Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who would you LEAST like to see win Sam

• 10-08-2006 3:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what the general views are of this, I'm a Kerryman so i am voting Cork.

Who would you least like to Win Sam 115 votes

Cork
    0% 0 votes
    Dublin
    21% 25 votes
    Kerry
    31% 36 votes
    Laois
    37% 43 votes
    Mayo
    3% 4 votes
    Westmeath
    6% 7 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Well, after being beaten by 14 points, I'd have to say Dublin :p

Seriously, only on account of the media reaction if Dublin were to win it. I enjoy my sports news thats just too much imo.

Saying that, if they do win it playing some solid footie, I won't begrudge them too much :)

[edit]
    Oh, and please God don't let WH win :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

oooo now this is something Dublin can win, I can feel it in me waters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I said Kerry because they've won it enough already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

DUB wrote:
    oooo now this is something Dublin can win, I can feel it in me waters!

LOL. :D

I'd have to go with either Dublin or Cork. The Dubs for obvious reasons. The Rebels because they will have then done the double.

Team I'd like to see win it: Westmeath or Laois as neither ahve won Sam before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I go with Kerry because of their fans. Obviously there is the hardcore who go to all games and I wouldn't begrudge them a win but it's the ones who only bother getting tickets for All Ireland final day and deprive the real fans of a seat. Look at the game against Longford, must have been about 40% in the stadium who were away fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Kerry, because they have won it too often. It is better for the game to see other counties win.

Flukey wrote:
    Kerry, because they have won it too often. It is better for the game to see other counties win.

As I said above I agree. That's why I would love to see Mayo win it. They eat and sleep football down there.

Interesting to see quite a few people have voted Dublin but, then, I wonder why, sure Waylander and all the lads reckon its a myth that country people like to see Dublin lose ;)

And, before you say it, check my vote, I voted Kerry.

Of all the counties in Ireland the one that has most wanted to win the All-Ireland for a quite a few years has been Mayo. Whenever they do win it again, you will have absolute massive celebrations. That will be some day in Croke Park and beyond, I can tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Dublin just because of media and some minority fans

They will probably bring out a Dvd about every player or something if they win

mayo or laois to win if Kerry dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

It has to be Cork. I don't mind the Dubs, that's just the hype brought about by having the media and population based there. Most Dubs I know are great craic.
    But the Cork crowd I just cannot F**king stand, they are the most arogant shower of ******rs ever. And that dirty scum bag Lynch and his sucessful appeal, just summed it up. They think they ahve a god given right to everything and if they don't get it everyone is against them.
    I hope to see Kerry hand their holes to them as they did last year and in 2002 and if not I dream of Mayo sending them back to 'the real capital' after an All-Ireland final with their tails between their legs. As a Mayo man in you be my lifes dream come true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

Collie D wrote:
    I go with Kerry because of their fans. Obviously there is the hardcore who go to all games and I wouldn't begrudge them a win but it's the ones who only bother getting tickets for All Ireland final day and deprive the real fans of a seat. Look at the game against Longford, must have been about 40% in the stadium who were away fans.
    i agree ,but i think alot of the big footballing counties have fans like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

hiscan wrote:
    i agree ,but i think alot of the big footballing counties have fans like that

Don't know about that you wouldn't see Mayo,Galway,Meath or even Dublin fans doing this. People give out about Dublin fans but i've seen maybe 5,000 Dubs down in Castlebar for a league game. Wouldn't see that many Kerry down there, it's just that there's more Dubs to jump on the bandwagon as they have a big population.
    Kerry fans defo the worst at the final in 04 they were well outnumbered and nearly all the fans looking for tickets on the day were Mayo ones. So have Kerry fans stopped coming to finals now as well as semis?

Dublin just because of media and some minority fans

They will probably bring out a Dvd about every player or something if they win

Videos, and in more recent years DVDs, have been coming out for years about whole championships and individual counties. So that would be nothing new. As for the Dublin media argument, that is just ridiculous. We get the same thing in other arenas, like politics, this talk of the Dublin media. The media may be based in Dublin, but most of the journalists are from different parts of the country and just happen to work in Dublin. you get the same thing about the Dáil, with people outside Dublin talking about Dublin rule etc. Most of the people in the Dáil come from constituencies outside Dublin as have most Taoisigh. Many TDs representing Dublin constituencies are from the country. So the fact that some of the media happen to work in Dublin and the papers are printed there, makes no difference to the opinions they express about the Dublin football team. As for fans, every county has good and bad fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

It has to be Cork. I don't mind the Dubs, that's just the hype brought about by having the media and population based there. Most Dubs I know are great craic.
    But the Cork crowd I just cannot F**king stand, they are the most arogant shower of ******rs ever. And that dirty scum bag Lynch and his sucessful appeal, just summed it up. They think they ahve a god given right to everything and if they don't get it everyone is against them.
    I hope to see Kerry hand their holes to them as they did last year and in 2002 and if not I dream of Mayo sending them back to 'the real capital' after an All-Ireland final with their tails between their legs. As a Mayo man in you be my lifes dream come true.

Well actually it's a case of poetic justice so 'cause Kerry had Galvin sent off on Saturday yet he's free to play against Cork.
    Also, for your information, Anthony Lynch is not a dirty scumbag. He's been playing for Cork for seven or eight years now and never been sent off in a championship game.
    In fact in the incident that he was sent off for against Kerry he never even made any contact with the Kerry guy, if you watch the replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Flukey wrote:
    Videos, and in more recent years DVDs, have been coming out for years about whole championships and individual counties. So that would be nothing new. As for the Dublin media argument, that is just ridiculous. We get the same thing in other arenas, like politics, this talk of the Dublin media. The media may be based in Dublin, but most of the journalists are from different parts of the country and just happen to work in Dublin. you get the same thing about the Dáil, with people outside Dublin talking about Dublin rule etc. Most of the people in the Dáil come from constituencies outside Dublin as have most Taoisigh. Many TDs representing Dublin constituencies are from the country. So the fact that some of the media happen to work in Dublin and the papers are printed there, makes no difference to the opinions they express about the Dublin football team. As for fans, every county has good and bad fans.

Flukey,

One of the first posts I ever disagreed with you, the media is Dublin based, and Dublin biased, as are the politicians, and so are this country's politics.
    Big Business is based in Dublin, and money talks.

More of a post for the media or politics forum though, .... nothing to do with the Dublin Football team, and certainly nothing Dublin football fans can do anything about.

You have to remember as well that Tommy Lyons openly 'courted the media' especially the Herald (Independent Newspapers) with interview after interview, and 'exclusive' after exclusive.
    When you keep feeding scraps from from the table to a dog, it's hard for the dog to go back to his dry nuts, as it does quite taste the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Tommy Lyons was a publicity hoor. Almost demanding to be on the backpage everday during the 2002 run, giving as you say "exclusive" after exclusive. Started naming his team nearly a week in advance so the Dubs would get more attention. All that changed when he named the wrong team for Laois in 2003 (dropped Connell, Sherlock and Henry for no apparent reason). Every day that week there were articles about how it was the wrong team. Then the game came and went, and it was proven that he'd picked the wrong team. Lyons blamed the media circus! Refused to speak to them again and wouldnt name his teams until just before throw-in. Although he did recall Connell and Sherlock who both gave great performances against Derry to prove how bad his initial decision was!

But Tommy is long gone. And what the Herald prints is largely irrelevant to most of the rest of the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

Pat "cheese biscuit" Spillane writes about Dublin every bloody week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Spillane's not much better than Lyons.

The man knows his market. On the telly in front of the whole country he almost always slags Dublin off. In the Sunday World (a huge majority of who's readership is Dublin based) he constantly builds the Dubs up, usually in an OTT manner - barring the few articles each year he writes after Dublin defeats, where he lays into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

lukin wrote:
    Well actually it's a case of poetic justice so 'cause Kerry had Galvin sent off on Saturday yet he's free to play against Cork.
    Also, for your information, Anthony Lynch is not a dirty scumbag. He's been playing for Cork for seven or eight years now and never been sent off in a championship game.
    In fact in the incident that he was sent off for against Kerry he never even made any contact with the Kerry guy, if you watch the replay.

Lynch attempted to strike which is a red card offence.
    It's my opinion that no other county would go to the lengths that Cork did to attempt to have a red card for such an obvious breach of the rules be overturned.
    I hope the GAA make the necessary changes to discipline matters to avoid situations like this occurring again.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

In this order:

1. Kerry
    2. Dublin
    3. Cork
    4. Laois
    5. Westmeath
    6. Mayo

Want to see Mayo win it because they have been so close on so many occasions. Don't want to see Kerry, Dublin or Cork win because of the amount of times they have won it.

Lynch attempted to strike which is a red card offence.
    It's my opinion that no other county would go to the lengths that Cork did to attempt to have a red card for such an obvious breach of the rules be overturned.
    I hope the GAA make the necessary changes to discipline matters to avoid situations like this occurring again.

Jeez, if every player who ever attempted to strike was sent off there'd be about five players left at the end. Dara O Se has been getting away with it for years, and nearly always in games against Cork.
    Also, this theory that Cork are always bending the rules and getting away with murder is a myth. It's the rules that are at fault, so blame the GAA, not Cork.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Don't want to see Kerry, Dublin or Cork win because of the amount of times they have won it.

Cork have only won it 6 times, or do you just mean the number of times they win things in general?

A win for Dublin would mean massive media coverage alright, but the GAA in Dublin could do with winning SAM one of these years, it'd be a great boost the already expanding underage schemes they're putting in place.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    In this order:

1. Kerry
    2. Dublin
    3. Cork
    4. Laois
    5. Westmeath
    6. Mayo

Want to see Mayo win it because they have been so close on so many occasions. Don't want to see Kerry, Dublin or Cork win because of the amount of times they have won it.

I'd agree with the order of that list, apart from no. 3 which I wouldn't have there at all (for obvious reasons).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Laois,

For the love of God please don't let them win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

I'm torn between my instinctive rivalry of the Dubs and the fact that them winning would be a great boost for the game.

Flukey wrote:

If you didnt realise, it was a joke, i said PLAYERS so as to emphasize the joke, i know there have been videos and DVDs out all along:rolleyes:

Just because the journalists are from different parts of the country doesnt mean they will automaticaly report about those places, the media is more censored and controlled than you might think
    The journalists dont print what they want, they must answer to editors and what not.

Dont really care to be honest, just think if Dublin win, it will be over hyped and we will never hear the end of it...
    Only left a light hearted comment to why I didnt want Dublin to win, didnt think you would take it to heart

Hehe, only 2 votes now between Dublin and Kerry. Remember this thread lads - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054959630&page=2

I love being proved right :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 PaddyJ

Cork - they're already so full of themselves after hurling success of last two years. Winning the double would be just too much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I voted Kerry,

Whilst I dont Kerry,I voted Kerry for their fans and the team itself.While Kerry do play clean,respectable good football,they have not played so well this year bar the match against Armagh which I havent seen.

They won division 1 when they played poorly.Their fans are arrogant and ignorant of other counties chances.A lot of Kerry fans I have talked to seem to believe they have the beating of Cork whilst their fans delay putting off a trip to Croke Park until the final.Plus they complain about Dublin roads when everybody knows the worst roads in the country are in Kerry.

If Kerry win,Pat Spillane will be on his Kingdom high horse for the whole of next year.I also wish that I could vote twice.It would sicken me to hear Cork fans rant about winning Sam and doing the double.While I dont mind seeing them win the hurling,football would just be too much to handle.

I hope Dublin win for obvious reasons but if not,I hope Mayo win because they deserved to win it years ago and have come close only to fall at the last hurdle.I hope if they are in the final that they will do themselves justice against Cork or Kerry.I would rather see Dublin lose to Mayo than Laois,as a loss to Laois after the hiding we gave them would be embarassing.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Don't want to see Kerry, Dublin or Cork win because of the amount of times they have won it.

Cork have not won the football final very often, compared to the other 2.

Kerry - 33
    Dublin - 22
    (Galway 9)
    (Meath 7)
    Cork - 6

As for the other 2 remaining contenders, Mayo have 3 and Laois have never won it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Hashbrown

cork.... Shower of W***ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

a bit pointless now, but who has a grudge against West Meath!!???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Vunderground

Dublin because:

the media will be full of it for a year and I don't really like GAA that much 'cos I'm from Kerry and had it rammed down my throat 'till I threw it back up.

And because I remember when Dublin won it the last time and that commited self abuser, Joe Duffy, didn't shut up for a year either. God, it was dull.

I don't really like GAA that much 'cos I'm from Kerry and had it rammed down my throat 'till I threw it back up.

Well I'm mystified how you stumbled across this poll so! Besides if those Kerry fellas have been shoving it down your neck in such a disagreeable manner, why not revolt and hope they dont win!?

Its an interesing poll in that it's essentailly a geographic survey, are you from the country, or from Dublin?

My reason for Dublin was outlined by one of the tabloids today where some headlines said things such as

Pure genius
    its so sexy in the city
    genius and clasy play
    dublin simply the best

They were excellent in first half and deserved to win by more but WestMeath were just a disaster, they were shockingly bad altogether.
    Not taking anything away from Dublin, they were awesome at times but they need more of a test...they are the team to beat though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

blackbelt wrote:
    I voted Kerry,

Whilst I dont Kerry,I voted Kerry for their fans and the team itself.While Kerry do play clean,respectable good football,they have not played so well this year bar the match against Armagh which I havent seen.

They won division 1 when they played poorly.Their fans are arrogant and ignorant of other counties chances.A lot of Kerry fans I have talked to seem to believe they have the beating of Cork whilst their fans delay putting off a trip to Croke Park until the final.Plus they complain about Dublin roads when everybody knows the worst roads in the country are in Kerry.

If Kerry win,Pat Spillane will be on his Kingdom high horse for the whole of next year.I also wish that I could vote twice.It would sicken me to hear Cork fans rant about winning Sam and doing the double.While I dont mind seeing them win the hurling,football would just be too much to handle.

I hope Dublin win for obvious reasons but if not,I hope Mayo win because they deserved to win it years ago and have come close only to fall at the last hurdle.I hope if they are in the final that they will do themselves justice against Cork or Kerry.I would rather see Dublin lose to Mayo than Laois,as a loss to Laois after the hiding we gave them would be embarassing.

Lots of things i disagree about with this post. First thing is if u haven't seen the armagh match u really shouldn't comment on kerry's championship performance because it was the best game of football so far this season. I think ur statement about the roads in kerry is rubbish. There are some very bad roads but a lot of them are grand, no motorways but sure we don't need them do we. Have u actually been to kerry much?

As for Pat Spillane, why wouldn't he be on about kerry if they won the all ireland, he played for them for years and obviously has a great love for football especially kerry football. It would be no different them the media going on about Dublin is they won. Also if he slags off Dublin sure it could be down to the rivalry between Kerry and Dublin when he used play. I know a lot of people think he is annoying, sometimes i do, but still.

As for the Kerry fan's topic...while some of it is true it still gets to me. Just seems like people are clutching at straws at someting to give out about. Every team has hardcore fans, fans and people who go for a kinda day out. While the hard-core fans will go it can be harder to perswade the rest. we have been in every quarter-final since new system began. What about the Dublin fan's and the way they delay the game. In my view that is a disgrace.
    I don't want to ramble on but what is wrong with kerry fan's being a bit cocky, we have a good football team.

I thought as much that kerry would win this poll and it looks likely. Could people put down county of origin and vote too.

theCzar wrote:
    Well I'm mystified how you stumbled across this poll so! Besides if those Kerry fellas have been shoving it down your neck in such a disagreeable manner, why not revolt and hope they dont win!?

Its an interesing poll in that it's essentailly a geographic survey, are you from the country, or from Dublin?

Yes, and like I said before, country people don't like the Dublin GAA team but I was told by the Dublin folk on here that this was a myth. The poll proves me right though as I said above.

My reason for Dublin was outlined by one of the tabloids today where some headlines said things such as

Pure genius
    its so sexy in the city
    genius and clasy play
    dublin simply the best

They were excellent in first half and deserved to win by more but WestMeath were just a disaster, they were shockingly bad altogether.
    Not taking anything away from Dublin, they were awesome at times but they need more of a test...they are the team to beat though

Tabloids are rags for the unwashed to wallow in dirt and scandal. These same tabloids will be who call for Caffo's head periodically when we lose a match over the coming years.

Unwanted tabloid attention has had a detrimental affect on Dublin performances in the past, and a lot of Dubs don't like it either.

I'm nearly thankful Dublin didn't win this with 3-20 or something, because the poor second half will keep them grounded before the semi...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Lemlin wrote:
    Yes, and like I said before, country people don't like the Dublin GAA team but I was told by the Dublin folk on here that this was a myth. The poll proves me right though as I said above.

I like the Dublin GAA team :eek:

I'm long enough around Dublin and it's club scene to know what's going on.

No different to 99% of other teams in the country, doing the best they can, with a few stalwarts carrying the club from year to year.

Lemlin, you really have to get rid of these anti-Dublin gremlins..... not good for the soul:p

You're bordering on Xenojackeenphobia at the moment.

Culchie wrote:
    I like the Dublin GAA team :eek:

I'm long enough around Dublin and it's club scene to know what's going on.

No different to 99% of other teams in the country, doing the best they can, with a few stalwarts carrying the club from year to year.

Lemlin, you really have to get rid of these anti-Dublin gremlins..... not good for the soul:p

You're bordering on Xenojackeenphobia at the moment.

As I've said I've nothing against the Dublin football team. I fancy them to make the final this year and have always said on here that they have a chance of winning it this season.

A lot of these players have been around a while now and have built up experience. If you look at teams like Armagh and Tyrone, they were losing quarter and semi finals for years before they won anything. Dublin are at the same stage at the moment but could make the breakthrough this year.

What I don't like is fans who can't read their tickets that say 4 o'clock :D

Lemlin wrote:

Sure its a long auld walk from meaghers and gaffenys when your already well tanked!! and sure doesn't the match wait often as not?

To be fair though, usually when I get there (been in the hogan the last few times) its 20-30 mins before throw-in, and there's a huge backlog of people waiting to get in so it takes 20 mins sometimes, wouldn't be safe to start the game with that many people queuing to get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Vunderground

theCzar wrote:

I'm from Killarney. Living in Dublin for years. If it wasnt' for the media overexposure I'd be quite happy for Dublin to win it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

As a Dub i should probably say Laois but in fairness you have to respect the way they came back after the Leinster Semi Final. I would certainly prefer to be playing Mayo instead of Laois in the Semis as Laois will be up for that game more than you can believe. I think i voted Mayo by mistake there but was meant to be Kerry. They have won it enough at this stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Lemlin wrote:
    As I've said I've nothing against the Dublin football team. I fancy them to make the final this year and have always said on here that they have a chance of winning it this season.

A lot of these players have been around a while now and have built up experience. If you look at teams like Armagh and Tyrone, they were losing quarter and semi finals for years before they won anything. Dublin are at the same stage at the moment but could make the breakthrough this year.

How many more trolling posts can you fit in this thread? Grow up!

Lemlin wrote:

How exactly have you been proven right? We're currently polling at just over 30% and quite a few people have said they've nothing against the Dublin team but dislike the media coverage we get. That's far from concreting your argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Aido c

Only in the GAA would he get let off because he missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I voted Kerry , I was too quick though I just see Pat spillane when ever I think of Kerry, remove him from the equation and I won't hold anything against them.
    If i had the chance to vote again I'd vote Cork, partly inspired by Benedict, nothing to do with the double or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

DUB wrote:
    How exactly have you been proven right? We're currently polling at just over 30% and quite a few people have said they've nothing against the Dublin team but dislike the media coverage we get. That's far from concreting your argument.
    At Present:
    Dublin - 29.25%
    Kerry - 36.79%
    Cork - 20.75%
    Does that not seem to concrete it? ;)
    Seems fairly even to me and certainly not one way...in fact.....Kerry are now on top. It does prove him right tho in fairness.

Carcharodon - That was the Sunday Worlds heading on the back page. I did think they overglamourised the game a bit alright. The way that article went you would swear it was the toughest and best game in the last 20 years!

Especially when you consider there's only a handful of counties to chose from, if you added Tyrone, Armagh, Meath etc we'd get less again.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    At Present:
    Dublin - 29.25%
    Kerry - 36.79%
    Cork - 20.75%
    Does that not seem to concrete it? ;)
    Seems fairly even to me and certainly not one way...in fact.....Kerry are now on top. It does prove him right tho in fairness.

Carcharodon - That was the Sunday Worlds heading on the back page. I did think they overglamourised the game a bit alright. The way that article went you would swear it was the toughest and best game in the last 20 years!
    Originally posted by DUB

People don't want to see Kerry win because they've won it too many times. A valid reason.

People don't want to see Dublin win because they don't like them. Simple enough to comprehend really and is why Dublin are way ahead with Kerry.

As for your post DUB, I made the point about the media coverage being the reason people dislike Dublin but was told that Dublin don't get any better coverage than other teams. So, are you saying both my points were right then? :D