Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike locked to bike rack - lost keys

• 18-08-2006 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭

So the story is i lost my bunch of keys including the key for my bike lock which is new (2 months). Its a U lock and the bike is locked on a busy centre street.

What are the options. I've heard people talking about hittin it with a hammer (its a master lock) but i think that would just look dodgy and im sure the Gardaí would come over to me.

Get some knacker kids to pick the lock? Go back to where i bought the lock and explain my predicament? (their a locksmiths)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

Unfortunately you're unlikely to be bothered by the Gardai or anyone else while breaking the lock (e.g.). Have your bike receipt on hand just in case though - otherwise you may be beaten with truncheons.

Asking the locksmith for advice would be a good bet. I've also seen U-locks brust open using a car jack. A hammer may work too but there's a great risk of denting your bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Go back to where you bought it first. Otherwise, you can open a U-lock with a hammer in two or three blows, it's very simple. I drew up a diagram before when someone else was in the same situation and they got their lock open that way. Search this forumn for the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭ruprect

Is it a round tubular key? My mate has a lock pick that can open some of them, (not a thief, got it for the same reason, cheaper than a locksmith).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

ruprect wrote:
    Is it a round tubular key? My mate has a lock pick that can open some of them, (not a thief, got it for the same reason, cheaper than a locksmith).

yes its tubular.. yes anything to open it i dont mind

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Anglegrinderman ?

Best if you go down with a friend, one person could rob a bike and race off, but not two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

A few years ago I saw the Fire Brigade cut open a lock for a cyclist on Parliment Street. I don't know what type of lock it is but you could phone them and find out what proof they'd require (and how much they might charge). The Gardai might offer advice too - you never know until you ask. Of course, the locksmith might be the best port of call.

As the lock is new, I would expect you to have one or two spare keys at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

No harm in giving the bic pen trick a go first, although I have successfully used a hammer myself in the past.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Or you could do what thiefs in France did with my bike --> dig up the metal upside down U which I had locked my bike too :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Ferror

You could always go for the overkill option and hire a petrol angle grinder and metal cutting disc, *might* attract attention to you :p

The bic pen solution is nice though ;)

You'd better get it done quick mind, as people seem to start stealing parts / crushing wheels after a bike's been left somewhere for a few days :mad:

bic solution wouldnt work in this case as its a tube lock.

Locksmith asked for 90euro to remove it. Will try the fire bridage.

Unless someone has that lockpick or a portable angle grinder? :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Good god man, you'd want to be getting it removed soon or surely they'll be nothing left of your bike?

bike was grand, after the gardai had a go the fire brigade came around, lights flashing and just cut it off. 2 seconds and it was over.

They're brill :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

They charge ya anything or say anything to you? :)

Massive spate of stolen bikes when the fire brigade are around from now on :p