Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Idiots Taking photos while driving at 120km

• 30-08-2006 6:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭

Question

1- Is it legal?
    2- Would you do it
    3- Is it worse than speeding
    4- Would you brag you did it to 75,000 people.

Dublinwriter you dont need to do this one we all know your answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Depends. Are you talking about the person taking thier hands off the wheel to take the photo? Or a passenger, or webcam kind of setup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Chonker wrote:
    Question

1- Is it legal?
    2- Would you do it
    4- Would you brag you did it to 75,000 people.

1. i would say if you can keep one hand on the wheel, its not illegal.
    2. some time people are so stupid and pig headed that its necessary to take a photo of and issue just to shut them up.
    3. not at all, speeding kills, photos don't.
    4. ya sure why not. if you did it in a safe manner, or had to make a point to some other idiot on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Suppose I were to use my mobile phone purely for it's camera function and I got stopped by the guards, where would I stand legally?
    PS...I have a Bluetooth carkit and use it so it is a purely hypothetical question!

fletch wrote:
    Suppose I were to use my mobile phone purely for it's camera function and I got stopped by the guards, where would I stand legally?
    PS...I have a Bluetooth carkit and use it so it is a purely hypothetical question!

ah id say your f#cked... na, i don't know to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Chonker

ah id say your f#cked... na, i don't know to be honest

1. i would say if you can keep one hand on the wheel, its not illegal.QUOTE]

Make up your mind. Am i to assume You feel its ok to do to shut an idiot up on boards.

Then whos the Idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Check out half the photos on "what I saw today"

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

fletch wrote:
    I believe that the law refers to using the phone but doesnt say what for so taking pics is included.

kbannon wrote:
    I believe that the law refers to using the phone but doesnt say what for so taking pics is included.
    "Suppose" the phone didn't have a sim card in it? Is it technically a phone then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Quite similar to the idiot who slowed to walking pace on the ouside lane of the new Boyne bridge on the M1 to let his passenger get a picture.

There was a fatal accident near Derry earlier this year and when the inquest comes round it's likely to emerge that the guy who died lost control as he was taking a photo of the speedo at over 120kmh. I know this as I know the couple who were seriously injured when the wreckage of his car careered into theirs. The photo was apparently saved on his mobile.

fletch wrote:
    "Suppose" the phone didn't have a sim card in it? Is it technically a phone then?

Yes, its a phone even when its in a box in the shop.

Why do some very experienced drivers on boards seem to make so little of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Yea, Heard about that.
    Thought it was at 120Mph tho...

I think the most important thing about taking a photo while driving would have to be turning off the flash.

Some f*cker nearly made me crash on sat evening down in westmeath because he was taking a photo of a tractor he was passing.
    Twilight night-vision is pretty sensetive and that was not fun!!

fletch wrote:

that's a very good point actually, well spotted.

so dedicated camera..no problem
    phone with camera... against the law
    is this what we are saying

Chonker wrote:
    Yes, its a phone even when its in a box in the shop.

Why do some very experienced drivers on boards seem to make so little of this.
    I hope you weren't referring to me there.....I am just curious as to what constitutes a phone....like the borders are very thin.....a PDA for example is primarily marketed as a PDA, some have telephone functionality and others don't.

Operating a SIM-less phone whilst driving may not fall under the phone laws but would certainly then fall under dangerous driving if not something more punitive.

that's a very good point actually, well spotted.

so dedicated camera..no problem
    phone with camera... against the law
    is this what we are saying

Why are you looking for hole's in a law that saves lives?

Phones are against the law to use while driving it makes sense that a carefull driver wouldnt use a camera also, but I guess yea your right.

Is a Sony psp ok then in your eyes?

fletch wrote:
    I hope you weren't referring to me there.....I am just curious as to what constitutes a phone....like the borders are very thin.....a PDA for example is primarily marketed as a PDA, some have telephone functionality and others don't.
    Sorry
    No I wasn't. I meant Dublin writer and his defenders

fletch wrote:
    I am just curious as to what constitutes a phone

Id say that anything that is capable of recieving or making calls constitutes a phone.
    But i dont think really think its ok to be blackberrying away while your driving either.

Does the law cover blackberry and texts actually?

Chonker wrote:
    Why are you looking for hole's in a law that saves lives?

Phones are against the law to use while driving it makes sense that a carefull driver wouldnt use a camera also, but I guess yea your right.

Is a Sony psp ok then in your eyes?
    He never implied that it was okay to use a phone, we are merely highlighting potential loopholes and ambiguity in it that should be rectified.

Some of you guys are unbelievable!

Driving with anything in your hand, be it a camera, phone, your dick, a mars bar or packet of crisps comes under CARELESS DRIVING and the rules associated with it. In the UK people get done for it regularly http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/4788910.stm Even operating the car radio is technically careless driving.

Using a phone in the car is a SPECIFIC OFFENCE. This does not mean you are cool to do the multitude of things that are considered 'careless driving' and which are likely to end you up getting an even bigger punishment than using a phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Blackberries *are* phones. They can take calls etc but are marketed on their email capabilities.

el tel wrote:
    Using a phone in the car is a SPECIFIC OFFENCE. This does not mean you are cool to do the multitude of things that are considered 'careless driving'

I was just curious as to after how much faffin about it took to bring in points for phone usage, how many loopholes they left in the law.

it may have been off topic but it was more of a curiosity as to the lack of forsight shown by the govt.

fletch wrote:
    He never implied that it was okay to use a phone, we are merely highlighting potential loopholes and ambiguity in it that should be rectified.

Actually he did, he said at the start of the thread it was ok to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Section 3 of the Road Traffic Act 2006 makes it an offence to drive a vehicle while holding a mobile phone. An offence is committed by holding a mobile phone while driving and matters such as whether or not the phone was being used or switched on at the time are not relevant.

"Bluetooth" and other hands-free devices do not come within the scope of the prohibition.

The definition of 'holding a mobile phone' covers holding it by hand or supporting it with some other part of the body. The definition prohibits the practice of cradling a mobile phone in the nook of the neck and shoulder.

From Autumn, the offence will attract 2 penalty points on payment of a fixed charge and 4 penalty points on conviction. In addition, a person could face a maximum fine of €2,000 on conviction.

The Act recognised that there may be situations where a driver must contact the emergency services and it provides a defence for the use of a hand-held mobile phone in such circumstances. The defence relates to calls made to the emergency services on the national emergency telephone numbers only, namely, 999 and 112. The Gardaí, fire service, ambulance service, coast guard service and mountain rescue service may be contacted on these numbers.

Wazdakka wrote:
    I was just curious as to after how much faffin about it took to bring in points for phone usage, how many loopholes they left in the law.

it may have been off topic but it was more of a curiosity as to the lack of forsight shown by the govt.

I agree, no harm getting it out in the open.

Chonker wrote:
    Actually he did, he said at the start of the thread it was ok to do.
    Sorry missed that.....pretty immature attitude there alright.
    4. ya sure why not. if you did it in a safe manner, or had to make a point to some other idiot on boards.

I can see the Judge now.

"Ahh there was no Sim in the phone hence its not a phone! Lucky you I was going to give you 150 days for it, but seeing as you have proven its not a Phone you will get 5 months instead".

Sheesh next we will have people asking if its illegal to be driving while playing a PSP.

oleras wrote:
    From Autumn, the offence will attract 2 penalty points on payment of a fixed charge and 4 penalty points on conviction. In addition, a person could face a maximum fine of €2,000 on conviction.
    This comes into effect on Friday IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

kbannon wrote:

Sure does

kbannon wrote:

Thank God!
    By the sounds of it today, some people think phone calls/photo's/texts/games whatever and driving are harmless when mixed.

Do you hear that Dublinwriter. No more taking snaps at the wheel to catch law breakers in action, unless it's a self portrait.

fletch wrote:
    Sorry missed that.....pretty immature attitude there alright.

:D:D:D caught out again flech... I'm surprised in you to be caught out so easily...

you should read the title of this thread and the op first post...
    here let me remind you of it

"Idiots Taking photos while driving at 120km
    Question

1- Is it legal?
    2- Would you do it
    4- Would you brag you did it to 75,000 people."

cant see any mention of a phone here? photos yes but no phones. can you.
    and in my reply
    2. some time people are so stupid and pig headed that its necessary to take a photo of and issue just to shut them up.

cant see any mention of a phone here... no. maybe the op should of spefified that he was on about people using PHONES to take photos(which is illegal)...otherwise we presume he is talking about a camera...

you rightly said

"He never implied that it was okay to use a phone, we are merely highlighting potential loopholes and ambiguity in it that should be rectified."

but then dropped the ball.

now do I get a "Sorry missed that." or am i just banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I use my judgement, the camera is foolproof (idiotproof) and I only look to get shot if I'm on the straight of a decent road in 'quiet' conditions and/or in traffic at a snails pace. Its not like I'm actually looking through the lens as I snap. Its point and shoot on a wideangle. If I get the shot fine, if I don't - "oh well...".

Mike.

now do I get a "Sorry missed that." or am i just banned.

Nope still banned

Pretty immature attitude there alright...... is a correct comment for your quote.

Although I didnt specify a phone, nor did I specify this related to another thread about a phone and a picture, yet you were able to identify that in your comment.

Being smart doesnt make you right, it only add to your ignorance.

You said it was legal, Sorry mate thats an immature attitude because all sensible people know its not.

So Fletch is justified regardless of loopholes in laws or your comments. Sorry.

mike65 wrote:
    I use my judgement, the camera is foolproof (idiotproof) and I only look to get shot if I'm on the straight of a decent road in 'quiet' conditions and/or in traffic at a snails pace. Its not like I'm actually looking through the lens as I snap. Its point and shoot on a wideangle. If I get the shot fine, if I don't - "oh well...".

Mike.

Most people would agree, I use my judgement as to when to speed up to overtake safely.

Doesn't make it legal. Mike at least tell me you wait till you stop to view your picture.
    Is it right that a moderator on motors admits to breaking the law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Chonker - be careful that you don't fall off that high horse; it could be quite a drop.

Taking a photo whilst moving at high speeds is, IMHO, equivalent to turning around and searching in the back seat for something - your concentration isn't where it should be. However, it's also a judgement call by the driver.

mike65 wrote:

Mike.

i agree with ya mike its a judgement call... but i know another who wouldn't
    fletch wrote:
    pretty immature attitude there alright.

Fey! wrote:
    Chonker - be careful that you don't fall off that high horse; it could be quite a drop.

Taking a photo whilst moving at high speeds is, IMHO, equivalent to turning around and searching in the back seat for something - your concentration isn't where it should be. However, it's also a judgement call by the driver.

Why is it so high.

I say what I see. What Mike said he did is illegal. Its not a high horse thing at all. I'm happy to fall off though for standing up for what is right.

I don't make the laws. I'm also no angel, but if I break the law I would usually try and keep quiet about it, not try to justify it to you lads.

Sorry if anybody has been offended, but is this not what boards.ie is all about. Saying what you think.

Chonker I check the pix only when I'm stopped! :)

Yes it is illegal but I will plead superior ability! Laws are mainly to protect the stupid and badly trained ;) Some people manage to crash while fishing under the seat for lost CD.

Mike.

mike65 wrote:
    Chonker I check the pix only when I'm stopped! :)

Yes it is illegal but I will plead superior ability! Laws are mainly to protect the stupid and badly trained ;) Some people manage to crash while fishing under the seat for lost CD.

Mike.

Whatever you say Mike!! Just dont kick me off my high horse. lol

Is that how to do it Fey!

Chonker wrote:
    Whatever you say Mike!! Just dont kick me off my high horse. lol

Is that how to do it Fey!

no this is how you do it...
    Chonker wrote:
    So Fletch is justified regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Wazdakka wrote:
    Some f*cker nearly made me crash on sat evening down in westmeath because he was taking a photo of a tractor he was passing.

It would be funny if it was mike65 :)

I wouldn't be inclined to take photos myself. Taking photos is a hell of a lot different to the wanker asswipes who drive around the place with their phone held up to their ear like they're too important to drive safely though.

no this is how you do it...

Does everything have to be cryptic with you m/(>_<???? who ever you are. What do you mean?

OK, so who took a picture when driving at 120kmh? Where is the picture?

el tel wrote:

ya mean their is a reason for this thread....
    i should of known

Stark wrote:
    It would be funny if it was mike65 :)

I wouldn't be inclined to take photos myself. Taking photos is a hell of a lot different to the wanker asswipes who drive around the place with their phone held up to their ear like they're too important to drive safely though.

I was nowhere near Westmeath your honour!

As for comparitive dangers, well the pic takes a second or two, the phone call could last for several minutes and become quite involved with techical aspects and note scribblings, if that was the case the call would be much more dangerous to my mind esp as it could end in a screaming match!

Mike.

el tel wrote:

Dublinwriter took a photo of a learner driver in a skyline passing him at, what he felt was 160k, he then felt the need to tell everybody on boards about the learner breaking the law, neglecting to also mention from the start he had done similar maybe even worse in some peoples eyes.

Since then he and some of the better! drivers here have dropped by to let us know it's know it ok to do..... so long as your not a bad driver.

Did anyone ever meet a self confessed bad driver?

Dont do it guys, people have died because of phones/texts and maybe even pictures.

Do you remember it now. You seemed to then. wasn't that long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Chonker - my high horse comment stems from people who give out about others wrongdoings but don't recognise their own, which I feels happens a lot on boards, ie the situation which was the influence for this thread (DW giving out about someone he assumed to be a learner, but aking a picture travelling at high speeds).

My apologies if I'm wrong and you've never done anything wrong!

Fey! wrote:
    Chonker - my high horse comment stems from people who give out about others wrongdoings but don't recognise their own, which I feels happens a lot on boards, ie the situation which was the influence for this thread (DW giving out about someone he assumed to be a learner, but aking a picture travelling at high speeds).

My apologies if I'm wrong and you've never done anything wrong!

As i have printed many times over the last few days, I am also no angel on the roads at least not all the time, but I would never try to justify what ever it is I've done wrong. I know when ive done wrong and I keep quiet about it. I'm mearly pointing out that just because these guys feel it's legal, or ok to do, its not a good idea to do it. It happens to be a something that Ive withnessed first hand.

I dont pretend to be on a high horse Fey! but I know whats right and I know whats wrong. We all break the rules, but lets not make it an acceptable thing to do that law does save lives.

IMHO anyone who is taking a picture while driving deserves a serious slap.

For starters your going to have look away to get the camera, your going to have to hold it in one hand to take the picture and your natural instinct is to look at what you are taking the picture at. If thats off to your left or right you also have the chance of swerving the car due to how your brain works.

TBH people trying to argue it as something that is perfectly fine is scary.

Chonker wrote:
    Dublinwriter took a photo of a learner driver in a skyline passing him at, what he felt was 160k, he then felt the need to tell everybody on boards about the learner breaking the law, neglecting to also mention from the start he had done similar maybe even worse in some peoples eyes.

Since then he and some of the better! drivers here have dropped by to let us know it's know it ok to do..... so long as your not a bad driver.

Did anyone ever meet a self confessed bad driver?

Dont do it guys, people have died because of phones/texts and maybe even pictures.

I see, so it's another case of somebody starting a thread about a particular subject but who is then harangued by the holier-than-thou brigade for something unwittingly said which incriminated himself on a totally separate issue? Some people really should get out a bit more.

(Those of a opinionated dispostion should not go look at some of the in-car photos in the 'Today I saw a classic and took a pic!' thread :phttp://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=256944&page=1