Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why? What's the attraction?

• 03-08-2006 10:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Ok this is mostly a rant, partly I'm really curious/baffled about something...

Why do scumbags enjoy throwing rocks at public transport? I've been on the train at Broombridge where they threw a rock at the train (broke the window and covered us in bits of plastic/glass), also been on the train between Drumcondra and Connolly where several of them threw rocks at the carriage in front of me.

Tonight when I was coming home from work a load of them threw rocks at the bus while we were on Parkgate St.

I can (sort of) see the attraction of some of scumbagish things they do, like smoking on the bus or whatever (attraction for them, personally I think it's despicable). But seriously, what good/fun is there to be had from throwing a stone at a bus??? :mad: :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

None, hence the term scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

cos its a mad buzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

They have nothing better to do I suppose than DART spottin' and its bleeeedin' rapid!. Good luck trying to get into the mind of a scumbag. *knocks, hollow sound* :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

qz wrote:
    None, hence the term scumbag.

Cant be put better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

pointless destruction + senseless violence = mad-lad points = acceptance with all the other unfortunates who were dragged up so badly that they don't have the self esteem to resist the peer pressure of being a maz0r. :rolleyes:
    That's my take on it... does it compute? I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

10 years ago i would have blamed boredom through high unemployment, but in the current climate, i would put in down to pure scumbaggery coming from a bad home environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭icemanjimbo04

It was me!!

10,000 mad lad points in da bag.. OH YEAH!!

now where are me mates..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Mob mentality. You'd never see one throwing rocks on his own. He probably wouldn't even think of doing it. When they're with their mates it's a different story, the hardman factor comes into play, something deadly to tell the rest of the lads back home. I was on a 66 bus into town a few years back and a pellet from a gun smashed into the window beside the lad infront of me...nearly woke me up...window cracked into tiny pieces but didn't shatter. It had to be kicked out though. Quite lucky I spose. Didn't see who did it obviously so it could have been some oul lad trying to shoot a scumbag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Why do scumbags enjoy throwing rocks at public transport?
    Because they are scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Jambo

They are same as the scum who do it to emergency services ... piblic transport is nearly in the same catagory as that in my mind esp for the elderly and needy folk out there.

Id love to see a scumbag damaging public transport or an emergency service vehicle and then the same person requiring the service that they curtailed in their area all because of their actions ..

In one word PURE MUPPETS !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

I kind of love scumbags.
    Do you not think they're amazing? They are an institution in this city, like Trinity College or Guinness. They should be included on the Dublin City Tour in my opinion.
    Everything about their behaviour, if sometimes irritating, is fascinating. As an element of the national identity, they have been completely overlooked. They are not afforded recognition by the established social order, they do not appear to have a role in economics or a value in society in general. They exist on the fringes like some sort of tragic-comic minority. Always there at the end, bringing simple, colourful, uncomplicated wit to heavy political thinking and complicated social questions. Every scumbag has the answer to everything.

The pointlessness of certain aspects of their behaviour borders on stereotypie - from throwing rocks at public transport to drinking on the Liffey Quays, to a strange propensity of having sex on Dublin buses.
    It's oddly charming and uncaring. Surely theres some sort of beauty in it.

And what about those odd little etchings and notes they leave on park benches and public buildings 'Anto loves Denise', 'Deco roided Sharon hear', these things never fail to make me smile, the innocent recordings of time, no less legitimate than a poem.

The accent. It is instantly the most recognisable Dublin accent. Nasal, droning, going off like a siren, its got the rat-tat-tat of a machine gun, only softer. Lyrical, almost.

I don;t think we appreciate scumbags enough in this country at all. They are some of the most interesting characters you could ever come across. Personally I can say Ive had some bad experiences with them, Im not saying that scumbags are pleasant. But I have never spoken to a scumbag, or a skanger for that matter, that I didnt think occupied a life that was ten times more interesting than mine, or most anybody else that I know. Doesnt anyone else think they are amazing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

wow this thread has been up for a whole day and Degsy hasn't posted in it yet, maybe he's dead, or is that just wishfull thinking. As far as the Op's question goes, the reason scumbags throw rocks at public transport is as Homer so elequently put it "it's fun to smash things".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

i havent actually witnessed the throwing of stones at public transport, however what really bugs me are the school kids who sit on the top deck of the bus on the way home from school and throw whatever they can find at people out the window...horse chestnuts, paper, etc...especially on the number 17. I refuse to sit upstairs on it around 4 o clock...they take it over entirely!! Even if it wasnt for the throwing, the noise would be enough to deafen you, lol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

slipss wrote:
    wow this thread has been up for a whole day and Degsy hasn't posted in it yet, maybe he's dead, or is that just wishfull thinking. As far as the Op's question goes, the reason scumbags throw rocks at public transport is as Homer so elequently put it "it's fun to smash things".
    personally, I preferred Butthead's "I like to break stuff".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

"Brikkn the trains" as its called, goes on in a lot of cities in the world, especially Ireland and Uk, its basically down to a bugger all to do lifestyle, there has always been a serious lack of facilities to keep the youth of the nation occupied, needs to be more 5 a side pitches, basketball courts, swimming pools, youth clubs etc etc erected in the major cities anyway, but even that won't cut it out completely, it happens, deal with it and maybe try and get a snap of the little scumbags on your mobile or camera and hand it into the local Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Have you ever thrown a rock through a window of an abandoned house or glass that has been thrown out in a skip?

The satisfaction it gives is just euphoric to a child/teenager.

Even in the catcher and the rye Joad talks about "Dang kids and rocks, kids cant resist throwin rocks through windes of a broke down house"

I remember years ago I would go to the dump with my dad and it being the biggest adventure ever. As he would unload whatever it was he had ripped from our house I would find thrown out TV's and throw rocks through the screen. It would make a big SMASH - POOFFF (not puff)

Anyway, a scumbag is a normal person with a malnourished brain, they (big generalisation here) have to take that childish thrill a step further. There is also that part of them that wants to destroy anything they can. If take a drive through a poverish area you will see the results of this. Council estates are run down, graffitied, littered and damaged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dya ever think that maybe they just don't like you? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Pauleeeeeeee

Recently Dublin Bus have actually diverted buses through my area after 7:30pm (finglas south) because of little ****in' scumbags hurlin' rocks and the likes at them. Pain in the testies it is.

• About the mob mentality thing, last week i saw the most scumbagish activity of my life.

This guy, probably about 15 was waiting at the pedestrian lights to cross at a busy enough junction, he was on his own in his finest white runners, ben sherman tracksuit and beautifully tippexed white cap pointing to the sky. As the bus i was on pulled around this corner, the guy seemed to cough up half of the disgustingness inside him, and spat a huge gob onto the large window at the side of the bus.

Then he just smiled and crossed the road.

Irrelevantly tough 15 yr old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

When I was about 7 I broke a bus window with a stone. I did this as a free lancer so there was no kudos involved. In Belfast I saw so many burnt out buses I thought that they were fair game of some sort. I did make sure it was out of service and on the way home to the depot as I didn't want to hurt anyone. Like most of this kind of sh1t and deprivation I think it's very young male kids that are responsible on the most part as boys let loose like to do that kind of scullduggery to get a rush/chase. I think the mindset of a imbecile (i.e. one having a mental age of three to seven years) is that public property doesn't belong to anyone so it's ok to wreck. I doubt very much that they intend to hurt the occupants though. I wouldn't have been able to live with myself if I had hurt someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

InFront wrote:
    I kind of love scumbags.
    Do you not think they're amazing? They are an institution in this city, like Trinity College or Guinness. They should be included on the Dublin City Tour in my opinion.
    Grr, you dubs think you own/invented everything! :mad:
    Go to any town in the British Isles and you'll find equally scummy bags, and let's not forget some tinkers who are equally as bad.

I've seen stones (luckily not too many rocks) been thrown at buses from the halting site on the Childers Road in Limerick on numerous occasions - they only smashed a window once when I was on it. I've heard of bus services to Moyross stopping on some nights from similar events. They seem to like throwing eggs too.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

I dont why they do it but if i catch any of the little feckers, i will kill them. we have no bus service after 7pm because of them. they were throwing conkers and rocks at the people in the bus shelters last night. they are just animals, who obviously were dragged up by drunken/junkie parents with no morals:mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

There was two little scumbags the other day throwing rocks ON the bus.

Well when I say throwing, I mean catapulting, and at peoples heads...

Most of these kids are young and have no adult supervision...

If anyone's read Lord of the Flies, they'll know where that ends up.

And for those who haven't it doesn't end in monkey butlers and tree slides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

DaveMcG wrote:
    Dya ever think that maybe they just don't like you? :p

gud one. and OP its just fun for them(not that im like that.... anymore)

Men like ta blow stuff up.scummers like ta smash stuff up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

irishbird wrote:
    I dont why they do it but if i catch any of the little feckers, i will kill them.

More than likely, they'll kill you :mad:

el tel wrote:
    More than likely, they'll kill you :mad:
    Yeah, in fairness they'd bleedin buuuurst yeh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Skangwankers.

Although some of you are the same people that were laughing heartily when you watched Intermission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

can't we put them in a bag and through them in a river or something? what use have these people.

Grr, you dubs think you own/invented everything! :mad:
    Dubs invented Limerick and everything in it.
    Actually, we invented the culchie inferiority complex aswell.

mloc wrote:
    can't we put them in a bag and through them in a river or something?
    Pff, then you'd be moaning about all the dead bodies in the Liffey :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

#Smokey# wrote:
    gud one.

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Try the number 18 bus, it goes right through Ballyer village. Today, a FIVE YEAR OLD threw a football at the bus and it hit my window. It didn't break or anything...mainly because he was 5....but still, the mentality behind it....and a five year old....the mind boggles...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

InFront wrote:
    I kind of love scumbags...Do you not think they're amazing?
    Everything about their behaviour...is fascinating...they do not appear to have a role in economics or a value in society in general...They exist on the fringes like some sort of tragic-comic minority...It's oddly charming and uncaring. Surely theres some sort of beauty in it...I don;t think we appreciate scumbags enough in this country at all. They are some of the most interesting characters you could ever come across.

I think you need to get out more if you find scumbags to have a more interesting life than you or any of your friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Originally posted by Corruptedmorals
    Try the number 18 bus, it goes right through Ballyer village. Today, a FIVE YEAR OLD threw a football at the bus and it hit my window. It didn't break or anything...mainly because he was 5....but still, the mentality behind it....and a five year old....the mind boggles...
    Exact same thing happens on the 83 to Finglas, have to get it from town to workand back, little lads are always throwing footballs at the bus gonig through the estates. No harm really...until their daddy gives them a brick to throw instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ah leave the lad alone, he was probably playing away innocently when the big mean bus came along and tried to run him over. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

#Smokey# wrote:
    Men like ta blow stuff up

So true.

/wanders off to find some nitroglycerin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

I was on the 54a awhile ago, sitting upstairs looking out the window. At some apartments outside the Square area I saw a small kid (4 - 6) pulling a little plastic tractor. The bus stopped at the lights.. the kid flipped open a lid on the toy tractor and took out rocks and started throwing them at the bus! :O :O Didn't break the glass/plastic window but left marks on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Ruu wrote:
    Ah leave the lad alone, he was probably playing away innocently when the big mean bus came along and tried to run him over.

I'm fairly impressed by the fact that CM got the chance to open the window and ask how old the child was in time, and get a reply back other than 'fu*k off'.

Any nipper that would pelt a bus knowingly with a ball doesn't strike me as the non-cheeky variety.

/Shrugs. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Nehpets wrote:
    I was on the 54a awhile ago, sitting upstairs looking out the window. At some apartments outside the Square area I saw a small kid (4 - 6) pulling a little plastic tractor. The bus stopped at the lights.. the kid flipped open a lid on the toy tractor and took out rocks and started throwing them at the bus! :O :O Didn't break the glass/plastic window but left marks on it.

In fairness, that made me laugh. Still, imagine what he'll be up to in a few years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Franky Boy

Scumbags are fools.Throwing a stone through a window is a blatant cry for attention from their mates or to higher the little bit of dignity they hold.

I am going to sound like somones mother.Mainly they just do it to impress friends i think.They seem to be that insecure that they must piss off everyday people!They nearly think of everyone as a threat!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

There will always be people out for cheap, immature thrills. Just think, things could be worse. We could live in the fictional world depicted in the old film Mad Max and the Thunderdome.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

empirix wrote:
    "Brikkn the trains" as its called, goes on in a lot of cities in the world, especially Ireland and Uk, its basically down to a bugger all to do lifestyle, there has always been a serious lack of facilities to keep the youth of the nation occupied, needs to be more 5 a side pitches, basketball courts, swimming pools, youth clubs etc etc erected in the major cities anyway, but even that won't cut it out completely, it happens, deal with it and maybe try and get a snap of the little scumbags on your mobile or camera and hand it into the local Gardai.

I don't play soccer or basketball, swin, attend youth clubs, yet I'm not a scumbag (at least I hope not :cool: )... there's gotta be something that creates scumbags other than the lack of stuff to do factor