Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Brush Your Teeth?

• 25-07-2006 4:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭

Strange little question, but it just dawned on me. I've had braces when I was younger and got a load of stick from the orthadontist because I wasn't brushing my teeth well enough. Do we worry alot about our teeth? With smoking, drinking, sports drinks (the worst for teeth) damaging our teeth shouldn't we pay more interest too it? :D Opinions?

How often do you brush? 259 votes

Once A Day
    0% 0 votes
    Twice A Day
    30% 80 votes
    After Every Meal
    62% 162 votes
    Once A Week
    3% 10 votes
    I Don't Brush My Teeth
    2% 7 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Some people don't have much of a choice if they don't have dental insurance. I look after them pretty well and had braces when I was in secondary school, was always so embarrassed when I had to read something in front of the class. It was a case of "say it, don't spray it".:) Oh yeah I got torn apart by several dentists who told me I need to brush them more often.

I remember one in particular when I was very young and my Mam went into the dentists with me. The dentist asked me how often I brushed, of course I lied. She asked my Mam to step outside of the room for a bit and asked me again and said "now that your mother is gone are you going to tell me the truth?" I lied the second time. :) *shakes fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

Just so everyone knows, i voted once a week.....which is an exaggeration, but it was around that!!
    but i have ze woman now. So its a two day/ three day thing.

I find chewing gum often does the trick. I haven't time usually.
    I have two teeth permanantly gone on either side and im only 19, 20 next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭spanner

it is hard to remember, I would do it every nite when I go to bed, trying to do it everytime I am in the toilet.

when you go 600 sheets in the hole for the dentist you start to remember to do them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

yeah seriously, the cost of a dentist is so ridiculous at this stage its not worth avoiding the tooth brush in the long run!

Also I am a bit of a teeth person, theres notmany things more unattractive than when you see some hot looking girl walk down the street or in a pub who then smiles or opens her mouth to display a rank, yellow car crash of a mouth!!! I find that a real turn-off

Oh and bad breath from lack of brushing is also disgusting.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Try to brush after every meal, except when out on the town. "Hey gang! Hold the party until I brush my teeth." And have you ever drank a pint or wine immediately after brushing your teeth? Yuk!

Or how about this one? Picture the setting first. Grand restaurant, excellent wine, gourmet food, violins in the background, eye-to-eye with your date. Holding hands across the table. A little bare footsie under the table. Things are just starting to warm up, and you say, "Hold that feeling luv," deep breath. "I've got to go and brush my teeth.":rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

I picked twice a day. I couldn't leave the house without brushing my teeth! :eek:

I find not taking care of your teeth a complete turn-off! I have dumped people over it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Try to brush after every meal, except when out on the town. "Hey gang! Hold the party until I brush my teeth." And have you ever drank a pint or wine immediately after brushing your teeth? Yuk!

Or how about this one? Picture the setting first. Grand restaurant, excellent wine, gourmet food, violins in the background, eye-to-eye with your date. Holding hands across the table. A little bare footsie under the table. Things are just starting to warm up, and you say, "Hold that feeling luv," deep breath. "I've got to go and brush my teeth.":rolleyes:

I prefer that scenario to leaning over the table to share a romantic moment and blasting your other half with the stench of month old beef thats been stored in a crunchy sock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Please tell me the people who do not brush or brush less than twice a day are not serious??

My GOD PEOPLE!!! Did you not see the simpsons episode with the "big book of British smiles?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Trice a day, once in the morning, once in the evening after dinner, and once beforeI go to bed. Last time I was at the dentist she said my teeth are in graet shape so it's worth it, I wasn't the best brusher in my younger years though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

I've only ever been to a dentist twice...ever. They were for checkups and everything was fine. :) I never had a tooth ache in my life.

The poll is shocking me already... 2 people who only do it once a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

I have perfect teeth, never any hassle because I look after them.

The dentist always congratulated me on being awesome, this makes me better than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

When i was younger now... i did not brush very often. I have one rotten tooth that is mostly filling... its just hanging in there :D However on my teens i grew up and started brushing twice a day. I think my teeth are mostly in good shape. Have not been to a dentist in years though so not sure.

How are are the people who brush once a week? have they not grown up yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Twice a day for me, I'm normally at work when I have my evening meal, so not ideal to brush there. Also my dentist said twice a day is fine, I also Floss and use mouthwash.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Usually only once a day :o But I use mouthwash, and brush more often when I think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

3 times a day most days. I was actually only thinking the other day about bringing a toothbrush into work and storing in my desk to do it after lunch too.

Went through way too much hassle with ortodontits when I was younger to not look after em now. Plus I like having nice teeth, gives ya an excuse to :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Once a week. Jesus.

Twice a day for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Tchocky

4-5 times a day. Neglected them badly for several years before, now it's fervent penance for shiny off-whites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Has anyone considered the possibility that perhaps..just perhaps, excessive "dental care" leads to more dental problems than not?

Think about it, dentists only make real money if they are doing fillings, caps, crowns whatever, and yet every respectable brand of toothbrush or toothpaste has "recommend by" this dentist association or that dentist association. Surely the dentists would prefer if people didn't look after their teeth so that they would get more money...

It is not beyond the realms of possibility to consider that there is some chemical present in toothpaste that actually causes dental problems rather than stops them. My sister brushes her teeth 2-3 times a day, always has for as long as I remember and she has multiple fillings, I on the other hand tend to forget to brush my teeth more often than not. I might brush them once a day for a month and then maybe once every two days or sometimes go a few days or a week without brushing them. I've never had a filling, I've never had a single problem with my teeth, and anytime I go to the dentist they compliment me on how good they are...go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

=>twice a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

I dont for a moment believe dental care products could cause problems, i simply see that when i ddnt take care of my teeth when i was a child and others i see now not taking care of thiers have WAY more dental problems than i have had. im 21, shiny white teeth, if i didnt brush them they would be black/yellow with lots of holes.

twice a day i try.]

i did hear that brushing straight after meals can rub the acid into your teeth holes(micro holes) which can speed up problems, i was told swish sum milk around ur mouth(or water but milk is better) to neutralise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Usually before I leave the house for college or work (after breakfast if I have some), and then last thing at night.

But sometimes I get lazy, or if I come in drunk, etc, then I usually amn't arsed, or else don't wanna wake up the family. I do brush my teeth before I go out drinkin though, so I guess that counts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I notice not one person has mentioned flossing.The biggest cause of tooth lossinst decay its gum disease.Food can build up between the teeth causing bacterial infection which leads to the gums receding and if left untreated bone and tooth loss.I had a mild form of it once and it wasn tpleasant,your teeth are loose and you're spitting blood to say nothing of the stench from your breath.Smokers are more likely to get it than non smokers but its much more common in adulthood than decay is so FLOSS,dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

R0ot wrote:
    I've had braces when I was younger and got a load of stick from the orthadontist because I wasn't brushing my teeth well enough

Yeah im another one for that. When I got the wire tightened I cudnt brush my teeth till about 2 days after because of the pain. I now brush twice a day mainly because im still wearing the retainer & have to but it in before I go to bed and take it out in the morning.

Degsy wrote:
    I notice not one person has mentioned flossing.The biggest cause of tooth lossinst decay its gum disease.Food can build up between the teeth causing bacterial infection which leads to the gums receding and if left untreated bone and tooth loss.I had a mild form of it once and it wasn tpleasant,your teeth are loose and you're spitting blood to say nothing of the stench from your breath.Smokers are more likely to get it than non smokers but its much more common in adulthood than decay is so FLOSS,dammit!

I hate the feel of floss. Would gargling with a hedgehog have the same effect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

I try to floss whenever I notice it looks bad, which usually ends up being about once every one or two months - probably should do it more often...

I used to always brush every morning and before I went to bed but recently I've started getting lazy in the morning before going to work/college - leaving about 15 minutes for getting dressed and having my breakfast. I still brush on weekday mornings or if I'm not getting up early any other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Archeron wrote:

I love floss, its like picking at at a scab or poking at a loose baby tooth.

Take the pain, YEAH, take it!

Archeron wrote:

Yes,yes it would.
    Or you could use a hammer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Saruman wrote:
    Please tell me the people who do not brush or brush less than twice a day are not serious??

My GOD PEOPLE!!! Did you not see the simpsons episode with the "big book of British smiles?"

The Great Book of BRITISH SMILES! :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

floss, brush then mouth-wash, always once, sometimes twice daily

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

Whoops, voted for once a day. I generally do it 2 or 3 times a day, but it depends where/what I'm at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Twice a day unless Im over at a friends and I forget my toothbrush. Although I have a friend whos toothbrush I have used on more than a few occasions. Some people dont like that... but we've both got pretty good teeth so theres no problem.

My Dad is a dentist and tends to freak out over toothaches and cavities. I happen to be of the opinion that dentists' kids are the most deprived children in the history of the world.

Fcuking ice cream trucks.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

Twice a day and then they maybe i'd treat them to some dental floss twice a month....My wife is a dental nurse so i'd get a slap in the ear if i didn't take care of them:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I find chewing gum often does the trick.

Does what trick? Cleans your teeth?? I don't think so.

IMO anyone who can't spare 30 seconds to brush their teeth is a filthy knacker. It's one thing not to give a crap about your own teeth, but to subject other people to a blast of corpse-breath because you can't be arsed removing the festering bacteria from your mouth is inconsiderate at best.

Sico wrote:
    Does what trick? Cleans your teeth?? I don't think so.

IMO anyone who can't spare 30 seconds to brush their teeth is a filthy knacker. It's one thing not to give a crap about your own teeth, but to subject other people to a blast of corpse-breath because you can't be arsed removing the festering bacteria from your mouth is inconsiderate at best.

Its the baby who smells,
    Smells like death.
    Run for your life,
    Its baby stink breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Twice a day for me, unless I'm drunk and half unconscious!
    I had braces for a few years and had awfully protrudent teeth before that, I wouldnt risk anything happening to my winning smile i've worked so hard for!! HA!

Also some of these stories about teeth sound bloody awful (excuse the pun!) http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054963963

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

twice a day man. dont want to have false teeth at 30 :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

I brush at least 3 times a day; morning, after lunch and nighttime.
    ...got fed up of hearing the dentist say 'decay' over and over each time I visited'... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Clean the ****e out of my teeth as many times a day as is needed. I've a fear of having a big, gap-toothed smile when I'm older. It ain't going to happen. Also floss and use mouthwash. It's a pain in the arse but so worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

Twice a day. Floss once a day and mouthwash once a day. I have always brushed at least twice a day and I still had problems. About 5 years back I ended up at the dentist with a toothache. I hadn't been for many years. I ended up spending several thousand on my teeth. Extraction, crowns, fillings. Now all is well and I get them cleaned twice a year, pay out of my own pocket and I am happy to do so. Flossing is the key to it all as far as I can tell and anyone who doesn't floss will end up with gum disease and eventually lose their teeth prematurely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

once a day for me and chew gum after every meal for fresh breath which doesn't make a differance-i'm on a diet that i can't eat any shiat so my teeth are grand:eek: ,i've never had a prob(i'm 22) with my teeth since i've been bout 14 when i had to get fillings from all those black jacks and apple sours...............mmm youst to like those flying saucors too,remember those anybody? :confused:

Kernel32 wrote:
    Twice a day. Floss once a day and mouthwash once a day. I have always brushed at least twice a day and I still had problems. About 5 years back I ended up at the dentist with a toothache. I hadn't been for many years. I ended up spending several thousand on my teeth. Extraction, crowns, fillings. Now all is well and I get them cleaned twice a year, pay out of my own pocket and I am happy to do so. Flossing is the key to it all as far as I can tell and anyone who doesn't floss will end up with gum disease and eventually lose their teeth prematurely.

And that'll learn them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I try brush after every meal (a habit I picked up from having braces for 4years) however thats not always feasible. I always brush a minimum of twice a day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Twice a day without fail, even if i've just come in falling down drunk i wouldnt miss it (can you imagine the taste and feel the next morning????) I've never had any dental problems, no fillings or anything and on one occasion the dentist called me his 'favourite patient' lol!! Although I don't really know why - healthy teeth equals less money for him :confused:

i can't believe anyone would brush their teeth less than that - and as for once a week, eeeeew!!! :eek:

Apparently you're not supposed to floss your teeth any less frequently than every 3 days because that's how long it takes for tartar to form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

After brekkie & before bed....floss at night too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

Three times a day. Seeing as I had to do it when I had braces it's like my routine now. Floss, brush, floss, mouthwash. It only takes about 3 minutes so I don't see what the big deal is. And gum does NOT do the trick all it does is get half rid of the smell. Like Takola I've dumped people over their teeth, smokers teeth are the worst!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yup, twice a day. Morning and night. Sometimes three times a day if I feel like it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭carbonkid

I thought it would be least 90% brush twice a day...except of course if your pissed and then you just pass out as soon as you get in the door. I feel mank if i dont clean my teeth in the morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Twice a day normally, I skip it at night sometimes if Im really tired though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Jambo

Always before work , after lunch and dinner , and when they just dont feel right and of course when im going out .. used to live with a guy who never ever did it .. his plaque was green .. f'n minging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

chewing gum is good in so far as it produces saliva, which helps kill off some of the bacteria. it doesn't beat brushing, but it's good to have some if you're eating out.