Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardsters in Irish Poker Cup

• 15-08-2006 12:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭

The PE Irish Poker Cup is on in a couple of weeks, so I'm interested in seeing how many posters here are playing. I think this deserves a thread of it's own. Does this look right (boardsters in blue, non-posting notables included in brackets as well). Have I missed anyone? Also, apologies if you're a notable and I've missed you.

Any objections to posting up players boards handles, or do you guys want to stay anonymous?

Some very strong teams here.

Antrim
    Tom Murphy
    (Paul Leckey)
    (Mike Magee)
    (John McGill)

Armagh
    (Sean Fagan)
    (Lawrence Gosney)

Carlow
    Neil Kelly (Big Slick??)
    (Dave Curtis)

Clare
    (Keith Mc Inerney, high finish in IPC in january?)

Cork
    Flipper Walsh
    (Ken Corkery)
    (Kevin"the pro"Killeen)

Derry
    (Micky Mc Closkey)
    (Paddy Mc Closkey)
    (George Mc Keever)

Donegal
    Olly Boyce

Down
    (Ivan Donaghy, winner of Irish Open a few years ago?)

Dublin
    Dave Masters
    (Damien Kavanagh)
    (Christy Smith)
    (Stephen Dunphy)
    (Eoghan O'Dea)
    (Don Fagan)
    (Joe O'Neill)

Fermanagh
    (Joe Rafferty)

Galway
    Fintan Gavin
    Pat O Callagan
    (Derek Murray)
    (Padraig Parkinson)
    (Michael Murray, 4 Aces Club??)

Kerry
    Conn O'Sullivan
    Dave o mahoney
    Matt Dobbins
    Michael o Brien

Kildare
    Poker and Pints
    (Derek Williams, the Clamper?)

Laois
    Eamon O'Reilly
    Brian O'Connell
    Rob Taylor
    Dominic Keever (5starpool, I assume it's a typo?)
    (Andy Dunne)
    (Brian Murphy)
    (Paul Jackson )

Leitrim
    Niall O'Callaghan
    Eoin Olin

Paul Walsh
    (Paul Cryan)
    (Peter Heslin)

Limerick
    Nicky O'Donnell
    Dave Kingston
    Eoghan Lyons
    Rick Cosgrove
    Ken Cheah
    Derek Cosgrove
    Liam Corbett

Longford
    Bp!

Louth
    Mike Lacey
    (Kevin Fitzpatrick)

Mayo
    Len Collin
    Brian O'Regan
    Anthony Padden
    (Nicola Collin)
    (Paul Roper)

Meath
    (Leslie McLean)
    (Tommy Tiernan)
    (Eddie"the Eagle"Kavanagh )

Monaghan
    Scott Gray (very rare poster)

Offaly
    (Rory Liffey)

Tipperary
    (Owen Mullan)

Waterford
    Nicky Power
    Dave O'Callaghan
    Alan O Gorman
    Dave McCarthy
    (Danny Guiney)
    (B. O'Keefe, plays in the Fitz?)

Westmeath
    Derek Murray (erm, me)
    (Sylvester Geoghan, 7th in the Irish Open)

Wicklow
    Cian O' Sheehan (poker.ie???)
    Darragh Thomas
    Oscar Fred
    Dave Murray

Edit: Updated to include carrigeen and ntlbell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭Poker & Pints

I'm Notable...maybe not always for my Poker, but Notable nonetheless. Playing for Kildare supposedly....I haven't seen the list yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

I'm Notable...maybe not always for my Poker, but Notable nonetheless. Playing for Kildare supposedly....I haven't seen the list yet.

The teams can be found here: http://www.pokerevents.ie/Teams.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

someone like paddy powers should start a book on this i reckon, could be fun.

Some very good teams there indeed, looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I will be flying the flag for mayo also.

Brian O'Regan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

on the galway team

pat o callaghan

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

ntlbell wrote:
    I will be flying the flag for mayo also.

The Culchies are being routed out now.Are you a culchie NTL or does appearing in Father Ted excommunicate you from the Dublin tribe...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

Playing for my new home county of Leitrim I believe (tho I'm not listed on PE)

Paul Walsh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Waterford
    Nicky Power
    Dave O'Callaghan
    (Danny Guiney)
    (B. O'Keefe, plays in the Fitz?) no different player

also boardsters on waterford team

Alan O Gorman

Dave McCarthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Dub13 wrote:
    The Culchies are being routed out now.Are you a culchie NTL or does appearing in Father Ted excommunicate you from the Dublin tribe...?

LOL

The mothership is from charlestown :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Boardsters on Kerry team:

ZZZ1100--dave o mahoney(the silver fox)
    Lplate---Matt Dobbins
    HawleyBear--Michael o Brien
    Connie147--Con o Sullivan

Other team members:

Cork based Pat Griffen.
    Dublin dased Alan Dillon
    Declan mcCarthy--(the Klingon)
    Billy Houlian
    John o Sullivan
    Gerry Kenneddy
    Looking forward to a great tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭anthony112

playing for mayo

anthony padden:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Wheres Longford?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheRock

Onthe Waterford Team.

Alan O'Gorman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Unfortunately Culchie... Who was always likely to play instead of Mr Cascarino has had to cancel for family reasons. Hopefully everything's ok. Mr Cascarino himself was hoping to play but cancelled due to a wedding. The space has been filled by Les Oosten. A player from Westport, born in Cork and with a Dutch father. If the lad wasn't born to play poker I don't know who is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

someone like paddy powers should start a book on this i reckon, could be fun.

Some very good teams there indeed, looking forward to it.

or maybe boylesports as they sponsor Pokerevents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Bp!

Wheres Longford?

Oi! Cheeky

Only seein this thread today

Ive nearly a full head of grey hairs orgainising the team, so many players were on the list and then dropped out its not funny, only got another call this morning for 1 more, Bruce (owner of casino in Athlone and bettin shop in longford being the latest- along with him was players from The Crane too)

I wont know hardly any of the players on the team...dissapointing show for the longford team (shock..horror!) but the experience will still be worth it

Bp

Brian

OK lads, I've updated the OP with all the additions. If no-one objects I'll add Boards handles later as well.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Go Antrim!!!

(Up Down! etc)

DeV The Nordy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Bp! wrote:
    Oi! Cheeky

Only seein this thread today

Ive nearly a full head of grey hairs orgainising the team, so many players were on the list and then dropped out its not funny, only got another call this morning for 1 more, Bruce (owner of casino in Athlone and bettin shop in longford being the latest- along with him was players from The Crane too)

I wont know hardly any of the players on the team...dissapointing show for the longford team (shock..horror!) but the experience will still be worth it

Bp

Brian

I wasnt trying to be funny its just that i have a chance of playing for longford if i win an stt so i seen the list and Longford werent there. So now i see you represintin so i hope to conquer this stt so Longford will be a shoe in!. They wont see us coming!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Limerick Boardsters

Nicky O'Donnell: NickyOD
    Eoghan Lyons: Straddlefor6
    Rick Cosgrove: The Chopper
    Ken Cheah: Spiritus
    Dave Kingston: BigDragon
    Derek Cosgrove: Kobraki
    Liam Corbett: Poker Hound

I wasnt trying to be funny its just that i have a chance of playing for longford if i win an stt so i seen the list and Longford werent there. So now i see you represintin so i hope to conquer this stt so Longford will be a shoe in!. They wont see us coming!.

Yeh copped after you werent jokingly being literal! Its been a dampener for me last few days/weeks with players commitments (some had genuine excuses and others just plain let me down). There really is a serious lack of card players here though.

The idea of it being a proper longford representation are long gone, its all about numbers now...sayin that it'd be a good laugh havin ya on the team Aidan so take that STT down!

award_tw.gif

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

[/COLOR] Dominic Keever (5starpool, I assume it's a typo?)
    Yep - I think that is how it translates into Laoisish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Flying the flag for Roscommon team.

Carlo Cretaro

Gholimoli has now been confirmed for the Mayo team. It's been a bit hectic this week as my first alternate for Cascarino was Culchie. He's had to pull out for personal reasons. Then my second alternate just lost his job so he had to pull out. And Gholi has stepped into the breach.

Fatboydim wrote:
    Gholimoli has now been confirmed for the Mayo team. It's been a bit hectic this week as my first alternate for Cascarino was Culchie. He's had to pull out for personal reasons. Then my second alternate just lost his job so he had to pull out. And Gholi has stepped into the breach.

How does he qualify for mayo? :)

Nicky - Silk Shirts - Bangkok - and he's related to the famous Claremorris Hosseini's. There's a Halal butcher in Kiltimagh you know:)

Fatboydim wrote:
    Nicky - Silk Shirts - Bangkok - and he's related to the famous Claremorris Hosseini's. There's a Halal butcher in Kiltimagh you know:)

lol! I'm just surprised he's not on a team already. Nice scouting.

Lads, for seem reason I dont have the "Edit" option anymore on the OP (must be a limit on the number of edits per post), so I haven't been able to add in players from "Four of a Kind"s post onwards. Sorry.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Lads, for seem reason I dont have the "Edit" option anymore on the OP (must be a limit on the number of edits per post), so I haven't been able to add in players from "Four of a Kind"s post onwards. Sorry.

Boards is set to give you 48 hours to edit a post,after that only a Mod or Admin can edit the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 hoolamoppa

i believe i'm on the Longford team, well i've paid up so ....... (Bp)? Lookin forward to it, should be good. i lived in longford for a long time so i'm dedicated completely. (up mayo next sunday tho, lol) |C u all fri eve !!!!!!

Jack:cool:

hoolamoppa wrote:
    i believe i'm on the Longford team, well i've paid up so ....... (Bp)? Lookin forward to it, should be good. i lived in longford for a long time so i'm dedicated completely. (up mayo next sunday tho, lol) |C u all fri eve !!!!!!

Jack:cool:

Yeh Jack all sorted there, any probs PM or gives a ring

Brian

Hey Bp, stay outa Roscommons way. You've been warned:D

Bicci is a traitor and he'll get whats coming to him. Ha!:cool:

Bicci must be Keith , oui? nò?

Hey the midlands have to stick together through these crazy times :D

(unless we're at the same table....he he)

Yeah keith...aka...bicci...aka...traitor....!!

I reckon it will be the midlands that take it down. C you fri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Brayruit

Notables for Wicklow..... surely Roy Brindley is fairly notable...

oh and I am on the Wicklow team too.....

Stephen Loughman (new to boards.ie)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Wexford Boardsters

RichieLawlor (me)
    Bops (Ian Ronan)
    mdwexford (Mick Doran)

Brayruit wrote:
    Notables for Wicklow..... surely Roy Brindley is fairly notable...

oh and I am on the Wicklow team too.....

Stephen Loughman (new to boards.ie)

Oops, forgot about Roy. Re the Wicklow team, it's been weakened quite a bit with Roundtower and Bohsman not playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

NickyOD wrote:
    Limerick Boardsters

Nicky O'Donnell: NickyOD
    Eoghan Lyons: Straddlefor6
    Rick Cosgrove: The Chopper
    Ken Cheah: Spiritus
    Dave Kingston: BigDragon
    Derek Cosgrove: Kobraki
    Liam Corbett: Poker Hound

With El Riflé now added to the line up after he discovered a great great grandfather from Stab City surely Limerick has the highest proportion of boardsies of any county? I'm dissapointed I couldn't play myself due to commitments but I wish Nicky and his team the very best of luck this weekend!

Nearly time so, lads. Whatever about the team event, here's hoping that a Boardsie takes down the 15K for 1st. GL all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

kilkenny boardsters myself only i think (aidan o'hara)