Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

KC's

• 20-08-2006 12:48pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone know the opening times for KC's in Douglas off the top of their head? (Or from a nearby menu?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭numorouno

its normally open from about 6pm to 9pm but i cant confirm because they open some strange hours and then shut. i think they open late tuesday nights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

They're not half as bad as teh golden fry for opening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭daveohdave

Tree wrote:
    They're not half as bad as teh golden fry for opening.
    Blasphemy!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

daveohdave wrote:
    Blasphemy!

Quiet you, you know what happened the last time you spoke up!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

well the golden fry never seems to open :( and they're miles better than kc's

Johnny Fries is open Tuesday to Saturday, from around teatime to around midnight. Unless Francis has pissed off on one of her increasingly regular holidays. :)

Midnight is being optomistic

Might be 11 then. I'll check next time I'm there.

Worth it though. Best chipper in Cork.

Fysh wrote:
    Quiet you, you know what happened the last time you spoke up!
    Eh? I've been lurking non-reg for a while, but I don't think I've ever posted here before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Tree wrote:
    well the golden fry never seems to open :( and they're miles better than kc's

I beg to differ! Who here has not partaken of a bombay, or flaming pig in the spuds or a KC pitta and not thought it heaven on earth,

dammit, I'm going to have to go there next weekend now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭trilo

Golden fry!!! never heard of the place.

But kc's not what a chipper. I rememebr one of my first nights in Cork i was introduced to it.. ahh yes sitting on the path outside munching away. yummy.

Anyway as to opening times well tis all feiced up. Its always opened at night as when i come home from work at 22.30pm or 12.30am its doors are opened.

trilo wrote:
    Golden fry!!! never heard of the place.

Tis on the Ballinlough Road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

What do people see in KCs, i think its pure muck as far as chippers go.

X.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Get out and stay out...

Golden Fry > KC's

They do savage chips and teh best onion rings in Cork! and meat pattys that are to die for :)

creole! need i say anymore?! i am a big fan of the fry too but i think KC's would just about win over for me.ques are awful in both places though! :(

Tree wrote:
    They do savage chips and teh best onion rings in Cork! and meat pattys that are to die for :)
    The fish cakes - potato cakes to the rest of ye; and no, they don't have fish in them - are the best on the planet; way better than the vastly overrated Lennoxes variety. The haddock is divine, I highly recommend it over any other Johnny Fries fish. The scampi is incredibly expensive, yet worth it. And of course the house special, chicken maryland, is a work of deep-fried art.

I honestly believe that most people that revere KCs as the best in Cork just plain haven't been to Johnny Fries.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Jaysus, you don't go to KC's for the chips! They're mediocre, at best. You go there for the pittas. Oh my, heaven on Earth... I remember my first KC's pitta. I was drunk, and half suspected I may have died because nothing else can taste that good.

Yummy :).

The best onion rings are to be found in Barty's in Ballyphehane, as are the best chips, all thanks to Mr. Barty (God bless him) using nothing but the finest beef lard!

Best batterburger/meatcake is Hoggys behind the Queens Old Castle.

mmmmmmmm bartys.

best batter burger is in matty kiely's on maylor st

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Abstract

aghhh its awful myself and a friend went there recently cause kcs was closed cause i remembered it being savage but when we got it it was actually just ****e dino's beats it and thats not great either is it?Potato cake was wretched and burger horrible.
    K.C's is the best in cork

Dinos has gone to sh*t. The burgers are just processed crap now.

daveohdave wrote:
    Best batterburger/meatcake is Hoggys behind the Queens Old Castle.

hoggy burger :D:D mmmm mmmm mmmm one of the only burgers i have problems finishing. some much sauce and meat mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmm mm and nice chips

also anyone like kielys on maylor st?the food isnt to write home about.its very nice but nothing special just a nice really old fashioned chipper with the old style register and ud imagine the same clientel they had 50years ago. a very nice alternative place to go

daveohdave wrote:
    Dinos has gone to sh*t. The burgers are just processed crap now.

As opposed to when they were.... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

Is that place still open on Maylor street - you know the one where they still use newspapers to wrap the chips and the guy serving is definately one of the grumpiest chippers in Cork city?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Think that's Kiely's isn't it? I have yet to sample their wares, despite living about 2 whole minutes away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

dudara wrote:
    The best onion rings are to be found in Barty's in Ballyphehane, as are the best chips, all thanks to Mr. Barty (God bless him) using nothing but the finest beef lard!

Where are they? Never heard of them before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

Fysh wrote:
    Think that's Kiely's isn't it? I have yet to sample their wares, despite living about 2 whole minutes away...

I wouldn't be running there - I'll put it like that! From what I remember a burger in there used to be one of those yellow pack ones from the supermarket deep fried.

they are still open. god i never had a bad expierance in there. always found the food grand but its mainly the character of yer man in there i go for. kinda like the barman in the HiB. its not so much the food/drink you go there for

damien.m wrote:
    Where are they? Never heard of them before.

Have a look here in the bottom right quadrant. See where the No. 3 bus stop is. Barty's is in the little square across from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

Poor ol Lennoxs (Bandon Road) isnt even getting a look in. They have the best fish and chips and their batter burgers are lovely.

KC's used to be lovely. Not anymore. Anyone remember the stirofoam packs they had, you'd nearly ate the thing. Now when i eat KC's i think "man, that was nice", three hours later i'm lying on my bed listenin to WW3 breaking out in my stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

KCs was nice when I hadn't had it in about 8 years but after a few visits I'm sick of the place again. While we're on the subject of chippers, can someone tell me whats the deal with Lennoxs? Why do people seem to worship the place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Golden Fry opens Wednesday to Sunday :rolleyes:

JohnK wrote:
    Why do people seem to worship the place?

I suppose cause they've been around so long. They're a good chipper, just not the best in my opinion, and they can be a bit stingy with their chip portions.

DJ Hafez wrote:
    Golden Fry opens Wednesday to Sunday :rolleyes:
    He's right you know, although quite what the rolleyes was for I have no idea.

Tip for GF visitors: the small and the large chips are essentially the same size, all that differs is the presentation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Sgt Pepper

Well said about the chips - awful. Gave em to the dogs. Was in kcs 2nite btw. Asked for a double burger w/cheese, 2 batter sausages and a large chips. when i got home and checked it i'd in fact received a normal burger with 2 slices of cheese {instead of a double with cheese}. Apart from the burger being cold and a single, the cheese they use is crap, i got only 1 batter sausage instead of 2 and the dogs got the fuppin chips. I rarely go to chippers these days thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Faith wrote:
    Does anyone know the opening times for KC's in Douglas off the top of their head? (Or from a nearby menu?)

From a nearby menu ...

Monday : 18:00 - 00:45

Tuesday : 21:15 - 00:45

Wednesday : 12:30 - 14:00, 18:00 - 00:45

Thursday : 12:30 - 14:00, 21:15 - 00:45

Friday : 12:30 - 14:15, 17:00 - 01:30

Saturday : 18:00 - 01:30

Sunday : 17:00 - 00:45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭StandnDeliver

the kebab shop next to the capitol cinema yummy savage food
    not much into chippers but k.c's is fairly nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Best Chips and cheeseh pies - Lennox's
    Best 1/4 pounder - King Dino (although everything else is god awful)
    Best all-round late night munch - KC's

I don't think much of Kiely's although it's true about Matty, he's a lej, the burgers are the right price but the grease... Too much for most...

Hoggy's is ridiculously expensive for chipper food, so I don't really know what the food is like.

hoggys aint great. goldenfry is where it's at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

being something of a conoisseur when it comes to fast food (im just a fat bastard really), in my opinon

Lennox's

Nicest chips in cork, nicest fish also. Lovely curry. Sausages, pies etc not great

Barties

Chips are pure gawk. I live near there, and manys the time the chips have been cold and hard in the middle. Lovely sausages, the nicest in cork. Pizzas not great. curry is rotten

KCS

As someone mentioned, you dont go to KCs for the chips. The steak sandwhich (i always get garlic mayo on it) is the nicest thing i have ever tasted. I want one. Now.

Dinos.

Pure gawk.

Golden Fry

Some great food, but im rarely up that direction.

Hoggy's

Once the last stop before a taxi on a saturday night out until i went in there sober. Horrible chips, horrible everything. Best avoided.

Any fried chicken place

Great when drunk. Painful when sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Good descriptive review roar.. Agree with most of what you said :)

Only good thing Dinos do is batter burgers.... Golden fry have the best pies (no onions or crap in them like some other places :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

King Dino's are quality even if the rest is ****e.

You know what I miss from England though? A battered sausage is a huge thing that actually clogs the arteries just right.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Golden Fry - slow and a bit overpriced,

Chipper beside the Silver Key - greasy, the smell comes into the car every evening passing it on way home,

Dinos - nice chips, nice fish, decent chicken.

John Graces - gotta get the JoJos

Vinnies in Rathcormac is supposed to be nice aswell, any experiences?

parsi wrote:
    Golden Fry - slow and a bit overpriced
    True on slow, and getting worse if anything. I don't care about the price. :)
    Chipper beside the Silver Key[/quotes]Dennys. Awful. Went there twice, the second time to see if I got it on a bad night. I didn't. Every night is a bad night.

That Italian one in Cobh used to be the berries too. Mimmos?

that one in midleton is the job, think its a fish mongers by day or summat, i can never ever find it, can only get chips there when the rents are about coz they#ve been goin there since ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭MrsA

^^

That is Keohanes - yes a fab chipper, they only do food that can be deep fried!! Chips, battered sausages, chicken, potato pies and fish I think (maybe onion rings as well)
    The portions are small but the prices are cheap so you just pretty much get 2 of everything.
    God it takes me back to the Midleton of my youth............