Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most pointless complaint.

• 02-08-2006 7:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭

Last Saturday, I was in a nice hotel in Co Meath, and while I was waiting at the bar, an older woman demanded the attention of the bar dude, as she had a complaint. When he asked her what was wrong, she proceeded to tell him that the hot milk tap in the coffee machine foamer thingy wasnt quite hot enough, and it had ruined her foamy coffee drink.
    They barman then actually apologized for this, and told her he would give her a fresh coffee, refund her, and have someone come into fix the machine as soon as possible.

This ranks up there as one of the most pointless complaining for the sake of it complaints I've ever heard.
    Do you have any good ones you've heard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i just read one.
    (hope i'm first to get that in)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

julep wrote:
    i just read one.
    (hope i'm first to get that in)
    Yep, you;re the first. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Seems pointless when you look at it as one silly incident but as soon as standards begin to slip in one area you should report it, if nobody reports that the machine is not working properly then it doesn't get fixed quickly and so countless people have coffee, some won't be bothered, others will gossip about town that the quality has gone downhill!

I would much rather have the first person complain and then do something about it than have ten customers walk around the town badmouthing the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I read a thread once where someone complained about having witnessed an incident where a customer complained and actually received decent service as a result of it.

I think it might have been this thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i work in a radio station, i hear alot of complaints every day, most of them ridiculus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Nothing annoys me more than people who moan about something to other people instead of bringing the issue up directly with the person involved or in charge.

You should have told the woman she was being pedantic.

You are being pedantic :p

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

There's nothing wrong with that complaint. These hotels charge €2.50+ for Latte's and fancy coffee's and if you're paying that sort of money you expect a hot coffee not a luke warm one. We Irish need to complain more.
    thegills

I hang my head in shame at own pedanticiness. I just dont understand how you can tell the milk wasnt warm enough when it went into a steaming hot coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

My Nana is terrible for it. We hate going to dinner with her. She complains about everything from the room temp to the dinner being too big. I mean if you get a piled plate, just don’t eat it all. No ones making you eat it. She should thank herself lucky it wasn’t the other way round. I cant stand silly complainers. I blame Jerry Ryan and Joe Duffy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Kiera wrote:
    I blame Jerry Ryan and Joe Duffy!
    Hear hear! The amount of times I've had oul' wans on the phone screeching "Right! We'll see what Joe Duffy has to say about THAT". Yes dear, because Joe Duffy can solve internet problems too, IDIOT!!! :rolleyes:

It is what it's.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Heard a complaint the other day. Some guy who was being executed by hanging complained that they were using a new rope. He wanted the soft, cuddly old one instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Archeron wrote:
    I hang my head in shame at own pedanticiness. I just dont understand how you can tell the milk wasnt warm enough when it went into a steaming hot coffee.

You my friend are obviously not a conny-sewer of the whole coffee scene :D A true expert can tell these things the moment the first drop of cold milk hits the elixer of life within the cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Kiera wrote:
    My Nana is terrible for it. We hate going to dinner with her. She complains about everything from the room temp to the dinner being too big. I mean if you get a piled plate, just don’t eat it all. No ones making you eat it. She should thank herself lucky it wasn’t the other way round. I cant stand silly complainers. I blame Jerry Ryan and Joe Duffy!

On the way home does she do a Grandpa Simpson "there sure are alot of ugly people in our neighbourhood?" :)

Or Burnsies "I dont like being outside. For one thing theres too many fat children"

Personally some of the most petty ludicrous complaints Ive seen are on boards. "wah wah wah, you posted this in AH, go post it in the relevant forum,`y`know, the one nobody actually knows about or reads". Or how about people complaining because one member calls another a retard? The attack the post not the poster rule is simply abused by a few here so they can talk sh1te and get anyone who opposes them with very light name calling banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I used to work for a travel agency part time, part of my job was sorting the wheat from the chaff, when it came to complaints. I'll never forget one complaint. It started:

"Dear

Each year the wife and I save up the few bob, so we can go on Holiday. Well, this year, we wish we didn't bother".

Went on to complain that the weather was too hot, but, tho I last saw the letter 15 years ago, I can still see that opening line as clear as day. Knob.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

oneweb wrote:
    Hear hear! The amount of times I've had oul' wans on the phone screeching "Right! We'll see what Joe Duffy has to say about THAT". Yes dear, because Joe Duffy can solve internet problems too, IDIOT!!! :rolleyes:
    In my job, I'll have to deal with a lot of irate housefras soon enough, upset because they want the entire deposit back for the appartment their darling son has just destroyed.

Last year one such woman threatened to get Eddie Hobbs on our case. Because nasal Corkonians with a knack for consolidating pointless consumer debt will change the fact that their son broke 2 couches and left football marks on the ceiling.

r3nu4l wrote:
    You my friend are obviously not a conny-sewer of the whole coffee scene :D A true expert can tell these things the moment the first drop of cold milk hits the elixer of life within the cup.

Sadly true. You should have seen my expression first time I got an expresso. I wanted a coffee dammit, not 2.5 mililitres of nerve toxin!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭SteamTrean

Kiera wrote:

My granny has very bad alzheimers (Can't spell it). Once we invited her to Christamas dinner. She sat in the Livingroom whilst we all were in the Dining room. This is becasue she is a bit of a wide load, and there wasn't that much room around the dining table + the chairs are rather narrow. Anywho.. I was bringing her soup into her and she (She doesn't have a clue who I am most of the time) said "Hi.. (Whispers) I wouldn't come back here.... " me: "No?" Her "No.. too expensive and there's no music or anything."

She comletely thought she was in a restaurant. Funny. Also a completely pointless complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Strokesfan

Kiera wrote:

My grandad was exactly the same!! "oh my god that's far too much I can't eat that" and a great deal of shouting "how much?!" when someone gave him the total of buying something. Kiera pointed out a great observation of behaviour - you only have to look at the granny in the Catherine Tate show - "what a fu*@ing liberty!"

Robbo wrote:
    In my job, I'll have to deal with a lot of irate housefras soon enough, upset because they want the entire deposit back for the appartment their darling son has just destroyed.

Last year one such woman threatened to get Eddie Hobbs on our case. Because nasal Corkonians with a knack for consolidating pointless consumer debt will change the fact that their son broke 2 couches and left football marks on the ceiling.

You don't work in cuirt na coiribe beside Nuig?Are you fionnula?

Im sorry about that last week of college when you seen me naked.I was pushed out the door:o

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

You don't work in cuirt na coiribe beside Nuig?Are you fionnula?

Im sorry about that last week of college when you seen me naked.I was pushed out the door:o
    No, on both counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Archeron wrote:
    This ranks up there as one of the most pointless complaining for the sake of it complaints I've ever heard.

Hardly. Ever had a tepid coffee or hot chocolate? It's fscking gross. She was well within her rights to bring it to their attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I see...

So, a woman paid for a coffee, the coffee wasn't made properly, and she complained about it. The man she complained to apoligised for it and replaced it.

Theres a problem here where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭ScottishDanny

Was once on holiday in Tunisia when a woman complained to the rep that it was 'very warm' outside
    In Africa
    In July
    I'm not sure what she wanted the rep to do about this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Dylan_James

I worked for some big companies and believe me I have heard all of them. Irish people don’t seem to complain; they question the situation, pull up their belt and move on. If the complaint was justified then they usually don’t go back to the place.

English people complain. And they do it a lot. They would complain about the sky being blue or the trees being green. Imagine taking the time to write a letter or make a phone call to complain about a website that is made by Americans, for Brits, and a there is a spelling mistake where the American spelling is used instead of the proper english.

Not to long ago, I was talking to my girlfriend on me Vodafone Sony Ericsson one night. I didn’t notice that the battery was low and just as I said goodbye the phone turned itself off. So I plugged it into recharge and left it off for the rest of the night. This was a bit of a first for me as I never turn the phone off.

Next morning I turn it on, and I get the SIM number screen. I thought "this is strange, I never put that on me phone." but I knew the SIM and entered it. Next comes "Phone Lock Code". Now I am very confused and I didn’t know what to do. I thought it might be the PUK so I went to Vodafone’s site to find out how to unlock it. After that didn’t work I thought it would be best to call Vodafone and ask what’s going on.

I was told by someone in Vodafone "that this is nothing to do with the SIM, its something to do with the phone, call Sony Ericsson" so I did.

Sony Ericcson told me that the phone would need a software upgrade. I asked how I would do that. They said since the phone was locked I needed to drop it into one of their "specialist" repair shops. I asked where the nearest one is and was told it was in Finglas named Sigma Wireless.

So Again I rang Sigma and told them what was happening. They said quite reassuredly said "oh yeah, we will fix that, just leave it with us for a day or two".

"Great!" I thought as I drove out to Finglas that Monday morning, phone will be fixed and it will be all Kool and the gang. When I got there a lovely gold ear ringed, make up plastered on, hung-over girl took me phone and disappeared into the back. She came back and said "Yea the technician looked at it and said he would fix it. That will be €65 please."

"Woh! Hold on a second...”I said "...this phone is still under warranty." Then she looked at me like I was something she found up her nose and said, "Do you have receipt with you?”

"Indeed I do" I said with a smug grin. So I gave her the receipt and she wanted to keep it "to get their money from Sony". I had to insist then I would need a photocopy at least. Fair play to her she was nice enough to go do that. "Last thing before I go...." I said "when should I expect it to be fixed?”
    "Tomorrow or Wednesday, sure we will call you and let you know." she said.
    "Kool and his compatriots." I replied.

So Friday comes and I am still waiting for this call, I get home from work and give them a ring. They tell me this:

"The phone is water damaged. When a phone is water damaged we can’t repair it. water damage can be from anything from steam from a kettle to condensation like on a window" At this point I am very annoyed as I don’t understand how water damage locks a phone but you can still turn it on and charge it without blowing your electrical mains or frying you in the process.

So I ask:

"So do I need to call Vodafone for a refund or replacement?"

"Errrmmmmmmmmmmmmmm yeah" was the response I got.

So I rang my dad who is a taxi driver and asked him to pick it up for me if he was in the area and he says yeah he’s around the corner from the place.

Two minutes later I get a call back from him saying they want €15 because they took the time to tell me the phone was water damaged. I said to my Dad don’t pay them just tell them "you haven’t fixed or done anything to the phone." I felt really bad after this as me poor ole Dad is in the autumn years of his life and doesn’t need this kinda stress. Fortunately when the gold ear ringed girl seen my Dad wasn’t happy she backed down and just handed him the phone with some stupid excuse about why she wasn’t going to charge him.

So my dad comes home with this "technicians report" from Sigma and shows me it. The phone also had a big crack in side of it that wasn’t there before. The report was one line;

"Water damaged, USB system connecter failed, warranty invalid." They also took the time to take a picture of the water damage and print that out as a part of their report. Now I know this is a long story and I don’t want to get much longer but my phone as 3 connection ports. USB port, weird Sony headphone connector port and the charger port. The headphones and the charger almost look like the same port. The USB is around the back of the phone, very small.

Guess where they take a picture of and tell me its water damaged and they were unable to connect to another system? That’s right the weird headphones thing and the charger. I was annoyed but at this point I was losing it.

I ring Vodafone again, start explaining the story again and as soon as I mention "water damage" I am immediately cut off by this girl saying;

"I'm not a technician but I know that once a phone is water damaged then it can’t be repaired."

So I ask how I get a refund. She says that water damage is my fault and then the warranty is invalid then she continues with the spiel "the phone is water damaged. When a phone is water damaged we can’t repair it. Water damage can be from anything from steam from a kettle to condensation like on a window"

Really frustrated at the point I say "I don’t know if you noticed but Ireland is a rather damp county most of the time. Are you telling me that Sony Ericsson can’t make phones that can survive in the Irish weather and climate?"

"No I am not saying that..." she replied.”You would have to take that query up with Sony."

"Alright..." says I. "Do Vodafone sell phones that will fail in the Irish climate?" Again for some reason she can’t answer that.

Realizing I am getting nowhere with this girl I say "Listen I will take the phone to the shop tomorrow and talk to them." Eager to get me off the phone she says that’s a good idea.

I am going mad now because last year I paid more then €300 for a phone that doesn’t work now, I spent over €100 on accessories (memory cards) and I have to go to the place I bought it and have the argument again with someone else. That night I decided to try to fix it myself. I went to Google and searched for the problem.

Low and behold there is a program that when you connect your phone to the computer this program can change phone codes. I ran the program and it worked. Problem solved. 2 minutes is all it took for me to fix it.

So there is a valid complaint as far as I am concerned. It’s true I didn’t pay anything to any of the companies involved but the time, effort and stress involved. I feel like I was about to be ripped off big. Vodafone, Sony and definitely Sigma Wireless all have some part to play in this.

I feel like now that I have wrote this down I should go to a consumer rights association now and let them know how these 3 companies are treating customers. I have a feeling I will be told I should have just gone to the Vodafone shop were I bought it and let them take care of it and they will would be right to say that to me cause that’s Irish Law.

But what did I do? Well I have a perfectly working, not water damaged phone and a load of stress. Well Vodafone is walking a thin line with me at the moment and any other problems I get from them I will jump ship to O2 or Meteor and pay them the €30 I spend on credit each month. Sony Ericsson I am just annoyed with for advising me to send this phone to a company like Sigma Wireless. Sigma Wireless are a shower of dossers and other words I can’t post here. I would advise anyone never to take your phones anywhere near them.

I probably should also post this in Consumer rights board too.

Wow, thats a nasty Dylan James. I thought Sigma Wireless were okay, (I used to deal with them in a previous life) but maybe not.

On a happier note, cheers for the phrase Kool and his Compatriots. I'll use that one in future :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

A client complained about the lack of English speaking people in a rural village in Slovakia.

It's fcuking Slovakia for Gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

in the grocery shop where i work i had a couple complain before that when they got back from their weekend away for a nice cup of tea sunday night the milk had gone off even though it was in date

opened the milk it was lumpy nearly turned my normally steel stomach to mush

asked them the usual when did they buy it etc and after another question or two they said the cheese they bought too tasted off, I asked them to consider their fridge might be on the blink not that i minded replacing a bottle of milk its not the end of the world or anything but more for their peace of mind

Anyways a few days later the fella came back with a sorrowful look on his face saying that indeed their fridge had broken down over the weekend as they were away and he proceeded to ask to pay for the milk which i refused

as i said i had no problem replaceing it but people dont look at the source first before blaming others

quickly is another fella came into me on a bank holiday monday claiming to have contracted food pisoning on saturday and was unable to move all weekend,he claimed that it was from sausages bought in my shop,anyways as it was the bank hol monday i told him all i could do was take his details and work on it tomorrow, I shouldnt but i did advise him to see a doctor straight away for blood and stool samples to prove his food pisoning claim as the supplier would look for them on tuesday and that when sorted they would pay his medical bills

he came back a week later to ask what was been done as he was not contacted by the supplier since tuesday evening (they told him to attend the doctor also)when i told him in was in the hand of the supplier he left i never saw him again

he never attended the doctors nor had he food pisioning he was some chancer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

You find some utterly trivial and idiotic ones here.

http://www.asai.ie/newsletter/index.tmpl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

RedorDead wrote:
    You find some utterly trivial and idiotic ones here.

http://www.asai.ie/newsletter/index.tmpl
    I've only read 2 of them but already I want to hit someone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

I worked for some big companies and believe me I have heard all of them. Irish people don’t seem to complain; they question the situation, pull up their belt and move on. If the complaint was justified then they usually don’t go back to the place.

English people complain. And they do it a lot. They would complain about the sky being blue or the trees being green. Imagine taking the time to write a letter or make a phone call to complain about a website that is made by Americans, for Brits, and a there is a spelling mistake where the American spelling is used instead of the proper english.

Not to long ago, I was talking to my girlfriend on me Vodafone Sony Ericsson one night. I didn’t notice that the battery was low and just as I said goodbye the phone turned itself off. So I plugged it into recharge and left it off for the rest of the night. This was a bit of a first for me as I never turn the phone off.

Next morning I turn it on, and I get the SIM number screen. I thought "this is strange, I never put that on me phone." but I knew the SIM and entered it. Next comes "Phone Lock Code". Now I am very confused and I didn’t know what to do. I thought it might be the PUK so I went to Vodafone’s site to find out how to unlock it. After that didn’t work I thought it would be best to call Vodafone and ask what’s going on.

I was told by someone in Vodafone "that this is nothing to do with the SIM, its something to do with the phone, call Sony Ericsson" so I did.

Sony Ericcson told me that the phone would need a software upgrade. I asked how I would do that. They said since the phone was locked I needed to drop it into one of their "specialist" repair shops. I asked where the nearest one is and was told it was in Finglas named Sigma Wireless.

So Again I rang Sigma and told them what was happening. They said quite reassuredly said "oh yeah, we will fix that, just leave it with us for a day or two".

"Great!" I thought as I drove out to Finglas that Monday morning, phone will be fixed and it will be all Kool and the gang. When I got there a lovely gold ear ringed, make up plastered on, hung-over girl took me phone and disappeared into the back. She came back and said "Yea the technician looked at it and said he would fix it. That will be €65 please."

"Woh! Hold on a second...”I said "...this phone is still under warranty." Then she looked at me like I was something she found up her nose and said, "Do you have receipt with you?”

"Indeed I do" I said with a smug grin. So I gave her the receipt and she wanted to keep it "to get their money from Sony". I had to insist then I would need a photocopy at least. Fair play to her she was nice enough to go do that. "Last thing before I go...." I said "when should I expect it to be fixed?”
    "Tomorrow or Wednesday, sure we will call you and let you know." she said.
    "Kool and his compatriots." I replied.

So Friday comes and I am still waiting for this call, I get home from work and give them a ring. They tell me this:

"The phone is water damaged. When a phone is water damaged we can’t repair it. water damage can be from anything from steam from a kettle to condensation like on a window" At this point I am very annoyed as I don’t understand how water damage locks a phone but you can still turn it on and charge it without blowing your electrical mains or frying you in the process.

So I ask:

"So do I need to call Vodafone for a refund or replacement?"

"Errrmmmmmmmmmmmmmm yeah" was the response I got.

So I rang my dad who is a taxi driver and asked him to pick it up for me if he was in the area and he says yeah he’s around the corner from the place.

Two minutes later I get a call back from him saying they want €15 because they took the time to tell me the phone was water damaged. I said to my Dad don’t pay them just tell them "you haven’t fixed or done anything to the phone." I felt really bad after this as me poor ole Dad is in the autumn years of his life and doesn’t need this kinda stress. Fortunately when the gold ear ringed girl seen my Dad wasn’t happy she backed down and just handed him the phone with some stupid excuse about why she wasn’t going to charge him.

So my dad comes home with this "technicians report" from Sigma and shows me it. The phone also had a big crack in side of it that wasn’t there before. The report was one line;

"Water damaged, USB system connecter failed, warranty invalid." They also took the time to take a picture of the water damage and print that out as a part of their report. Now I know this is a long story and I don’t want to get much longer but my phone as 3 connection ports. USB port, weird Sony headphone connector port and the charger port. The headphones and the charger almost look like the same port. The USB is around the back of the phone, very small.

Guess where they take a picture of and tell me its water damaged and they were unable to connect to another system? That’s right the weird headphones thing and the charger. I was annoyed but at this point I was losing it.

I ring Vodafone again, start explaining the story again and as soon as I mention "water damage" I am immediately cut off by this girl saying;

"I'm not a technician but I know that once a phone is water damaged then it can’t be repaired."

So I ask how I get a refund. She says that water damage is my fault and then the warranty is invalid then she continues with the spiel "the phone is water damaged. When a phone is water damaged we can’t repair it. Water damage can be from anything from steam from a kettle to condensation like on a window"

Really frustrated at the point I say "I don’t know if you noticed but Ireland is a rather damp county most of the time. Are you telling me that Sony Ericsson can’t make phones that can survive in the Irish weather and climate?"

"No I am not saying that..." she replied.”You would have to take that query up with Sony."

"Alright..." says I. "Do Vodafone sell phones that will fail in the Irish climate?" Again for some reason she can’t answer that.

Realizing I am getting nowhere with this girl I say "Listen I will take the phone to the shop tomorrow and talk to them." Eager to get me off the phone she says that’s a good idea.

I am going mad now because last year I paid more then €300 for a phone that doesn’t work now, I spent over €100 on accessories (memory cards) and I have to go to the place I bought it and have the argument again with someone else. That night I decided to try to fix it myself. I went to Google and searched for the problem.

Low and behold there is a program that when you connect your phone to the computer this program can change phone codes. I ran the program and it worked. Problem solved. 2 minutes is all it took for me to fix it.

So there is a valid complaint as far as I am concerned. It’s true I didn’t pay anything to any of the companies involved but the time, effort and stress involved. I feel like I was about to be ripped off big. Vodafone, Sony and definitely Sigma Wireless all have some part to play in this.

I feel like now that I have wrote this down I should go to a consumer rights association now and let them know how these 3 companies are treating customers. I have a feeling I will be told I should have just gone to the Vodafone shop were I bought it and let them take care of it and they will would be right to say that to me cause that’s Irish Law.

But what did I do? Well I have a perfectly working, not water damaged phone and a load of stress. Well Vodafone is walking a thin line with me at the moment and any other problems I get from them I will jump ship to O2 or Meteor and pay them the €30 I spend on credit each month. Sony Ericsson I am just annoyed with for advising me to send this phone to a company like Sigma Wireless. Sigma Wireless are a shower of dossers and other words I can’t post here. I would advise anyone never to take your phones anywhere near them.

I probably should also post this in Consumer rights board too.
    Sigma love the old "water damaged" excuse. Water damage can be fixed. SE and sigma do not mix. I had a K700i, cheap phone, and the buttons were sticking a bit. I only had it 20 days. I used to keep it in a sock type thing to keep it dry in my pocket, and I've got a good few phones water damaged by sweat in my pocket. Anyway, send phone in, took over a month, becuase I'm told it had to go back to SE in th UK. Got phone back, worse than ever, and now a load of dust under the screen. That's me finished with SE phones. I fixed it myself that night in 5 minutes with a knife.
    BTW, I used to work in a shop where we got a lot of phones in for repair. Sigma used to love opening the phones, finding corrision, just so they could take a picture of it, and send it back.

i was dj'ing in the local nightclub a few months back.
    some drunk dude stumbled up to the dj booth and told me he was epeleptic and asked if i could turn off the strobe for half an hour or so, until his medication kicked in.
    30 minutes later he stumbled back up to the booth and told me that he wasn't epeleptic and that he just wanted to see if i would turn the strobe off.
    wanker.

ok, i was the drunk guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I read a thread once where someone complained about having witnessed an incident where a customer complained and actually received decent service as a result of it.

I think it might have been this thread...
    I'm sorry your experience hasn't been all it could have been Mr Dragon, sir. To compensate for having your boards experience ruined we'd like to offer you a six week stay in the presidential suite at a time of your choosing with a daily free colonic.

connundrum wrote:
    A client complained about the lack of English speaking people in a rural village in Slovakia.

It's fcuking Slovakia for Gods sake.

I think we've already got a winner.

everyone should be a lounge person when they are young. that way the world would eventually be a better place.
    nothing like catering to drunken arseholes to give you a bit of perspective on the serving end of things. (sorry if that doesn't make sense. brain is slower than slow tonight).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Archeron wrote:

*pedantry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

julep wrote:
    everyone should be a lounge person when they are young. that way the world would eventually be a better place.
    nothing like catering to drunken arseholes to give you a bit of perspective on the serving end of things. (sorry if that doesn't make sense. brain is slower than slow tonight).

So true, I used to work in a VERY busy pub in town, and the amount of people who came in who seriously thought that i was the sh"t on the bottom of there shoe was unreal. All it takes is for some people to have a bit of respect for those around them and as you said the world would eventually be a better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Tha Gopher wrote:
    On the way home does she do a Grandpa Simpson "there sure are alot of ugly people in our neighbourhood?" :)

Or Burnsies "I dont like being outside. For one thing theres too many fat children"

Personally some of the most petty ludicrous complaints Ive seen are on boards. "wah wah wah, you posted this in AH, go post it in the relevant forum,`y`know, the one nobody actually knows about or reads". Or how about people complaining because one member calls another a retard? The attack the post not the poster rule is simply abused by a few here so they can talk sh1te and get anyone who opposes them with very light name calling banned.

the most pointless complaints are those where they are not noticed, or even worse, ignored completely.

/starts soccer thread in AH.
    Heyes wrote:
    So true, I used to work in a VERY busy pub in town, and the amount of people who came in who seriously thought that i was the sh"t on the bottom of there shoe was unreal. All it takes is for some people to have a bit of respect for those around them and as you said the world would eventually be a better place.
    i recently called some company with a complaint (can't remember who. i'm half shot now).
    anyway, i felt like shouting down the phone at the person on the other end, but thought about my time on the other end and said something along the lines of 'i know it's not your fault. you're just doing your job. however, i would appreciate it if you could solve my problem as quickly as possible. thank you very much.'
    it was sorted soon after.
    courtesy gets you everywhere and you don't have your food spat in either. (and other problems relating to customer service.)

julep wrote:
    /starts soccer thread in AH.

i recently called some company with a complaint (can't remember who. i'm half shot now).
    anyway, i felt like shouting down the phone at the person on the other end, but thought about my time on the other end and said something along the lines of 'i know it's not your fault. you're just doing your job. however, i would appreciate it if you could solve my problem as quickly as possible. thank you very much.'
    it was sorted soon after.
    courtesy gets you everywhere and you don't have your food spat in either. (and other problems relating to customer service.)

So true, just think of those that were polite to you.. realistically you probable jumped at the chance to help them out, but if they were rude / out of line, you would have absolutaly no intrest in helping, getting anything for them.

Its certainly a case of if you scratch my back ill scratch yours kinda world, and sometimes thats not a bad thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I used to work in a large music retailer and a guy phoned up complaining that the security tag hurt under his nail when he pulled it off. Pitiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I worked in a cafe before and a man complained his spoon wasn't scoopy enough.

DubGuy wrote:
    I worked in a cafe before and a man complained his spoon wasn't scoopy enough.

Thats pathetic :rolleyes:

Dudess wrote:
    I used to work in a large music retailer and a guy phoned up complaining that the security tag hurt under his nail when he pulled it off. Pitiful.
    He might have had a point. For a while HMV were feckers for sticking the tags directly on the cases. One came apart when I pulled it off and stuck a pointy bit of metal a quarter inch into my finger. Of course I was too lazy to whine about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

sceptre wrote:
    He might have had a point. For a while HMV were feckers for sticking the tags directly on the cases. One came apart when I pulled it off and stuck a pointy bit of metal a quarter inch into my finger. Of course I was too lazy to whine about it.

EXACTLY the same thing happened to me!! :eek:

I dont buy cd's normally, *innocent whistle*.... but I do get them for friends, and those security stickers are unbelievable!

b