Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phoneix Park Motor Races (merged)

• 12-08-2006 6:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭

I'm just back and this is a couple from about 400 shots ,I'll be back tomorrow for more ,hopefully.
    Anyone who is thinking about going ,just go ,it's good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Great shots Brian!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Is the blur in the first two completely natural?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

Thanks ,my first time to start getting addicted with the camera ,I couldn't let it down.Met Dimy there and he let me in on a couple of secrets with the focussing.

I'm just back about 20 minutes ,all that was done on the photos was a bit of cropping and adjusting the contrast/sats .
    Really enjoyable day ,hope tomorrow doesn't rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Great stuff, what camera?

Mike.

Cheers mike ,a canon 350d and a canon 70-200 f4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

The racing was great in the park today, some lovely classic cars, took loads of of photos here are some...

some more

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Nice, I like the first one most tho.
    I've tried those tracking shots but my results weren't nearly as good.
    Well done!

Super shots heff ,probably seen you there today ,did you have two cameras or just one with a monopod ?

_Brian_ had a monopod, handy for panning shots, most of them were shot at 1/60...I like the shot you took of the two porches...Some class cars there today, I will be heading there tommorow.

That second last shot of the crashed porsche was my favourite car to see going around , pitty about that ,probably won't be out tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Some superb work there, very nice indeed.

The porsche race was great, but there was only winner in the race...I did'nt see the accident but this car does'nt look like it will be racing tommorow...hopefully the weather will be as good tommorow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

Some pretty good shots there :) I like what you did with those Porsche's, good spot. My pics won't be online for at least another couple of weeks, still have plenty of other pictures to edit first :rolleyes:

Nice one dimy ,again thanks for the tips today ,good to see you again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Well done, your panning technique was excellent! There's a real sense of speed created.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Zillah wrote:
    Is the blur in the first two completely natural?

The background blur in Brian's first two shots is a result of a technique called panning.
    Panning is basically following the motion of the moving object, so that the object stays in the same position relative to the exposed film, thereby keeping the object sharp, but blurring the background.
    A relatively slow shutter speed is required for the technique to be effective.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panning_%28camera%29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Excellent shots. The shot of the Fiat Unos reminded me of Sunday's in Mondello. They always sounded like a swarm of angry bees... :)

Some off the porches from this mornings race.

some more shots from this morning,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭CONMIKE12

A lot of truly great shots there from you all.
    @Samson... thanks for the explanation on this technique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Samson wrote:
    The background blur in Brian's first two shots is a result of a technique called panning.

I'm familiar with the technique, the blur just looked a little chunky so I asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Well, I discovered today that I suck at panning ;)

I'm trying to decide whether to blame my shaky hands, or the cheap lens!

So, I did my usual thing and went for the details...

214350575_b1124a8d2c_m.jpg 214350574_4c4ad02f41_m.jpg

Unfortunately there's some nastiness in the smooth areas, because I think at that point I was set to ISO400 :(

Just noticed that joolsveer has a couple similar ones on his flickr too, of an MG. I thought that was a pretty thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Here's a few I took today in the park. I alternated between 200 and 400 ASA.

214356549_378296f796.jpg

214356427_6ddad2cd41.jpg

214341548_fa3a28f984.jpg

214180657_5eda8feb1e.jpg

Nice shots elven ,nice details ,pitty they're jaguar .Jaguars are for beer bellyed cigar smokin retirees :D
    Cool shots joolsveer ,really like the porsches one ,lovely colours and curves.

_Brian_ wrote:
    Nice shots elven ,nice details ,pitty they're jaguar .Jaguars are for beer bellyed cigar smokin retirees :D

So that's what I have a pension for.... just need to work a bit more on that beer belly, but that's no problem! :D

Too bad about that lunchbox on the first shot jools, I really like the shot when the top half was loading, but seeing that lunchbox there kinda ruined it for me. The 2nd shot is great, that's from the A-Ford 1920's replica ain't it? I took a shot of the same subject but at a different angle, I like your approach though, well done.

Dimy wrote:
    Too bad about that lunchbox on the first shot jools, I really like the shot when the top half was loading, but seeing that lunchbox there kinda ruined it for me. The 2nd shot is great, that's from the A-Ford 1920's replica ain't it? I took a shot of the same subject but at a different angle, I like your approach though, well done.

The bonnet ornament is on a Rolls Royce convertible. I liked the lunchbox which is the reason I took the Porsche photo. I have some photos on film of a Jaguar but I'm not certain it was elven's jag. I'll post when I get the film developed. Thanks for the kind comments.

214847521_12154e7741_m.jpg

214847561_a8e700ada1_m.jpg

214847594_c1c3207f22_m.jpg

214847542_38f03c4c53_m.jpg

A couple more including the Jaguar in British racing green.

215012097_c93fb4ca3d.jpg

215012017_6abf1e6a74.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

I was there on Saturday and took a couple of hundered shots -this is among my favorites:

porschenk9.jpg

Gary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Great pics, lads. I particularly liked heffsarmy's one of the Formula Sheane loosing it's nosecone. You must have been pretty quick on the old shutter button to have been able to catch it while it was still in mid-air, heff! ;):D

From the sounds of things, some of you lads must have filled up a fair few digicam memory cards over the weekend, judging from the fact that ye're saying how ye took hundreds of pics! :eek:

2 GB memory card here.... it can hold about 200 RAWs @ 8MP just a bit less I think but I never filled it up really :) In case that happens I still have a spare 512 MB card anyways :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Jesus , some brilliant pictures ... well done lads... That Porsche with the flames is savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 IWannaDelorean

some really great photos, good work everyone!

Good article on panning in Practical Photography magazine this month, good follow up to the races.

I had a PM from a guy on the Motor Sports forum looking for photos
    The gist of his message is
    A number of us from the hillclimb scene were competing at the Park.
    I was wondering if you had any photos of us and could I come to an arrangement to get copies.

Me ??? Vee 92 Red with a bit of yellow high engine cover (never ran more 3 laps at anytime!)

Denis Hogan Historic 13 Blue Avenger

The Libres
    Simon McKinley 9 Lant Red The fast one!
    Frank Byrnes 37 Reynard Yellow
    Sylvie Mullins 31 Ralt Blue
    John Naylor 7 ? pink/purple

Hillclimb cars can be single seaters or saloons the same as race cars. It is the type of event we mainly compete is called a hillclimb, which consists typically of about 1 mile of closed road on which you get 3 timed runs to set you best time. A famous hillclimb is the Corkscrew on the road out of Ballyvaughan on the way to Lisdoonvarna

The cars I am interested in are listed in the previous PM and the races that they ran in on Sunday

I said I would dig out any photos I have and mail them to his email address. Maybe others might too?

edit
    I went through my shots and found I had 180 so I stuck them (in a reduced size) up on a separate Flickr set (http://www.flickr.com/photos/joolsveer/sets/72157594239386327/)and have emailed a link to him.

Well I finally started going through my Phoenix Park pictures... Here's two of mine:

217862985_8192cafca2.jpg

217862984_b89a55c08c.jpg

More will be uploaded in the next couple of days on my Flickr site, I should have around 75 of them :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Hehe cool Dimy, I took the same pic as the top one and also from straight on - but my BW conversion was crappy so I didn't like it. Yours is pretty fab. Look forward to seeing the rest :)

Nice shots dimy ,I never noticed that logo on ford before.
    Well taken ,the black and white looks really well.

Whats on the ford badge, a goose? suppose its like the flying lady!

PS great B&W work Dimy!