Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welcoming all freshers to NUI Gal'weh

• 21-08-2006 9:21pm

First of all congratulations on your results.You did well to get to uni.:)

College will start for ye on 11th september.Enjoy your freshers week.Join clubs you are interested in.Make friends.Don't stress about exams(you have no christmas exams):D

First year is to be enjoyed.Be adventurous.You will have the best craic of your life in Galway.Any questions.Please don't hesitate to ask me or pm me!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Also, use the galway boards, it's a goog way of learning what to do and where to go and what not to do.
    But beware of knacker Dwarf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

College will start for ye on 11th september.

*ominous*
    Don't stress about exams(you have no christmas exams):D
    ...unless you're doing a real course and have more than -6 hours lectures a week*...

* yes, i know this would break several tenents of modern physics and actually give them more time to goof off having more fun than the rest of us, but then what would be new? we're talking Oorts students here...fockers

IIRC it is the engineers that have anything resembling real exams at christmas in first year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Precisely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 westhammer

Hey, Im joining ye in Galway! Im so nervous haha, but excited. Im doing Medicine. Gutted that my aunts wedding is on during freshers week. Is there proper lectures the first week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭redmosquito

Im gonna be a fresher for a second time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭R0C0

Class, twice the partying, half the integrating!! You left I.T right? So whats in store for next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Hey everyone. Just wondering, how easy/hard is it to get a deferral. I have a good and true reason for defering.

R0C0 wrote:
    Class, twice the partying, half the integrating!! You left I.T right? So whats in store for next year?

Business Information Systems, gonna make a proper go of it this time around. I could have maybe done fairly ok at I.T but I was really living up the college life and missing important lectures (I didnt set foot in the college for 5 weeks at one stage!).
    This time around its different, I have motivation to go in (The fact that ill be paying thousands out of my own pocket for the tuiton fees!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭bren50c

Business Information Systems, gonna make a proper go of it this time around. I could have maybe done fairly ok at I.T but I was really living up the college life and missing important lectures (I didnt set foot in the college for 5 weeks at one stage!).
    This time around its different, I have motivation to go in (The fact that ill be paying thousands out of my own pocket for the tuiton fees!!)

That sounds all too familiar...im repeating 1st yr too and have had to put getting a car on hold while i pay the 4000e fees:( ...did you have to meet with the dean yet?

bren50c wrote:
    That sounds all too familiar...im repeating 1st yr too and have had to put getting a car on hold while i pay the 4000e fees:( ...did you have to meet with the dean yet?

No, why, do you have to meet him??? I didn't think you would :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭bren50c

first they told me i'd have to...but rang them today...and you only need to see the dean if you want to CHANGE subjects. sorry for confusin ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭linola_c

im joinin Nuig too in a few weeks!!!im nervous bt extremely excited too!!!!do we hav proper lectures the 1st wk???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Hey everyone. Just wondering, how easy/hard is it to get a deferral. I have a good and true reason for defering.

It shouldn't be that hard if it's a legitimate reason especially medical one. And if all else fails just beg some of them just love having the power over ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

linola_c wrote:
    im joinin Nuig too in a few weeks!!!im nervous bt extremely excited too!!!!do we hav proper lectures the 1st wk???

As far as i remember (ah all those years ago as a first year:rolleyes: ) you generally start lectures after registering. If your not doing Arts your practicals will usually be starting a week later.