Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Bashing

• 29-08-2006 8:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭oulu

After dublin game Sunday me mate and me came out of the Temple bar pub heading for dame st,seen a lad from our area hurt on the ground after what he said was a gay bashing. as he says himself I look gay so they beat me up, we made sure he was alright. We decided to hold hands walking up the same lane and the first people we met passed a smart comment ,we stopped and said have you lads got a problem which they replied no so we left it and went home. We are both married and straight .My own brother was beaten up a few weeks back coming out of a gay bar, Are there scumbags ever caught and is there a law that makes it even worst to beat someone up because of their sexuality,

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

oulu wrote:
    Are there scumbags ever caught and is there a law that makes it even worst to beat someone up because of their sexuality,
    Why should there be ? What makes beating up someone for their sexuality any worse than the countless other stupid reasons people get beaten up for ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Because gay people can't defend themselves, so it's just not fair!

zat was zee joke:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I'm not sure if there is hate crime legislation in this country. I don't think we really need it though - as someone said why should gay people or black people or Protestant people or red haired people be singled out and told 'If somebody beats you up because of the way you look or live your life or because of your religion then it's worse than if they beat someone else up because they were unfortunate enough to meet up with some trouble-seeking scumbags'.

I abhor gay bashing but I think an assault on a gay person should carry the same penalty under the law as an assault on a straight person.

If we start going down the road of hate crimes then there's always times when people get accused of getting in a fight with someone because they're gay or foreign or whatever and in reality the fight was just because somebody said something about someone else's girlfriend or was being an asshole i.e. a regular punch up in the street. Just because one of the participants (or victims) was part of a minority doesn't always mean that that was the reason for the attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

stevenmu wrote:
    Why should there be ? What makes beating up someone for their sexuality any worse than the countless other stupid reasons people get beaten up for ?

"If you beat up someone, you better make damn sure they're the same sexuality as you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

oulu wrote:
    After dublin game Sunday me mate and me came out of the Temple bar pub heading for dame st,seen a lad from our area hurt on the ground after what he said was a gay bashing. as he says himself I look gay so they beat me up, we made sure he was alright. We decided to hold hands walking up the same lane and the first people we met passed a smart comment ,we stopped and said have you lads got a problem which they replied no so we left it and went home. We are both married and straight .My own brother was beaten up a few weeks back coming out of a gay bar, Are there scumbags ever caught and is there a law that makes it even worst to beat someone up because of their sexuality,

Right, your mate is beaten because he looks gay. Two minutwes after this beating, you decide to walk hand in hand down the street.

Is this story actually true or are you guys just incredibly stupid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Tha Gopher wrote:

Without seeming to sound smart, or to sound like i would encourage violence but if someone gives a mate of mine a hiding then i would try and flush them out too. ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Hate crime legislation is a moronic and pointless thing. It confuses crimes, and to the point above, why should there be a difference between punching a straight guy and punching a gay guy? Surely hate crime legislation encourages discrimination rather than anything else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Dragan wrote:
    Without seeming to sound smart, or to sound like i would encourage violence but if someone gives a mate of mine a hiding then i would try and flush them out too. ;)

and do what? beat them up as well?
    oh sure that's it, that will defiantly stop the bashing... no question.
    violence always stops violence...isn't that right?

is is it that your lowering your self to the same level as those scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

To round it up, I am sorry that your friend was attacked in the first place, and I do hope that he feels better soon. I hate when a person is mindlessly attacked due to race/age/sexual orientation/religion etc, but it does happen.

I've been randomly attacked and have reported it to the Guards, which is as much as the next person can do. When I say randomly attacked, I of course mean that it could have been because:
    ~ I'm bigger than most guys - and I may have been hated because of that
    ~ I have a girlfriend - and I may have been hated because of that
    ~I live in Dublin, and the attacks occured down the country - my current living arrangement may have caused hatred

Random attacks are just that, random. Could one say that gay people get attacked more than Dublin people visiting the country? How about Northsiders on the Southside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If it's good enough for GW Bush, it's good enough for me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Largely, yes.

And don't be expecting some kind of wierd ethical debate either, because that won't happen. If you give a friend of mine a hiding, then i will give you a hiding.

I realise in this modern world where people are "enlightened" that violence is to be looked down on, however, it's funny how your attitude to such can change when you watch a friend get kicked to death in front on you.

The old argument of "react to the violence or be "better" than the violence" is moot. Violence will always exist, if you would prefer to let a friend take a hiding, or get beaten yourself then thats your business dude.

It's really that simple. It's the one area where i cling to my cro-magnon man roots.

Protect your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I don't know if gay men or women get beaten up anymore that straight people but 'gay bashing' is a huge problem at the moment. There are a couple of groups who hang around the Dame Street area with one girl who will engage lads they think are gay in conversation. She comes up with some reason to get him out of the view of everyone else and then they are attacked by a group of teenage boys who will rob everything they have and give them a good hiding too. I have heard stories of these lads being raped aswell but that seems to be rare.

They say alot of men and women who attack gay men are actually gay themselves but due to whatever circumstances they are afraid to come out so this is some sort of internalised homophobia. About half of my gay friends have being attacked physically or verbally by someone because they had kissed their partner in public or held hands and this is very wrong. I really don't think that LGBT couples should have to hide their sexuality just so they can walk down the street without someone hurling abuse at them.

There has been alot of work done by the police about these sort of attacks and arrests have being made in the last couple of months. But people will just have to get used to the fact that alot of gay people just won't hide anymore and why the hell should they.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭oulu

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Right, your mate is beaten because he looks gay. Two minutwes after this beating, you decide to walk hand in hand down the street.

No we are not stupid but know we could handle ourselves against these type of yellow arseholes, we did have a few pints on board and even though we dont look for trouble at any other time we where pissed off seeing this lad who is like a rake to look at been beaten up by thugs,

• Yes it's totally wrong to beat someone up for being gay, but like others have said, how is it any worse than beating them up for being another race, or disabled or any reason at all? Not much you can do about it atm except move somewhere that isn't a backwards ****hole. A Spanish friend was appalled that it is considered dangerous and unacceptable to walk down the street holding his boyfriend's hand, this has long been acceptable in Spain which is hardly the most forward thinking, modern nation in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭haunted-room

It annoys me when people say that. Its not so much about stopping the violence, its about getting revenge! And its not lowering yourself to anyones level, i would never attack someone on the street, however, if a mate was attacked I would certainly seek revenge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Ther is a major problem with gay people, especially men, being attacked in the Dame Street/Christ Church area. I intervened in one such attack and had two ribs busted.

There is a gay liason officer in Pearse Street Garda Station and I can assure people that any reports to the Garda in question are treated in the utmost confidence.

Even if an individual does not want the issue 'pursued' the Garda want as much information as possible in order to catch the scum involved.

I am not the greatest fan of the Garda, but in this instance I have supplied as much info to them as possible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

oulu wrote:
    We decided to hold hands walking up the same lane...We are both married and straight.
    WTF?
    Can you explain this please? Or are you just odd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Its not so much about stopping the violence, its about getting revenge

so next time your buddy may be laying in hospital with severe brain damage and may never be able to piss by himself again after getting the s@#t kicked out of him...you go into him and say " don't worry bud, i got the guy who did this to you" I'm sure that will give him cause to enjoy the rest of his vegetable life...
    makes sense alright:rolleyes:

don't be so silly... this whole thread is about stopping the violence.

but as is clear from this thread... violence is committed by scumbags.

you may feel justified in committing violence because of what you believe an eye for an eye and believe it or not if you ask those scumbags they feel just as entitled in committing violence because of what they believe in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭haunted-room

so next time your buddy may be laying in hospital with severe brain damage and may never be able to piss by himself again after getting the s@#t kicked out of him...you go into him and say " don't worry bud, i got the guy who did this to you" I'm sure that will give him cause to enjoy the rest of his vegetable life...
    makes sense alright:rolleyes:

don't be so silly... this whole thread is about stopping the violence.

but as is clear from this thread... violence is committed by scumbags.

you may feel justified in committing violence because of what you believe an eye for an eye and believe it or not if you ask those scumbags they feel just as entitled in committing violence because of what they believe in.

No, it wouldnt make his life any better, but, it would make the scumbags life a whole lot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Day-wanna-wonga

oulu wrote:
    We decided to hold hands walking up the same lane

gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

gay

ROFL :D:D funny cos its true:D ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

lol rofl:rolleyes: If you have nothing better to post on the topic that lol or rofl, DON'T BOTHER.
    Don't be the ones to get under my radar, not a place you want to be.

This is beginning to turn into a troll fest. I'll be taking out the ban stick next time. OP, I have sent you a PM regarding this issue. I'm locking it for now.