Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

feeling like a right knacker!

• 15-07-2006 2:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

ok, here's the story, up until two nights ago if I went to a house party or whatever with cans, I would leave whatever I have left at the end there. However two nights ago I went to a friends gaff to play poker with 5 cans of Dutch Gold (I usually drink Heineken) because I was broke, and was first out. So I decided to head home but I had only drank 1 can so I took the other 4 with me, quantity over quality.

Then tonight I went to a session after work with 6 cans of Tuborg, once again I was broke. I was there for about an hour and a half and then the party was over. I drank 3 cans, had one stolen and had 2 more in the fridge. I debated with myself as to whether I should take them or not and in the end decided I would. So I went for them and I was noticed by a few people, two of them living in the house and one of them said "oh, Mark comes with beer, and also leaves with beer" the other told me not to take any notice. It didn't bother me until the walk home. I have always had a thing against people who leave someones house with booze, instead of leaving it there for the residents as a thanks. It seems now I am a hypocrate. What realyy makes me think is that I have left more then 2 cans of a more expensive beer in someones house and not thought about it again, but when I had something that was muck I took it home.

My question is this: if you went to a session and it ended before you drank all your cans, would you take the rest with you or leave them there?

would you take your cans home with you? 65 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 65 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Depends whether I know the person well enough. If its a good friend I often leave the cans there (or did when I used to go to house parties) as a thank you for having us all over. But when I crashed some scobe party would always take the cans I hadnt finished. And often cans that other people hadnt finished .

Actually a nice trick was to buy 20 cans. Stash them till the end of the night when everyone else had run out and sell them at €4 a can. Used to go home drunk and with more money than I came out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Marts wrote:
    one of them said "oh, Mark comes with beer, and also leaves with beer" the other told me not to take any notice.
    9 times out of 10, the f*cker who says this brought none, and wants to drink your beer. Ask them did they bring beer, and if they say no, ask why they should have yours? If they say yes, ask why they want your beer? If I leave beer in a mates gaff, its left there till I come back. Likewise when mates pop over to my gaff.

You're broke, and its not your job to supply them with drink. If they solely invite you, so that you bring them beer, make new friends, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Im a light drinker so if i hit my limit before the drink runs out ill offer them to a worthy recipient rather than leave them to the whims of the 'thirstiest' person. Ignore them Mark, more than likely they wanted them for themselves and your honesty deprived them of the drinks... just dont forget about said drinks, beer doesn't age well ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I do both depending on the occasion/how drunk I am/ how forgetful I am being.
    Four cans of Bulmers left over from my birthday was the most recent one. Brought them home, left hash though under clause forgetful. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Grimes wrote:

Actually a nice trick was to buy 20 cans. Stash them till the end of the night when everyone else had run out and sell them at €4 a can. Used to go home drunk and with more money than I came out with.

thats more knackery that the op`s question;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I'd leave them there generally speaking to be honest, because usually when it reaches that stage I've already had enough. But if I had to go unexpectedly, I suppose I'd still leave them there as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I find the suggestion that I'd leave a party when there was still booze in the fridge highly amusing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Franky Boy

No ****ing chance i'd leave them there.You could most likely drink them on the way home or at home.I'd say those people were pretty ****ing stuck!Plus you were broke so you had a right to take them back!

I wouldn't really bring any...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

It depends who's house I'm at. If it's a good friends, generally I'd leave them there. Simply because, they live 2 seconds away from me so the next day I go down, have a beer. That way I don't have to bring beer every night. (this only works because most of my friends don't drink Heiniken)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Depends how many cans yer talkin about... I wouldn't leave them in the fridge as a "present" for the host or anythin, anyways! I'd probably leave 2 or 3, anymore and I'll take them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

If I was going home Id leave them there. Because if I didnt id only have to throw them in a bush or something ("no drink inside the house":rolleyes: ). But if youre going home to bed why do you want to take drink home?

On the other hand if we were going out Id usually bring drink with me for the walk (we usually walk into town). Yes I know that makes me an Anto, but Im "down with that".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I wouldn't usually drink beer at my own gaff, only when i'm out. So i'd leave them there, kinda like the way you bring a box of chocolates and wine over when having dinner with someone, you wouldn't just empty whatevers left of the chocolates back into the box and cork the wine and take it home with you. The same with beer, you half bring it because you want to have it yourself, but its also to say "cheers for having us over" by leaving whatevers left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

My Grandaunt used to do this. She'd call over, usually bring cake that she made and wed eat some of it, then before she left shed wrap it back up, and walk back up to her house:confused: She had a lot of visitors though so maybe all the cake making just pissed her right off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

If you left drink in the house, I'd see it as saying that the party wasn't good enough for you, and you decided it'd be better to go home than stay and get pissed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Be a man and drink your cans next time ya big auldone:D even if it means pukeing all over your mates garden on the way home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I dont know about yous, but I always bring a crate of beer. I've been to parties that have run dry and that is not fun. I'm certainly not going to drink 24 cans in one night. Plus when I leave them there I usually text the next day and say "I left the last of my cans in your place, i'll be over next wknd to pick them up"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭punky

Absolutey yes. Hands of me cans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Marts wrote:
    ok, here's the story, up until two nights ago if I went to a house party or whatever with cans, I would leave whatever I have left at the end there. However two nights ago I went to a friends gaff to play poker with 5 cans of Dutch Gold (I usually drink Heineken) because I was broke, and was first out. So I decided to head home but I had only drank 1 can so I took the other 4 with me, quantity over quality.

Then tonight I went to a session after work with 6 cans of Tuborg, once again I was broke. I was there for about an hour and a half and then the party was over. I drank 3 cans, had one stolen and had 2 more in the fridge. I debated with myself as to whether I should take them or not and in the end decided I would. So I went for them and I was noticed by a few people, two of them living in the house and one of them said "oh, Mark comes with beer, and also leaves with beer" the other told me not to take any notice. It didn't bother me until the walk home. I have always had a thing against people who leave someones house with booze, instead of leaving it there for the residents as a thanks. It seems now I am a hypocrate. What realyy makes me think is that I have left more then 2 cans of a more expensive beer in someones house and not thought about it again, but when I had something that was muck I took it home.

My question is this: if you went to a session and it ended before you drank all your cans, would you take the rest with you or leave them there?

:rolleyes: thread of the month

depends how many were left and if the persons who's house it is drinks cider or beer or whatever!! My mates drink vodka so they give the cans back to me, if its my relations house I usually just take them and they do me when i'm ordering a chinese the next day when hungover! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

:rolleyes: thread of the month

you do know you dont have to reply or read it?

OP id say just leave the cans there. Unless youre a student in which case all rules on social etiquette are out the window and you can just do whatever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

I tink d only solution ere is 2 drink all ur cans! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

This thread delivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

too ****ing right i'd take my cans with me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robnubis

Well me and mates are understanding, we all buy our own beer at the start of the night, and we all take home what we dont use, more than likely theres nothing left though.

If its a big party, more than likely if a mate asks for something i'll give it, if i have it. Otherwise, well tbh if you dont know half the ppl, screw them, you paid for it not them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Depends on
    1. Amount of cans left
    2. If I plan to drink them the next day
    3. Where I am

2 or less cans - always leave
    3+ cans will take if I plan to drink them the following day
    If in a friends place that has an "open fridge" policy will always leave to be enjoyed by others unless planning to drink them the next day.

Only once in recent times can I remember leaving somewhere with cans (it was a slow night and there wasn't much drinking - so I decided to take my last 3 with me for the next day).

I would definitely take them if I was stoney broke thou - charity beings at home :D

D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

I usually take my remaining cans aswell as all the others in the fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I usually take my remaining cans aswell as all the others in the fridge.

LOL (",) I remember taking my cans, evryone else's cans and a coupla steaks that had been left out - made for a decent breakfast :o

As someone said before, if you a student - no rules apply. You have full right to take back your cans, water from their tap and any cigarette butts which no one else has claimed.

If you're working, then anything below a 6 pack can be left IMO. If they're good mates then chances are the beer will still be there the next time you call around (it has happened!)

Above all though, it should be no one's place to comment on whether you take home your beer or not. As I said in another thread today, the Irish are the most pass remarkable race on earth so what can ya do :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

If anyone was drinking Dutch Gold in my house, I'd rather they took it with them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

interesting question

my answer is preety simple take 1 leave another i bet your not the only 1 like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

I find the suggestion that I'd leave a party when there was still booze in the fridge highly amusing.

pretty spot on with me...

Though my housemates were notorious for running off with drink at the end of parties.

One party one of them left with a pirate hat (which i have inherited) a eyepatch, a toy gun and 2 bottles of vodka.

but as far as i can tell this is normal policy in the UK (or in cambridge at least) because guests at our parties and at other parties i have been to have done the same...i seem to be the only one who doesnt try to steal all the remaining drinks (i just try to drink them). Though i was an accomplice to one such act when my scottish housemate filled my overcoat (left hanging in the hallway) up with bottles of corona and i was so *overcome* with alcohol that i didnt notice them when leaving the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

I'd steal every drink I could because the others don't deserve to drink with a man like me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

if i'm at a party and the usual 'just got back from the pub, but didn't remember to get any cans' crowd show up, i'll guard my cans with my life.
    if someone has a genuine reason for not having any cans, then i'll leave them behind.
    i'll always bring extra, just in case someone doesn't have any. there are usually never enough left to bring home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

julep wrote:
    if i'm at a party and the usual 'just got back from the pub, but didn't remember to get any cans' crowd show up, i'll guard my cans with my life.
    if someone has a genuine reason for not having any cans, then i'll leave them behind.
    i'll always bring extra, just in case someone doesn't have any. there are usually never enough left to bring home.

That's pretty much the same as me. I have a few mates (one cnut in particular) who are notorious for stealing drink so I always keep an eye on my drink, but if I've had enough, I'll gladly hand them over to any deserving soul.

But there is one important fact that is going unnoticed...
    So I decided to head home but I had only drank 1 can so I took the other 4 with me, quantity over quality.
    I was there for about an hour and a half and then the party was over.

You really have to start going to better parties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

come to mine!

always a morning after burger fry up on the barbecue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭spooiirt!!

Its a toughie alright. There are a lot of elements that you have to keep in mind in such a situation, many different possibilities to be considered, certainly a discussion in which both sides bring sensible arguments.

Alternatively just take your bleeding cans home if you feel like it, and if you dont, then dont!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

jomanji wrote:
    You really have to start going to better parties!
    generally I do, but on those occations I have no problem leaving booze there, I just found it interesting that I took Dutch Gold and Tuborg home. the dirts's not comming off!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Marts,
    I think the first night you did the right thing. You only drank one so its only fair you took the rest home.I think if I had been you and not been broke I may have left 2 of them there and then headed home.
    I think for the second night I would have left them(although after 3 cans I may be thinking differently!).
    Its a no win situation so don't worry about it.
    If you leave all your cans at a party every time, your a soft touch. If you always take your remaining cans after a party your a mean fecker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭raheny red

Marts wrote:
    5 cans of Dutch Gold (I usually drink Heineken) because I was broke, and was first out.

Jaysus you must have been really smashed if you didn't buy the 6 :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

personally I always leave it behind but that's mostly because I'm too lazy to bring it home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

raheny red wrote:
    Jaysus you must have been really smashed if you didn't buy the 6 :eek: :D
    I had the 5 Dutchie because the week before after work a few of us played Ring Of Fire on an 'open bar'. then we had to go to someone's gaff so I bought a 6pack of dutch and went. I drank one and people started getting sick and the game was called off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

you do know you dont have to reply or read it?

OP id say just leave the cans there. Unless youre a student in which case all rules on social etiquette are out the window and you can just do whatever

I'm just having a laugh :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭TheDuck32

monkeyfudge is only person to make a valid point in this thread.
    What kind of parties do you people go to.
    Its against the rules to leave before all the booze is gone.
    I will allow for 1 single exception,

you found a female that is either drunk or desperate enough to have sex with you, in which case abandon everything and get her back to yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Ive never even thought of taking booze at the end of a party. Its kinda an unspoken rule (among the people at parties Im at anyway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

I think its scabby brining them home. I wouldnt dream of it. If someone let me drink in their house, dirty their carpet, etc, surely leaving them some drink is a way of saying thanks, even if they are strangers.If I say you taking cans home, I'd think 'Strange boy'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

Why the hell would you bring your left overdrink home that's being very stingy..anyway I'm usually so drunk I'd be lucky if I brought my shoes home with me nevermind my ''left overcans'' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

i usually wouldnt have any left....but if i did I'd leave them....or take one for the walk:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Yeah I'd definitely leave them there, it sorta makes you look like a scroungy fecker if you're dipping into the fridge to take back your drink at the end of the night. The host of the party went to the trouble of inviting you, the least you could do is spare a few cans. Them €10 worth of cans aren't gonna break the bank now are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

kinda depends on your financial situation.

i'd imagine if you're a poor student, then taking the rest of your drink, is normal enough.

if money is not an issue, i''d think it a little bit measly taking your cans with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Same as myself tbh.

Though I've done both, if it's a good friend's house I'd be more inclined to leave them as most of my mates are working and operate a kind of 'open fridge' policy anyways. If there's beer there anyone would usually be welcome to one. At a total stranger's house where I've gotten a late/tenuous invite I'd almost certainly leave the cans as a 'cheers for having me' thing. If it was an aquantice that I'd just kinda dropped in for a while and was heading on somewhere else, I'd take them with me...