Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic poker tour grand final.

• 10-09-2006 12:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭

Now I know not many people like these including myself but did anyone go to this in Athlone? Anyone know who won?

Tournament is open to registered Celtic Poker Tour Players only. 157 tickets have been won to date at Celtic Poker tour main events either by winning the tournament or by taking the ticket option in the €100 - sit & go's.

Tickets are worth €500.

There is a €50 registration fee.

Grand Final will have experienced Dealers at all tables.

Blinds will increase every 45 minutes.

Top 20 finishers will be paid (min prize will be €1000)

There will be either one Buyback or one Top up available. Cost €200 each.

Tickets are worth €500 and there is one topup of €200

So this could end costing a person €750 for the night? Am I right.

€100,000 doesnt sound much for the amount of people that does be there.

Anyway's anyone know how much the winner gets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Has this been played or is this an advertisement for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

It was on today.

Sorry thought I stated in my last post im not a lover of CPT :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Shenanigans!

I checked their website and it's on over this weekend. I really think this is an advertisement.

lafortezza wrote:
    I checked their website and it's on over this weekend. I really think this is an advertisement.

Maybe you should check it again.

The Grand Final started at 2 o clock, Oh yepe let go to the fianl at a quarter past 2 in the morning when the fecking thing is over.

And read the end of my first post if I was advertising I wouldnt say the money doesnt sound good for the amount of people there.

Ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

started about 3 p m today, a mate of mine played in it, i had a ticket but got a refund due to other commitments.

just talking to him about it, about 80 of the approx 200 runners left in. Seemed to be a good game with a decent structure. the €200 re-buy/top could be taken in any of the first 6 levels. they played 11, 45 minute levels today and the blinds start at 2k 1k tomorrow. So there was a lot play in it.

Dont mean to sound like a smart arse your right is on tomorrow too but it started today at 2.

Anyone know how much the winner does get?

Must be alot when you could be risking €750
    nicnicnic wrote:
    started about 3 p m today, a mate of mine played in it, i had a ticket but got a refund due to other commitments..

Did you get €500 back for it.

I thought there would be alot more than that in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭BullBauld

Winner gets 35K, package to Aisian Open and a 2 year sponsorship deal with Betfair.
    I'm playing in it, I qualified after I won a CPT tourney before xmas but I haven't played one since after realising(and after reading some threads on this forum) that they were screwing the players.
    Joey as far as I'm aware it won't cost any players €750, only €200 on the night if they wish to buy back/top up as all players qualified by either winning a CPT event or a €100 stt. I won an event so thats the only reason I'm there.
    Anyhoo I was speaking to some of the Betfair people there tonight and I highlighted some of major faults of CPT to them, the % taken ect. They say they are aware of all these issues and realise change needs to happen and will hold a review meeting after this final to iron out these flaws.
    Somehow I doubt change will happen though.

Dont mean to sound like a smart arse your right is on tomorrow too but it started today at 2.

Anyone know how much the winner does get?

Must be alot when you could be risking €750

Did you get €500 back for it.

I thought there would be alot more than that in it.

yeh had no problem getting the €500

BullBauld wrote:
    Winner gets 35K, package to Aisian Open and a 2 year sponsorship deal with Betfair.
    I'm playing in it, I qualified after I won a CPT tourney before xmas but I haven't played one since after realising(and after reading some threads on this forum) that they were screwing the players.
    Joey as far as I'm aware it won't cost any players €750, only €200 on the night if they wish to buy back/top up as all players qualified by either winning a CPT event or a €100 stt. I won an event so thats the only reason I'm there.
    Anyhoo I was speaking to some of the Betfair people there tonight and I highlighted some of major faults of CPT to them, the % taken ect. They say they are aware of all these issues and realise change needs to happen and will hold a review meeting after this final to iron out these flaws.
    Somehow I doubt change will happen though.

Oh not a bad package then on offer, €35,000 for winner doesnt sound bad at all.

Are you still in it best of luck if you are let us know how you get on.

You know the boylesports games every week did the winner of them tournaments get into it or did you have to win a CPT tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Seriously man get a life
    I just found this so f ckin funny

http://www.celticpokertour.com/grandfinal-images/DSCF7146.jpg

A thinner version of Greg Raymer!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I was told the CPT had disbanded....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭BullBauld

Yeah Joe I'm still in, have 56k with average bout 32k I think. Chip updates haven't been the best to be honest.
    I don't know bout Boylsesports qualifiers, I think it's a just through CPT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Bp!

best a luck man! Keep the updates coming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Seriously man get a life

LOL, what a tool. :)

There's been a good few snippets in regional papers over the past week. The usual ****e: "CPT identified the need for a properly run poker tournament tour in Ireland, blah, blah, blah, we're going to con you out of your money...". I don't like this crowd and no matter what changes they bring in, I never will.

Seriously man get a life

that's funny, didn't realise they had the poker channel in killmuckridge,

Just saw this on celtics website .... live updates ....

Players Left: 44

Average chip stack: 95,000

There is now a new chip leader. Following an all in by Tom Cloney, who had pocket Aces, Stephen Ferrissey called with a 6, 8 suited and finished with a straight to send Tom Cloney home in 45th position. Stephen now holds 275,000.

6-8 suited nice hand pre flop to be gettin all your chips in there down 2 44 ....yeah right

Id say he is sick.

Nearly a waste of two days going all-in with that muck.

Got a link I cant see it on there site?

Oh I found it.
    tacker wrote:
    Anybody who has played a CPT game before will not be surprised by this

Well I played before and im surprised sure I mean what type of hand could he have been beating?

If he win's I would be very surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭tacker

Anybody who has played a CPT game before will not be surprised by this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

whats the address neil, cant find it on their website.

any word on Buda & Damien

Just saw this on celtics website .... live updates ....

Players Left: 44

Average chip stack: 95,000

There is now a new chip leader. Following an all in by Tom Cloney, who had pocket Aces, Stephen Ferrissey called with a 6, 8 suited and finished with a straight to send Tom Cloney home in 45th position. Stephen now holds 275,000.

6-8 suited nice hand pre flop to be gettin all your chips in there down 2 44 ....yeah right

buda gone in about 60th. john lyones has a load of chips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

any word on damien lyons ???

well done in Cork, still working that "magic"

nicnicnic wrote:
    buda gone in about 60th. john lyones has a load of chips

down 2 12 here and ..Wateford man John lyons still in winner of the €800 boyles open event recently at ther main event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭anthony112

hi all, i played this, went out just short of the money in 24th with big slick, big blind called with 46clubs and hits flush on river, feel a bit sick but sure thats poker, til next time:mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Christ almighty, if everyone starts playing perfect pre-flop poker and getting their money in with just huge hands then I'm screwed altogether BECAUSE I'M NOT GOOD ENOUGH A PLAYER TO OVERCOME THAT! I'd love to pretend that if everyone avoided getting their money in as a massive underdog and trying to suck out on me then I'd be winning lots of money but that's just not true because I have a lot of aspects of my game to work on.

If you're that damn good, then I take my hat off to you. Does anyone here really honestly genuinely think that bad beats are costing them money in the long run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭span

Looks like it was another rip off, no surprise there anyway.

According to their web site they paid out €100,500 to the top 20. They gave €500 to the best hand in each of the first 10 levels (wtf was that about) There was €1000 for the overall best hand and €500 for the last female finisher.

Thats a total payout of €106,000.

Now how much did they take in

Players: 204

Buy in 500 + 50

Total: 112,200

lets say 150 rebuys so thats another 30000.

so thats 26000 more than what should have been taken from the reg fee alone.

What a bunch of straight up robbers. Betfair have lost alot of credibility in my eyes by going in with these cowboys.

span wrote:
    €500 for the last female finisher.

Another thing that annoys me. Talk about an insult to women playing in this. "You haven't a hope of winning an event 'cos you're a woman, but dont worry, we'll throw in a few quid for the lady who's lucky enough to last for a while".

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Another thing that annoys me. Talk about an insult to women playing in this. "You haven't a hope of winning an event 'cos you're a woman, but dont worry, we'll throw in a few quid for the lady who's lucky enough to last for a while".
    I was about to post the same thing. Pointless. Even stupider than high hand prizes, which are bad enough.

This is the type of overt sexist approach that is present in different forms in many sports, such as women wanting to enter mens events in sports like golf because it is sexist not to allow them in, whereas they are perfectly happy playing in the womens only events and would never allow a man in. You can't have it both ways.

The idea that a woman would get 500 extra for winning the above tournament compared to a man is absurd. Equality should be equality or else go back to the 50's attitudes. Why the double standards? Had to get that off my chest, despite it being just a *tad* off topic.

/end rant

span wrote:
    Looks like it was another rip off, no surprise there anyway.

Thats a total payout of €106,000.

Now how much did they take in

Players: 204

Buy in 500 + 50

Total: 112,200

lets say 150 rebuys so thats another 30000.

so thats 26000 more than what should have been taken from the reg fee alone.

What a bunch of straight up robbers. Betfair have lost alot of credibility in my eyes by going in with these cowboys.

I work as a dealer in Big slick in Carlow and to hear some of the punters talk about CPT is just unreal. How can they not see what a fcuking rip off their whole thing is.

I thought that aswell but I was informed that nobody bought into this event whoever was in it won the tickets in CPT tournaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

It drives me nuts. I remember a player (female) made a comment after the Irish Open that there should have been a prize for the female who lasted longest in the tournament. I had a massive row over it. Colette Doherty and Irene won the Irish Open, should they have gotten an extra prize, I think not. They were the best player on the day, and won the tournament end of story.

Each tournament I enter I do so to win, not to hope I last longer that a few other people. The only thing I try to avoid is the dreaded bubble, end of story.

Claire Miller won Event 19 in the WSOP this year "The seniors" beating 1,269 entrants to win a cool $247,814. She was the only female bracelet winner, apart from the womens only tournament which I don't think I could play in.

I want to play in a poker tournament, not a gender specific tournament.

I thought that aswell but I was informed that nobody bought into this event whoever was in it won the tickets in CPT tournaments.

while people didn't pay cash on the day the tickets they had weren't in addition to but part of a previous prize or won in a stt, so the monies were generated. Your post makes it sound like a free-roll which it certainly was not

I'm sure €550 was skimmed off every tournament they held to pay for these. There's no way any crowd could afford to give out €100K free. So everyone effectively did pay in. But I'd be surprised if there were many rebuys/top-ups. The players generally seem to be low(ish)-limit players.

I disagree with your assumption here re the rebuy/top_up it was an either/or and I'd imagine 90% of the people playing would of budgeted this in for the weekend. You could of taken the rebuy anytime during the first six levels irrespective of whether you bust or not. So if you dont take it your basically playing a 50% stack to those that did. My guess would be at least an 80% take up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Lenny its a €200 rebuy in a €500 +50 game with more chips for the €200 rebuy then the inital €550. I take your argument about the guys being low limit players but really you had to rebuy or topup unless you were mad!! (even allowing for a large slice being raked off).

The number or rebuys would be very interesting as it would be a real indicator of the standard of poker player in this game.

I would have bankrolled everyone in the field for a rebuy/topup provided they gave me 50% of their winnings ffs!!

Fair enough lads, points taken. So you're looking at approx 150K taken in. I wonder was the Asia thingy sponsored by Betfair?

nicnicnic wrote:
    while people didn't pay cash on the day the tickets they had weren't in addition to but part of a previous prize or won in a stt, so the monies were generated. Your post makes it sound like a free-roll which it certainly was not

I'm not saying it was a freeroll.

I was talking to a guy last night at a poker tournament (came 2nd) he said he was at it and they were letting people play who came with the money.

I wonder where the money went to :rolleyes:

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Fair dues Smurph, a true feminist.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭tacker

I know a lad that bought in to this.CPT are still a farce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Seriously man get a life

Simply the funniest photo I've EVER seen. I can't stop laughing, seriously considering using this as wallpaper for my PC monitors!

kpnuts wrote:
    seriously considering using this as wallpaper for my PC monitors!

Dude, you are a sicko!!!!

Apparently they had a "best costume" award as well. Seriously. Next we'll have "CPT: The Musical".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

span wrote:
    They gave €500 to the best hand in each of the first 10 levels (wtf was that about) There was €1000 for the overall best hand and €500 for the last female finisher.

€6,500 from the prizepool for prizes ranging from ridiculous to derogatory. :mad: What an absolute load of rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Did they give out tins of biscuits this time as well?

Also. Does Doyle Brunson know he is on the front page of their website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

NickyOD wrote:
    Did they give out tins of biscuits this time as well?

Also. Does Doyle Brunson know he is on the front page of their website?

I'm reliably informed that Doyle and his young lad Todd personally bake the CPT biscuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

smurph wrote:
    apart from the womens only tournament which I don't think I could play in.

I want to play in a poker tournament, not a gender specific tournament.

Surely there is a great edge here for you smurph

now before i get jumped on think about it the best female players in the world usually dont play the womens events maybe because there is a bigger pay day in the both genders event maybe because they think they are better than it

So by definition the weaker womens players play in the womens only events hence somebody who would normally fancy there chances in the big both gender events should get a really good edge here

and hey if theres no edge to be got at least you would have lots of other people who knows about ironing and knitting to talk too :eek: resume jumping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

kpnuts wrote:
    I'm reliably informed that Doyle and his young lad Todd personally bake the CPT biscuits.

Oh Jesus Christ, my side are sore from laughing. I cant stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Surely there is a great edge here for you smurph

now before i get jumped on think about it the best female players in the world usually dont play the womens events maybe because there is a bigger pay day in the both genders event maybe because they think they are better than it

So by definition the weaker womens players play in the womens only events hence somebody who would normally fancy there chances in the big both gender events should get a really good edge here

and hey if theres no edge to be got at least you would have lots of other people who knows about ironing and knitting to talk too :eek: resume jumping

Very funny, :o:o

I often wondered if I would play in the female event in the WSOP, actually contemplated it until I was speaking to Chris Green. She would be a card player, well known around the Dublin Circuit, plays in the Merrion and the Fitzwilliam for years. Chris is a tough nut and would not be phased by very much, but she played in the Female only event in the WSOP this year and she hated it.

All the chat at the table was who owned the biggest Condominium in Vegas, all the properties different people had. Now Chris nearly did not get to play as she had forgotten her ID on the day of tournament, but had registered the previous day with her passport. She did very well early on, but later in one pot she made a big bet into player B, who went to the rails to get advice from her hubbie. Chris pointed out that this was not allowed and proceeded to be abused from the rails by player B's hubby who announced that she shouldn't even be playing in the game because she had no ID and she should mind here own business.........

When Chris got knocked out the table gave a round of applause. I couldn't keep my cool if this happened to me. Chris said that she would not play in the tournament again.

Anyway playing any tournament in the WSOP is only a dream for me at the moment, but we can all dream:rolleyes: :rolleyes: .

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ya, I was shocked when Chris told me the story of her event there. I am amazed she kept her cool at all those idiots.