Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waste of Garda resources

• 13-08-2006 4:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭

This evening the Dublin football team arrived in DCU accompanied by three traffic cops on motorcycles. The team presumably must have had some sort of reception here.
    Anyway the cops must have been attending the reception as well because their bikes were here for the evening. The problem I have is why did the Dublin team have a Garda escort to DCU, Croke park is only a stones throw away and why were the Gardai hanging around unnecessarily when they should have been on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

maybe they were off duty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭Sarn

How about at least three garda bikes escorting the empty Lord Mayors coach on top of a truck down the N11 the other morning? Was there really a need to stop the traffic at every junction (~7.30 am) as they sped down? They don't stop the traffic for security vans with army escorts (that I've noticed). I have more of an issue with them disrupting traffic, potentially causing an accident for an inanimate object.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

oh jesus here we go again, maybe we should just start a new forum for Garda bashing.

Give them a break will ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

muletide wrote:
    oh jesus here we go again, maybe we should just start a new forum for Garda bashing.

its our taxes that pay there wages therefore they are answerable to the tax paying public

county wrote:
    its our taxes that pay there wages therefore they are answerable to the tax paying public

Really I always wondered who paid them thanks for pointing that out.

muletide wrote:
    Really I always wondered who paid them thanks for pointing that out.
    yes but you totally missed the point i was making,try reading passed the first seven words of my post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Have to agree with county on this one. Have you ever tried to make a complaint re the Gardaí through official channels, the usual response is "Fúck off" If someone wants to come in here and gripe about the Guards, let them. Until MCD step in, that is.

I was just making the point that your tax paying line is the same old sh1te hawked about by people who criticise every thing about the public service. I am sick of hearing about it. Hence my first post. I dont really want to get into a debate about it.

I think we should leave this thread for people who saw guards sitting down on duty or talking on a phone in a car i.e. people who probably have some grudge against them in the first place, maybe they failed the interview

muletide wrote:
    maybe they failed the interview

Or passed the IQ test :D

out of courisoity,would you be a guard or a family member be one?

edit/meant for muletide

No, no connections whatsoever- I just realise they have a tough job to do made tougher by people starting these threads.

Collie D wrote:
    Have to agree with county on this one. Have you ever tried to make a complaint re the Gardaí through official channels, the usual response is "Fúck off" If someone wants to come in here and gripe about the Guards, let them. Until MCD step in, that is.

A guard actually told you to Fu>k off, I presume you did something about it. Or ar you just exagerating (sp) a little

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

A Garda Bashing Forum would probably get more support than a Garda Appreciation Forum.

I think a poll would be in order, if I could work up the enthusiasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭rondeco

county wrote:

Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha!!! But they pay taxes too so are they their own bosses so? You would want to come up with a better argument as to why they are answerable. Poor argument. 'I Pay Your Wages!'.

muletide wrote:
    A guard actually told you to Fu>k off, I presume you did something about it. Or ar you just exagerating (sp) a little

Well if exageration means that they didn't actually tell me to **** Off but unleashed a string of expletives at and then hung on my granny then yes I'm exaggerating

rondeco wrote:
    Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha!!! But they pay taxes too so are they their own bosses so? You would want to come up with a better argument as to why they are answerable. Poor argument. 'I Pay Your Wages!'.
    so you say the the guards are answerable to no one?and your point about they pay tax so they are there own bosses,thats complete tripe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

muletide wrote:
    I was just making the point that your tax paying line is the same old sh1te hawked about by people who criticise every thing about the public service. I am sick of hearing about it. Hence my first post. I dont really want to get into a debate about it.

I think we should leave this thread for people who saw guards sitting down on duty or talking on a phone in a car i.e. people who probably have some grudge against them in the first place, maybe they failed the interview

:D I think you're right.
    I would just say that every guard that I have encountered has been dutiful and kind. Im not saying theyre all like that, but Ive never met a 'bad' guard, despite the stories from friends of friends who "were not drunk at the time".

InFront wrote:
    :D I think you're right.
    I would just say that every guard that I have encountered has been dutiful and kind. Im not saying theyre all like that, but Ive never met a 'bad' guard, despite the stories from friends of friends who "were not drunk at the time".

I'm moving to Dundrum so cos a lot of the Guards in my neck of the woods treat the community they are supposed to be serving as if we were all criminals. No respect for them whatsoever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Are they actually on duty? I know for GAA matches the garda in the stadium and who work around it are paid for by the GAA, so maybe the traffic cops are aswell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

This thread is slowly flying off topic into a Garda bashing thread where speculation and "a friend of a friend" stories are abundant.

Try to keep it civil lads, it's a Sunday. :)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Are they actually on duty? I know for GAA matches the garda in the stadium and who work around it are paid for by the GAA, so maybe the traffic cops are aswell?
    You've hit the nail on the head there chucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Collie D wrote:
    ...and then hung on my granny...
    Anyone who would hang on a granny get's no respect in my book.:D

sjones wrote:
    This thread is slowly flying off topic into a Garda bashing thread where speculation and "a friend of a friend" stories are abundant.

A friend of a friend once met a guard who was a really bad man. He had a monocle, a thin moustache, a cat in his arms and he was trying to take over the world by bouncing a laser ray off a Soviet satellite to hit the White House. Honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

A friend of a friend once met a guard who was a really bad man. He had a monocle, a thin moustache, a cat in his arms and he was trying to take over the world by bouncing a laser ray off a Soviet satellite to hit the White House. Honest.

Really? Jaaaaaaaaysuz. Hope you got his badge number.

county wrote:
    so you say the the guards are answerable to no one?and your point about they pay tax so they are there own bosses,thats complete tripe

Where do I say they are unanswerable to no-one? My point about them being their own boss was to show how ridiculous your point was that they are answerable to you. They are answerable. Of course they are. But not because you pay their wages.

So enjoy your tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

handbags at ten paces:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭nuttz

Chances are you're right and they were paid for by the GAA.
    But if that's the case should they not be down at Croke park looking after the traffic down there? Plus was a Garda escort necessary in the first place?

BTW: commiserations sjones, the better team won today, there's always next year. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

hiscan,
    if you cant add something positive to the discussion, dont add anything at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

nuttz wrote:
    BTW: commiserations sjones, the better team won today, there's always next year. :)

You had to go there didn't you. :( hehe. The entire team needs a revamp though.

Back on topic: Is there any way to find out how many gardai were on duty during today's Clare match?

nuttz wrote:
    Chances are you're right and they were paid for by the GAA.
    But if that's the case should they not be down at Croke park looking after the traffic down there? Plus was a Garda escort necessary in the first place?

Well since the GAA pay for them, i think they should decide what they should and shouldnt be doing.

Even if that means taking Garda equipment (motorcycles) off the streets? when they could be used by Gardai who are actually on duty. Which raises the question should the Gardai be allowed to work privately with Gardai equipment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

Paul Caffrey is a Garda himself, so maybe his mates were just popping along to say hello ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

nuttz wrote:
    This evening the Dublin football team arrived in DCU accompanied by three traffic cops on motorcycles. The team presumably must have had some sort of reception here.

The Dublin team go for warm-downs, ice baths etc in DCU after all their matches.

While I'm partial to Garda-bashing on occasion, it would have been difficult for them to get up the Drumcondra road without Gardai on Sat eve. Traffic was at a standstill. 3 motorbikes may have been overkill though.

nuttz wrote:
    Even if that means taking Garda equipment (motorcycles) off the streets? when they could be used by Gardai who are actually on duty. Which raises the question should the Gardai be allowed to work privately with Gardai equipment?

So your saying 3 traffic cops spend saturday afternoon in the station because the garda bikes were being used for the dublin team? Your not serious are you? YOu do realise the traffic police have more then 3 motorbikes dont you?

I am sure there were plenty of other motorbikes the garda were able to use.

So i take it then you dont ever want to see another concert, rugby match, soccer match etc in Ireland ever again?

So your saying 3 traffic cops spend saturday afternoon in the station because the garda bikes were being used for the dublin team? Your not serious are you? YOu do realise the traffic police have more then 3 motorbikes dont you?

Well after looking at the Garda website I wouldn't be surprised, considering they only have 50 traffic vehicles in total that includes "motorcycles, patrol cars (marked and unmarked), Jeeps and GATSO speed detection vans" and three of those were sitting on campus in DCU for three hours plus when the area around Croke Park was still congested with traffic. Also it would seem they were working privately.

So again, you dont ever want to see concerts, football or rugby matches ever again in Ireland?

That's irrelevant, I think Gardai policies should be reviewed. Their priorities were wrong in this case.

nuttz wrote:
    That's irrelevant, I think Gardai policies should be reviewed. Their priorities were wrong in this case.

You said you didnt want Garda equipment being used privately. So therefore we cant allow the garda to use their handcuffs, radios, cars etc etc. Or is just the 3 motorbikes you have a problem with?

My problem is with the whole "rent a cop" thing. The GAA pay "An Garda Síochána" for the extra Gardai to deal with the extra traffic caused by the GAA event. (The same applies to any other organisation that pay for extra Gardai to be deployed for an event). They are still essentially Gardai not bouncers, they still report to their senior officers and they were not doing their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

muletide wrote:

why?

rondeco wrote:
    Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha!!! But they pay taxes too so are they their own bosses so? .

and that the whole problem.... they think that too.

good point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

nuttz wrote:
    Anyway the cops must have been attending the reception as well because their bikes were here for the evening. The problem I have is why did the Dublin team have a Garda escort to DCU, Croke park is only a stones throw away and why were the Gardai hanging around unnecessarily when they should have been on the street.

Maybe they're there to stop people like this:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054976288

JazzyJ wrote:
    Maybe they're there to stop people like this:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054976288

well if they were.... they failed miserably

There must be a harry burdocks on your shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

The dublin football team are a very high profile group who could potentially attract any form of lunatic. As well as this the team have a huge following both fanwise and mediawise, therefore wherever they go there is the potential for the congregation of a large group of people and potential public order issues. Because of this a garda presence is necessary.

nuttz wrote:
    Also it would seem they were working privately.

They aren't actually paid by the GAA. The GAA pay the governemtn or the Gardaí or whatever, not the individuals. It's compensation for having so many of them around Coke Park in a match day rather than on normal duty catching bad guys or whatever it is they do.

markk06 wrote:
    The dublin football team are a very high profile group who could potentially attract any form of lunatic. As well as this the team have a huge following both fanwise and mediawise, therefore wherever they go there is the potential for the congregation of a large group of people and potential public order issues. Because of this a garda presence is necessary.

traffic cops? BTW this thread was started before the incident with the Ireland soccer manager.

Collie D wrote:
    They aren't actually paid by the GAA. The GAA pay the governemtn or the Gardaí or whatever, not the individuals. It's compensation for having so many of them around Coke Park in a match day rather than on normal duty catching bad guys or whatever it is they do.

I mentioned that in one of the later posts. Doesn't explain why they were sitting on their arses doing nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

its nothing new... people get escorts, get over it, teams get em, foreign dignitaries(sp) get them, funerals get them... thats the way it is

markk06 wrote:
    its nothing new... people get escorts, get over it, teams get em, foreign dignitaries(sp) get them, funerals get them... thats the way it is

Maybe you should read my original post, the Gardai would seem to have been sitting on their arses for 2 hours +. Was that part of their duty as a traffic cop?, meanwhile the traffic at Croke park was still congested, as indicated by other posters in this thread. At the end of the day it's only the Dublin football team.