Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wtf to do without drink??

• 06-09-2006 6:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭buzz

as it says above.......

Myself and the g/f are on medication and cant drink.. Seriously what the hell is there to do at night?

Have done cinema too many times, bowling is getting boring etc...
    And they wonder why us irish drink so much??:rolleyes:

What else to couples to when out at night? (besides the obvious):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

are you alcoholics or something?

go for a meal or something. maybe a walk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Revelation Joe

Why can't you go to a bar and drink Coke or 7-Up?
    Or there's the theatre, loads of places for gigs...

Del

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Lots to be done, you can still go out and have some soft drinks and have a dance, game of pool, fanshy meal out somewhere or some exercise or shock horror..sit down and have a chat. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭smk135

play squash,

have a picnic,

have a meal,

visit the city/town next to you,

clean up your house,

go to a spa therapy (probably be cheaper than a night out in dublin),

make a baby,

learn a new recipe together,

be a romantice bf,

watch football,

be a bit more imaginative.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

I think making a baby is off the cards for them lol.

I think they idea of going out to the clubs but not drinking alcohol. U will prolly get into the buzz zone from u simply being there and dancing, I think ur body works like that anyways, repetitive conditioning n stuff. Drink coke or sumthing that might get u hyper too. Wont be the same but If enjoy the dancing/club scene, it might work for u.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Unless all you do with your free time is sit around getting hammered, then being off alcohol shouldn't be a problem.

If all you do with your free time is sit around getting hammered, you have bigger problems than trying to find something to do on a friday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭oRlyYaRly

buzz wrote:
    as it says above.......

Myself and the g/f are on medication and cant drink.. Seriously what the hell is there to do at night?

Oh. Dear. God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

smk135 wrote:
    play squash,

have a picnic,

have a meal,

visit the city/town next to you,

clean up your house,

go to a spa therapy (probably be cheaper than a night out in dublin),

make a baby,

learn a new recipe together,

be a romantice bf,

watch football,

be a bit more imaginative.....

A good list. But you forgot the obvious one: get some counselling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

go for a meal. horse riding. pilot lessons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

Now, I'm being by no means condoning(:rolleyes:) this..

But apparently... getting a bag of weed and sitting in just talking is a breath takingly wonderful experience! :p

Weed ftw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

if you're in dublin it can be hard finding new stuff outside beer, meal and de fillums, mainly because one of you might be bored doing what the other thinks is a great idea, its getting a bit nippy for walks and all that lark..so how about comedy nights and stuff like that. Suprised no-one mentioned gig's yet..loadsa good music to be had in dublin

But it is true that beer often fills that great big void in our society, god bless beer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

A mate of mine doesn't drink, so what he does instead is get 6 cans of red bull and drinks them in a night. I would assume this is more unhealthy than a few drinks though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

6 cans of red bull more unhealthy a few drinks? probably not. it is a lot of sugar tho, although if you had 6 rum and cokes or 6 vodka and blackcurrents, they'd be a lot worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Try going to comedy clubs, or maybe a blues pub, or some trad pub. Aye, and drink 7-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Idgeitman

Take her out for a meal, always been one of my favorite's. Watch a DVD and get a take out?

~ Idgeitman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Daelus

the_syco wrote:
    Try going to comedy clubs
    Yeah, I went to a comedy show the other night and had a great time, completely sober. The atmosphere is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭smallpaws

buzz wrote:
    as it says above.......

Uhmmm, you could try some evening AA meetings....look, just talk to each other, find hobbies you both like, take up evening classes, go stargazing. There's tons of stuff to do without drinking.

i didn't think it was possible, but i actually went to the pub last week and only drank blackcurrant.

i would imagine 6 red bulls would be hell on your stomach. you wouldn't catch me drinking one of those foul things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Go for a drive...

Go for a walk...

Organise a poker night...

Driving into town on a Saturday night can be good craic, particularly if there are two of you not drinking. You get to go in when you want, for free. Pay a tiny amount for parking, a tiny amount on drinks for yourselves, have a good laugh anyway, go home for free, and sober, and get a good sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

buzz wrote:
    Myself and the g/f are on medication and cant drink..

Either of yis admit you were the original carrier?

Anyway, i thought after work evening alcoholism was the preserve of those of us without birds (or, in my case, those of us who dont even have their own bed to go home to at night). Out of curiousity how much do you usually drink per night?

Or are ya one of these whipped lads who chokes downpoxy wine they dont even like with the bird every night. She can have her wine, ill have me cans and smoke, thatll be me if im ever tied down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭raheny red

buzz wrote:
    as it says above.......

A/S/L :confused:

:p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

buzz wrote:
    as it says above.......

the old adage 'only the boring get bored' comes to mind.

at what point does alcohol need to be added before you feel youre enjoying yourself?
    perhaps you need to re-educate to what is out there that does not involve sitting on your arse and talking shíte?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

buzz wrote:
    as it says above.......

just take up heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Did you give her some disease that you're both on the same medication?

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Are you for real? You can't think of a single thing to do without drink?

That is very sad in my opinion.

Go out, go for a walk, go to the cinema, go bowling, go watch a match, or a play, rent a DVD, or, alternatively, go run a bath, or have a shower together and go have some sex, or do you need to be drunk to do that too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Anyone who thinks you can go to a club without drinking on a regular basis and have a good time is talking bollox.

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Either of yis admit you were the original carrier?
    Lump wrote:
    Did you give her some disease that you're both on the same medication?

John

Yeah somehow this is telling us they just don’t have the flu or the chicken pox!:p

Anyone who thinks you can go to a club without drinking on a regular basis and have a good time is talking bollox.
    I pity you.

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    I pity you.
    Why do you pity me? I don't like nightclubs and I don't like dancing. All the play is shítty dance music. You can't talk to anyone cos the music is so loud. What's the point? I can only tolerate it if I have a few beers.

Sorry, sorry, I took you up wrong, I thought you implied you couldn't survive a night out without drink, which would have been kinda sad.

I like a few drinks when I go out, but I certainly would never be reliant on alcohol as a means of 'getting through the night', and I seriously cannot understand how a young couple find it difficult to entertain themselves without getting drunk.

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    Sorry, sorry, I took you up wrong, I thought you implied you couldn't survive a night out without drink, which would have been kinda sad.

I like a few drinks when I go out, but I certainly would never be reliant on alcohol as a means of 'getting through the night', and I seriously cannot understand how a young couple find it difficult to entertain themselves without getting drunk.
    Aah ok, no worries. I definitely don't need drink to enjoy myself but there are just certain situations where I'd just rather be at home if I don't have a few drinks on me and nightclubs are one of those places!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Yeah somehow this is telling us they just don’t have the flu or the chicken pox!:p

And tell Lump to quit stealin my insults. Clap jokes are my forte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I find it kinda disturbuing that I see so many threads on "what to do besides drink". It implies that a lot people in Ireland only have drinking as past-time.
    Oh, and also that they have no imagination.

he's right. we probably need a sticky or a forum on what to do without drink.

or people could just take a look around this place.
    plenty of forums about stuff and ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

buzz wrote:
    as it says above.......

Mmmm...........

Why dont you break up? Ye seam quiet bored with each others company when sober

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

It is true that there aren't many things to do in this town that don't revolve around drink, and what there is to do just isn't as much fun, so I do feel for them. Anybody calling them alcoholics is just spouting sanctimonius ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

It is true that there aren't many things to do in this town that don't revolve around drink, and what there is to do just isn't as much fun, so I do feel for them.

So what things would you like to see? What's missing that's available in other places? Personally I think you're talking ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

seamus wrote:

Did you not read the bit where he said 'What else to couples to when out at night? (besides the obvious)'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

There are all kinds of things you can do.

The following reccomendations are designed to be suited to your personality, given the predicament you find yourself in:

- Bingo

- Heated arguments

- Training for a triathlon

- Birdwatching

- Begging passers by for money

- Door to door selling (you could go together)

- Gardening

- Hide & Seek

- Attending Swinging parties

- Joyriding

- Backgammon

- Jigsaws

- You could have a competition to see who could eat the most softmints at one time

- Competitive eating (I think the world record is 42 hotdogs in 10 minutes... you could practice)

It must be really tough for you both with nothing to do because you can't drink alcohol. I'm surprised you were able to enjoy the cinema without sneaking in a flagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

*snigger*

Mmmm...........

Why dont you break up? Ye seam quiet bored with each others company when sober
    Thats a great idea! I wish i'd though of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Pretend to be drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭dubstub

It's a common misconception that there is nothing to do in Dublin that doesn't involve drink. There's loads to do, the problem is that everyone is usually too drunk or hungover to do them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

buzz wrote:
    Seriously what the hell is there to do at night?

That's a tricky question!

Emmm... Glue Sniffing?... errmmm... Dogging?...

Other than those 2 precise activities, I'm stumped!

Maybe you could try them both at the same time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

buzz wrote:
    as it says above.......

Just get drunk anyway. Ye'll be fine.

buzz wrote:
    as it says above.......

Are you both acoholic? What the hell is wrong with you people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

I say you kick your own ass for thinkin theres nothin better to do than drink all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I can't believe this thread. Seriously. You HAVE to drink to have fun? Is your relationship that bloody boring? You could try going to AA meetings while you're on medication. That might help both of you. There have been some great suggestions in this thread so far, you should take note of them. You should also take note of the fact that if you can only have fun together, and find each other interesting while intoxicated then you're both fucked.

Sorry if you think I'm coming across as pedantic, but this type of thing gets to me. "OMG what will we do without drink!?!?" Ever think of what you'll do without drink when she is pregnant and you're paying a mortgage?

Take her for a meal.
    Go camping.
    Go for a walk.
    Go to the gym.
    Join self defense classes.
    Rent a movie and have a romantic night in together.
    Pack a bag, take the car and go somewhere for the weekend.

There's a million things you could do tbh. If you're too fussy or don't want to do any of the above then you might as well sign up for a replacement liver now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

Den_M wrote:

Originally Posted by seamus

Did you not read the bit where he said 'What else to couples to when out at night? (besides the obvious)'?

Anyone? Poker? Poke her? Ah fergeddit :rolleyes:

i can't believe nobody has mentioned this yet, but...

become the designated driver and win loads of new friends.