Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cursing and swearing.

• 19-07-2006 9:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭

Just last weekend, I sat outside one of my locals, and a really lovely looking girl came out to have a smoke and make a phone call. I couldnt help overhearing, coz she was one LOUD girl. First time I've heard it in a while, but literally every second word she said was f*ck, or worse, the C word (which I thought women really hated) as well as a nice assortment of brightly colored words. I have to say, that this instantly made her look a lot less attractive as a person to me.

I myself like a good cuss word every now and then, maybe to emphasize a point or an emotion, but I try to be selective in my use, as I do think overuse kind of kills the effect. I particularly make a point of never cussing around kiddies, but the lady above was surrounded by nippers.

Question is, do you cuss like a sailor or are you more selective with your nasty words? What do you think of people who sound like a porn film for the blind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I curse a fair bit. Depends on who I'm talking to though.

Doesn't really bother me if other people do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

I find recently I'm really careful who i curse around. Especially in work, and around women. Some people get quite offended. I don't see it as a big deal if people curse, it's pretty meaningless these days. Around mates i'll curseall the time, but like you said, usually to emphasise a point, i don't curse in every sentence. Only knackers do really because they're so illiterate it helps them move from one word to the next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Giruilla wrote:
    I find recently I'm really careful who i curse around. Especially in work, and around women. Some people get quite offended. I don't see it as a big deal if people curse, it's pretty meaningless these days. Around mates i'll curseall the time, but like you said, usually to emphasise a point, i don't curse in every sentence. Only knackers do really because they're so illiterate it helps them move from one word to the next.

Good point, maybe I should replace the word attractive with intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Archeron wrote:
    I have to say, that this instantly made her look a lot less attractive as a person to me.
    You like your women timid and softspoken, is that it? ;)

I don't mind cursing as long as it's appropriate, at the game or in other emotional situations - not at the dinner table with the parents.

Cursing really means that your vocabulary is not adequate and you need to be more eloquent.

Archeron wrote:
    Good point, maybe I should replace the word attractive with intelligent.
    Apparently mimicing people's gestures and tone of voice/general way of speaking is something that happens subconsciously. It helps the other person feel comfortable.

I know if I'm around a person who curses an awful lot,then I will start to curse that little bit more.

Maybe she was just talking to someone who curses in every sentence....

Her old emotional intelligence could be fairly good! :D

LadyJ wrote:

Maybe she was just talking to someone who curses in every sentence....

Her old emotional intelligence could be fairly good! :D

good point.

LadyJ wrote:
    I know if I'm around a person who curses an awful lot,then I will start to curse that little bit more.
    Do you know if they curse less around you? If people mimick each other you both will meet halfway.

biko wrote:
    Do you know if they curse less around you? If people mimick each other you both will meet halfway.

So when Sweary Mary meets up with Holy Joe, theres fun to be had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

biko wrote:
    Cursing really means that your vocabulary is not adequate and you need to be more eloquent.

That's bullsh*t... Take a look at Patrick Kavanagh! He swore like a pirate but wrote some of the best Irish poetry.

Maybe it means you're lazy, although I don't really think it does. People can switch swearing on and off, and know when it's inappropriate, so refrain from doing it then.

I think it's a choice... I could have said "That's nonsense", but I chose to say "That's bullsh*t" (and I woulda done the same in a vocal conversation more than likely). Same syllables, etc., but I said "bullsh*t" for a reason... don't know what reason that is though!!!

hmmm... maybe some psychologist should get cracking on some research into this ;)

biko wrote:
    True but not everyone does it.

I mean,if you hang around with a person for long enough,you pick up their mannerisms etc. as I'm sure you know.

The mimicking thing is just a basic psychological fact.

AFAIK,you are more likely to do it if you are good with people. It's a means of helping them to relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I curse a lot but never in front of my parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

I think it's part of everyday conversation these days from grannys to schoolkids. I think it's ok that people swear once they're not being nasty with it, you know?
    I always thought that I wasn't a big user of swear words myself but was at a stag party recently where we had a 'swear box' and it cost you a couple of quid every time you swore. I ended up being bloody broke by the end of the night, f**k! :D

I like "See you next tuesday"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

biko wrote:
    I like "See you next tuesday"
    I prefered the guy from Scrubs at the end, most eloquent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

I only curse when I'm angry or get a shock regardless of who's around me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I don't mind a curse here or there but I really dislike people who use it completely pointlessly and blatantly - my girlfriends cousin was giving me a lift home, she's nice and all, but every second word was a totally OTT not to mention completely unnecessary swear word - "Get off the ****ing road you ****ing ****", "Learn to ****ing drive you ****in ****" etc...

It makes me feel somewhat uncomfortable, some people seem to find it amusing but I just plain don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The odd curse would come out of me when I'm working on the computer. Agree with the above post. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭RandomOne

LadyJ wrote:
    True but not everyone does it.

I mean,if you hang around with a person for long enough,you pick up their mannerisms etc. as I'm sure you know.

Totally. I swear less here than in England - maybe I'm hanging around the wrong folk. :D

Edit: Thinking about it, I still swear less when on the phone talking to folk in England, but as soon as I actually go there.........!

I say the c word a lot because the lady at the vagina monolougues told me its a word i should be proud to say!

rofl... I dont curse I'm a lady!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

i curse a good bit- try not to in front of kids - always have its just how i am nothing wrong with the F or C word as far as im concerned- seems to be an irish thing. Cant tolerate peopl esp men telling me off for swearing im not a child if you dont like how I speak then go away from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I think the Irish are the only nation who can succesfully use the C word.

I don't think I curse alot but one time at BK a woman tapped me on the shoulder and asked me to not curse cos her child was with her. I duly obliged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I try not to curse at all, but in a moment of exasperation everyone does it. Saying "Fiddle-dee-dee. That will require a tetanus shot" some times just doesn't cut it. My usual rant at my computer when it BSODs or freezes up is FFS MF. I never use the C word, it grates on my ears like chalk on a blackboard. I can't stand people who curse just in everyday speech also, as a replacement of "like", "um", "eh" or "watchamacallit", I rather any of the former to people filling in the gaps in the their conversation by curseing.

Also about whether or not someone who doesn't curse will curse more around people who do or vice versa, I remember hearing an addage before: "If you rub a clean sheet against dirt, the dirt doesn't get cleaner, the sheet gets dirtier" Someone who doesn't curse will inevitable start cursing if their peer group does so also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

If I'm angry I swear quite a lot...:o

Try not to use bad language infront of the kids....just kind of mutter profanities under my breath :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

I swear a hell of a lot and use racist slurs for fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Is there a difference between cursing and swearing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I find I sometimes curse at the dinner table, but apologise instantly. I find it very ****ing hard to make a point without swearing. But then again I don't curse all the time

Blisterman wrote:
    Is there a difference between cursing and swearing?

Not as far I know. I just put both in case people though "cursing" as in like "I put a curse on you" and "swearing" as in making an oath.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

I love a good **** now and again, my other favs are ****, ****, ****** and not forgetting ********, that has to be the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I say the c word a lot because the lady at the vagina monolougues told me its a word i should be proud to say!

rofl... I dont curse I'm a lady!
    blog%20pic.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Swearing can be creative and eloquent when used with a bit of style,delivery is important and so is context.I like swearing,i'm good at it and can vary its meaning depending on the situation.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

i don't cuss much at all. i have been told by my boss when i let the f word slip ("freakin") that "it's ok to say f@#kin, you know"...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I used feck a lot apparently.. but apart from that I'm not too bad. A bit like the OP, very careful when kids around..

However I curse and swear a hell of a lot when I'm drunk.. maybe my true self coming out!!! :D

As for ladies, well there is nothing worse than seeing a stunning looking girl and as soon as she opens her mouth ever second word is a F this or F that, add that to a complete scumbag accent and I wouldnt give her a second look :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

"Fiddle-dee-dee. That will require a tetanus shot"

ahh god, thank you for making me smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I try my best not to curse wherever possible but can't seem to help it when I'm angry or wound up..though even then I try my best to minimize it as much as possible.
    Have a problem with people excessively cursing around me though, especially if its a woman whos cursing..don't mind the odd swear word here and there but to hear it in every sentence/second sentence it's completely off-putting and would make me think a whole lot less of the person(male or female)
    Then again, not everyone is brought up all that well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Archeron wrote:
    First time I've heard it in a while, but literally every second word she said was f*ck, or worse, the C word (which I thought women really hated) as well as a nice assortment of brightly colored words. I have to say, that this instantly made her look a lot less attractive as a person to me.

Question is, do you cuss like a sailor or are you more selective with your nasty words? What do you think of people who sound like a porn film for the blind?

I dunno, women hate that word? Funnily enough, Ive found that when in the company of men who are swearing alot, women swear more, as if to keep up or contribute. I know girls that, if I was with them and their friends, they wouldnt swear quite as much, but if its just me and her, or her and the lads, its as if shes trying to keep up.

I swear all the time, its just what the Irish do. Used to think it was funny back when I was 6 or so, my dad would tell me to quit swearing. 10 minutes later if his brothers or mates came around the conversation sounded like someone had cloned six Joe Pescis and stuck them in the same room.

Usually tend to keep it civil when around kids, middle aged women or the elderly.

I like birds who swears tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Tha Gopher wrote:
    I swear all the time, its just what the Irish do.

I can't see how people jusitfy their swearing in such a way. Though, I would say, depends on the environment you're brought up in and the type of people surrounding you, though I think it's a huge generalisation to say that the Irish swear, I think it's just a portion of us Irish that do and,not trolling here, would also say that it's the portion from lesser off/poorer backgrounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I would call myself a curser although I know how to tone it down in front of certain people or in work, although having said that I did go on a bit of a rant yesterday when I was told I was being docked a day's wages because the idiots in payroll can't work the flexi clock-in machine, speaking of which they still haven't sorted their mistake and it's pay day tomorrow so if anyone has any good swear words send em on, they might come in handy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Giblet wrote:
    use racist slurs for fun.
    I do that to! Though one day I know someone is gonna overhear me and be not too happy about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I swear a bit but not TOO much. It just sounds really ugly and hearing people swear non-stop without any reason gets a bit grating. Fair enough if they're excited or pissed off or whatever. I find it really annoying, though, when people get offended by c---. It's just a swear word. Nothing more. What's dreadfully offensive is "retard" or "spastic" yet these are considered much more acceptable than c---. You can argue that c--- is offensive to women because it's a derogatory term for the female genitalia etc etc. But when do you hear people using it in that context? Come on! Whatever literal meaning it had in the past has been well lost. It's just a term of abuse now and regularly used to refer to males - possibly moreso than females. Take f---. It means to have sex and is used in that context but also it's totally meaningless in other contexts - "the ****ing bus" was late. That doesn't literally mean "the bus, which was engaged in sexual intercourse, was late". So it's pointless to take swear words literally.