Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A$$ wipe restaurant owener

• 23-07-2006 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭

Well My-self and the little lady came back from Kilkenny/waterford for a wedding we where at. So I decided to take her out for a nice quite dinner for the two of us. So we hopp on the Duc and off we go. Seeing as we where both in the mood for steak, I decided JP's Stakehouse in Ternure (spell) in dublin looked nice in passing. So out we go. We get there and I park the bike up on the path. Outside the Restaurant. Not in the way of anything or any exits. So we are getting the bike locked up when out comes the "manager", who orders me to "move the bike from there". So I say. Its not in the way and we are going in for a meal. Again he gives the order to move the bike from the path as its "not aloud there". So I say it is. Then He gives the order again. This point I'm kinda pissed off and so is the little lady. So I ask where can I put it. He said "away from the restaurant". Now its a sunday after 9 and the place is quite. The bike was clean and looken all nice. So was the g/f.

So we decided that we where to pissed off to eat at the place and thought somewhere else might be better.. So I take her to Spurs in Liffy Vally (pure class I know) So we didn't get a quite, romantic meal. But we did get great service and really nice food. But I am still really pi$$ed about that lad at JP's Stakehouse. It was really rude. So I'll not be going back there again I can say that for sure. Oh and the Waiter at Spurs got a nice tip for being dead sound and giving a free refill of coke. (I was driving after all)

/end rant

[Dont eat] At JP's Stakehouse in Ternure[/Dont eat]

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Write a letter. People underestimate the power of a good letter.

You might even get a free scoff in which case you can rub the nose of the 'manager' in it.

Nothing wrong with Spurs in Liffey Valley - except for the embarrassing birthday song thing they do. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Ah yeah, the Service was great in Spurs. Its Just not as "romantic" as I had hopped to take her out for. As for the letter, I think it would fall on deff ears. Plus I have no interest in eating in a place where I am not made feel welcomed. If you know what I mean.

The bike was clean and looken all nice. So was the g/f.

pic tbh:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,538 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

unfortunately this is typical of what we have to put up with in this country, it's a revelation to ride in France or Spain or Germany and get treated like a human being!!!

DON'T let this go, complain in writing, that guy needs taking down a peg or two, chances are it's not just bikers he has a grudge against. Probably a small willy complex :D

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

yeah i had the same happen with a security guard in a lidl before, telling me i cant park it near the window, etc

it really annoyed me at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

I remember one guy telling a story about stopping off on his bike in a bar in Naas one time. Barman refused to serve him, "We don't serve bikers".

So some time later, he goes back to pub with several of his mates, in a car, all done up in suits and ties and order maybe 10 pints or so. Then he goes up to barman and is about to pay and then says, "Oh sorry, I forgot you don't serve bikers" and walks away. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

sutty wrote:
    [Dont eat] At JP's Stakehouse in Ternure[/Dont eat]

Are there any other restaurants/coffee shop/anything else in the neighbour hood? like across the street or next door?

We could "help" you out by getting a reasonable sized group of bikes together. All pull up and park up outside then go across the street or whatever.

(I am assuming of course that there are no yellow lines so we would in fact be allowed to stop there).

Personally, I agree with you. I have often met up with people for a meal in town when I have been on the bike. No problems thus far. Usually the helmet fits under my chair so it doesnt take up any "usable" floor space/ be able to be tripped over.

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

madrab wrote:
    yeah i had the same happen with a security guard in a lidl before, telling me i cant park it near the window, etc

If the window in Lidl faced out onto their property (i.e. the car park) then the secutity man would be perfectly entitled to request that you move it.
    We get there and I park the bike up on the path.

Although the restaurant manager had no authority to request that you move, (I'm assuming that it was a public footpath), parking a vehicle there would be illegal anyway unless a designated space is marked. He would have been better to contact the Gardai if he had reservations about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

this happened to a firend of mine once.
    he was driving his mercedes and.......

tbh, its not that hard to find a spot to park the bike,
    if your in some ones way move a few yards over and youll be out of their way.

im not sure of the layout of this restaurant front, but i doubt it covers the entire of terenure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

If the window in Lidl faced out onto their property (i.e. the car park) then the secutity man would be perfectly entitled to request that you move it.
    If the bike was in a parking space, I'd ask for a reason and it would have to be a damn good one. Only shop or shopping centre I know of with designated bike parking is Liffey Valley and they don't have anything secure to lock bike to.

Agree with your comments re not restaurant manager's job to enforce traffic laws. But warden's gardai do turn a blind eye to bikes parked on footpaths if it's not an obstruction. Would be nice to see a few bike spaces around considering the increased numbers of PTWs on the road, but that might take away from revenue generating spaces. Where do you put a parking disk on a bike??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Go to Mario's in Terenure Village, it's very romantic, prices are good and the service is great.

Also the last time I was there I parked on the footpath right at their window, no-one seemed to have a problem with it and I even got some nice remarks from a couple of other customers.

What people don't realise is that the majority of bikers are nice people and are well behaved. Just because we wear leather and drive big noisey bikes it doesn't mean we will have a knife fight and wreak the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

nereid wrote:
    Are there any other restaurants/coffee shop/anything else in the neighbour hood? like across the street or next door?

We could "help" you out by getting a reasonable sized group of bikes together. All pull up and park up outside then go across the street or whatever.

(I am assuming of course that there are no yellow lines so we would in fact be allowed to stop there).

I am DEFINITELY in if we're doing this! And we can top it off by a nice burn out when we leave! :D Dirty idiot...

Put me down for this aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

KTRIC wrote:
    the majority of bikers are nice people and are well behaved.
    wrote:
    we can top it off by a nice burn out when we leave! Dirty idiot...

Edited - second comment originally attributed to KTRIC in error. Apologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

The restaurant doesn't own the footpath.

Please don't quote me on things I didn't say or I'll stab you in the ass :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

K-TRIC wrote:
    Please don't quote me on things I didn't say or I'll stab you in the ass :D
    Blue Oyster style or with a knife? :D

I'm the one who said "we can top it off by a nice burn out when we leave! Dirty idiot...". And K-TRIC said "the majority of bikers are nice people and are well behaved"... Not "all" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 erics injun

This is defo the best way to deal with pr*-ks like that. NICE ONE

murphaph wrote:
    Blue Oyster style or with a knife? :D
    rofl

Put me down for the protest if you are going.

So when are we going to say hello and show our nice bikes? :D

How about this Saturday, say about 8 or 9 in the evening when its nice and busy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

Someone please take photos so the rest of us can enjoy this too. Nice one.

KTRIC wrote:
    How about this Saturday, say about 8 or 9 in the evening when its nice and busy
    I'm in! Wouldn't mind going for a spin on a nice summer evening. And I'll be bringing my camera to take pictures of all our nice bikes parked neatly on the footpath! :D

Lovely, chapeau.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

No no, not this Saturday. I live just up the road but I'm going to Cardiff this weekend. I would've loved to have seen it. Tkae pictures and a video, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

im game as always :)

got a nice surprise 4 u lot also...brum brum

dont want to spoil it though :)

can we confirm a time then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

I reckon you guys should just do what the owner wants... all park in the car parking places - one slot, one bike of course (try and fill the car park for bonus points (i'd _love_ a photo btw)) and then all go in and spend the evening eating soup/garlic bread, and enjoying their finest tap-water.

ahh damn it im busy this saturday, but ill see if i can get free for a bit

LOL That could be even more effective if people got there early and waited while spaces became free... :p

Wossack wrote:
    I reckon you guys should just do what the owner wants... all park in the car parking places - one slot, one bike of course (try and fill the car park for bonus points (i'd _love_ a photo btw)) and then all go in and spend the evening eating soup/garlic bread, and enjoying their finest tap-water.

Right so who's in for sure?

Steffano2002
    Dr4gul4
    KTRIC
    madrab?

We need about 5 or 6 to really make an impact and take some nice pics! ;)

Right so who's in for sure?

Steffano2002
    Dr4gul4
    KTRIC
    madrab?

We need about 5 or 6 to really make an impact and take some nice pics! ;)

Personally I'd like at least 10, can we reschedual this for when we can get a better turn out ? somehow I don't think 4 will have the impact we are looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

ok why dont we delay untill sat week ?

hows that suit ye ?

yeah, ill be there saturday week

Ok then! Saturday week (5th August) it is then! :D

Hope the OP can make it also!

Could someone drum up some more support over on the other biker websites like biker.ie and irishbikerforums.com, it would be feckin gas if we could get a huge gang to turn up and picket the place, might teach the bastards a lesson.

It might be an idea for someone to start a new thread with the details and we'll add as it goes along.

BIKERS ARE PEOPLE TOO !!!

KTRIC wrote:
    BIKERS ARE PEOPLE TOO !!!
    I was thinking of telling the manager that!

With a bit of luck I will try to make it too...

(Sat week is the weekend of the bank holiday)

L.

Anyone think of booking a table for the group, then when ye all turn up on bikes they'd be a bit caught out as to what to do, bit like the pub story posted above.

MC

Anyone think of booking a table for the group, then when ye all turn up on bikes they'd be a bit caught out as to what to do, bit like the pub story posted above.

MC

Oh man that'd be hilarious :D everyone with full leathers, helmets, tank bags etc etc etc.

A restaurant full of bikers with bike gear.

Make sure Sutty books it though.

L.

Let's do it! I love soup and tap water!!! :D

I'm off to a wedding this weekend but this seems like fun :) AH I just see it's been put back to next week - thats good. Are we going to be eating there or just lounging around in general?

Either is fine by me... But I'll be going inside the restaurant either way to use the bathroom! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

I'll try make it down with a camera, I like the plan of each bike taking a car parking spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Sounds good, what's the official date and time then?

Same thing happened to me outside Abrakebabra in Drumcondra. Was told to move it, so i moved it 2 foot to the left so it wasn't directly outside their premises, but outside a door to apartments upstairs. This was a Monday night at 8, not exactly rush hour at abra

We can stop there on our way to Terenure Paparazzo! :p

Official Date & Time? Saturday 5th August 2006 @ 8:00PM?

What about an old fashioned protest outside, with banners and sh!t ? . And I think the Mirror newspaper is in the village somewhere aswell, they love this type of stuff. :D

KTRIC wrote:
    What about an old fashioned protest outside, with banners and sh!t ? . And I think the Mirror newspaper is in the village somewhere aswell, they love this type of stuff. :D
    I think we'll look like plonkers! Especially if there's only a handful of us... I think we should keep it personal, mature and friendly. I just want that restaurant owner to change his attitude about bikers, not hate them even more!

Ah I see, the mature approach ;)

Good stuff.

Maybe I can block the toilet with tissue paper before I leave :D