Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unhealthy stuff you did as a kid, but never thought about it

• 22-07-2006 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭

Was just thinking about this the other day... when I was a v young kid, meself and my best mate would pick up old ciggie butts on our street and put them in our mouths and pretend we were smoking them!!
    :eek: !! I know!!
    What the fook were we thinking...
    Eating toliet paper (before use...) was another.

Don't ask....

Anyone got other gross stuff they used to do as as kid before the world of hygenie entered their minds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

ate chips left over on the counter at Burger King, without thinking about how long they've been there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I ate chewing gum which I picked up on the path!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I ate chewing gum which I picked up on the path!

EEEEwwwwwwwww!!!

Keep 'em coming! :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Was a lot younger. Did not want to go to school one day. Took a small sip of liquid dishwashing soap. Oh, did I get sick! And the bubbles were tell-tale what I had done!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

maybe not

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I ate chewing gum off the path too, and there were days when after playing out we would have so much dirt caked into our hands that we used to be able to flex our thumbs to see the caked dirt split - didn't do us a bit of harm.

spurious wrote:
    I ate chewing gum off the path too, and there were days when after playing out we would have so much dirt caked into our hands that we used to be able to flex our thumbs to see the caked dirt split - didn't do us a bit of harm.
    It's funny... I can't remember as a child being seriously ill or picking up infections or anything along those lines and I was always covered in muck from being out playing. I'd be out playing in all weathers! I used to come home with all sorts of cuts, grazes, bruises and scrapes.

My cousin, who is a couple of months older than me, was always indoors, playing on his Spectrum or watching TV and he was forever catching colds or flu. Even now at 35 he's pretty frail and is always picking up infections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Done the ciggie thing as well OP, also I used to eat the erasers from the top of the pencils at school, mmmm rubbery! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I used to have sugar sandwiches, eat toothpaste, also picked up ciggarette butts off the street and actually smoked them!

Tasted poo once...not my cup of tea. Also used to eat leaves.

DubGuy wrote:
    I used to have sugar sandwiches, eat toothpaste, also picked up ciggarette butts off the street and actually smoked them!

mmmm... Sugar sandwiches!!!! That brings back memories!

Sometimes, for a savoury snack, I'd have brown sauce and sugar sandwiches.

What possessed you to taste poo? Was it your own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I used to put salt in my fizzy drinks to make it fizz and have a salty taste. Did it again not that long ago and it was disgusting....
    DubGuy wrote:
    Tasted poo once...not my cup of tea.

:D:D:D Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭uncle ernie

DubGuy wrote:

yup, sugar sandwiches made by the oul boy...might have one now actually. remember once at national school this young guy running around with a rabbits head he'd found outside the yard and throwing it at random lads.still bloody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

in the supermarket once i squirted some hair mousse and thought it looked so lovely and fluffy i put it in my mouth :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

ate sand that cats used as a toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

after feeding my dog for years i began to wonder what dog food tasted like. so one day i had a mouthfull or two. none of this pedigree chum mind - it was the really cheap ****. it needed more salt.

if i'm infected with CJD i know where i got it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i ate nuts a bolts from a mechano set, my sister was trying to make something, i think i was pissed off at her or something, so i just started grabbing them and shoving them into my mouth.

I did the chewing gum from the ground too..

a few houses down from me there was a house with these bushes with purple leaves...i used to eat a handful of them everytime i walked passed.....tangy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Femmy wrote:
    a few houses down from me there was a house with these bushes with purple leaves...i used to eat a handful of them everytime i walked passed.....tangy!

twas probably some mild form of neuro-toxin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

I used to slap on the baby oil when I went out sunbathing, if I ran out of baby oil, on went the almond oil, I even remembere the days of my mothers Don Carlos Olive Oil... she wasn't impressed and it smelled something awful....

I also used to eat the corners of the pages of the books I was reading, eat my barbie dolls feet and hands and I do have vague memories of the chewing gum off the path too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

when I was teethin I bit a tube of superglue in Easons and its burst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

I cannot believe how many people have done the chewing gum thing...eww

I used to nick my chewing gum from a shop, 5p golf balls anyone? i used to be a divil for biting my nails and picking my nose tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

I used to slap on the baby oil when I went out sunbathing, if I ran out of baby oil, on went the almond oil, I even remembere the days of my mothers Don Carlos Olive Oil... she wasn't impressed and it smelled something awful....

Ha ha don carlos indeed. Drank toilet water once it looked clean enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Took an experimental sip from an almost empty bottle of guinness which, I realised afterwards, had a cigarette butt floating in it.
    You'd think I'd have an aversion towards smoking and guinness now that I'm grown up, but you'd be wrong :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

When I was about 5 my cousins were all eating dog biscuits. :eek: Even my 5 year old self found this shocking but I was convinced to eat one anyway.

I ate grass too :D ooh and some type of flower growing in the country somewhere.

My aunt used to eat lipstick and coal :p COAL!

EDIT- just rembered I used to sip the white part of my dad's Guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

gb's wer 2p! ye got ripped off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

What possessed you to taste poo? Was it your own?

No, I found it in the garden...my brother convinced me it was a chocolate bar (I was 3 or 4, he was 6 or 7) so I took an 'ould bite out of it...Not as bad as you'd imagine though, but not pleasant either. With a bit of seasoning and slap it on the bbq, then have it with chips and a bit of ketchup or whatever and I reckon it would be a decent enough snack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I'm told I ate the fat off some pork chops I found in the bin. I was violently sick. I hate pork chops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

One more for the road chewing gum...

Although I was a bit more sanitary than some of you disgusting creatures - I would bring the gum I had picked off the road inside first to wash it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

My father is fond of telling all my mates the stories of my appetite as a wee nipper. Like the time when I was maybe 2/3, he turned his back on me in the kitchen, turned back a minute later and somehow I had climbed up onto the table and, as he puts it "had the chicken up by the scruff adn was ripping the skin of the back" :D

Another time i actually fished chicken skin out of the bin......this all happened over 20 years ago, I feel suitably matured now :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I grew up in Florida. During summertime when I was 6-10 years I used to go out to the beach everyday for five or six hours with absolutely no sunscreen. I've tried to make up for it by never going to beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

Another one for the chewing gum off the floor brigade. I'm actually a little disappointed, i thought i was unique.

I once drank a sip of raw chicken blood. My mother was making the dinner and had the chicken on the table, it was on a dish and the blood was dripping off it. I thought it was strawberry juice for some reason and drank some. Without doubt the worst thing i've ever tasted, 18 years later i can still taste it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

I found a dead rat once... nice and decaying and all... put it in me pocket and brought it home. Me ma wasnt to impressed when i showed her what id found... :D

So has any of yis did the thing where a load of ye piss in a bottle and tell one your mates that its lime???

as for chewing gum off the ground.. thats just plain disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

hmm well i have a lot to confess. when i was 6 i used to "smoke" old hollow reed type things :D .i used to take the tar off the roads,i once shot an walther ppk cap gun and sucked the smoke in(burnt the **** outta me lol) and i used to make little "huts" in the tolka valley, burn down trees,burn other peoples "huts" etc.

Now im all good :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭raheny red

I use to pick up dandelions out of the ground and the suck the juice from them :p :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

i once found the gum of a cow, complete with teeth, in my garden. I thought this was cool and picked it up and brought it to show to my mom and my cousins...they looked a bit sickened for some reason....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Here are a couple of posts I made in an old thread over on Soc > Parenting-
    A friend of mine tells a story of how she found her toddler son in the garden with a satisfied look on his face, clutching half a slug...
    Anyhow, I told my friend that I'd mentioned her son's 'slug incident' here, and she informs me that he once told her that he didn't like snails because "they are too crunchy"

Apparently, her daughter once approached her making a sour face, said "Yucky!", and handed her the tail of the family goldfish.
    More similar stuff here- So what have yours eaten?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Aoife-FM104

Solvents, cigarettes, unprotected sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

I never did this but friends of mine used to eat dog biscuits.
    And one used to suck on these weeds - think they were called clover - she would suck on it to get this honey out of it....... if I am remembering correctly that is!
    I remember once I went to an orchard up the road from me, and must have eaten about 3 cooking apples - I still remember the cramps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I used to get £5 together and buy 50 x 10 penny bags and eat all 500 sweets in one sittings. I've done the lick old chewing gum thing, usually off the underside of tables in macdonalds.

My lunch for the summer usually consisted of a cup of tea and a full packet of bourbon biscuits, I wouldn't actually drink the tea, i'd just use the biscuits to slowly soak up the tea.

I once got dared to drink the dregs in the end of a lucozade bottle in a bin, I had tonsilitis for a week.

Also, heres something you could still do now as its not really unhealthy but disgusting. Get one of your friends to swallow a tablespoon full of half lemon juice, half instant coffee granules. It doesn't really sound that bad, which is why its so good to do to someone. Its the most awful mixture I have ever tasted, its like the bile that comes up in the back of your throat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

Solvents, cigarettes, unprotected sex.

*in a super posh voice* oh my god thats despicable

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

L31mr0d wrote:
    I used to get £5 together and buy 50 x 10 penny bags and eat all 500 sweets in one sittings.
    I still do that :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

I used to grab a spoon and a tub of Flora and scoff the whole lot...

I also used to eat raw sausages, never got sick though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

There were these flowers in my garden that we used to suck the sourness out of, we called them sour-bellies. There were also other flowers in the back, red with purple things in the middle that we used to eat, never once crossed out minds that maybe dogs had pee’d all over them.

Did the chewing gum thing, of course I blessed it 10 times so it was ok. Baby oil/butter while sunbathing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭goods

i used to eat my own poo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

once, was alone in the kitchen and saw a glass of yellow liquid sitting on the counter. Thinking it was some tasty orange juice i took a quick gulp only to discover that it was a glasss filled with the drained off fat from the deep-fat-frier....very pleasant taste!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭neoB

All of my barbie legs were destroyed me chewing on them, as well as pencils,pens and markers. markers were my favourite. chew them up and or just suck on the tip of the marker, ink and all.
    Dog biscuits taste like wheat thins :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Used to eat a lot of toothpast. Mmminty.

Used to have sh*te fights. The local field was always full of dry horse poo which made for great wars.

Let my dog lick my ice cream and then continue eating it myself. (only got caught once)

If I had dinner that I didnt like, I used to stuff it into these hollow building blocks that I had and hide them all over the house. I found a batch of them about 10 years later and they were full of chip fossils.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Dreamer 7

Mud Pies mmmmm with worms inside as extras, didnt go as far as eating the worms but did serve it up on a plate , also juicy looseys (???) clover type thing growing in the garden that had a real sour flavour when eaten. We were prob tasting cats wee or something!

Ohh yeh i love SMA y'know the baby powder, used to eat it as a kid but got addicted again when i had my kids !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭raheny red

Kiera wrote:
    There were these flowers in my garden that we used to suck the sourness out of, we called them sour-bellies. There were also other flowers in the back, red with purple things in the middle that we used to eat, never once crossed out minds that maybe dogs had pee’d all over them.

Did the chewing gum thing, of course I blessed it 10 times so it was ok. Baby oil/butter while sunbathing.

I thought I was the only one :eek: :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

raheny red wrote:
    Ew, Now that’s just gross! Never ate them, only sour-bellies.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

i got totally addicted to eating bonjella...