Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone offering grinds

• 24-07-2006 5:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

I'm looking for grinds in SF Accounting & Intermediate Economics, preferably from somewhone who usually gives grinds in these subjects. I can offer quite good money in return.
    [edit]this is the internet, don't put your phone number on websites, get people to pm you about it.[/edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 happychappy

Hey Mr.Steve,
    can you be a bit more specific of what level accounting etc (mgt/financial) & macro/micro economics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Steve,

I'm no use for Accounting, bye bye Business School; but I did well in SF economics this year. I don't think I have the time to offer you a grind but I can offer you tips on what will come up. Feel free to give me the money anways.

In macro, IS-LM and AS-AD are definite questions. Specifically the parts will probably be:

IS-LM
    a) Draw/graphically derive an IS-LM model
    b) Draw what happens in the case of a fiscal/monetary expansion
    c) Show how the effect of fiscal/monetary policy is more effective when the IS/LM curve is steep/relatively flat

AS-AD
    a) Draw/graphically derive an AS-AD model
    b) What happens in the case of a fiscal expansion in the short term? An election is coming up, would you recommend the government expand fiscally?
    c) What happens in the case of a fiscal expansion in the medium term?
    d) How is money neutral?

In macro, learn consumer behaviour including indifference curves etc. I'm pretty sure a question will come up on what happens to a saver/lender when the interest rate changes, or what happens to a worker when wages increase, or would the consumer prefer a general subsidy or a subsidy of the same cost on one good alone.

Also learn the Trinity Term stuff, so Edgworth boxes, the theorems of welfare economics, Cournout-Nash/Betrand-Nash competitive equilibrium and so on.

Oh in macro that same question that came up for both Michaelmas Term and Trinity Term on the Philips Curve/Okun's Law will come up again.

Hope this helps,
    The middle guy of the three in the sixth row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 MrSteve

Cheers Angry Banana. That info is a great help. Must have taken you a good while to type up. I'll have to find some way of repaying you for your good deed. A possible cash settlement.
    If I can pass this exam it will be some sort of miracle. Lets just say my college attendance wasn't exactly satisfactory this yr. Hopefully I'll learn from my mistakes

If anyone can help me with financial accounting that would be great too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

I don't think I have the time to offer you a grind
    Fnarr fnarr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭homeOwner

Mr.Steve I sent you a PM

MrSteve wrote:
    Cheers Angry Banana. That info is a great help. Must have taken you a good while to type up. I'll have to find some way of repaying you for your good deed. A possible cash settlement.
    Not at all, don't worry about it. It only took five minutes. The "you can pay me anyways" thing was a joke :). If perchance I meet you in Doyle's some night feel free to buy me a pint though.
    If I can pass this exam it will be some sort of miracle. Lets just say my college attendance wasn't exactly satisfactory this yr. Hopefully I'll learn from my mistakes
    Do. Junior Sophister is going to be difficult, and you won't get easy exams from Sommerville or Wälti.
    Dead Ed wrote:
    Fnarr fnarr.
    I don't know what that means, but in case it's some sort of insult regarding me being important or something so I don't have time during the summer; it can all be explained by a stupid twat who had to go and get himself sacked for stealing phone credit and money and left 'The Vision' with only four part-time staff, one of which has refused to work until air conditioning is installed because she's preggers. All this, added to another staff member deciding she can only work one day during the week makes Enda go pizza pizza.

Junior Sophister is going to be difficult, and you won't get easy exams from Sommerville or Wälti. .

Yeah i'll have to sort myself out if i do make it to third yr. I had a part time job 4 days a week to fund a social life that took up 2 or 3 nights a week. Not the wisest combination if study has to be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

a stupid twat who had to go and get himself sacked for stealing phone credit and money and left 'The Vision' with only four part-time staff

They're firing people now? Damn. I know a guy who missed an opening shift because he was in the wrong county, didn't bother ringing anyone to let them know and still only got a verbal warning. I didn't think it was possible to get fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

I don't know what that means, but in case it's some sort of insult regarding me being important or something so I don't have time during the summer; it can all be explained by a stupid twat who had to go and get himself sacked for stealing phone credit and money and left 'The Vision' with only four part-time staff, one of which has refused to work until air conditioning is installed because she's preggers. All this, added to another staff member deciding she can only work one day during the week makes Enda go pizza pizza.
    Nah, just spotted some innuendo in aforementioned sentence. You'd know about it if I tried to insult ya. Probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Do. Junior Sophister is going to be difficult, and you won't get easy exams from Sommerville or Wälti.

Is sommerville definately teaching next year? Do you know anything about any of the other js economics lecturers angry banana?

Babybing wrote:
    Is sommerville definately teaching next year? Do you know anything about any of the other js economics lecturers angry banana?

A tad :).

There's seemingly big changes in the economics line-up this year. Analysis is being taken again by Dr. Sommerville and Dr. Wälti, both of whom are beloved to us all. We will start with micro with Dr. Sommerville; with Sébastien taking over for macro in Hilary Term again like SF.

Monetary is set for a change. Rumour has it our beloved Dr. Newman has jumped ship to work for the University of Chicago for a year (at least). I presume she won't be paying income tax to support the oppressive government. If you understood and liked that joke I suggest you visit Prof. Murphy's website which includes links to several more obscure economics jokes, including my hilarious signature. As far as I can determine, Prof. Murphy will cover monetary economics for the first module. I don't know who shall be taking on welfare.

European Economics is as per Handbook, as per last year, with Dr. Wälti and Prof. O'Hagan.

Econometrics is be split between the tough-examiner Mr. Michael Harrison (as per usual) with the addition of dark horse Dr. Mariuzzo, of Industrial Economics fame. As you might guess by the missing links on his websites, he's none too sure who will be looking after Industrial next year, he seems to think he will be sharing it with someone.

Less Developed Countries should be taken by Prof Drudy again, which means a re-jigging may be expected. However he is said to be a great lecturer who lets you now what's needed to succeed in the course.

That's all from the top of my head. For now at least.

And Ed, I lolled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

you won't get easy exams from Wälti.

!?!

Right_Side wrote:
    !?!
    His marking is infamous! Remember ye not the Michaelmas Term test where he made a mistake and, instead of giving everyone full marks, gave us all zero?

And that's before we get onto my Schols marking!

His marking is infamous! Remember ye not the Michaelmas Term test where he made a mistake and, instead of giving everyone full marks, gave us all zero?

And that's before we get onto my Schols marking!

In his first year in the college he was actually told to make his exams harder! At the SER Schols preperation meeting they said as much and he basically admitted it at the extra class.

The MT test was very easy bar question 2. Where was the mistake exactly?

The Schols paper was fairly easy as well. A whole question on those three maths equations. Anyone who knew their stuff would have got full marks inside 5 minutes on that question.

Right_Side wrote:
    Where was the mistake exactly?

Come on I'm dying to know!!!!

I can't remember. I'm sure Original_Psycho can let you know though.

So noone's offering grinds then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

MrSteve wrote:
    So noone's offering grinds then?

lol. welcome to the trinity forum.

i do rememer that question in the exam but i didnt think there was a mistake. makes sense though as i made a bloody good attempt and got zero:(

I can't remember. I'm sure Original_Psycho can let you know though.

So... you are going around tarnishing Dr. Walti's good name by saying he is unfairly marking exams based on something you have no knowledge of.

Mud sticks and I think without providing evidence of the mistake in question and a subsequent unfair marking system you are guilty of defamation.

Check http://www.maths.tcd.ie/~donalmcc/grinds for some grinds. Mightn't be up to date though.

Right_Side wrote:
    So... you are going around tarnishing Dr. Walti's good name by saying he is unfairly marking exams based on something you have no knowledge of.

Mud sticks and I think without providing evidence of the mistake in question and a subsequent unfair marking system you are guilty of defamation.
    seriousbusiness.jpg

OMGZ :rolleyes:.

I am not tarnishing Dr. Wälti's good name in any way shape or form. He admitted to the mistake. He did, to a certain extent, make amends in another part of the question, but that does not bequeath him the quality of omniscient marker. I cannot recall what the details are at this time, but failure to recall does not an invalid statement make. He is, by his own assertion, quite a difficult marker. This was the original statement I made; but only to encourage a class-mate to work harder. It was you, ignorant of his marking of my (and several others') Schols paper and, clearly, the Michaelmas Term test, that pressed me to qualify my statement.

Incidentally it would be libel, not defamation; and for your own reference, it's potentially libellous to falsely refer to one as a defamer in a permanent publication as you just did.

I am not tarnishing Dr. Wälti's good name in any way shape or form. He admitted to the mistake. He did, to a certain extent, make amends in another part of the question, but that does not bequeath him the quality of omniscient marker. I cannot recall what the details are at this time, but failure to recall does not an invalid statement make. He is, by his own assertion, quite a difficult marker. This was the original statement I made; but only to encourage a class-mate to work harder. It was you, ignorant of his marking of my (and several others') Schols paper and, clearly, the Michaelmas Term test, that pressed me to qualify my statement.

You still haven't backed up this allegation with any evidence. "He admitted it"... to who? I was at every lecture and tutorial and no reference was made to any mistake.

Give me the question and section and if there is a mistake I will then except your point.
    Incidentally it would be libel, not defamation;

Source: Answers.com Defamation

Any intentional false communication, either written or spoken, that harms a person's reputation; decreases the respect, regard, or confidence in which a person is held; or induces disparaging, hostile, or disagreeable opinions or feelings against a person.

Defamation may be a criminal or civil charge. It encompasses both written statements, known as libel, and spoken statements, called slander.

Therefore, I think it was fair to refer to it as defamation which encompasses both libel and slander.
    and for your own reference, it's potentially libellous to falsely refer to one as a defamer in a permanent publication as you just did.

I inferred that without providing evidence you could be seen to be a defamer.

Right_Side wrote:
    You still haven't backed up this allegation with any evidence. "He admitted it"... to who? I was at every lecture and tutorial and no reference was made to any mistake.

Give me the question and section and if there is a mistake I will then except [sic.] your point.
    I couldn't give a shite, Michael, whether you accept my point or not. I've already told you original_psycho will more than likely be on soon to clarify the situation. I really cannot be bothered wading through my notes for last year to prove a point for you, particularly one you asked for.
    I inferred that without providing evidence you could be seen to be a defamer.
    Inference is just as blunt as statement. The provision of evidence is not necessary for something to be held as true, particuarly when one has admitted to one's mistakes so retract your statement like a good man.

And I was being specific m'dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

This tangent = boring.

Right_side = annoying gob****e.

Angry Banana = hack.

As you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

both of you, shut the **** up. this is retarded. and before either of you say "you could be liable for calling us retards", just remember, its only defamation, libel etc. IF ITS NOT TRUE. now grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

hmm what a happy cheery mod person you are:rolleyes:

and before either of you say "you could be liable for calling us retards", just remember, its only defamation, libel etc. IF ITS NOT TRUE.

Hehehe, zing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 kitten_77

I know its a long shot but if anyone has experience in SPSS and are available for a few hours at some stage next week (preferably early in the week) I'd be willing to pay generously.

I need to do some principal component analysis in SPSS for a thesis, its not a whole lot of work, most of the data modelling can be done in eviews which is fine, i'm just stuck on the SPSS bit.

Would gratefully appreciate picking someone's brains!!!! pm me if you can help :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Danger Bob

I don't think anyone with the subjects you need signed up to the SU list that Dónal linked to there. It's a pretty good list but it just seems that no Business postgrads were interested in giving grinds at the time. I'm going to be in touch with people over the weekend who may be willing to give grinds in some of the areas which are proving difficult to find them. If you ring the education office on 01 6468439 on Monday, or even e-mail me your contact details, I might have someone for you.

Ibid wrote:
    accept

Petty tbh. Clutching at straws? But while we are at it...
    particularly
    The provision of evidence is not necessary for something to be held as true, particuarly when one has admitted to one's mistakes so retract your statement like a good man.

So people are guilty without evidence these days? That is a really stupid statement.

If that were true there would be no need for a court system the police could just lock up someone because they know they are guilty (which they do know most of the time), no need to prove it!
    Pet wrote:
    This tangent = boring.

Right_side = annoying gob****e.

Angry Banana = hack.

As you were.

Pet = Insomniac who couldn't pass first year if he/she was given the answers three months in advance. :p

As you were.

I have my questions about Dr. Waltis marking...

However his course is excellent,

Pet = Insomniac who couldn't pass first year if he/she was given the answers three months in advance.

You're gonna have to try a bit harder than that.

Pet wrote:
    You're gonna have to try a bit harder than that.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

kitten_77 wrote:
    I know its a long shot but if anyone has experience in SPSS and are available for a few hours at some stage next week (preferably early in the week) I'd be willing to pay generously.

I need to do some principal component analysis in SPSS for a thesis, its not a whole lot of work, most of the data modelling can be done in eviews which is fine, i'm just stuck on the SPSS bit.

Would gratefully appreciate picking someone's brains!!!! pm me if you can help :)

I haven't used SPSS in a long time so I'm no help to you but there is a good book called SPSS Survival Manual by Julie Pallant which they should have plenty of copies of in the library at this time of year which is very straight forward and gives good explanations of how to do most of the things you'll need.

SPSS also comes with pretty good demos and walkthroughs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭mizz.yelof!!!

so can anyone tell me where to find a timetable for the supplemental exams???? cant seem to see it anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

you have to go in and check departmental notice boards, its not put on the web , no notice is given as to when its released either. Though it should be out 'around now'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Right_Side wrote:
    Petty tbh. Clutching at straws? But while we are at it...

So people are guilty without evidence these days? That is a really stupid statement.

If that were true there would be no need for a court system the police could just lock up someone because they know they are guilty (which they do know most of the time), no need to prove it!

Pet = Insomniac who couldn't pass first year if he/she was given the answers three months in advance. :p

As you were.
    Banned for a week for personal abuse and for NOT LISTENING TO THE MOD WHEN HE SAID STOP BITCHING AND ARGUING. 1 week. buhbye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Good call Neil - that was nasty.

Pffh, I am rubber, he's glue, it's fine; even kev could do a better job of insulting me. :D