Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

crazy driving on the motorway - and hes not taxed.....

• 20-07-2006 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭

Thought I might post this over here.

Heres some bad driving on the M1; about 1 min into the video watch the manouver as this guy comes onto the motorway. From another thread it seems he doesn't pay tax, being a non-national. Even though hes lived here for a few years.

Worth reporting to the gardai?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuTZZB0zuIg , about 1 min in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

hope it lands in a ditch tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭robfitz

Yes you should report it. I'm going to anyway.

I'm going to fill one of these out tomorrow and drop it into the garda station near my work.

Things I noticed:
    tale-gating
    crossing the white line while entering the motorway
    changing lane without indicating
    driving along the hardshoulder
    undertaking
    180 km/h (might have been m/h)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭clubcrown

robfitz wrote:

I'm going to fill one of these out tomorrow and drop it into the garda station near my work.

Things I noticed:
    tale-gating
    undertaking

While you're at it, you could mention that hes illegally avoiding paying VRT. According to some people on the other thread anyway.

People like that don't deserve to be on the road, expecially give whats happened over the last few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

Anyone seen Ghostrider? A guy famed for doing some crazy stuff on motorways on a bike. Up hard shoulders, high speed wheelies, chases from cops etc... Maybe he is this guys hero ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Jaw dropping stupidity. That tw*t deserves a visit from police and his licence taken off him.

And to post a video of it on youtube? hahah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭squrm

What. A. Tit.

Have to say though I loved the quick, slightly homoerotic, shot around 3:25 mins in of him washing it with no shirt on :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Andrew Duffy

Is it even a real M3? The wheels look a bit cheap, and it seems to have a fairly standard two-pipe 323i exhaust rather than the twin two-pipe exhaust of an M3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

is the number plate real ?

any equlivant of cartell to check ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

Doesn't look like a real M3 at all.

Wasn't there a guy (in Japan I think) filmed himself racing his Ferrari on the motorway and ended up in serious trouble over it. So there is a precedent albeit not quite in the jurisdiction.

Edit: Here we go - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZgHeAkiDE5g&search=ferrari%20f40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Was anybody really turned on watching that car in slow motion?

no? didn't think so...

****tard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭kdevitt

BendiBus wrote:
    Doesn't look like a real M3 at all.

Its a real M3 - whats makes people think it isn't? Alloys , seats, clocks etc all are M3 items

kdevitt wrote:
    Its a real M3 - whats makes people think it isn't? Alloys , seats, clocks etc all are M3 items

The wheel arches aren't flared like a real M3

Wheel arches

BendiBus wrote:
    The wheel arches aren't flared like a real M3

Wheel arches

You're having a laugh right??? You're after posting a picture of an E46 M3, made between 2000 and 2006. The M3 in the video is a different car, the E36, M3 version made from 93 - 99.

Well, I'm more familiar with buses :)

BendiBus wrote:
    Well, I'm more familiar with buses :)

Fair enough :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 jeem

robfitz wrote:

I recognise some of these places so it was (mostly/partly) filmed in the Dundalk and north Louth area, the Dundalk/Dromad/Omeath Gardai may be the people to contact.

The forest looks like Ravensdale Forest (Dromad).
    The mountain area looks like the Cooley mountains, close to the large RTE mast (Omeath).
    The car park looks like it could be the JJB Sports Stadium in Dundalk Retail Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,484 ✭✭✭Gerry

Is it even a real M3? The wheels look a bit cheap, and it seems to have a fairly standard two-pipe 323i exhaust rather than the twin two-pipe exhaust of an M3.

Again, this would be true of an e46. The car is an e36, and has such, as the standard two tailpipes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

robfitz wrote:
    Things I noticed:
    tale-gating
    undertaking
    It was km/h. Also, I'm about 80% sure the language of the end credits is Lithuanian.

A little bit of searching and I was able to find out the real license plate number, his name and phone number, theres even photos with him and his car.

I wrote up a page with links and notes and handed it into my local garda station and they are going to pass the guards in Dundalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Hmm so a couple of donuts in empty carparks and funky music gets the PC crowd risen, jebus, all his "crazy" driving was pretty tame.

The most dangerious stuff I could see was him undertaking in the layby at about 50 mph..wowowow..that seriously scary stuff!!

Tbh I see more genuinely scary driving by idiots not in control every day driving into work than in that video.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

not worth reporting tbh, how are the garda going to find him? i doubt he drives around with those customised plates all the time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Nuttzz wrote:
    not worth reporting tbh, how are the garda going to find him? i doubt he drives around with those customised plates all the time...

With the aid of the name and address supplied by Sherlock "robfitz" Holmes? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭clubcrown

Longfield wrote:
    Hmm so a couple of donuts in empty carparks and funky music gets the PC crowd risen, jebus, all his "crazy" driving was pretty tame.

The most dangerious stuff I could see was him undertaking in the layby at about 50 mph..wowowow..that seriously scary stuff!!

Tbh I see more genuinely scary driving by idiots not in control every day driving into work than in that video.

1. Hes not paying VRT

2. That "scary undertaking" (which is still illegal and very dangerous) was also accompanied by him weaving across 4 lanes through traffic, not indicating, driving a car with incorrect plates, intimidating other drivers on the road, tailgating...you want me to go on?

I didn't realise there was some hierarchy of dangerous driving - this guy is only a "little" dangerous, so we let him off? That exactly the kind of attitude that will give him the confidence to keep driving like that and next time he'll kill someone.

Don't be so stupid - this is nothing to do with any "PC" crowd. You'd prefer someone with this attitude to driving to be on the road, rather than not? Someone who isn't even paying for the roads he drives on?

F**k him. He deserves to be put off the road, just the same as any of the "idiots not in control" you see on your commute into work every day.

Gerry wrote:
    Again, this would be true of an e46. The car is an e36, and has such, as the standard two tailpipes.

Did not know that. There is an E36 in my building's basement with a British vanity plate ### M3. Thing is, it's a diesel with the badges taken off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

I sure am glad I didn't go to your driving school if you don't think he was dangerous.
    Longfield wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,521 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Did not know that. There is an E36 in my building's basement with a British vanity plate ### M3. Thing is, it's a diesel with the badges taken off.
    Report it. Scum like him has their hand in all our pockets.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

ninja900 wrote:
    Report it. Scum like him has their hand in all our pockets.

Huh? It's been there for about a week. The owner could be visiting a friend, here on a short contract or waiting for a new registration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

jeem wrote:
    I recognise some of these places so it was (mostly/partly) filmed in the Dundalk and north Louth area, the Dundalk/Dromad/Omeath Gardai may be the people to contact.

The forest looks like Ravensdale Forest (Dromad).
    The mountain area looks like the Cooley mountains, close to the large RTE mast (Omeath).
    The car park looks like it could be the JJB Sports Stadium in Dundalk Retail Park.

also shows him coming out of kilsaran/castlebellinghma

Sorry to drag up an ancient thread - but this vid was mentioned in the Star on Saturday in case anyone missed it.

http://www.bmw-driver.net/narusa.jpg

Seems his buddies don't agree with us that its dangerous driving either from the comments on YouTube- (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuTZZB0zuIg)

ofloo (1 day ago)
    He is a ****ing ledgend!
    (Reply)
    Robke181 (12 hours ago)
    Ireland is one GAY country!
    (Reply)
    liutas009 (1 hour ago)
    great driving! Stupid Irish people cant drive pripertly,thats why they always cry.Stop mumbling.. and learn to drive...
    there is nothing dangerows in this clip.
    You Irish better think about your self how to give up drinking, thats your problem, but not this guy.His driving skils is great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Thanks for dragginf it up kdevitt, I hadn't seen it before :) What a looney and tbh Longfield (if that is your real name :)) you were pulling the p*ss right?

So robfitz reported this to the Gardaí months ago and yet this guy is still posting vids of his crazy driving on Youtube? I would have thought he would be cooling his heels in a cell by now. Oh well, hopefully soon enough he will be.

How about anyone from around the locality contacts their local TD/councillor and cause a bit of a fuss. Ask RobFitz to give you the Garda incident report number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Yea,little wonder Ravensdale gets so much bad press in RTA terms....Crikey no wonder I get the shivers up beyond Butlins.....BTW Wat`s the Lithuanian for Muppet..? :)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Thanks for reminding me about this.
    r3nu4l wrote:
    Ask RobFitz to give you the Garda incident report number.

I was a bit stupid and didn't get one. :(

But the good news is I found an email address on the traffic section of the garda website and sent an email with my original text. I've already had a reply back saying it's been forwarded to Dundalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Honestly am still laughing at this video, about the only scary thing happening is the music.

Post that on a biker forum and they would ask when the main video starts!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Sarsfield wrote:
    With the aid of the name and address supplied by Sherlock "robfitz" Holmes? :p
    Thats nothing.

I started with a guy looking for a speed camera detector and ended up with photos of his bedroom. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

robfitz wrote:
    A little bit of searching and I was able to find out the real license plate number, his name and phone number, theres even photos with him and his car.

I wrote up a page with links and notes and handed it into my local garda station and they are going to pass the guards in Dundalk.

So you've reported the reg of his old car which looks identical to the one in the video, then?

Longfield wrote:
    Honestly am still laughing at this video, about the only scary thing happening is the music.

Either you're trolling or your intellectual capacity is way below the norm...been involved in a head on smash at some stage of your life? You think that driving illegaly is cool? Are you 12?*

Fey! robfitz also reported his name and address, I'm sure he can be traced from all the info that was given.

*not meaning to insult any 12 year olds out there

r3nu4l - the guy in the video also has a wine e36 325 coupe, which has the reg that robfitz possibly reported, and which is also left hand drive. I think that the reg on the video is genuine for the M3.

Fey! wrote:
    r3nu4l - the guy in the video also has a wine e36 325 coupe, which has the reg that robfitz possibly reported, and which is also left hand drive. I think that the reg on the video is genuine for the M3.

Oh, I see what you are saying now. I thought you were saying that if the guy had sold the car off then the new owner would be getting a call from the gardaí :)

robfitz stated that he reported the real license plate number, not the one in the video (I assume)? Maybe robfitz can clarify?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Litovcas

E viskas cia normaliai su tuom video. :D Bet tai jus AIRIAI ir myzniai... :eek: :D:D:D

Luitas (Litovcas) - what's that in English?

Or is this one of the other guys from Redline, the Lithuanian car enthuasiasts website?

You do realise that it's just ignorant to post the way you did - on an Irish english-speaking site in a language that you knew noone here would understand. I suppose it is on a par with the driving on the video, though.

r3nu4l wrote:
    robfitz stated that he reported the real license plate number, not the one in the video (I assume)? Maybe robfitz can clarify?

Hmm, I've looked back at the video and the photos I found, to me the cars looked the same, but they are only similar. So I think I pointed the finger at the wrong person.

Now the person I pointed the finger at does seem to be listed in the credits of the above video, and I have found another video of him preforming some other dangerous stunts. I'll try calling the guards tomorrow and tell them about the mistake and new information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,544 ✭✭✭sk8board

clubcrown wrote:
    1. Hes not paying VRT

Thats because he doesn't need to. All 10 assession countries were granted an amnesty to bring their car with them, exempt from VRT.

This is also how those (now) siezed Continental GT's and Ferrari's etc were avoiding VRT.
    Customs became suspicious at the Ports because a large number of exotic (€250k+) cars were coming off the boats, all claiming to be on hol's for a fortnight, but only a small number of them ever returned!

The Guards claim they had nearly €10 millions worth of seized cars; every non-irish reg supercar they could find; all lined up at The Point Depot lot. Will try dig out the article again.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

@sk8board - I never heard anything of the sort. Why would the revenue do something like that?
    All cars must register with the VRO by the end of the next working day following its importation. The car may not be subject to VRT but unless it is staying less than 12 months it must get Irish plates.

http://oasis.gov.ie/moving_country/moving_to_ireland/importing_car_into_ireland.html

robfitz wrote:
    Hmm, I've looked back at the video and the photos I found, to me the cars looked the same, but they are only similar. So I think I pointed the finger at the wrong person.

Now the person I pointed the finger at does seem to be listed in the credits of the above video, and I have found another video of him preforming some other dangerous stunts. I'll try calling the guards tomorrow and tell them about the mistake and new information.

He has two cars - so its more than likely the correct person. PM me if you want it confirmed. Think a quick call to customs might be more effective than the gardai though.