a Garda? I kinda get this childish feeling like I'm looking at a super-hero or somethin! :D To a lesser extent with army personnel too. I think it's the uniform :p

I feel slightly gayer after telling you all my secret Garda fetish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

DaveMcG wrote:
    I don't acknowledge them, or if they smile or say hi to me, then I'll return the gesture, like any stranger!

1. Does anyone else feel a bit nervous when they pass by a Garda, like they've done something wrong? I get a bit anxious, like if I look at them they're gonna think I'm a criminal! :p

2. Do any of the rest of ye feel a sense of "awe" sometimes when ya see a Garda? I kinda get this childish feeling like I'm looking at a super-hero or somethin! :D To a lesser extent with army personnel too. I think it's the uniform :p

I feel slightly gayer after telling you all my secret Garda fetish :D

no and no to your questions

u should be ashamed of urself. living in tallaght u should be immune to garda presence by now :D

el rabitos wrote:
    no and no to your questions

u should be ashamed of urself. living in tallaght u should be immune to garda presence by now :D
    I probably would be, but they're rarely feckin up here, ya see more Garda patrols in Terenure ffs :rolleyes:

Dem poshos are always causin trouble! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

If I see a Garda on the street I generally smile and say 'Hi Garda' by way of acknowledgment and am always greeted with a similar smile and a 'hello'. I wouldn't do it on a Sat night with a few beers in me. Normally only when I meet them on the street during the sober week when I know they're not on the edge.

Don't mean to hijack the thread but has anyone noticed how many HOT female Gardaí there are these days? I saw an absolute cracker outside Pease St. Garda Station the other day. She wasn't just a pretty girl in uniform... she was ridiculously good looking. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

el rabitos wrote:
    i like to give them an ice cold stare, or i'm often known to remark in my campest voice possible "nice badge officer"

**** sake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I totally ignore them. Police forces are there to protect the rich/powerful from the poor/weak. F*ck them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

DaveMcG wrote:

Answer to Q1; Yes me too! and I've never been in any trouble in my life :)

Answer to Q2; Ahhhhh, No!...You need to get out more :D

And I usually say 'Howy'ra Gard' when I pass them, they always salute back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

I usually would just give a nod.
    I'd have a LOT more respect for them if it did'nt take them an hour to show up the last two times I had my windows smashed.

(I have had the dis-pleasure to hear my local stations radio-traffic and the attitude amazes me, you really get the impression they are bored out of their minds and have nothing to do. 99% of the radio calls are for "tax & insurance".....And I live in what would be considered a "bad area").

I know its not a priority to them, but I did'nt want to enter my home till they showed.

B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Jaysus... they are just doing a job like everyone else..and a tough one at that... so I treat them the same as others...with courtesy and respect.

You never know when you are going to need them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Said how are ya Garda one night, then got a slap in the back of the head and told get into the back of the car ya bollocks. :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I'd give a nod and a "howya" if I noticed them. Only at night, though, for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I cant understand why you say hello to random gaurds. i don't do it anyways but fair play to you I guess.

Out of interest do you carry this across to other public service workers? See below:

Hello Mr Bus Driver!
    Hello Mr Street Vacuum Operator
    Hello Mr Bin Man

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

No, I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I usually just ask them if they have any All Ireland tickets going spare.

TheGooner wrote:
    Out of interest do you carry this across to other public service workers? See below:

Hello Mr Bus Driver!
    Hello Mr Street Vacuum Operator
    Hello Mr Bin Man

?

Street cleaners? Always. Most of them appear to be up for a good 'howerye'. Bus drivers are different. If I determine that the driver is nice or a feckin ass wanker when I purchase my ticket, if he's the latter, I will NOT say thank you when I get off the bus. Otherwise, I'll say "nice one, thanks, sláinte, cheers, nice one buddy, etc, etc."

I have no time for knarky bus drivers!

"nice one, thanks, sláinte, cheers, nice one buddy, etc, etc."

Jayzis that's a mouthful, I'd say there's a queue forming behind ye while you're saying your farewell! :D

DaveMcG wrote:
    Jayzis that's a mouthful, I'd say there's a queue forming behind ye while you're saying your farewell! :D

"Ah jaysus it was a lovely journey, driver. Great ventalation on the top deck yeah. Ah lovely it was. Well... I'll be seein ye the next time. Ah yeah, lovely. I'll just step off here now. Lovely, great, thankyou now. Lovely. Ahh!"

Yes, I will be like that when I'm an auldfella. :o

Street cleaners? Always. Most of them appear to be up for a good 'howerye'. Bus drivers are different. If I determine that the driver is nice or a feckin ass wanker when I purchase my ticket, if he's the latter, I will NOT say thank you when I get off the bus. Otherwise, I'll say "nice one, thanks, sláinte, cheers, nice one buddy, etc, etc."

I have no time for knarky bus drivers!

If he got you where you were going with no breakdowns and in one piece I think its very rude not to say thank you. If hes rude, why lower your personal standards by being rude back. TBH if more people said thanks the the more happy bus drivers there would be out there. :D

TheGooner wrote:
    If he got you where you were going with no breakdowns and in one piece I think its very rude not to say thank you. If hes rude, why lower your personal standards by being rude back. TBH if more people said thanks the the more happy bus drivers there would be out there. :D

I never said I was rude. If the driver is an arsehole to me, I simply don't say anything when I get off the bus. How is that rude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

When we were young and we spotted a guard we always shouted 'sketch! the police!" and would run off at speed, with the guard running after us thinking that we were up to something.

Ah, great fun.

I never said I was rude. If the driver is an arsehole to me, I simply don't say anything when I get off the bus. How is that rude?

I didnt say YOU where rude, I did say that I find it rude not to say thank you even if they are absolute assholes. You don't know what there day has been like. Its the same with every job but I reckon bus drivers get it in the neck more.

I saw one recently get spat on by a junkie. Can't imagine he was nice to anyone else after that for the day.

You little fúckers! :D

TheGooner wrote:
    I didnt say YOU where rude, I did say that I find it rude not to say thank you even if they are absolute assholes. You don't know what there day has been like. Its the same with every job but I reckon bus drivers get it in the neck more.

I saw one recently get spat on by a junkie. Can't imagine he was nice to anyone else after that for the day.

Urgh, junky phlem :( mingin

If he's in a bad mood, there's no point winding him up being all fakely nice!

Urgh, junky phlem :( mingin

If he's in a bad mood, there's no point winding him up being all fakely nice!

Thanks for getting you where you wanted to go is fakey nice?

Jaysis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

If i said "a gharda" to a cop theyd think i was being cheeky and would probably search me id think.

I dont say anything....well, unless im pissed. I remember we were walking by Harcourt Street cop shop in the early hours once with a rake of drink in us, having an arguement infront about whether it or the huge one in Phoenix Park was the Garda HQ.

I think Harcourt is Dublins, and the Phoenix is national, but whatever :D According to my mate im always doing stupid things infront of them when locked (middle fingers, singing Fcuk The Police by NWA or that "fcuk the police thats how i treat em" line by Kanye West, that kind of thing). Sure he can talk, at least ive never been arrested for drunk and disorderly like him (yet :( Oh god i know an arrest will come before the end of my heavy drinking career)

I wouldnt mind but unlike alot of people ive nothing particularly against them.

TheGooner wrote:
    Thanks for getting you where you wanted to go is fakey nice?

Don't get ye... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Zebra3 wrote:
    I totally ignore them. Police forces are there to protect the rich/powerful from the poor/weak. F*ck them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i would only address them if i knew them. so generally i wouldnt, same way as i wouldnt go up to radom people and say hi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

TheGooner wrote:
    If he got you where you were going with no breakdowns and in one piece I think its very rude not to say thank you.

What I have trouble with is legging it along the platform to the front of the Luas to say thanks to the driver before it moves off. It has me wrecked tired so it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

A pleasant "hi" or "night, Garda" does me...

That said, I was out doing some photos of Waterford at night the other week, and got interogated by the drug squad over it... Was not a happy man after that.

What I have trouble with is legging it along the platform to the front of the Luas to say thanks to the driver before it moves off. It has me wrecked tired so it does.

LMFAO! We are talking bout bus drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

I do find in the course of my patrols that a lot of people say hello to me , or just nod their head in a passing greeting, I always respond to these people and generally if people catch my eye I will say hello first, because I am on mt bike duty 99% of the time I am probably more accessible, but I also feel I have a duty to be friendly and approachable (which hopefully I am anyway whether on or off duty :) ).
    A good few people know me on first name basis , and often say hello which is better again in my opinion. But it is nice when someone says howya Garda or some such like !
    In relation to getting spat on, abused, or slagged off by people...water off a ducks back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I just nod and smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

I usually nod or say "heya guard", it's a hard job and one that's there to protect us when things go bad, I like knowin they're there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

In my own area of this fine city (:p ) I am too well known to the Peelers... they usually stop me for a "chat"... I have great respect for some individual Garda but as a force the organisation leaves a lot to be desired.

I actually have friends who have joined the force and it is an eye-opener to see how different "types" reacted to the discipline...

On topic though... If they say hi I will say hi... we have a community Garda in our district who even pats me dogs!! I like her!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

What, and draw unwanted attention to myself? F*ck that. I'll address them when I need their service, otherwise they're just another stranger....except for the fact that most strangers don't have the power to turn out your pockets on a whim or lock you in a room for 8 hours for having a skinful...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I was stopped at traffic the other day, and a lady Garda in the car next to me gave me a sweet smile, so I smiled back and gave her a cheeky wink.. As I was doing it I thought "oh bugger this isn't a good idea.." but she smiled at me again and drove off.. Made my evening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i nod my head, or give a wee wink and a smile to the cute ones....the older ones/not very cute ones get nothing...nada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

No I don't greet them or anything... I don't see the need to distract them with pointless gestures... I know I wouldn't be able to hear myself think if everyone I passed had a greeting for me.
    I just let them get on with it... they're at work after all.

Actually, one time there were a load of police and fire personel gathered outside a building next door to where I worked, I asked one of the Garda what was going on and he completely blanked me... concentrating on doing his job I suppose.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

the normal gardas are one thing, but those ridiculous 'part-timers', they deserve a kick up the arse and run away with their batons...they shouldn't be let on the street

Just out of curiosity where have you seen these part-timers. The interviews for the reservists start next week so I doubt there are many of them serving so far.

Are you talking about the trainee Guards with blue epaulettes who are out on work expierience before returning to Templemore to continue training. You really should inform yourself before developing such a grudge.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

muletide wrote:
    Just out of curiosity where have you seen these part-timers. The interviews for the reservists start next week so I doubt there are many of them serving so far.

I think someone is talking through their hole

they get something like 24 hours of training and are put on the street... my problem is with the lack of training they recieve and are yet stuck with a trained proper guard who spent a hell of alot longer learning how to police. no i haven't seen one...if i had i'd probably be in a cell for the night after hurling abuse at them

Yes but there are none out yet so you will find it hard to give them a kick up the arse. I love how brave some people become when on the net you sound like a lovely little addition to society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

actually its 120 hours of training

and no i dont usually pay much attention to them when they walk past although i do have alot of respect for them for doing that job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

passive wrote:
    Zebra3 wrote:

And your point is?