Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've completely lost my appetite.

• 19-08-2006 10:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭

It's odd, but I had a flu there during the week, which I've thankfully gotten over now, but the strange thing is, I've just not been hungry the past few days. I've had just one single meal all day today, and it was the same yesterday. I've not eaten in hours now, and still, I'm not even peckish.

Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Solution: Eat something.

Seriously, with stuff going on these days i can forget to eat and it's something that can be tough to recognise and tougher to break. Go into your kitchen and pick up something and munch on it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

Most people tend to 'loose their appetite' after a flu or a bad bug. After a week or two you'll be fine. It also happens after you go for an opperation and have 'general gas', that tends to make you not hungry for a few weeks, well me anyway. Just drink alot of fluids to 'flush out your system' and 'clense you body', and you should be grand.
    But if you can try and eat something, that will make you feel better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Exactly - eat something. Make yourself small but tempting meals, fresh fruit salad, stir-fried chicken and vegetables with rice, that kind of thing.

If you lose your appetite, it's often what cyclists call 'the bonk' - the appetite shuts down, but as soon as you put food into your mouth you'll raven into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

I had this last summer myself after having pneumonia. it took months to get back to my proper self. And still now i can go 2 days without eating a thing because the thought of food makes me sick. Then the next day im grand again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Start with something small then you'll feel your appetite coming back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I might just not bother eating at all. I need to lose some wieght anyway.

You'll waste away!:eek:All that will be left is a paper thin, Karl Hungus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

at the end of may/beginning of june i lost my appetite (no sickness or anything) and in 2 weeks or so lost half a stone. right now i'm barely eating 1 meal a day, getting dizzy spells and have passed out twice. apparently i'm "lucky" i've got a healthy obsession with water, because i refuse to visit a doctors (don't want to find out any bad news :D)

anyway, bottom line karl... eat and yee shall be healthy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I only eat one meal a day anyway. If they invented a pill to supply all the daily requirements then I wouldn't eat at all. I find the process boring, time consuming and theoretically disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i know that disney doing a re-make of the seventh seal and calling it "the seal", in case american audiences think it is a sequel, may turn your stomach, but it's no excuse to stop eating altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

Pigman II wrote:
    I only eat one meal a day anyway. If they invented a pill to supply all the daily requirements then I wouldn't eat at all. I find the process boring, time consuming and theoretically disgusting.
    couldnt agree more especially on the last part, being around people eating... i just dont like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

its pretty natural, it happens to me if i get flu/food poisoning

although try to force yourself to eat weetabix/toast/plain soup, you'll feel better for it and recover quicker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I might just not bother eating at all. I need to lose some wieght anyway.
    And it will be put straight back on when you start eating again.

Sangre wrote:

Yeah, good point.

I'll probably try and eat some toast or something in a bit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Yes. Toast is a good place to begin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I was away and was only eating one meal a day...a average sized dinner at some stage between 4 - 8 for a week.

I got home today and orderd a pizza. I can't move (I ate the whole thing) and I feel physicaly sick. :o I should be grand tomorrow though...just stretching my stomach out again! :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Go out for a few drinks and then just try and walk past a chipper on your way home without going in for food ;)

Otherwise try and get some excersise, you loose your appetite when or after you've been sick because you tend to sit around doing nothing. Even a bit of a walk would get the metabolism fired up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Ruu wrote:
    You'll waste away!:eek:All that will be left is a paper thin, Karl Hungus.

All the coolest most hardcore-est metal guitarists are stick thin...

Sarky wrote:
    All the coolest most hardcore-est metal guitarists are stick thin...

I think this guy would have something to say about that. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

He's a skinny little whiner deep down. :)

I think this guy would have something to say about that. :p

Just a bit of stubborn belly fat. :)

Ruu wrote:
    Just a bit of stubborn belly fat. :)

Yeah, it's just a wee smidge. Sure he'll burn that off his next tour. ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Sangre wrote:
    Aye, I lost a stone and a half from not eating near the end of teh college year this year, I couldn't eat. Went straight back on when I ate, reallllly fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

I think you could start with something sweet..
    something dessert like..
    no need to chow down the whole portion..
    just a bit to get you going..
    then swap for proper food..
    I like to think like fooling the body system.. ish..

you could try go to subway and get a chicken teriyaki with sweet onion sauce..
    That sauce is essential & always makes me go back for more..
    at times even when I'm not hungry :)

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

When you haven't much of an appetite, you don't really feel like putting too much effort into preparation. Start small - some toast for breakfast with some juice. For lunch I like the (I think McDonnells do them) Soupfulls when I have to eat quickly. Roma have pasta out now and it cooks within 3-4 minutes. Grab a stir in sauce and you're sorted. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭haunted-room

Ive lost my appetite recently too, I get hungry, try to eat something and as soon as I start, my stomach says NO!
    Happens to me if im pissed off about someting or just not in a good more for a while, and im already under weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

Ive lost my appetite recently too, I get hungry, try to eat something and as soon as I start, my stomach says NO!
    This is exactly whats happening to me.Ill feel hungry going to get the food,and after the first bite I no longer really want it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

do you guys cook the same stuff often??
    Bcoz my cousin works as a chef..
    He can cook a dish about few hundred times almost every evening..

He said to me before that the dish he cooks often..
    just put him off it..
    So for his own food, he cook something that he rarely sees..
    but then ye guys probably don't cook it few hundred times like he did

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

Well, I think it's starting to come back now anyway.

Feck to whoever said start with something sweet. I got a Yorkie at the shop, and felt awful after eating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

yeah i had the flu (quickly followed by tonsilitus) a couple of months back...killed my appetite big time.

but it comes back slowly after a few weeks.

currently at 2 meals a day. which was about average for me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

A few weeks ago, i had food poisoning, lost my appetite after for about a week following. I couldnt finish a full dinner or anything, had no will to eat, it was pretty weird, but thankfully went away after forcing down a few meals ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 molypiper

losing appetite is quite normal after an illness. i have had it after i suffered from mild pneumonia. fresh fruits did wonder! :D

Ok, seems to be back now. Haven't eaten anything all day, but I'm cooking dinner right now and I feel famished, it just can't cook fast enough, I'm so damn hungry!

What are you cooking?

you know there are some foodstuff that you can eat raw as well as cooked...WHY WAIT?

unless its chicken...chicken's bad to eat when raw.

goddamn i gotta cook as well.

It was chicken. :)

damn...well you put me in the mood for yoghurts...

gotta stop doing this, i go out and buy 4 tubs of muller yoghurts and they are gone within half an hour...

only happens every now and then but i kick myself when i do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

It's odd, but I had a flu there during the week, which I've thankfully gotten over now, but the strange thing is, I've just not been hungry the past few days. I've had just one single meal all day today, and it was the same yesterday. I've not eaten in hours now, and still, I'm not even peckish.

Strange.

Weird, I have had a bad headcold last 3 days (didnt sleep a wink last night) and all I have been doing is eating :eek: Got up at 4am to get some food, (I was awake anyway) and ate pretty much anything I could get my hands on all day.

Now I've lost my appetite. :( I'm schkinny enough as it is!