Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Picture in Today's Examiner....

• 21-08-2006 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭

im looking for help on a matter....

i am currently living in swansea in wales. i got a txt from my sister today saying that there is a photo of me in today's examiner and there is no way i can get hold of it over here. i was wondering if somebody has the paper and access to a scanner would them be willing to send the photo...

the article was written for the college and more specifically about a computer program that we made in college. there are 2 people in the photo, myself and my buddy

if anybody could help me out i'd really apprichate it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭vector

I have access to an physical archive of that paper, however it would take me time and money to 0) travel there 1)find the article 2) make a copy 3)post it to you/email it to you, but it is possible if you have paypal! I can have it in 24hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭zenith

dinjo wrote:
    if anybody could help me out i'd really apprichate it...

Instead of relying on the random kindness of strangers, or the entreprenurial instincts of vector, does your sister have access to an envelope and a stamp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

zenith wrote:
    Instead of relying on the random kindness of strangers, or the entreprenurial instincts of vector, does your sister have access to an envelope and a stamp?
    Or a computer, scanner and email account?

MrP

but papa needs a new pair of shoes

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Vector; this is not a trading forum where you can offer your services; if you're not willing to help the OP out at no cost then don't bother offering at all.

If if the OP wants to pay money for a copy of that day's paper he can contact The Examiner himself; not sure what they charge (may not be much if they have copies lying around from a recent edition) but the site lists counter@examiner.ie as the address to send an inquiry to for back issues and photo reprints.

hi flogen how nice of you to stop by, I notice you and the other posters here, couldn't be bothered replying to the OP in the first place, the absense of any replies was the only reason I posted, the OP wanted the article and I was suggesting one possible route, yes it cost money, but is was a possible route,, better then the silence offered by everyone else.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You could email one of the libraries in Cork. I've always found librarians to be very helpful.

http://www.corkcitylibraries.ie/contact/index.shtml

It would take someone about five minutes to do for you and strange as it may seem to some, there are actually many people who still do things for other people without any benefit to themselves.

spurious wrote:
    ...It would take someone about five minutes to do for you and strange as it may seem to some, there are actually many people who still do things for other people without any benefit to themselves.

yeah and your're not one of them, neither are the librarians

FACT you are offloading the work not doing it yourself
    FACT the librarians are paid a salary

I think the OP knows how to use google, he knows the URL of the examiner, he knows that libraries exist, he was looking for someone on boards to actually scan/post a copy of the page, and for all your (plural) talk and high pedestals no one else has offered to do that

vector wrote:
    hi flogen how nice of you to stop by, I notice you and the other posters here, couldn't be bothered replying to the OP in the first place, the absense of any replies was the only reason I posted, the OP wanted the article and I was suggesting one possible route, yes it cost money, but is was a possible route,, better then the silence offered by everyone else.

Hi Vector, how nice of you to stop by, feel free to do so again once your 1 week ban is up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭myhandle

flogen wrote:
    Vector; this is not a trading forum where you can offer your services; if you're not willing to help the OP out at no cost then don't bother offering at all...

flogen, thats a bit high handed, it doesn't sound like vector is running a company, just sounds like he could do it cos he lives/works near some archive place, and naturally he'd need some cash for photocopying/envelope/stamp or whatever, he didn't say how much maybe its only like a euro

myhandle wrote:
    flogen, thats a bit high handed, it doesn't sound like vector is running a company, just sounds like he could do it cos he lives/works near some archive place, and naturally he'd need some cash for photocopying/envelope/stamp or whatever, he didn't say how much maybe its only like a euro

I've spoken to Vector and as far as I'm concerned the issue is dealt with.

Back on topic please

I'll get the article and post/email a JPG to the OP* at no cost to the OP and without making a profit myself, if flogen donates EUR 7 to charity of his/her choice thats EUR 1 for every day of the unfair ban.
    *(OP please PM me your name so I can find the article)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

I'll give 20 quid to charity if you double the ban time.

Myhandle, if you have a problem with my actions there are plenty of avenues for you to take it up; none of them exist in this thread or this forum.
    Do not post off topic again or you will also be banned for 1 week.

Do not reply to this comment or it will be treated as off topic.

Flogen, the topic is "Picture in Today's Examiner....", so you are saying any poster whose post doesn't relate to that will be banned?

ok
    ban damien.m
    ban flogen
    and
    for, this post alone, ban myhandle

that would be fair

oh wait let me guess you won't do that
    in reality all you want to do is ban people who disagree with you,
    you don't care about the topic, you just want to massage your ego

Myhandle banned for 1 week for posting off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

By Pmming me I might be able to help you out.
    U could also contact the Examiner directly
    Look at their website
    Look up the individual photographer
    You can always pm one of the other posters who offered help

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Seriously lads, either post being construtive or not at all. Its always wise to listen to what a mod has to say, and if you question it - do so in PM. Kinda a general rule of thumb across community boards, not just this one. Just a heads up to avoid anymore bans. And going down the route of getting smart-arsed with a mod - never works.

Anyway, dinjo, im a tad bit curious. If your sister has the paper, why cant she send the sniplet to you herself? Its free if she has a scanner & an email account. Shouldnt be expensive to send it in the post either, as its only a piece of paper? Else, try contacting the examiner and ask for a copy - tho its likely they will charge you. Next idea; does the website offer the paper free in its archive? Perhaps you could print it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

You could try ringing the examiner as well. They may have a system for you to get a copy of the paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭BarneyMagee

Sully04 wrote:
    Seriously lads, either post being construtive or not at all. Its always wise to listen to what a mod has to say, and if you question it - do so in PM. Kinda a general rule of thumb across community boards, not just this one. Just a heads up to avoid anymore bans. And going down the route of getting smart-arsed with a mod - never works.

All of the above is correct but I thought the mod took a fairly patronising and smug approach to banning. I think most people here would agree it was a little petty.

OP:
    I dug out that day's paper and cannot see any photograph of two men together. Are you sure you have the correct date?

I think this thread has gone off topic enough to dictate a locking; that goes for pretty much every post bar one or two in the thread.

OP; there are a few suggestions and offers that you can follow up by PM, it's a shame some people were unable to stick on topic and allow the thread to continue.