Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigrants to face instant deportation for serious crime

• 06-09-2006 7:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭

Immigrants to face instant deportation for serious crime
    Wednesday, 6th September, 2006

Non-EU nationals who commit serious crimes, including traffic and drug offences, will face instant deportation under new measures proposed by the Minister for Justice Michael McDowell.

The measures contained in the proposed Immigration, Residence and Protection Bill will also require non-EU nationals seeking to live and work in Ireland to carry residence permits containing biometric data.

It will be an offence not to carry the credit card-sized permit at all times but gardai will take into account if a card is lost or stolen.

_______

Will this include ALL non E.U. citizens or will it just be confined to the very vulnerable Africans, Chinese, Romanians.......etc ?
    But how will the secret police know who to challenge? Does an E.U citizen look any different from a non E.U. citizen?

What about the Americans, Australians etc. resident here who slip in and out of the country and are regularly giving a 'rap on the knuckles' at the airport on return for not keeping their residents' permits up to date with a regular visit to Burgh Quay? In fact, how can they justify any reason for remaining on Irish not to mention E.U. soil?

One journalist in last Saturday's Irish Times magazine in this position referred to warnings she receives (but possibly referring to her early years in Ireland) but her status has now changed as she is the mother of Irish children.......

But is it not strange that most Irish people do NOT realise that there is no such thing as 'I.D.' in Ireland.....the document does NOT exist. Full stop.
    At Dublin Airport the security guards dressed in those old fashioned garda style uniforms have the right to ask people in the airport for their name but nothing else (see bye-laws) and the Garda has the right to ask for your name and address but that's all.
    He can't ask for proof of your identity(I.D.) that does not exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Dont know about the rules here but in the UK isnt it basically impossible legally to deport people to dangerous countries? Thats how those millitants like Abu Hamza managed to stay so long.

I think the UK can deport and ban EU citizens who serve more than 2 years in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

If these measures are not in place now, I look forward to when they are. If you are a decnt law abiding citizen, whether it be from Europe or anywhere on the planet, you have nothing to fear. Ireland curently has enough of its own scum element without an influx from other parts of the planet. Controls are badly needed on this island if we are to stamp out crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Are you sure its only serious crimes? As the minister for Justice on the radio said this morning if you are driving without insurance for example you will be deported.
    If you are a decnt law abiding citizen, whether it be from Europe or anywhere on the planet, you have nothing to fear.

Because we have never had any incidents where a police officer has stictched up an innocent person. :rolleyes:

Get real Hobbes. I know here have been cases of innocent people being stung, but it's few and far between. Even if we introduced vetting procedures on people entering our island his would be a help, criminal and health checks would e a start????.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

walshb wrote:
    Get real Hobbes.

I am getting real. According to the interview with him he said any criminal offense would lead to deportation.
    I know here have been cases of innocent people being stung, but it's few and far between.

It still happens though, which is the point in hand. I'm sure in a perfect world where there was no corruption of any kind or vendettas or hatred that such a system would be viable but if we "get real" it isn't the case.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

As far as I'm aware you can't send people back to a dangerous country for any reason, so perhap's they'll be deported to the nearest safe country or something; the thing is what other country will want a pile of criminals coming in from Ireland anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Sugar_Ray

So very true Flo. That's why I believe we need to get tough and to take a stance. And with toughness we also can be fair. It's unfair on those who are decent and respectable hard working people here aleady, that a percentage are causing them al to be labelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

I am appalled by the idea of non-EU citizens having to carry compulsory ID but not Irish citizens. It should either be everyone or no one (I would say no one). This is one very small step away from making non-EU citizens wear an identifying armband.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Andrew 83 wrote:
    I am appalled by the idea of non-EU citizens having to carry compulsory ID but not Irish citizens. It should either be everyone or no one (I would say no one). This is one very small step away from making non-EU citizens wear an identifying armband.

Its technically compulsory for under 21s to carry ID in bars and clubs.

Pal, no offence, but boards already has too many like you. Enough of the yellow star for foreigners nonsense. We tolerate Hobbes because his posts are outlandishly funny, but another one is just overkill (though in fairness, its a topic about immigrants and tbh Hobbes hasnt said anything insane. Fair play :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Sugar_Ray

I agree. Andrew is obviously a mad 'civil libertY' nut who believes that everyone should be able to roam freely wherever they want with absolute freedom to do whatever they want. That's all well in a perfect world, but we do not live in a perfect world. We as Irish citizens carry valid ID in the forM of passports and drivers licences etc. Foreigners therefore should have to carry similar forms of ID and if not, the ID CARDS. I wouldn't expect to be able to roam any part Of any country other than my own without some form of ID

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

What would concern me is that it could leave an avenue open to allow harassment of anyone who doesn't look or sound stereotypically Irish.

I mean, if you don't look Irish does this mean that the Gardai could stop you and ID you ?

Seems a little strange and wide open to abuse to me!

That's agood point. How will the authorities determine who is and is not Irish. Basically I feel that the persons entering the country without an EU passport should be screened firstly. Then some form of ID, a passport I'm assuming from their home country should be produced and then take it from there. I don't think abuses will occur if that approach is taken. And just because you carry an EU passport, I still think screening should be compulsory. Without it we are open to allowing any scum into the country which cannot be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Solair wrote:
    What would concern me is that it could leave an avenue open to allow harassment of anyone who doesn't look or sound stereotypically Irish.

I mean, if you don't look Irish does this mean that the Gardai could stop you and ID you ?

Seems a little strange and wide open to abuse to me!

Yes exactly. This legislation if passed in its current form will make it an offence for a non-EU citizen to be on the street without this ID.

Needing ID to get into a pub/club (I believe it's under 23s by the way) is compeltely different, that's to ensure there are no underage people there. Teenagers are perfectly entitled to walk down the street or play in the park without ID. I think this leaves a massive window open for arbitrary demands to see ID to those who look or sound different.

If non EU nationals should have to carry a biometric ID at all times so should every other citizen with all the fingerprint details etc that that entails, and with it also being an offence not to have it.

I don't think this is a news/media topic, certainly not any more.
    There is a discussion going on about it on politics, feel free to join that one.

I'm locking this, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

flogen wrote:
    I don't think this is a news/media topic, certainly not any more.
    There is a discussion going on about it on politics, feel free to join that one.

I'm locking this, however.

Hey, that's about ID cards. This is about deportation.

I'll continue on topic. I'm totally for this. I think if people are going to come to our country and not abide by our rules, they can f-off. ESPECIALLY in the cases of having no car insurance. That's a disgrace and it makes me angry.

As you can see the discussion there has covered deportation too; either way the news/media forum is no place for this discussion so feel free to start a deportation thread in politics (which will probably end up getting merged with the ID card one anyway).

I was sure I locked this thread anyway... oh well.