Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Curtains open, 42" for all to see

• 14-07-2006 10:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭

has anyone noticed this trend? people in houses who have the big plasma, lcd proudly hanging on the wall but conveniently forgot to close the curtains.

the house im talking about is the one that practically has the tele hanging out the window with neon signs "look at us"

this can be a small, council house or can be a 5 bed detatched on aylsebury road.

amusing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

it's actually just that very, very few houses seem to have net curtains anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

No. I'm sure the neon sign says "Rob me! I'm a twat."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

T&#225 wrote: »
    has anyone noticed this trend? people in houses who have the bog plasma, lcd proudly hanging on the wall but conveniently forgot to close the curtains.

the house im talking about is the one that practically has the tele hanging out the window with neon signs "look at us"

this can be a small, council house or can be a 5 bed detatched on aylsebury road.

amusing
    What the fcuks a bog plasma? Is it one of those tellys where the screen sinks down in the middle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

I dont have net curtains in my appartment, im on the second floor and I hate net curtains and I have a 32inch LCD TV.

No one ever sees that except for the Pigeons though, and me, and my friends.

Emmo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I remember on the road where i'm from people who "came into money" would do the gaff up and get rid of the curtains so you could see the interior in all its flyblown finery,the money usually came from claims or redundancy so i'm informed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I usually keep the blind pulled down in my room to keep what's inside away from prying eyes while i'm out.

With a 32" LCD, Xbox 360, PSP, Marshall Amp, Stratocaster, and other stuff, any scumbag would be delighted to come in.

Neighbours down the road back in my home place are hilarious, even at night they keep the curtains open. And at X-mas their house resembles the middle of a massive city with all the lights and decorations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

I was driving by a house near me once (out in the country). The top bay window had that big blue Monsters inc. fella full size. I took a double take and no one believed me when I told them.
    I reckon it's a projector projected onto the curtains usually but, but at night they don't bother closing them and that was what I saw. Freaked me out at the time as I hadn't seen the movie. Big blue b*stard....

chamlis wrote:
    I was driving by a house near me once (out in the country). The top bay window had that big blue Monsters inc. fella full size. I took a double take and no one believed me when I told them.
    I reckon it's a projector projected onto the curtains usually but, but at night they don't bother closing them and that was what I saw. Freaked me out at the time as I hadn't seen the movie. Big blue b*stard....

Had you been smoking that waccy tobaccy again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

i detect a hint of jealousy somewhere in this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

What are you doing staring in people's windows anyway?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Close AH down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

jealousy from me? hardly...i have curtains

What are you doing staring in people's windows anyway?:D

he's a keen peeping tom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

has anyone noticed this trend? people in houses who have the big plasma, lcd proudly hanging on the wall but conveniently forgot to close the curtains.

amusing

friend of mine in denmark bought himself once, went on holiday for the weekend about 2 weeks after getting and came home to find they had taken the tv and the wall mounts...

i suggested he actually get some curtains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Degsy wrote:
    he's a keen peeping tom!

Wouldn't the world be a lot simpler if there was a place where peeping tom's and exhibitionists could meet up? It would save all of that hassle I get explaining to the police why I'm sitting in a tree with a pair of binoculars at half-past one in the morning!

On-topic:
    My aunt and uncle used to do this when they were the first family in their estate to get a Video recorder. Net curtains came down, blinds went in and remained open all day. Then they were robbed, replaced the video only to have it robbed again. Blinds came down, net curtains went up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Karoma wrote:
    No. I'm sure the neon sign says "Rob me! I'm a twat."

Agreed. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Zhane

I HATE net curtains. Reminds me of my grans house when she had net curtains so thick you couldnt see through them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

What's a TV?????:p
    Gave up that habit for internet!!! I'll never own a plasma.
    Just shows how void someone's life is that they have to buy such a huge set while there is absolutely nothing of quality to watch on it these days!!!

L4L

amusing
    deal with it...some people just forget to close their curtains , i know i do sometimes

your missing my point: the homes i'm talking about haven't "forgot" to close them.

i dont really care. its just something i find amusing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Lust4Life wrote:
    Just shows how void someone's life is that they have to buy such a huge set while there is absolutely nothing of quality to watch on it these days!!!

L4L

Haven't you heard of the concept of "Home Cinema"?

I've a 42inch plasma screen because we watch lots of movies and loads of sport at home. I also have blinds though, set at an angle that lets light in, but you would have to crouch down to look in and you'd still only see the ceiling. I'm not into neighbours being able to peer into the house, nor am I interested enough in their movements to justify leaving the blinds open so that I can see out.

I agree with the OP that it's silly to advertise what swag a thief can have if the decides to break-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Dolores O'Riordan from the Cranberries has a house on the ennis road in Limerick, I saw a massive TV in the living room once as I passed on the bus. I don't see the point in spending money on TV myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I've noticed this around my neighbourhood recently. Some people hanging plasma's over the fireplace right opposite the front window and then leaving the blinds open.

These are the same people that have the matching fake Greek statues in each window, i reacon its pure "look what I have" attitude.

I personally have a big 42 inch plasma and its positioned in such a way that it can't be seen even if you stick your face to my window. Its the best way to have it, i don't want people knowing what I have in my house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

K-TRIC wrote:
    I've noticed this around my neighbourhood recently. Some people hanging plasma's over the fireplace right opposite the front window and then leaving the blinds open.

I was told that it's a really bad idea to hang a plasma screen over a fireplace as the heat can shorten the lifespan of the screen, also it would be a lot more prone to "image bleed" amongst other things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

I have a 14" Phillips portable TV. So there.

K-TRIC wrote:
    These are the same people that have the matching fake Greek statues in each window, i reacon its pure "look what I have" attitude.

lol....yes THIS is what i'm talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

lol....yes THIS is what i'm talking about.

And i bet under closer inspection the tv would be the cheapest off the shelf crap from Powercity and not even HD compatable ;)

BEKO all the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

K-TRIC wrote:

My girlfriend reckons they are a gang things, shows it a safe house or something.

Emmo

and do you believe her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

I keep the blinds drawn, any self respecting computer user has a penchant for the darkness.

The light, she buuuuuuuurns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

(size of tv)/(size of house) = level of chav

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

#Elites wrote:
    i have it just in my front room, and if u look from the road u can see, but we dont have curtains so...

What's the matter...spend all the money on the telly?

Where I live, you have net curtains to hide the good net curtains...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I walk home past some of the flats on Gardiner St on my way home from work, and the other night I was looking in the windows of the ground floors (as you do).. and there's Fair City, in huuuuge plasma widescreen!

Now, if I was a Fair City fan, that's the way I'd want to watch it!

I did get quite jealous though, I can't afford a big feck off sized plasma widescreen telly :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Diarmiud

I walk home past some of the flats on Gardiner St on my way home from work, and the other night I was looking in the windows of the ground floors (as you do).. and there's Fair City, in huuuuge plasma widescreen!

Now, if I was a Fair City fan, that's the way I'd want to watch it!

I did get quite jealous though, I can't afford a big feck off sized plasma widescreen telly :(

That's the only way to watch Bella!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

chamlis wrote:

Didn't happen to be at halloween was it?

Reason I ask is that we converted the garage into a Home-Cinema. Our display is a Panasonic projector and the screen hangs infront of the window. We have nets on the window and a blackout black blind between the nets and the screen to get the room dark. The blind and screen are permanently down and are only rolled up do clean and air the room.

The one exception is Halloween, when we put on a scarey movie, roll up the screen, roll up the blackout blind and project the movie onto/through the nets. Gives a real ethereal effect as the kids walk up the drive. I suggested the first time we did this that we put on the kid friendly monsters inc, ie Monsters but not scarey. My brother suggested the Predator unmasked and roaring on a loop. Thats what we did. The kids absolutely loved it! And I don't just mean 12 year olds. The next year we actually did put on Monsters Inc and a 6 year old complained that he was hoping to see Alien this year!! So much for 18 cert!

Stopped doing this every Halloween when we started to get scruffier non local kids calling. Stereotyping or not, I couldn't help but worry that rough little deco was going to go home and tell Rough big brother Anto about the projector at number 12 :D

Wasn't me whos house you saw though unless you consider Bray...'out in the country"

PS, I don't live at Number 12 btw! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Close AH down.

I agree - 90% of the threads in the last while are either pointless or in the wrong place.

And before someone else says it - "Yes, I have too much time on my hands"

AH is slipping.

edit:
    Nermal wrote:

I'm assuming you're English. Never heard 'chav' used to describe a scummer/skanger etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I noticed this phenomonen yseterday walking past an apartment block - 4 in a row with lcd/plasmas up on the wall clearly visible. Though I have to say myself that a I put a 42 plasma in my front room in the opposite corner to the window. The reason was to allow me lie back in my recliner armchair as far away as possible from the tv with beer at hand. I had to move the tv since as my missus is not very security concious and the tv could be seen from a few hundred metres down the road. Thinking that we were an advertiement to be burgled, I subsequently moved it beside the window facing in. Had I not lived in dublin I don't think I'd have been so concerned and I think that they are so common now that there really isn't such a showw-off factor to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

But plasma/LCD picture quality sucks compared to CRT. People are so easily sold on hype :o

I thought only social welfare people had net curtains these days. I live in a small apartment development and it's easy to spot the ones rented to the corpo. Everyone else has blinds or something.

28" widescreen CRT / 600sq.ft apartment. Can someone calculate my chav factor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

deal with it...some people just forget to close their curtains , i know i do sometimes
    oh dear lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Day-wanna-wonga

amusing

Bullsh*t - a lot of semi-detached house only have one place they can practically put the TV - and a lot of times it's in a corner beside the front window, or at the front window itself.