Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silks new poker room

• 18-08-2006 12:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

Hi went to silks opening night last night was impressed. great structure and play with lots of chips and good blind levels . B.B.Q outside for the food and wait for it a smoking cash game table outside ( even though they have to sort out the heaters!). it was a good craic and a good addition to dublins poker scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

I was thinking of heading into this last night but laziness got the better of me. How many runners were there? Do you know what time it finished up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

HalfBaked wrote:
    How many runners were there? Do you know what time it finished up?

Started shorthanded with 18 runners i think although more than a few joined in the next hour or so after starting. I got ko'd shortly before FT formed at 1am ish so i'd say it went on till 2-2.30am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭TimFoil

25 runners last night and I busted 3rd at about 3.30 - a nice clock with larger than usual stacks meant a late one. The place has a nice atmosphere, quite reminisent of the Merrion. Outside table & bbq were fantastic, though nothing compared to the BuckRogers styled final table. Spent the entire evening trying to resist saying 'I raise 2000 cubitz' or 'sensors indicate busted flush captain'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

TimFoil wrote:
    25 runners last night and I busted 3rd at about 3.30 - a nice clock with larger than usual stacks meant a late one. The place has a nice atmosphere, quite reminisent of the Merrion. Outside table & bbq were fantastic, though nothing compared to the BuckRogers styled final table. Spent the entire evening trying to resist saying 'I raise 2000 cubitz' or 'sensors indicate busted flush captain'

/Users/grahamthew/Desktop/table.jpg

Well done on the third.

I saw the table on their website, impressive stuff. Them seats look pretty comfy.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

looks extremely comfortable, gotta get me to THAT final table!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

where is this located and what is their website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

yeah sounds and looks a nice place, another great addition to the scene. the only problem with competition is that will it be hard to get a decent 100 runner game anymore with so many people spread out everywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

Earlsfort terrace Gholi, just off Leeson Street, past the Conrad hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

anyone know whats on here tonight? is there a tourney schedule somewhere?? im very impressed with the idea of a smoking cash game table!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭imalegend

web site is crap and no links 2 a tourney list.Id say your best bet is to ring them later.

good man aidan.......... feckin €20 rebuy!!! the fitz it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

the Weds tournie starting this week looks extremely tempting

yeh this looks very good......... i was sold when i heard my 3 favourite letters in the same sentance as poker......... BBQ!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

eoghan104 wrote:
    yeh this looks very good......... i was sold when i heard my 3 favourite letters in the same sentance as poker......... BBQ!!!:D

surely that's only two letters?

after reading Rounders description of the Vietnamese chef casually adding cigarette ashes to the BBQ selection, I wouldn't be too confident of the fare on offer....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

the only problem with competition is that will it be hard to get a decent 100 runner game anymore with so many people spread out everywhere?

I agree,we could be at saturation point in Dublin.

surely that's only two letters?

after reading Rounders description of the Vietnamese chef casually adding cigarette ashes to the BBQ selection, I wouldn't be too confident of the fare on offer....
    Cigarrettes, poker and a bbq............ sounds like my kinda night!!

Whether or not they put that smoking cash table to use is questionable imo. Because when i played the tourney and it was getting late i heard the td telling players the cash tables were upstairs. imo they would use that 'outside' table as an overflow tournie table if numbers went up or more cash games started.

BBQ chicken with essence of John Player Blue is quite the combination!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 rivered

Whether or not they put that smoking cash table to use is questionable imo. Because when i played the tourney and it was getting late i heard the td telling players the cash tables were upstairs. imo they would use that 'outside' table as an overflow tournie table if numbers went up or more cash games started.

I was on this smoking cash game on thursday it was the first cash game to start (funnily enough lol), Its so nice to have a beer and a fag and playing poker :D .I think the only cash tables upstairs are the blackjack and roulette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

yeah sounds and looks a nice place, another great addition to the scene. the only problem with competition is that will it be hard to get a decent 100 runner game anymore with so many people spread out everywhere?

I will certainly welcome another addition to the Dublin poker scene... everyone, go to silks tonight...it's bound to be great! Cash tables I hear are soft and full of fish....go check it out...

Cough and leave the Fitz and SE to me.....

every fkin cash table has at least 4 boardsters on it these days, as a result money is getting harder to make.... no value in sitting down at a table mainly filled by boardsters....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

agreed! esp wen u dont no who they are, and so understimate your opponent, can everyone wear name tags from now on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 glenmc

This wednesday will be are e100 + e10 reg double chance freeze-out tournament. Registration is from 2030 to start at 2100. Starting stack will be 4000 with a 30minute clock.
    The smoking cash game table will be available at anytime on request and your all welcome to come and join me for a great night of poker and some free beer.
    First time players please remember to bring some photo ID.
    If you would like anymore details call me (Glen) 0851441326.
    See you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

imalegend wrote:
    web site is crap and no links 2 a tourney list.Id say your best bet is to ring them later.

I think their website is exteremely impressive. As soon as they get their tournie list up, it will be top notch. Love the mini blackjack and roulette games that i'll be able to play in work also :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

glenmc wrote:
    This wednesday will be are e100 + e10 reg double chance freeze-out tournament. Registration is from 2030 to start at 2100. Starting stack will be 4000 with a 30minute clock.
    The smoking cash game table will be available at anytime on request and your all welcome to come and join me for a great night of poker and some free beer.
    First time players please remember to bring some photo ID.
    If you would like anymore details call me (Glen) 0851441326.
    See you there.
    can you tell me what your web site addy is please?

Gholi i dont really think it matters. Its out of date by about 2 years. I mean Gilson is pictured with O'Driscoll before they broke up for the first time. Come on!.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Gholi i dont really think it matters. Its out of date by about 2 years. I mean Gilson is pictured with O'Driscoll before they broke up for the first time. Come on!.

I bet you watch Desperate Housewifes....?

Dub13 wrote:
    I bet you watch Desperate Housewifes....?

lol my above remark may indicate it but ive never seen an episode of it or 'Sex in the city' im glad to say!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Dub13 wrote:
    I agree,we could be at saturation point in Dublin.
    yes thats what im afraid of, although the poorer ones will probably fade out, like the CPT disbanding apprently, (there was a thread about it earlier). once everyone does 30 min clocks and 10K starting stacks, where do you go? i havent been to silks yet, but the fitz have been doing a great job for quite a while so ill be slow to leave it too, but with the merrion goin there is a place up for grabs i expect...