Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dating websites... Would you?

• 16-07-2006 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭

Having recently broken up from a one year relationship, I am on the lookout again:(

Night clubs and pubs seem fine for one night stands, but tbh I find that kind of thing boring having got it out of my system in student days. Though I really enjoy a good party, I dont particularly like pubs and have never met a long-termer in any of them...Maybe its the noise, maybe its the bs that people talk after a few, or maybe its just the type of people that spend a lot of time in them[pubs], in any event they dont really do it for me.

So, where to now? Besides being very modest:D , I am good company, good looking, and a good bet... so where do I go now?

What about dating websites? I have had a look and tbh theres some fairly hot talent out there - and the opportunity to liase in a non-alcohol induced environment appeals to me.

Am I a reject - or do dating websites have merit? And if so, would you if you were in my shoes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Sure why not, you have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Everyone is at it, nearly every ad break (well in the US) features dating websites. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Sure have a go!!! No harm in it... if you find someone you like then get a paying subscription.

Other than than you try mixed tag rugby!! Some people say the women are heifers .. though other say there are some good looking women trying it. (google tag rugby if you do not know what im talking about!)

Also taking interest courses at local college is a good way sometimes.

Then again take no notice of me.. i was with 2 women before i married my 3rd so im probably talking sh!te :D

Oh one of those speed dating things is a good idea.. even if nothing comes of it.. its got to be fun!!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Check out www.evillage.ie its irish and its free.
    www.hotornot.com is good for a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

apparently you can score easily from myspace, but tbh it doesn't feel right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

www.maybefriends.com

On the other hand.. maybe one of the hot boards chicks will see this post PM you!! You never know :D

apparently you can score easily from myspace, but tbh it doesn't feel right

Yep, best stay well away from Myspace. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Ruu wrote:
    Yep, best stay well away from Myspace. :)

lol... well i did say it doesn't feel right! (though i am referring to picking up chicks online in general)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

tut.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

Rofl :D

Zascar, saruman et all, thanks or the tips - hadnt known about evillage.ie; I like the way they give you the option of looking at a range of 18 -120 years - broad-minded or optomistic; Im not sure which :D

That hotornot site is adictive.

So okay, everybody seems to think that web based dating is alright, which is a bit of a change in how its perceived as to how it was a few years ago. But does anyone actually know somebody for whom net dating worked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭lemon_of_old

Yeah, a guy I used to work with met his g/f online. They were Polish, he met her while he was working over here, and after a while she came over to live with them. This was a few years ago, and I was a bit weirded out by it. But my Polish mates told me it's really common there to meet someone online. I don't know if they're still together tbh, but still, it worked for them. Go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

My friend did and she ended up ringing me asking me too collect her because she wound up with some weirdo and she was realatively scared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Yeah, a guy I used to work with met his g/f online. They were Polish, he met her while he was working over here, and after a while she came over to live with them. This was a few years ago, and I was a bit weirded out by it. But my Polish mates told me it's really common there to meet someone online. I don't know if they're still together tbh, but still, it worked for them. Go for it!

I used to work with a Polish lad who met a load of girls online (While still in Poland). Must be a polish tradition or sumfing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭derek27

i'm using one atm and i'm having a larf. met some incredibly lovely people there and am continuing to do so. the issue with it is distance. if ur in dublin and concentrate on other members that are also, then that wouldn't be a problem. a car is a useful utility if you want to be going to meet people. i've had to turn down so many because it just isn't practical for me to travel to see some members. if u use one, be sure to put a picture on your profile, otherwise you'll get very little attention. and when you start getting compliments from people, it'll really make you feel good about yourself. make your profile interesting. and if you think there's something reject about it, do a search of the site looking for males or females of your own area and of any age... you'll get a surprise when you discover just how many people are on it that you actually know. even personally.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Which sites are you using?

Okcupid seems the best though so far i have only been looking...Ive also peeked into the buy and sell dating site... which is odd as it is a good/ok site but isnt it just so yuck + :o that you would look for dates at the same place you would get a 2nd hand car?... Meanwhile Venus.ie appears as if it is just for oul wans!
    Would be interested to hear which sites Derek27 has been using as he seems to find them worthwhile.

Farmers journal ftw! :) Ah here, you're scraping the bottom of the barrel with Buy and Sell.

Ruu wrote:
    Farmers journal ftw! :) Ah here, you're scraping the bottom of the barrel with Buy and Sell.

I know :o . Yet the odd thing is it proportionally has better talent :confused:

BTW Farmers journal ceased their lonely hearts last year. Big :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭derek27

Zascar wrote:
    Which sites are you using?
    datinginireland dot com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

if you're looking for a serious one, consider one that use's paid subs, and is Irish specific. That will cut down on the spam crap.

Try www.sparkireland.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Animalistic

I met my boyfriend on www.datinginireland.com :D We talked for hours every evening for about three months before deciding to meet up ;) and it went from there really. We just clicked i suppose.
    We live a bit of a distance from eachother -he's east , i'm west but we travel up and down to see eachother every week or two for the weekend and talk every night. In fact since we first started talking , there hasnt been one day (at all :eek: ) that we havent talked to eachother :rolleyes: Heading away on holidays now in august together and 8months from the first meeting we're still goin strong and we're planning on moving in together after the summer. Honestly think I've found the one :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I would guess that dating online is just like other places to meet people, you will have to kiss a lot of frogs before you meet "The One."

ODS wrote:
    Am I a reject - or do dating websites have merit? And if so, would you if you were in my shoes?

They are definietly becomming more and more acceptable these days, once upon a time it was only loosers who would use such a service, but now anyone is going on, its the new cool wy to meet people I suppose. I've never done it personally but I've read plenty of stories of people who have. Beats the usual **** in crap nigthclubs anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Animalistic

I would guess that dating online is just like other places to meet people, you will have to kiss a lot of frogs before you meet "The One."

Well lucky for me I only met one frog. He wanted to meet me, so I decided to meet him when out with a group of my friends at a bar. . and he met with me - chatted for a few minutes and then he said he was goin to the jacks. Then he when he hadnt returned ten minutes later i said feck this and went back to my friends. On my way back I spotted him with some people. And I asked him "WTF he was playing at" and he told me to "shhhhhh" that his girlfriend was over there :eek: Well I ****ed him from a height, and very loudly broadcasted that he shouldnt email me to meet me if he has a girlfriend (made damn sure she heard) and i sauntered away to observe the chaos from afar.

About three weeks later I met my prince :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Though I've never actually met anyone from it myself, I'd second the recommendation for www.okcupid.com. It's a little less 'dating' focused than many of the others because there's so many quizes etc on there and so it feels a little less sleazy.

Seems to be quite a few boards.ie peeps on it too ;)