Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ultimate Cage Fighters

• 06-09-2006 5:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭

As anybody who has seen the latest issue of Irish Fighter will know there is an advertisement for upcoming ‘Cage Fighting’ show to be held in Dublin this November. This is still in the early stages of planning and I would have preferred to keep it on the ‘down low’ until things were more definite but as the next issue of Irish Fighter would not be out until December I was forced to rush an ad together for the September issue.

This will be the first Cage Fighting event to be held in Dublin and will feature top talent from Europe as well as the very best Irish fighters. Only fighters with proven ability on shows like Ring of Truth and UFR etc will be considered for this event. All fights will be fought under full UFC style rules and weight classes with the long term goal being to crown national and international champions that can go on to represent their country in bigger shows across the waters through established contacts.

The date has been tentatively set for Saturday, November 18th but its early days yet. Tickets will be available from SBG and ticketmaster.ie in due course.

We have a couple of big announcements to make in the coming weeks including special guests and fight card so keep an eye on this thread and also the website www.ultimatecagefighters.ie (to be started soon).

Fighters/coaches interested in being part of the show should email me at ringoftruth@gmail.com for more information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 glucosamine

That sounds awesome john I'd say it will go really well. sounds like it will be the ultimate event in irish mma. Can we start proposing match ups now? I wonder if the card will be made up from fighters from this island only or will there be fighters from the Uk/Europe?

Special guest fights may answer this question.

Can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Great to have the show - Ultimate Cage Fighter's sounds a little bit corny though and is feeding the media too much.

Best of luck with it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭cmb.

already excited at the prospect - only thing is - while i can see where your going with the name - the notoriety of 'cage fighting' will bring out the chavs in force (the nacker element that we saw at the bushido show in the point) expecting to see 'human cockfighting' after seeing a clip of tank abbott on youtube - but i really hope this show goes well for all involved

Yeah, as marketable as the name is - I think you should go for something else..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

lol the positivity didn't last too long!

anyway how about some suggestions?? if they're good i might use them:) but remember from a marketing (viability!) point of view its hard to avoid using the momentum generated by bravo showing 'fighting' in a 'cage' with the word 'ultimate' in it;)

At we're just nitpicking.. Seriously though, the name is a bit corny.. I understand you have to sell it aswell. So with marketability in mind..

Irish Cagefighting Championships
    Troid FC (Troid is fight in gaeilge)
    Troid Cagefighting Championships
    Cage Conflict
    Irish Cage Conflict

Just some ideas with work with..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Scramble

First of all, sounds great John- good luck with the show!

I think there's nothing wrong with using a name which is recognisable. More and more people know 'Ultimate Fighting' from watching various shows on Bravo. Most of them, in my experience, think of it as very rough-and-tumble indeed, but they know that it is not exactly human cockfighting either. It's the people who know nothing about the sport that think that.

'Cage fighting' obviously does attract the interest of a certain type of tabloid journalist looking for an article on a slow wednesday, but there are enough articulate, knowledgable coaches in this country to respond intelligently to any scaremongering in the press or on the radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Some suggestions:

Fighting Ultimate Cage!

Ultimate Fighting in a Cage Type Thing!

Cage- Ultimate- Fighting!- Geddit?

Its as good as any name TBH, Ring of Truth got some human cockfighting press and its a harmless name. If someone wants to find a story they'll look beyond the name anyway. So I say call it Human Cockfighting Championships and do the rest of their lazy journalism for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

Since we don't know how Kav plans on selling the tickets (through "ticket masters" or through MMA fighters/gyms & sports shops) and since we don't know how large a venue it's going to be in, we really have no idea if the Knacker element will be fascilitated.

Anyway, I think the name is hugely corny and perfect for the first show, later it can evolve into something more dynamic and contemporary but for now I think its good.

Also the knacker element my have not been as visible if the fights at rings were ROT standard.

So John, where are you planning on having this etc?

Peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

And its on the same day as MMA League Dublin - what a cracking weekend of MMA Action! Can't wait for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

And its on the same day as MMA League Dublin
    Subtle plug Mark... real subtle! :)

Best of luck with this John, sounds great! Pity I won't be around for it. :(

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Subtle plug Mark... real subtle! :)

Best of luck with this John, sounds great! Pity I won't be around for it. :(
    So you're not coming to Dublin to train with me Tim? Way to let me down man... you could have told me, I was converting the attic...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

dlofnep wrote:
    Irish Cagefighting Championships

I like this one.
    Too much events have ultimate in their title now and we already have one in Ireland. Stating the event is Irish is a good thing as maybe people wandering on Sherdog fight finder may happen across it and exposure to the international market is a good thing! The word cagefighting is sure to attract new fans as it sounds hardcore. And Championships let's us know that it's a showcase for the very best Irish and foreign talent.:D

Not that it really matters, I'm sure the show will be awesome either way:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭crazy monkey

Hi JK,

How about A night with Bravo....just to give it a classier title, if not Cage Fighting Championship shall do...
    As Pearse said we don't know alot of details yet so it's hard to offer any ideas we have.
    I know you are in the planning stages but where's the venue...The Point/RDS...National Basketball Arena...
    How many Fights/
    You mention titles will there be titles to be won at this event?
    As in a new title just for this event or will competitors who fight put their titles on the line?
    As you work your mma fight night magic please fill us in with whatever details you can I am sure you know we are all living for Nov. 18th....

And for those of you who aren't in the know....mma league final leg 2006...
    If I am fit again I shall fight and hopefully get my medal ;)

It sounds like a great day for amateur and semi/pro mma.

Well done.

Ciao Bravo :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭droc

Nice one, it should be great.

I'm gonna be home for a few days, I'll give you a call and I'll see if I can help you out with some International fighters.

DROC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭topdog8

nice job man fair play this will raise mma in ireland as ufc has done for the entire world congrats again..
    the name sounds cool to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

ttt. Sounds great. Is there a launch date for the website? I tried it but nothing comes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

So you're not coming to Dublin to train with me Tim? Way to let me down man... you could have told me, I was converting the attic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Dylan Scally

personally i'd avoid any title with the word ''cage'', cops might stop it before it starts. 'Cage' to the uneducated sounds too much like 'pit' and man v rottweiler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I like the idea of the dog and the rottweiller. Only joking, that's sick.I think Pearse covered this before on an ancient thread, worst thing that will happen will be some knackers turning up expecting to see blood and guts and going home a bit disappointed but JK will be (number of tickets sold to knackers)*(prcie of tickets) richer. Or, some grannies will ring up adrian barry and complain and he'll get free publicity and some 15 year old WWE fans will come and watch. It's all good.

I'd call it "Rage it against the Cage Irish Style" or "Baiting the ****e out of people in a cage".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭crazy monkey

it doesn't matter what you call it!!!
    The rage in the cage
    the hell in the cell
    The painus in your anus......
    People just want to see it.............

GO CAGE FIGHTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:cool:

an update...

it has been decided by the management team to postpone our first event until late Feb due to a number of events already booked for November including paul kelly's Armegeddon.

but also its been postponed because of a new exciting new deal thats now on the table...

more details in the coming weeks when contracts are signed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

How mysterious!

One can only speculate about the deal..

dlofnep wrote:
    One can only speculate about the deal..
    Yes, one can, so let us speculate indeed...

... My guess is that a new deal has been signed to put points kickboxing in the cage....

That's some pretty bold speculation Mr. Roper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

My guess is maybe a tv deal.

btw. Does anyone know when the website will be up?

That was my guess, but at the moment - it's only speculation. According to the speculation faculty members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

Yo, dlofnep, you'll probably be nailed for that sig once one of the sig rats sees it.

Watch this space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

it doesn't matter what you call it!!!
    The rage in the cage
    the hell in the cell
    The painus in your anus......
    People just want to see it.............

GO CAGE FIGHTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:cool:

I didn't want the tip of the hat to The Rock to go unnoticed. I miss The People's Champ :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

My guess is that a new deal has been signed to put points kickboxing in the cage....

behave yourself, there would be killings that night :)

As far as I know there will be a few lads from the chupasart gym fightin (thai) on it, maybe even a aul heavyweight match if i can get them trainin properly

paddy

Yo, dlofnep, you'll probably be nailed for that sig once one of the sig rats sees it.

Watch this space

fixed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭cmb.

any updates?

should have an announcement re all this cage fighting malarky in the next few days. want to wait until its 100% :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

contrary to rumours on the grapewine I will not be fighting Matt Hughes at this event.