Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

updating website

• 03-08-2006 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭

Hi all.. I have just designed a website for a friend of mine using dreamweaver.
    She wants to update it weekly herself.
    What would be the easiest and best way that she could this.
    I designed it in Dreamweaver but she would not have patience to learn it.
    I was going to suggest Contribute, but it messes the site up a bit.
    What other software would any one else have experience with.. Its just a few images and some text to update...

Cheers
    mm:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

How comfortable are you with server side languages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭SwampThing

Can we have a look at it and the bits that need/want changing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭mickymc

Cheers Lads
    The site is not live yet but i am trying to locate software that will be easy for her to use. Its my client that i want the software - not me.
    Is there any applications that ye would have preference to and not mess up the site.... frontpage , contribute..

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

So the site is just all static pages? No database? No scripting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭mickymc

Thanks for the reply...
    Yes the site is just static pages-no database , no scripting.
    All she wants to do is do a weekly update of her catalogue.....
    I could tell her to learn dreamweaver, but i would like to show her a simple application to use so she would not do too much messing....!!
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭ams

dreamweaver is pretty foolproof once she gets the hang of it. Plenty of support available on the web as well if she messes up!

It might be worth her while learning simple html if its only replacing a bit of text and images - all shed have to do then is copy the new stuff in over the old stuff