Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cow tipping

• 04-08-2006 10:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭

I had a brief discussion very recently over break about cow tipping. Having never done it myself, I have always heard stories of it and in my naievity had never questioned that it might be a load of crap, and just believed it to be a viable thing to do.

Although I was prompted this morning to research it a bit, and see what I could find online about it. The wikipedia article on it seemed to paint it as an urban myth, which I'm not yet willing to accept. I'd like to think that in this world such a funny and stupid thing is not outside the realm of possility.

So.. does anybody have any personal experience?

Is cow tipping a real pasttime? can it actually be done? has anybody ever tipped a cow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Yes cow tipping can be done:

1)Get drunk

2) Wait till about 12 in the night

3)get 2-3 of your friends to tip the sleeping cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭7aken

done it once, i dont think the cow was asleep, just chewing its cud....
    took more than a tip though, running shoulder barge. hilarity ensued

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Yeah it's really funny, injure an animal for the pleasure only enjoyed by morons.

Cow tipping, as most people imagine it, does not happen. Cows do not sleep standing up and that's a fact. Any spa who claims to have gone cow tipping is just talking BS.

Any asshole who gets enjoyment from trying to do this to a cow deserves to have their mother raped by a donkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

FX Meister wrote:
    Yeah it's really funny, injure an animal for the pleasure only enjoyed by morons.

Cow tipping, as most people imagine it, does not happen. Cows do not sleep standing up and that's a fact. Any spa who claims to have gone cow tipping is just talking BS.

Any asshole who gets enjoyment from trying to do this to a cow deserves to have their mother raped by a donkey.
    deep breaths

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

FX Meister wrote:

riiigggghhhhttt someone has issues with cow tipping

always thought it was true though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Bow down ye before the mighty wikipedia ...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cow_tipping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

For best results, go cow tipping at any hen night. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I'm with FX Meister - such an act could only be deemed animal cruelty. Cows are big animals and a sharp fall could do a lot of damage.

It's not a problem with cow tipping, it's a problem with cruelty to animals. Or do you think it's acceptable to put a cow in extreme pain and suffering for extended periods just for your own amusment?

COW TIPPING-The only chance of a Roscommon lad "playing in the muck" on a saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭pseudonym

Isnt it amazing the fantastic trivia that can be found on Wikipedia:

In the beginning of the movie Larva [3] two teenagers agree to tip over a cow in exchange for a strip-tease performed by their girlfriends. They succeed in tipping the cow because it has already been eaten from the inside by something, but they are instantly and unknowingly infected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Sheep tipping FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

pseudonym wrote:
    Isnt it amazing the fantastic trivia that can be found on Wikipedia:

In the beginning of the movie Larva [3] two teenagers agree to tip over a cow in exchange for a strip-tease performed by their girlfriends. They succeed in tipping the cow because it has already been eaten from the inside by something, but they are instantly and unknowingly infected.

Man, my cow tipping days are over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Christ. Its quite disappointing that several people have referenced/linked to wikipedia considering that the OP specifically noted he had already been there but wanted personal experiences.

Read before posting.

Zillah wrote:
    Christ. Its quite disappointing that several people have referenced/linked to wikipedia considering that the OP specifically noted he had already been there but wanted personal experiences.

Read before posting ffs.
    When has two constituted several? FFS.
    People can't have personal experiences of cow tipping since it doesn't happen. They may lie about it and pretend they have but who's going to believe them?

How about we just finish with this thread and start another one on throwing live cats on dogs on bonfires. That one is actually true and it is so much fun to do. Sometimes the cat or dog escapes from the fire yelping and screaming and you can just kick them around the place until the finally die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

My sister came back from the gaeltacht a few weeks ago. She was going on about cow tipping being done over there but seems cruel to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

FX Meister wrote:
    It's not a problem with cow tipping, it's a problem with cruelty to animals. Or do you think it's acceptable to put a cow in extreme pain and suffering for extended periods just for your own amusment?

Not to mention when the animal dies from suffocation the farmer loses some of his livelyhood!!!!

All you cow tippers should grow up! You wouldn't be so cruel to a dog. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

I referenced wikipedia despite the posters original comments as it largely debunks cow tipping.

christ this thread is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

It's funny how these things take on a life of their own when referenced in television and movies.

That bunkum about ships captains being able to perform wedding ceremonies is another one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭joeblogg1

Dazzler

Less of the disparaging comments about Roscommon lads please

We Rossies might have to accuse you of being a rasist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 CJX-3X12

There is alot of talk about tipping horses in galway this week. thats a dangerous hobby. these aren't ordinary horses either, they're race-horses. they got to be worth a few quid. DON'T TIP HORSES!

It's strange.. there's absolutely no videos of cow tipping on youtube.

I'm disappointed now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

2 mates of mine told me today that they tried cow tipping, what they didn't know is that it was actually a bull and ran them. Good enough for them. :)

joeblogg1 wrote:
    Dazzler

Less of the disparaging comments about Roscommon lads please

We Rossies might have to accuse you of being a rasist

I must tell you that I have nothing against raisins.Only the English teachers Of Roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Zillah wrote:

Read before posting.

There are two m's in Hammock brains, please fix your Location tag when you get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I used to go on holidays at a place that had cows all around and whenever you went up to them they'd walk or run away. Plus they lie down so I imagine that they sleep lying down also. It's got to be bollix!

Although, I was watching a large bug while at work and it fell on it's back on the floor. The mad thing was that it couldn't get up, it was struggling and buzzing and flapping away but it couldn't right itself. So it got me thinking how strange it is that millenia of evolution can see a bug that isn't able to get up when it has landed on its back.

Interesting fact about cows though - they have teeth like sharks except they aren't sharp. Cows' teeth are constantly regenerating. That's why they've got 8 stomachs. And tiny gills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Cow Tipping is said to be a big past time here in Wisconsin (America's Dairy State) as well, although I personally have never tried it. But then, I'm a city gal.

L4L

Gordon wrote:
    I used to go on holidays at a place that had cows all around and whenever you went up to them they'd walk or run away. Plus they lie down so I imagine that they sleep lying down also. It's got to be bollix!

Although, I was watching a large bug while at work and it fell on it's back on the floor. The mad thing was that it couldn't get up, it was struggling and buzzing and flapping away but it couldn't right itself. So it got me thinking how strange it is that millenia of evolution can see a bug that isn't able to get up when it has landed on its back.

Interesting fact about cows though - they have teeth like sharks except they aren't sharp. Cows' teeth are constantly regenerating. That's why they've got 8 stomachs. And tiny gills.
    Is it not four stomachs and no gills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Is it not four stomachs and no gills?
    No, it's common knowledge. Cows have tiny gills. Like we have a tiny appendix.

CJX-3X12 wrote:
    There is alot of talk about tipping horses in galway this week. thats a dangerous hobby. these aren't ordinary horses either, they're race-horses. they got to be worth a few quid. DON'T TIP HORSES!
    Who cars how much the horse is worth? It still causes the animal the same amount of pain regardless of how much it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

You need some flippers on your cows for the best Irish beef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Draupnir wrote:
    There are two m's in Hammock brains, please fix your Location tag when you get a chance.

I like that in a comment correcting my spelling you managed to capitalise both "hammock" and "location" and randomly put the word "brains" in the middle of a sentence, not to mention making the letter "m" possessive. Good show! :rolleyes:

Yay! Grammar fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 CJX-3X12

FX Meister wrote:
    Who cars how much the horse is worth? It still causes the animal the same amount of pain regardless of how much it's worth.

Missed the joke there, tipping horses during race week in galway? C'mon people you're killing me here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Until I actually SEE someone tipping a cow, I refuse to beleive. Loada muppets from school last year are all liek "lol, I tipped cows last night lol"

Morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭no leaf clover

ok, now, while people searched cow tipping, i searched do cows sleep standing up (surprisingly enuff this o so odd discussion arose elsewhere)!! but no, they dont sleep standing up and im willing to take the opinion of the man who has had the pleasure of working with cows for 35 years.......so.....can u tip a cow....if its not asleep???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Cows spend half the day lying down, they're not horses. Why would they sleep standing up? They stretch out and look lifeless when they sleep. as a dairy farmer, I know that you wont knock a cow without at least tying her legs together first and ramming her with something substantial. Even calves wont even be knocked over after the intial 2 or 3 hours when they learn to stand. Why would anyone want to knock a cow anyway? Unless you want to put out your shoulder / back, I'd stay well clear, because unless its a quiet holstein or a friesian, you might end up with a kicking for your troubles. Its a complete myth it can be done.

CJX-3X12 wrote:
    Missed the joke there, tipping horses during race week in galway? C'mon people you're killing me here.
    Don't be so animalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Zillah wrote:
    I like that in a comment correcting my spelling you managed to capitalise both "hammock" and "location" and randomly put the word "brains" in the middle of a sentence, not to mention making the letter "m" possessive. Good show! :rolleyes:

Yay! Grammar fight!

You still haven't fixed your misspelling, brains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

FX Meister wrote:

Cows don't feel pain, FACT.

Sure have ya never eater your steak blue, or steak tartare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Eoin Madsen

I'm disgusted by the thought of someone needlessly endangering such a delicious animal.

Posted by Eoin Madsen
    I'm disgusted by the thought of someone needlessly endangering such a delicious animal.

Exactly! I believe all of God's Creatures have their place... right beside the potatoes and veggies on my plate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

I remember a year or two ago in my town a bunch of blokes apparently went joyriding in a field, chasing cows. They chased this one cow in the car until she got so tired she couldn't run away anymore and then they got out of the car and cut her up with a stanley knife a bit and then left her to die of shock and bloodloss. Stop animal sacrifices!

FX Meister wrote:
    Don't be so animalist.
    Obviously he does not have a sense of humour.He opposed the Chuck Norris forum.

Lust4Life wrote:
    Exactly! I believe all of God's Creatures have their place... right beside the potatoes and veggies on my plate!

So are you saying you would eat a cock?

As in ROOSTER??????????
    Mmmmm. Chicken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭groundedplane

FX Meister wrote:

I am not condoning hurting animals and have tried this myself many years ago which up in the Mountains picking and high as a kite on Magic Mushrooms and it dose not work. If you can imagine how heavy a cow is, which is real heavy, trying to tip them over requires a huge effort, thus we were not successful. It was a stupid thing to do.

To the person who I have quote? Are you a pure bread vegan? If not when did you have your last burger or buy a pair of leather shoes. As I have said I don’t condone what I did, very silly and cruel, but you seam to be ready to shoot someone for trying this? Are you vegetarian or vegan I would like to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭raheny red

Don't have a cow, man! :rolleyes:

:p

Obviously he does not have a sense of humour.He opposed the Chuck Norris forum.
    Sorry to go off topic but opposing a forum on Chuck Norris does not mean I don't have a sense of humour. Chuck Norris isn't that funny, only mildly amusing. I oppose a dumb forum to him so even more spas can jump on the latest cooky fad bandwagon.
    So then you would laugh your ass off if I came over to yours and beat the crap out of your mother?

FX Meister wrote:
    Sorry to go off topic but opposing a forum on Chuck Norris does not mean I don't have a sense of humour. Chuck Norris isn't that funny, only mildly amusing. I oppose a dumb forum to him so even more spas can jump on the latest cooky fad bandwagon.
    So then you would laugh your ass off if I came over to yours and beat the crap out of your mother?

Are you saying my ma is a heifer?

To the person who I have quote? Are you a pure bread vegan? If not when did you have your last burger or buy a pair of leather shoes. As I have said I don’t condone what I did, very silly and cruel, but you seam to be ready to shoot someone for trying this? Are you vegetarian or vegan I would like to know?

I'm not a vegan. I don't eat meat or use any leather products. But that has no bearing on this topic. Are you trying to say that only vegetarians/vegans have morals and care about animal welfare?