Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abuse from a bus driver today!

• 21-07-2006 7:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭

So here I was, getting on the 5PM Dublin to Galway today.
    I asked the driver for my usual student return and he told(shouted tbh) me [exact words] "get the fúck off the bus and go inside and buy your fúcking ticket" Now, I'm no toff, but jebus that was harsh. I hadn't been sweared at like that in a while. I was well taken aback. So I said excuse me, sorry, what? to which he replied [again, exact words]"I don't give a shít, get the fúck off my bus". Then he pushed his way past me (fairly roughly, too) to get off the bus to do something else.

It was in a bus depot in Dublin, and there wasnt anyone at the ticket booths when I passed them, hence me not having a ticket. Normally there is no problem buying them on the busses. Should I complain to the Bus company? (Better not name them what with all the poor little companies and their reputations and their multi-million euro lawsuits flying around). But, you probably know who I'm talking about anyways*.

What else can I do? The bus company more than likely couldn't give a damn about any small complaint like this. In the end, I just grabbed the 5PM to Westport.

I know, people have bad days, but this was a bit much. Being shouted at from less than 2 foot away. He even accidentally "sprayed" me with spit whilst shouting!

ffs...
    *Cycling really Is Easier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yes, complain him. What a monumental prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i was Le rack's boyfriend. that thread in the thunderdome has come back and bitten you in the arse.

EDIT. wait a sec. laptop/ pda? no way you can be in westport by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lorri_L

You should definitely complain. If he was so comfortable saying it to you, its likely they may have got complaints before and even if they haven't, they should take the complaint seriously.

It seems so uncalled for that he was so rude!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Someone must have been having a great day, still no excuse for the abuse.:confused: I would put a complaint forward even if it was so little, you shouldn't have to take abuse like that from anyone in this day and age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

julep wrote:
    i was Le rack's boyfriend. that thread in the thunderdome has come back and bitten you in the arse.

EDIT. wait a sec. laptop/ pda? no way you can be in westport by now.
    ROFL :D
    He was mabye mid 50s with white hair, and overweight.
    Yep, seems like her type allright.
    (jk, <3 LeRack)

I think it's quite a serious matter. That's verbal assault. Nobody has a right to speak like that to ANYONE, let alone someone who is a customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Were there other passengers on the bus/within earshot who could back you up?
    It's verbal assault. The company must deal with it. Complain.

Yeah, it would take a lot for me to complain. I'm pretty low-maintenance, but that's totally uncalled for and totally unacceptable. You're well within your rights to complain, and it wouldn't make you like those asshole types who jump at the opportunity to moan about any service at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

See this is why I travel from Dublin to Galway with Citylink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

You should've slugged him one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    He even accidentally "sprayed" me with spit whilst shouting!
    You should of saying I want the ticket not the weather, surely that would piss him right off;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Definately complain about it, I had a similar problem with a driver on a Dublin Bus before and reported him...haven't seen him on the route(nor any other for that matter) since :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

You should've slugged him one.
    Nah, he should have started crying, then pissed himself on/near the drivers seat.

I would never ever complain, everyone is entitled to an off day, but I think I'd make an exception in your case. The fact that he repeated the abuse is appalling. He should be thrown out of that job immediately, who does he think he is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Bus Eireann seem to have more than their fair share of ignorant cυnts for drivers. I'll also never forget the day the driver stopped the bus on the N3 to get out to have a piss in the ditch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Bus Eireann seem to have more than their fair share of ignorant cυnts for drivers. I'll also never forget the day the driver stopped the bus on the N3 to get out to have a piss in the ditch!
    that's the Navan road, right?

if i saw a woman with a baby halfway out of her womb at the side of that road, i still wouldn't stop for fear of attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

jaysus. I dunno what I would have done. probably just stood there in disbelief for a while and asked him for my ticket again or something. wow. maybe you could have asked for the supervisor or manager the depot and reported him. im sure they would have done something.

edit: when you gotta piss you gotta piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

His behaviour is way out of order. You should definitely complain. You might get a better response if you threaten that you are going to report this to a radio station as any reasonable company will not want negative publicity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

I'm well used to the lot of them with the ridiculous amount of buses I get on the Cavan/Dublin N4 route, there are some AWFUL CNUTS of bus drivers, it really is ridiculous. I dont think I would have done much in that situation either tbh, but in hindsight I'd kick myself for not hangin' him out to dry, that is definitely not on and should be dealt with VERY HARSHLY by the employer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Poor Fuzzy.

You see, the problem with the driver is that he's not getting a good bit of hows your father from the missus at home.
    He is a sexually deprived man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

chop him in the throat in future!

the cnut :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    I asked the driver for my usual student return and he told(shouted tbh) me [exact words] "get the fúck off the bus and go inside and buy your fúcking ticket" Now, I'm no toff, but jebus that was harsh. I hadn't been sweared at like that in a while. I was well taken aback. So I said excuse me, sorry, what? to which he replied [again, exact words]"I don't give a shít, get the fúck off my bus". Then he pushed his way past me (fairly roughly, too) to get off the bus to do something else.

It was in a bus depot in Dublin, and there wasnt anyone at the ticket booths when I passed them, hence me not having a ticket. Normally there is no problem buying them on the busses. Should I complain to the Bus company? (Better not name them what with all the poor little companies and their reputations and their multi-million euro lawsuits flying around). But, you probably know who I'm talking about anyways*.

What else can I do? The bus company more than likely couldn't give a damn about any small complaint like this. In the end, I just grabbed the 5PM to Westport.

I know, people have bad days, but this was a bit much. Being shouted at from less than 2 foot away. He even accidentally "sprayed" me with spit whilst shouting!

ffs...
    toff

hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Man, I would complain like a noob in feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

its your own fault for being a student.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

Totally unacceptable. Get on to the PR section of Bus E. Inform them of this + tell them that in the absence of any disiplinary action being taken, you will have no other option but to send a letter in the papers, and also a copy to your local TD. Begin with the I Times,(Bus E will love that:rolleyes: ) and file copies to the others - working your way down to the local paper.

BTW The name of the PR woman for Bus E. is Erica Rosengrave; just tell her that Ods sent you ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Why you even have to ask us if you should complain or not is beyond me. Every time I've come across a bus driver like this I have complained.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Shabadu wrote:
    Man, I would complain like a noob in feedback.

Brilliant, with extra exclamation marks as well to show the outrage. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Bus Eireann seem to have more than their fair share of ignorant cυnts for drivers

thats for sure.
    handed my ticket to one a while back and he roared, "i'll ask you again where the **** are you heading to?" obviously doesnt have a capacity to read the ****ing ticket. ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Buy a car, that'll show them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Haha. After he said al that I'd have concluded I was on to a loser with this guy and there'd be no point trying to reason with him. So I reckon I'd just have a bit of fun with him after that. I'd have thrown a tenner in his face and told him to sit his fat arse down in his little seat before I get angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Tazzer

sjones wrote:
    Why you even have to ask us if you should complain or not is beyond me. Every time I've come across a bus driver like this I have complained.

what was the result of your complaint - did anyone get back to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

what a knob. you should have chest butted him zizou style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

FuzzyLogic wrote:

ffs...

the mods around here have people thinking that boards gets sued left right and centre :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

the mods around here have people thinking that boards gets sued left right and centre :rolleyes:
    well boards seems to be getting legal threats left right and centre, anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 nursebetty

I got the bus to meath today with Bus E and the driver was a horrible git. He had a fit at my mate cos he assumed she was a student 2 n she wasn't n she was only tryin 2 correct him and pay the full fare. more fool her.

Boards has gotten a few solicitors letters in the past month.
    Either that or I simply lied to you (just you, mind) for the craic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

You should of done what the ukraine lad did in this thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054965228

nah, my pocket razor blade allready had AIDS on it(from some russian shíthead on a beach I ran into the other night), and as such using that on the bus driver would be too harsh IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Thats the problem with these semi state companies, they often dont feel that they have to work for their customors.

Imagine a certain dominant bus company employing the policy that 'the customer is always right' ...what a joke!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

report the prick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Every driver has a number, asking him/her for the driver number means that they will realise you know what you are doing! I've done it before and watched them sh1t themselves :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

What's a bus driver?

Bloomin' internet computer geeks with their technical terms...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

I Use the train a lot IE staff are actually polite and nice ya know havent met a bad one yet one lad that told us to quiet down one day( i was with about 10)
    but he didnt do it bad mannerd simply told us and that was it

yesterday my friend got shouted at for skating on the train but cdanya blame that lad he was just like "AY.....OFF IT) and that was it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

r3nu4l wrote:
    Every driver has a number, asking him/her for the driver number means that they will realise you know what you are doing! I've done it before and watched them sh1t themselves :D

The numbers are only for the wayfarer machines, just ask for his name, and ring up whichever station you came from, you'll most likely be passed to the inspectors, who're in charge of the buses...if you don't get a decent reply, ask for the area manager. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

bwaahahahahaha. i saw one who pulled over to take a phone call.

this is the worst example i think: my gf was on a bus eireann to athlone. her apartment is about a 20 minute walk from the bus station but the bus drives right past it so it always stops to let her and her friend off there. on one occasion, he stopped and opened the luggage hold so she could get her bag. her friend got hers and just as my gf was climbing in to grabs hers, the bus drove off, with her still inside and the luggage hold open. she had to jump off rather than be killed or sit in the luggage hold until they reached the station.

anyway, she of course jumped off and had to get a taxi to the station to collect her bag. she was visibly shaken and crying a bit. she spoke to the manager and the driver and she asked for an apology. the driver refused to give her one.

she complained to bus eireann afterwards. they offered her a free return ticket. she told them to shove it up their hole in a nice way

Sorry...but that's actually kinda funny...

In all fairness the driver probably didn't see her getting in, and when he couldn't see anyone in the mirror, thought you had gone, I highly doubt he maliciously thought "Lets get this one in the luggage compartment!!!"

He should have apologised though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Fajitas! wrote:
    I highly doubt he maliciously thought "Lets get this one in the luggage compartment!!!"

But what if he did.......

He woulda closed the doors a lot faster... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Fajitas! wrote:
    Sorry...but that's actually kinda funny...

In all fairness the driver probably didn't see her getting in, and when he couldn't see anyone in the mirror, thought you had gone, I highly doubt he maliciously thought "Lets get this one in the luggage compartment!!!"

He should have apologised though. :)
    it was an automatic luggage hold which was operated with a button in the driver's cab so he had to open it for her. and he drove off without closing it. i know it wasn't malicious, he was just retarded. apparently a passenger had to remind him halfway to the station that the compartment was open and people's luggage could fall out. the part that pissed me off was not only did he not offer an apology, he outright refused to give one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Please tell me the OP has complained about this clown !