Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girl on train......

• 14-07-2006 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭

Theres this girl/young lady who gets on and off at the same stations as I do on my way home from work. She is absolutely gorgeous.
    We've made eye contact over the last few days.

Shall I made an attempt to initiate conversation, if so how?

Coz I want to.

I have 30 minutes

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Today, make eye contact, smile in recognition and say "hey". If she blanks you or looks away, abort the mission. If she returns the gesture, the next day you can take it a step further, perhaps asking how she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Faith wrote:
    Today, make eye contact, smile in recognition and say "hey". If she blanks you or looks away, abort the mission. If she returns the gesture, the next day you can take it a step further, perhaps asking how she is.

Sound advice, but this should be in PI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

is this the Dart by any chance? if it is just pull down your trousers and ask her if she wants the roide. I hear its pretty common on the dort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Thanks Faith an extra gold star for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Ask her does she take it up the shi*e pipe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Posted by Faith:

Instead of asking "How She IS" try asking "How was your day today?" That will be a more open question and you both will have more to say, and you won't sound like a letch!!!!!!

L4L

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

My god, turning to boards for help on getting a women. get a life.

Actually judging by the laws of averages, she probably wont be one it this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Drop The Hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Lenny wrote:
    That's what he's trying to do.

Faith's advice is good. If she uses the same station as you, maybe invite her for a coffee after a couple of days of just saying "hi" or whatever... Presuming there's a coffee shop/café/bar nearby, of course!

Drop The Hand

I'll bear that in mind, good luck to yis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

em are you a bird too, that looks like a girl in you avatar, maybe you should post this in the lesbian/gay/bi forum

and that the hell am i supposed to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

#Elites wrote:
    lmfao... Thats Mr Burns from the Simpsons:D:D:D

Is it really? I thought it was Mr. Boo-urns from some other tv show? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭spudster101

Just spray on some lynx and yall be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Just bear it in mind that she could think you are one crazy fool and shoot you down, then you will have to find another mode of transport for the embarrassment will haunt you for years to come.

Best thing is to find out her local watering hole, then ply her with our little friend Gordons Dry Gin!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Bring a packet of tic tacs with you and shake them at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Lenny wrote:

Even worse, turning to boards for advice on getting a woman on public transport :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

mukki wrote:
    and that the hell am i supposed to be
    You're Mr Hanky the Christmas poo. He's a South Park character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Why don't you just say "hello", "I've seen you a good few times on the dart. Whats your name" . Then you tell her your name, and then you ask her does she take it in the sh1te pipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

Xdddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Theres this girl/young lady who gets on and off at the same stations as I do on my way home from work.
    How about some stalking after you've checked for rings ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

Theres this girl/young lady who gets on and off at the same stations as I do on my way home from work. She is absolutely gorgeous.
    We've made eye contact over the last few days.

Shall I made an attempt to initiate conversation, if so how?

Coz I want to.

I have 30 minutes
    well???!?!/1 aren't you gonna tell us what happened today then?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

shouldn't his be in the transport forum? Ask the mod of trains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

This is getting worrying, Funsterdelux should have replied by now. I'll bet the girl laughed into his face and he threw himself under the train.

Oh well, at least we can have a good session at the funeral. Boards Beers anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

When I first read the original post, I had to stop.
    I gave a good, honest response.
    But my original thought was, "You're riding a train with this gal! Just tell her you're a smoother ride!"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I have 30 minutes

Funsterdelux: We want a full report upon your return from the field.:cool: Now, for a word from our sponsors...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

There are way to many "shouldn't this be in the _____ forum" and "tbh" posts on boards, some of you guys need to find something else to post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Rofl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

from ah.

sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Weh!

Just go up and speak to her OP.

(now that this is in PI we'll be having no sh*te pipe type comments thanks..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

hmm i met the guy im currently crushing on on the train from dublin to galway. its the same cept we were talking for hours i guess. met again by accident in town the next day too. althought im not sure what will happen now as one of us has "issues"... go for it. fear of rejection and hurt is part of life and even thought noone likes being hurt its a wasted life just to let it make your decisions for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

You're the one with the issues, aren't you.

OP, your best bet is blantantly look her in the eye and smile (A "Hello" type smile) .... If you receive one back, say "How are you?", she'll say "good, you?" and take it from there...

no actually he is btw....

i dont know why ppl need advice on things like this. whats the worst that can happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭pablo21

Where is this guy gone?? How did he get on???? Stay back with that kettle!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Unhelpful and off-topic posting will get you banned from this forum.
    Do take time to read the charter which contains the rules and abide by them.
    Have a nice day.
    Thaedydal

Thaedydal wrote:
    Unhelpful and off-topic posting will get you banned from this forum.
    Do take time to read the charter which contains the rules and abide by them.
    Have a nice day.
    Thaedydal
    ya guys stop being funny its against the rules here :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

This the last warning that will be given out his thread started in after hours but it is now in personal issues and the rules are differnt and you may find them in the charter.

If your post is not helpful to the issue the OP has then don't post it as it will be off topic and you will get banned for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

hmm i met the guy im currently crushing on on the train from dublin to galway. its the same cept we were talking for hours i guess. met again by accident in town the next day too. althought im not sure what will happen now as one of us has "issues"... go for it. fear of rejection and hurt is part of life and even thought noone likes being hurt its a wasted life just to let it make your decisions for you.
    Sounds like Before Sunrise/Sunset. :cool:

Yeah OP, just smile at her, or say hello and take it from there.

haha did someone have trust issues in that film too?

op its really just that easy. smile and say hi. tell us how it goes

Actually judging by the laws of averages, she probably wont be one it this evening.

Dunno why I bother, yous should have listened to this post, she wasnt on the train, anywho I wont be gettin the train weather permitting anymore, thanx for the good the bad and the ugly advice,

oh yeah, I dont be near a internet connection at the weekends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Mola.mola

awww well i'm sure you'll find another girl soon to have a crush on and not talk to.

Mola.mola wrote:
    awww well i'm sure you'll find another girl soon to have a crush on and not talk to.
    lol... :p em OP dont worry you'll see her again sometime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Ahhhh, I was all set for a "one day, on the DART, I met my true love" type of story. It would have suited the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I know a couple who met on a train to Dublin, now she's expecting and they're getting married shortly. Carpe Diem!

Just my 2c

I think its too late for me, :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Tell the truth.
    Talk to her about seeing her everyday. Then Normal conversation. DONT invite her anywhere.
    The next time you see her on the train (assuming all went well and you talked for more than 10 seconds the 1st time) invite her for coffee, or ask for phone number to do same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Even so, chalk it down to experience and go for it the next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

she could have been a spa, chin up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Reminds me of a James Blunt song :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

You know where she lives (or at least the general vicinity). Go try out a few pubs in that area ;)