Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indo's Top 10 Gaelic Football Matches

• 30-08-2006 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭

In Tuesday's Irish Independent, in light of people saying that Sunday's semi-final was one of the best matches ever, they gave a list of the top 10 matches:

1)1977 Semi-final: Dublin 3 - 12 Kerry 1 - 13
    2)1994 Ulster Quarter-Final: Down 1 - 14 Derry 1 - 12
    3)1982 All-Ireland Final: Offaly 1 - 15 Kerry 0 - 17
    4)1997 Leinster semi-final replay: Meath 2 - 20 Kildare 3 - 17
    5)1991 Leinster first round 3rd replay: Meath 2 - 10 Dublin 0 - 15
    6)2006 All-Ireland semi-final: Mayo 1 - 16 Dublin 2 - 12
    7)1998 All-Ireland Final: Galway 1 - 14 Kildare 1 - 10
    8)2005 All-Ireland semi-final: Tyrone 1 - 13 Armagh 1 - 12
    9)1973 All-Ireland Final: Cork 3 - 17 Galway 2 - 13
    10)1976 Munster Final replay: Kerry 3 - 20 Cork 2 - 19

I was at 6 of those. All were great matches. I suppose we could all argue for other matches that should be there. One that comes to mind for me was last year's draw quarter final between Tyrone and Dublin. Draws often have a sense of anti-climax, but there was a great buzz coming out of Croke Park after that game. We had Eoin Mulligan's wonder goal in there too. Other opinions on the above list and other games that you might include welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I knew that they would say Dublin V Kerry was the best match ever ..... because of nostalgia....it's rubbish.

If you actually look at that match and compare it to Sundays game, Sundays game was far better.

I can't judge objectively about Sunday because I was there, but one thing I do know, it was 5 times better than the 1977 game.

Dublin V Donegal should be in that group as well in 2002 I think (drawn game).

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Cavan vs Derry 97 should be in there too. 1-14 to 0-16, tit for tat scoring all game until Jason got the winning goal and Cavan went on the defensive. I am very biased I know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Laois V Kildare Leinster Semi 2005 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Culchie, would you say us looking back on Dublin v Mayo, all of 3 days ago, and saying it was a great match is nostalgia? I wouldn't think so. Well, less than 3 days after the Dublin v Kerry semi-final in 1977, they were saying it was the greatest match ever, so it isn't down to nostalgia. If in 29 years from now, they are saying that Dublin v Mayo, way back in 2006, wasn't a good match, it is just all nostalgia, I am sure you wouldn't agree. The 1977 semi-final was a fantastic match, and not for any reasons of nostalgia.

Flukey wrote:
    Culchie, would you say us looking back on Dublin v Mayo, all of 3 days ago, and saying it was a great match is nostalgia? I wouldn't think so. Well, less than 3 days after the Dublin v Kerry semi-final in 1977, they were saying it was the greatest match ever, so it isn't down to nostalgia. If in 29 years from now, they are saying that Dublin v Mayo, way back in 2006, wasn't a good match, it is just all nostalgia, I am sure you wouldn't agree. The 1977 semi-final was a fantastic match, and not for any reasons of nostalgia.

No, it's probably because Dublin won the 1977 match, it has to be the greatest;) ....well, only half a ;) more of a :rolleyes:

The 4th Dublin v Meath match in 1991 is listed up there, and Dublin didn't win that. They didn't win on Sunday either. Martin Breheny isn't a Dub and there are lots of matches from different parts, so we can't start throwing the old Dublin media chestnut in here either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭solskjaer20

2)1994 Ulster Quarter-Final: Down 1 - 14 Derry 1 - 12

Without a doubt the best match I was ever at. Absolutely brilliant stuff. I've appealed to sideline.ie to release a dvd of the match.....hopefully they will in the future.

As already mentioned Cavan vs Derry 97 was a great match.....

as was Derry vs Dublin in the 93 semi-final. Score for score, with Johnny McGurk's brilliant winner and Tony Scullion match savong last gasp wonder block. And then of course there was that shoulder on Jack Sheedy by Brian Mc Gilligan.

That 1993 semi-final was good. I was at that too, another one that us Dubs lost, but still a great match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

Is there any dvd of the top gaa games of all time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

I was at an a semi-final in the early 80's where Kerry beat Offaly by 4-16 to 4-12 or something like that. Matt Connor was in his prime, everytime Offaly got a goal Kerry went up the field to take the lead again, classic open game of football should be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

Flukey & Culchie, I dont mean any disrespect but is there any chance one of ye would change Avatar ?

It gets confusing when you are debating. :confused:

I know, next time you have apposing views on the particular outcome of a game, maybe you could make a bet and the looser has to change Avatar's to Bert instead of Ernie, Anyway just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭squire1

kaimera wrote:
    Laois V Kildare Leinster Semi 2005 :)

Ooch! Not quiet a classic in my opinion. Maybe Kildare Laois 1997. Remember that one?:D

The 1977 match has been shown on TG4 a few times and honestly I don't see what all the fuss is about. It was exciting but poor football was played for long periods. To each his own I suppose.

Dublin Mayo last week has to be up there as one of the greatest comebacks of all time.

Aido c wrote:
    Flukey & Culchie, I dont mean any disrespect but is there any chance one of ye would change Avatar ?

It gets confusing when you are debating. :confused:

I know, next time you have apposing views on the particular outcome of a game, maybe you could make a bet and the looser has to change Avatar's to Bert instead of Ernie, Anyway just a thought.

LOL, Ernie looks like a rednecked Culchie, hence the avatar....also good luck charm so far.

If Mayo win the next day, I'll change my avatar, I don't think I'd be online until 2007 then anyway:)

Patmac, that semi-final between Kerry and Offaly was in 1980. In the run up to winning the All-Ireland Final in 1982, in each of the previous years they had got one stage further than the year preceding that:

1982 - All-Ireland Champions.
    1981 - Runners Up.
    1980 - Leinster Champions & Semi-finalist.
    1979 - Leinster runners up.
    1978 - Leinster semi-finalist.
    1977 - Leinster quarter-finalist.

Aido C, just look above each of our avatars and you'll see our names, so you can tell Culchie and myself apart, not to mention our styles of post. I am not a redneck, I just loved Sesame Street and Ernie years ago, like my lifelong love of Gaelic Games. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

caesar wrote:
    Is there any dvd of the top gaa games of all time?

some here:

http://www.dvdsales.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

The 1977 match has been shown on TG4 a few times and honestly I don't see what all the fuss is about. It was exciting but poor football was played for long periods

Agree 100%.

That match is one of these 'common consensus' pieces of opinion that gets quoted a lot until people accept it as fact and up until 1977 it probably was the best of them all.

However, there have been a hell of a lot of better matches since then with football of a far higher quality.

It's no coincidence that these arguments never surface when TG4 show their 'Gold' series - that's because the evidence is there to see and often people are shocked at how their memory has played tricks on them. Yet give them a few months or a year and the 'new' memory is erased and suddenly we hear all the crap about declining football standards etc. all over again.

megadodge wrote:
    Agree 100%.

That match is one of these 'common consensus' pieces of opinion that gets quoted a lot until people accept it as fact and up until 1977 it probably was the best of them all.

However, there have been a hell of a lot of better matches since then with football of a far higher quality.

It's no coincidence that these arguments never surface when TG4 show their 'Gold' series - that's because the evidence is there to see and often people are shocked at how their memory has played tricks on them. Yet give them a few months or a year and the 'new' memory is erased and suddenly we hear all the crap about declining football standards etc. all over again.

My point exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭DiscoHugh

I'm surprised nobody has metioned

2002 final Armagh Vs Kerry

or even the Semi Finals Armagh Vs Dublin...i was at that and i thought it was almost on a par with Dublin Vs Mayo (of course I couldn't really enjoy either match though :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Of all the Armagh games, in what has been a great period, I enjoyed Armagh v Dublin 2002 the best. Probably the first full house in the "new" Croke Pk, a cracking atmosphere, close game. The Armagh - Tyrone games that year were crackers too, but were not on TV, so aren't talked about much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 furboot

I hear the no. 5 on this list Meath v Dublin 1991 is coming out on dvd - only took 15 years to make it so should be interesting !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Glad to see the Armagh Tyrone 2005 semi in the list thought it was an amazing game - two huge performaces. It makes me laugh when some commentators talk about the good old days in the 70s - these TG4 programmes are great to show the reality. Was at the Mayo Dublin game this year and while I was delighted with the result, and it was a good game I think some of the reaction was because Dublin were beaten - All the experts thought they would win so if they are beaten it must be the best game in history. Personally I found the Armagh/Tyrone game way ahead.

I see Mayo Dublin match is included in the 2006 football dvd - suppose it was the best match of the year or was it ??

forgot to ref my last post - info on that 2006 football dvd is on www.dvdsales.ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

the armagh v kerry game of this year was another great comeback match.

my favourite but heartbreaking was the connaught final reply of 1998 between roscommon v galway in the hdye.

ros first final since 1993, threw away the tuam game by giving away a stupid free kick (on a day finnegan and joyce were shooting blanks) no one gave the rossies a chance, lost practically in the dying minutes of extra time when donnellan scored a freak goal. we all know what happened to galway after. (scene of crossing the shannon was a proud moment)

donegal beating dublin in 1992 is another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

ros first final since 1993, threw away the tuam game by giving away a stupid free kick

As a fellow Rossie I am still incensed over that same "free kick". Having happened right in front of me on the day and having reviewed it countless times on video, I still cannot fathom how the ref. gave that free.

It was a long ball coming down on Cliffy McDonald and Savage/Finnegan (can't remember which). In order to make it obvious he was not fouling, Cliffy put both his hands out wide (and the fact that he was wearing white gloves made this unmissable) while S/F backed into him. Cliffy stood his ground and when the ball reached them punched it clear with his right hand and his left was still extended. S/F just sat down and hey presto, a magical free from nothing !!

And besides the long ball was delivered by Gary Fahy who had picked the ball clean off the ground, then charged into the facing Rossie and abrakadabra guess what ?? That was only about 30 yard out from the Galway goal and Eddie Lohan would have put it over with his eyes shut at the time.

Aah, it doesn't get any easier to cope the older we get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭pjbrady1

The greatest game of football I'v ever seen was the Laois Tyrone minor final of 1997. There was only about three wides in the entire game (four at the most). At half time I think there was only one wide. Talent on display included Declan Mccrossan, Philip Jordan, Darren Rooney, Joe Higgins, Brian McDonald, Fitzpatrick. Twas an awesome pure game of football.
    As regards the great old days of football, I remember being shocked when I actually got to see the great Galway three in a row team of the 60's. The standard of play was shocking with players not even being comfortable soloing the ball. Kicks were invariably executed like an awkward soccer goalkeeper would (skying it up in the air with one hand and hoofing with no technique as far as one can).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Well apart from the ten mentioned i have two:

1. The 2005 All Ireland Final between Kerry and Tyrone, a fantastic that had everything you wanted in it!

2. Ok i know im throwing my own county into this but Sligo vs Tyrone in 2002 was one of the best and thrilling games i have ever seen, Sligo were 6 points down in the first half but came back to win it!

Opinions?

fair play must have been first time since 1975 (was that when sligo last won connacht or did they loose to mayo?) that the senior team step into croke park, ah ye the black jersey year, nice. i think most connaught people believed that the croke park wins against tyrone and kildare were a start of something, pitty. but ye that brought great excitement to that season.

megadodge wrote:
    As a fellow Rossie I am still incensed over that same "free kick". Having happened right in front of me on the day and having reviewed it countless times on video, I still cannot fathom how the ref. gave that free.

It was a long ball coming down on Cliffy McDonald and Savage/Finnegan (can't remember which). In order to make it obvious he was not fouling, Cliffy put both his hands out wide (and the fact that he was wearing white gloves made this unmissable) while S/F backed into him. Cliffy stood his ground and when the ball reached them punched it clear with his right hand and his left was still extended. S/F just sat down and hey presto, a magical free from nothing !!

And besides the long ball was delivered by Gary Fahy who had picked the ball clean off the ground, then charged into the facing Rossie and abrakadabra guess what ?? That was only about 30 yard out from the Galway goal and Eddie Lohan would have put it over with his eyes shut at the time.

Aah, it doesn't get any easier to cope the older we get.

ah dont talk to me about that season. 4 games of championship football, who was the ref for all our games?,,,, all the way from leitrim mr seamus praor 4 games how many refs get to do that(this of course was before the gaa brought in a ref from other provinces for the provincial championship). i remeber in the final reply sean o domhnail blatantly shoulered i think mixer and should have got sent off, rewind the week before and jason neary's (super sub my ass) got sent off within 46 sec from coming on for similar offence, praor was brutal in the 2 sligo games that year.

to be honest i am sure you are haunted by the tuam game too, we could have won it had tommy the great grehan not loose balance and either make a better goal attempt or put the ball over for a point, instead of mcnamara making a great save (bout 10 min into first half) ah well lol