Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pure balls of a ref!!

• 21-08-2006 8:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭

What did ye make of the ref for the Kerry Cory semi-final yesterday. I thought he was pure unless. At first i was sure he was a Cork man the way he was making such bad decisions against kerry but as the game progressed he made bad decisions against cork too. Read in the independent that Billy Morgan was furious with him over a decision against cork. Another thing was he didn't allow play to continue. At least twice i saw a a cork lad give a kerry lad a bt of a push, but kerry lad still had ball in control and ref blows for a free. I don't know maybe it was me, i was at the match so i didn't have the best view of half the pitch but wat i saw was awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I thought he was very poor as well.

I don't think he was biased to either team, but just was poor all round, and really broke up the game and was incredibly strict on guys doing 4.5 steps while trying to break a tackle..... that's such an unfair rule.
    If you have a defender pulling and dragging out of you, it's impossible.

What annoyed me then were the commentators saying he had a fine game, when it was obvious he was muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

Yea I couldnt believe my ears when Marty went rambling on about him having a good game ... fair enough i don't like to wade into refs too much, feckin thankless task, but he had a poor enough game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

I wanna qualify it first by saying that was a hard job. Cork v. Kerry is a hard game to referee at the best of times, being a derby an all. Taking in to account though that this was the third time they met in 6 weeks, and all the baggage, grudges, niggly tit for tat from both match previous would come into play. This was never going to be easy. That said... .

He was brutal, would never want to see him ref a game again, Star got a hammering yesterday and nothin, The least that Cork full back could have done was take Star out for a dinner or a few drinks before getting that physical :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

I have to agree with all the above posts. The ref had a mare. He turned a blind eye to two obvious penalties for Kerry during the course of the game. The lanky lad got nothing all day from the ref despite been malled by the Cork full back every time the ball came in. The commentator saying the ref had a good game despite all the niggling etc was talking absolute b******s. Is he related to him or something??? Granted it mighnt have been the easiest game to ref ever, but he still could have made a much better fist of it imo. Whistling up when theres an advantage ruins a game. Theres enough fouls, frees, injuries and other stoppages of play in Gaelic Football anyway without increasing to it. Heres hoping the refing improves for the remaining few games!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Aido c wrote:
    I wanna qualify it first by saying that was a hard job. Cork v. Kerry is a hard game to referee at the best of times, being a derby an all. Taking in to account though that this was the third time they met in 6 weeks, and all the baggage, grudges, niggly tit for tat from both match previous would come into play. This was never going to be easy. That said... .

He was brutal, would never want to see him ref a game again, Star got a hammering yesterday and nothin, The least that Cork full back could have done was take Star out for a dinner or a few drinks before getting that physical :)

Ok i'm from kerry so i might embarrass myself here but who the hell is star?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Donaghy

muletide wrote:
    Donaghy

Ok first time i heard him called that.

Dapos wrote:
    Ok first time i heard him called that.

lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

see previous tread on 'Nickname for Donaghy'

Aido c wrote:
    see previous tread on 'Nickname for Donaghy'

Well i read a bit of that thread but i don't really think donaghy should be just given a nickname because people think he should have one. Gooch got his nickname from his friends and there are many great players who don't have nicknames. Fair enough if he was called star from his basketball days but i think it is a bit corny and i won't be calling him that.

Dapos wrote:
    Well i read a bit of that thread but i don't really think donaghy should be just given a nickname because people think he should have one. Gooch got his nickname from his friends and there are many great players who don't have nicknames. Fair enough if he was called star from his basketball days but i think it is a bit corny and i won't be calling him that.

Shure the RTE commentary team were calling him Star all day.

You come up with your very own special nickname for him;)

Culchie wrote:
    Shure the RTE commentary team were calling him Star all day.

You come up with your very own special nickname for him;)

I was at the match so i didn't hear the RTE commentary. Anyway this is going off topic a bit. Back to the ref being unless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Dapos wrote:
    I was at the match so i didn't hear the RTE commentary. Anyway this is going off topic a bit. Back to the ref being unless
    unless what?:)

sorry, couldn't help myself.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭omahony99

The reason he's called Star is because in his younger days he used wear an Orlando Magic basketball jacket every day which had a big star at the back.
    It's nothing to do with him being very good at basketball or football.
    He's obviously a big fan of Shaq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭omahony99

The reason he's called Star is because in his younger days he used wear an Orlando Magic basketball jacket every day which had a big star at the back.
    It's nothing to do with him being very good at basketball or football.
    He's obviously a big fan of Shaquille O'Neal who must be one of the few people who'd be able to mark Donaghy. With O'Neal as his surname he's surely got Tyrone roots as well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Sure Donaghy got a rough time of it. But Dara O'Se kneed Murphy in the back at least twice, And you can be guaranteed it wasn't an accident either. It disappointing to see such a fine footballer resort of this sort of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Anyone in Roscommon would have told you about Bannon before Sunday's match.

He put in THE worst display of reffing I ever saw (at inter-county level - I saw one worse at second level colleges) in the 2001 quarter-final in Castlebar between Galway and Roscommon. The bias was so bad in Galway's favour that one Rossie behind me roared in frustration " hey Bannon ya Boll0x,
    remember ya have to go through Roscommon on your way home ". Nobody really laughed because they were all so angry. Thankfully it didn't happen, but I wouldn't have been surprised to have heard that he was attacked that day because right throughout the crowd there was a very tangible sense of outrage over a some of his decisions/non-decisions.

I needed to let that out.
    I feel better now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

The referee for the Kerry-Cork match was from Longford and that surprised me as we all know Longfords run in the qualifiers was put to an end by Kerry.So its not too hard to surmise why Kerry fans were upset by this.

Terrible refereeing,the game never really truly flowed in contrast to Mayo-Laois which was a better game for the football but as a neutral in Kerry v Cork,it was great to listen to them shouting and slagging each other off.