Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

concept of heaven

• 14-08-2006 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭

After winning the lotto , Pam Anderson shows up at my going away work do , saying she has split from Kid Rock, and wants to come away with me on my new Yacht cruising the med , and maybe recreate a certain video ... and on our return help me settle into my new Foxrock mansion ... dream on a dreary monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Lifetime supply of Chipsticks, ah heaven! *swims around in pool full of Chipsticks*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm an atheist. There is no heaven or afterlife.
    Would have been nice tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

thebaz wrote:
    After winning the lotto , Pam Anderson shows up at my going away work do , saying she has split from Kid Rock, and wants to come away with me on my new Yacht cruising the med , and maybe recreate a certain video ... and on our return help me settle into my new Foxrock mansion ... dream on a dreary monday

Pam Anderson? Show a bit of class, man.

Jessica Alba and Rihanna knocking into looking to devote themselves to me. And with those two, I could live in a caravan for the rest of my life and be very happy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

a game of pool with Jesus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

jayzis you couldn't think of someone better than Pam Anderson?! You could probably fit your leg into her at this stage.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Zebra3 wrote:
    Pam Anderson? Show a bit of class, man.

We all have our weakness' , and Pam baby is mine , ever since my Baywatch days .. she also gives of the air of wanting to have "dirty" fun , even the guys she dates , like fun .. class no .. fun yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Where the never ending pint has no effect on your liver. Ah... bliss. I await you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

sjones wrote:
    Where the never ending pint has no effect on your liver. Ah... bliss. I await you!

you would also have to add to that one, no hangovers. Imagine pulling out all the stops on a night out and then waking up free and clear the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Having a house in Foxrock is your idea of heaven!?lol!

rb_ie wrote:
    Having a house in Foxrock is your idea of heaven!?lol!

Not having to work for awhile would be heaven , and if i wasn't happy in a Foxrock manor, i could always sell it at a tidy profit , and move somwhere less posh , like Dalkey or Howth :D

I have my own personal belief on the whole death and afterlife doohickey.

The whole death process, in some regards, is basically the next step in our "evolution" I suppose you could say. As it stands, we can only use about 5% of our brain capacity, because this is our own body holding us back. But once we have "shuffled off this mortal coil" this constraint is gone. Our minds are free to use its full potential. We become pure energy; the soul.

Heaven is a blank canvas. Our minds can shape it as it wishes, giving each person their own personal Heaven. The full capacity of our brain allows to do so. In much the same way, a person can create their own personal Hell. So, Heaven and Hell are one in the same. Perhaps the thing which decides where we go is our mindset before we die. If you are happy and tranquil before you die, Heaven shall be your reward. If you are sad or angry before you die, Hell shall be your punishment.

This is my own personal theory, of course.

you would also have to add to that one, no hangovers. Imagine pulling out all the stops on a night out and then waking up free and clear the next day.

*Tips hat*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

The whole death process, in some regards, is basically the next step in our "evolution" I suppose you could say. As it stands, we can only use about 5% of our brain capacity, because this is our own body holding us back. But once we have "shuffled off this mortal coil" this constraint is gone. Our minds are free to use its full potential. We become pure energy; the soul.

Heaven is a blank canvas. Our minds can shape it as it wishes, giving each person their own personal Heaven. The full capacity of our brain allows to do so. In much the same way, a person can create their own personal Hell. So, Heaven and Hell are one in the same. Perhaps the thing which decides where we go is our mindset before we die. If you are happy and tranquil before you die, Heaven shall be your reward. If you are sad or angry before you die, Hell shall be your punishment.

I want some of whatever this guy has been smoking.

The whole death process, in some regards, is basically the next step in our "evolution" I suppose you could say. As it stands, we can only use about 5% of our brain capacity, because this is our own body holding us back.

Sorry to burst your bubble mate. Just google for "10% brain myth".
    http://faculty.washington.edu/chudler/tenper.html

Urban legends ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Sitting on a cloud , Miller on tap , Getting hammered with Dimebag but were still sober enough to play fannytastic solo`s and because its heaven I now also have all of his guitar playing abilities :eek:

Yep an right next to my cloud is a Pizza parlour but they only make the pizza`s I like and theres no waitin around , I say jump , they say how high :D

The only sound in heaven will be heavy metal , hhmmm yea with the beer and the metal and the pizza pretty much Id be sorted Id say. Oh yea am some fudge bars yea thatd do me for a while anyway. Ou and cloud scooters:)

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    I want some of whatever this guy has been smoking.

Too much time and imagination I'm afraid. Hah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

dublin can be heaven im told :confused:

other than that the usual robotic shell ala ghost in the shell, twenty foot tall model, with lasers, flight, sub aqua and percolator features as standard. I mean who wouldnt want to be a transformer type being? a crazy person wouldnt but thats it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

This, and I also hope it has marshmellows. Lots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pigheads idea of heaven would involve me being an Emperor Penguin and winning a special Penguin State Lottery prize that enabled me to escape the bitter life threatening chill winds of the Antarctic for the warmer climates of Southern Alaska.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Sitting around on a cloud smoking some grass, listening to my favourite bands playing in the company of Bill Hicks, Jesus, John Lennon, Billy Connolly and more people that inspire me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Sleepy wrote:
    Sitting around on a cloud smoking some grass, listening to my favourite bands playing in the company of Bill Hicks, Jesus, John Lennon, Billy Connolly and more people that inspire me.

Thats certainly an interesting mix! I wonder would Bill be wearing a cross around his neck...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Posted by DaveMcG:
    jayzis you couldn't think of someone better than Pam Anderson?! You could probably fit your leg into her at this stage.....

I resent that! and Kid Rock wants your address so he can come kick your butt 4 me!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hotdog down a hallway tbh.

Heaven: not much thought out into it to be honest, i know it would involve talking, drink and music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Thats certainly an interesting mix! I wonder would Bill be wearing a cross around his neck...
    Well, while I don't believe in the guy, Hicks certainly did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WallysWorld

Rhyme wrote:
    Hotdog down a hallway tbh.

Bannana down a street.

Heaven on earth: Win the lotto and use the money to get the holodeck from Star Trek built, lock myself in there with ooh I dunno the virtual Olsen twins giving me hot oil massages until I starve to death! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Posted by WallysWorld
    Virtual Olsen Twins

creative thinking there!

Me? A young Kevin Zorbo and David Lee Roth attending to my every need, with a few hot Cabana Boys around to keep it exciting.

L4L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WallysWorld

Lust4Life wrote:
    creative thinking there!

Me? A young Kevin Zorbo and David Lee Roth attending to my every need, with a few hot Cabana Boys around to keep it exciting.

L4L

Thats the beauty of the holodeck, sick of the Olsens? how about Jessica Alba and Scarlett Johannsen *drool*

Dunno why this didnt happen on Star Trek, instead they just had some crappy 'Oirish' town amongst other dull as dishwater ideas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

thebaz wrote:
    would she be cured of the hepatitis?

nah. you just die and that's it. nothing else happens.

i have decided not to depress people with my idea of heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

If they did have those types of programmes on the holodeck, you just know they would have a perfect punishment, squeeging the holodeck walls clean after the guys have been in there :p

My idea of heaven.. Never gave it too much thought. But it would probably involve me ditching the form of the human body. I would prefer something more dragon-like.. Although I wouldnt object to being "subjected" to hot oil massages by Jessica Alba *drool*. Likewise I certainly wouldnt mind seeing some of my wishes coming through, watchin MS crash and burn, the RIAA/MPAA getting torn limb-from-limb for their evil ways, Noel Dempsey and Phil Nolen getting strung up by their dangly bits and tortured for starving Ireland of decent broadband.. *evil grin* or being able to take a sports car and floor it down the M50 without having to worry about the bloody guards or speed cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

julep wrote:

Forever the optimist!

My idea of heaven is driving in Connemara in my new Aston Martin, Thierry Henry is sitting beside me writing postcards to his Ma back in Paris...yum :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Right now, being with that Someone.

In material terms...having enough money to buy the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Then dragging laad/gold weights up to the top so as to make it tip over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

DaveMcG wrote:

Post of the year for me, well done Dave, fcuking hillarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Yore ma.... anyone?

I'd also follow sjones' theory of unconsequential (sc?) drinking. Where did that lamp post come out of :(

Oh and being able to hold Brian Kennedy in a headlock with my 3rd arm whilst playing poker with Vince Vaughn, Will Ferrel and the lads.. you know :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Sleepy wrote:

Same, but I'd cut out Billy and the J-man....yea, you can see I don't believe in the whole religion thing, so I don't expect there to be a heaven.

What I would prefer is to repeat life all over again without any knowledge of a previous existence. Honestly, I would get bored if I got everything I wanted for all eternity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

connundrum wrote:
    Oh and being able to hold Brian Kennedy in a headlock with my 3rd arm whilst playing poker with Vince Vaughn, Will Ferrel and the lads.. you know :o

Why the hatred of Brian Kennedy? He is a good man

Ireland actually winning the World Cup would be pretty special ... as i'm really dreaming now, given the shocking state of Irish football, maybe i could get a game in the final at the new wembley or croker .. with Pam giving that loving smile ala Posh , from the stands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

iFight wrote:
    Why the hatred of Brian Kennedy? He is a good man

Not your mate Brian Kennedy, the guy off the TV.:)
    I dunno, hes just one of those people that, if he was drowning and I could hear him thrashing about in the water, I'd turn up the TV.

Besides, no man disgraces us in Europe and survives...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Heaven? A little cottage all paid for with the view of the sea, far away from the hussle, bussle, crime and pollution of crowded cities. Plenty of space about the cottage, with no immediate neighbors, and room for a blue black Arab colt to horse around. A little village and pub within walking distance to meet basic needs and to chat up the locales every now and then, who will respect my privacy as I do theirs. A small fireplace in the cottage to keep me warm during the cold wet Irish winter, and a Great Dane to slide my feet under. A garden in the back to grow veggies, and a great pile of wood to feed my fire. The best of laptops and Internet connections, perhaps via cell or satellite (if cable is not available). Enough money to maintain all of this for the future, perhaps sheltered in diversified investments with grand yields, allowing me to creatively write fictional action novels without worry of putting bread or wine on the table, or feeding my horse, dog, or the tax collector. And I saved the most important part of heaven to the last. A lover to live with me who shares the same common interests. Heaven. The one I now work hard for and only hope to achieve.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

my idea of heaven is finally finding out what happens when you die, getting very dissapointed, finally accpting it, and then resting peacefully in my coffin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 molypiper

heaven...

is living with my family in a large house with helps around! simple ain't it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

julep wrote:

It is possible to invisage a heaven (or perfect life) in this life, you don't have to die to be in your own personal "heaven"

In this life, it would be having enough money and resources to never have to worry about them (i've worked out I could live on a surplus of around 5 million for my life). Having all my time to travel, create, explore... live to my hearts content. Spend more time with the people who matter in my life. Trying something new everyday, and living somewhere where i'm surrounded by nature (I've alreadypicked out the place in Canada)

It IS possible to get to this point, i'm just worried that by the time I get there capitalism will have taken hold and I will now have a new estimate on what I need to be happy... its a vicious cycle once you get there because with capitalism the more you earn, the more you need to earn to be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Heaven is eventually having a nice home, in a nice area, a husband who is my best friend, children that I love dearly, and who love me dearly in return.
    A nice job, good money, enough to never have to worry.
    More then anything else, Heaven would be to be genuinely content with everything in my life - to feel totally at ease and very happy.