Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Poor" Taxi Drivers

• 12-07-2006 10:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭

Well they're at it again, a nationwide 24-hour stoppage on Monday. What do you think? I think they're a shower of robbing bástards and don't support them at all...

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0712/taxi.html

The three main unions representing taxi drivers have announced a nationwide 24-hour withdrawal of services by their members next week.

The stoppage will come into effect at 5am on Monday morning next, 17 July, and continue until 5am the following morning.

The unions say the action is being taken due to the failure of the Commissioner for Taxi Regulation to recognise the concerns of their members in an action plan for reform of the sector.

The announcement was made in newspaper advertisements today by the Irish Taxi Drivers Federation, the National Taxi Drivers Union and SIPTU.

They say such action will continue on an ongoing basis and will reach a peak in September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Emergency Met Office announcement: High probability of hot air and flame showers in the vacinity of this thread for the duration of its existance. Travellers should also expect some deja vu, with repetition of long standing view points, valid or otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

lol, my thoughts exactly... "ooh, here we go again" :D :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

Just wait for the taxi drivers to come on with the poor mouth. complaining about the price of a car, insurance and fuel and forgetting to mention that all of these things are tax and vat free to them. In fact they get them much much cheaper than the the average car owner.
    Why dont we boycott taxis for the weekend before their strike, just to show them what it feels like and give them another couple of days off :)

In fact thats the answer to the strikes. Every time there is a strike, the people effected should boycott the fukcers on the next Saturday night. See how often they strike then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Have ya been out long?

Busy?

Why don't you tell me your opinions on EVERYTHING, cheers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Yes, a rather pointless thread. Each side holds an entrenched position and no ground or recognition will be conceded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Yes, a rather pointless thread. Each side holds an entrenched position and no ground or recognition will be conceded.

Well that's that then, thank you and goodnight!

Ok, thanks for stopping by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Ohhh they're striking on a Monday, that will really hit them in the pocket. Why not a Friday or Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Have ya been out long?

Busy?

Why don't you tell me your opinions on EVERYTHING, cheers....

Now I'm not racist, but.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I have to say I'm wondering would total deregulation of taxi pricing sort this out?

Obviously, the drivers would still have to hold PSV licences and have their cars kept up to scratch etc but if prices were unfixed would the market be able to sort out prices better? They might go up short-term but if they went too high, the market would respond and drag them to a more realistic price.

I find this thread offensive and taxidriverist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Sleepy wrote:
    They might go up short-term but if they went too high, the market would respond and drag them to a more realistic price.

Just like the property market!!! :D

Sleepy wrote:
    I have to say I'm wondering would total deregulation of taxi pricing sort this out?

Obviously, the drivers would still have to hold PSV licences and have their cars kept up to scratch etc but if prices were unfixed would the market be able to sort out prices better? They might go up short-term but if they went too high, the market would respond and drag them to a more realistic price.

So would each taxi charge a different fare depending on how much the taxi driver thought he could extract from the passenger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

JimmySmith wrote:
    In fact thats the answer to the strikes. Every time there is a strike, the people effected should boycott the fukcers on the next Saturday night. See how often they strike then.

This is a brilliant idea. I would love to see them all sitting in the taxi rank on a saturday night with no customers, instead of the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,530 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

hmm striking on a monday, why not make it a friday or saturday boys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭garred

Well they're at it again, a nationwide 24-hour stoppage on Monday. What do you think? I think they're a shower of robbing bástards and don't support them at all...

Yeah all taxi drivers are robbing bastards. I know cause I've used every single taxi driver and every time they have robbed me. Every single one of them complain, lecture, preach. They are all the same, they are scum.
    I know this because I have always been sober in the cab. I have never expressed my opinion to taxi drivers just have to always listen to their ramblings. They want more money, eventhough diesel, insurance, standard of living has increased since their last hike which was years ago. That is ridiculous. I will never use one of the bastards again........

Yawn

garred wrote:
    Yeah all taxi drivers are robbing bastards. I know cause I've used every single taxi driver and every time they have robbed me. Every single one of them complain, lecture, preach. They are all the same, they are scum.
    I know this because I have always been sober in the cab. I have never expressed my opinion to taxi drivers just have to always listen to their ramblings. They want more money, eventhough diesel, insurance, standard of living has increased since their last hike which was years ago. That is ridiculous. I will never use one of the bastards again........

Yawn
    Shouldn't you be in the airport taxi queue waiting to pick up tourists and charge them €50+ to get into town?

Nope cause I pick people up and charge them what it says on the meter and fare chart, which I have to do by law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

JimmySmith wrote:
    Just wait for the taxi drivers to come on with the poor mouth. complaining about the price of a car, insurance and fuel and forgetting to mention that all of these things are tax and vat free to them. In fact they get them much much cheaper than the the average car owner.

Are you sure about that, I've never heard that before?

EDIT: According to this message board they are not allowed to register for VAT: http://www.askaboutmoney.com/showthread.php?t=18602

Kernel wrote:
    Are you sure about that, I've never heard that before?

EDIT: According to this message board they are not allowed to register for VAT: http://www.askaboutmoney.com/showthread.php?t=18602

Any businness who charge VAT are allowed to register for it. Quite possibly there is no VAT content in Taxi Fares and thats why they dont register for it and so could not reclaim it.

They still definitely dont pay tax on any expenses related to their car though. Like insurance, Petrol, car washes, valets, typres, mechanics and many more. Because these hings come out of their profits before tax.

garred wrote:

Yawn

Told you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

i hope they don't get a single cent extra. i especially hope that the f*****s that sit in the "kesh" in the airport and then go crazy when you say "swords" dont get a cent.

these are the people the state employ to meet and great our tourists???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭DOLEMAN

garred wrote:
    Nope cause I pick people up and charge them what it says on the meter and fare chart, which I have to do by law.

Yes, but do you drive them half way around the city?

When I get a taxi to the airport it's about 15/20 euros. I'm Irish.
    When my French girlfriend gets a taxi to the airport it's about 30 euros.

Wtf?

garred wrote:
    What percentage of your earnings did you pay in income tax in the last tax year?

DOLEMAN wrote:
    Yes, but do you drive them half way around the city?

When I get a taxi to the airport it's about 15/20 euros. I'm Irish.
    When my French girlfriend gets a taxi to the airport it's about 30 euros.

Wtf?
    No I'd always ask what way they want to go. Firstly they are the one hiring the taxi so I'd go as instructed and secondly they might know of a shorter way than if I was to choose the route, not saying I'd go the longest way but I might not know every little shortcut to their destination.
    If this is happening to your girlfriend, going the same route/time, next time get her to get a receipt and report him/her to the carriage office. Unfortunately there are the muppets out there who do this. I'm not saying I'm an angel but I do hate being scammed. As I said in a previous similar thread if you were being "done" by a shop or another service area you would be of to the ombudsman, complaints dept, etc so taxis should be no different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭intheknow

I am a taxi driver, a nice one !! I even let punters smoke if they want, Not going on strike, I dont like most of the drivers I meet.If someone is short a few bob on the fare....I dont make a big deal, Been there etc !!If anyone really needs a lift on that day, PM me....we can do a deal, did a fare to Tallaght last week from town for a Coldplay CD !!We are not all tossers, but most drivers are...I am a nice one and will not be going on strike, I even supply free skins !! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Diogenes

intheknow wrote:
    , did a fare to Tallaght last week from town for a Coldplay CD !!

Jesus if I got into a taxi and he was playing coldplay, my fare would go up by €50 for the "cleanup" surcharge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

garred wrote:
    Good for you, but a common one I am seeing these days when going to the southside from the airport (even very inner southside) is "I'll take you via the M50, it's faster" and failing to mention that it will also _double_ the fare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

T&#225 wrote: »
    i hope they don't get a single cent extra. i especially hope that the f*****s that sit in the "kesh" in the airport and then go crazy when you say "swords" dont get a cent.

I was just about to say that Tack, and as this thread will no doubt be read by taxi drivers can I just say this:

It's not my fault a Swords run is a pain in the arse for you - it is for me too, believe it or not. However, as I constantly tell you when I'm in your cab, it's the DAA's fault, not mine - if you go to swords, they should let you in at the front of the queue.

however, if you continue to whinge at me, you won't get a cent tip and I'll be laughing my hole off as you trudge back up to the airport.

But: a practical tip. The last taxi driver (very helpful, got a large tip, taxi drivers please take note) told me it's handier to run up to departures and grab a cab thats dropping off - you don't (or shouldn't) get the airport charge in that case, and they are happy to get the fare.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I got stiffed for 25 quid from the airport to finglas recently,he wouldnt go the way i suggested(the back of the airport,via kilshane cross) and instead insisted on going via the m50.It should've taken about 10 minutes and cost no more than 15 quid.Bloody swindler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Diogenes

Degsy wrote:
    I got stiffed for 25 quid from the airport to finglas recently,he wouldnt go the way i suggested(the back of the airport,via kilshane cross) and instead insisted on going via the m50.It should've taken about 10 minutes and cost no more than 15 quid.Bloody swindler.

My favourite was a friend of mine on new years day 2001 (day of the euro) called a taxi to drop him to the airport and when he got in the meter had already got 9€ on it. My friend went "hang on, I know we're getting used to things looking more expensive, but thats a bit much" the taxi driver turned and said "jaysus not another one"

The way they go on with teh airport you'd think they had to cross a dangerous border and bribe corrupt officials.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

i use to get a taxi to work every morning. it usually cost between €10-€12 depending on traffic.

one morning i got it and it was €16.50 with no more traffic then usual. i said nothing til my destination and told him i'd give him €11 and that was his lot. i informed him of the daily price and he immeadiatly went on the defensive;

"ah mate the auld meter is dodgey, and the first job i do everyday is wonky" I said he should have done a dummy run and he said "ah i usually do but i forgot this morning"

i wish i had of paid the correct fare, got my receipt and rang the carriage office straight away. DAMN!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Why does it cost extra to hire on-rank at the Airport anyway? Surely this is a most lucrative place for taxi-drivers ...

Because they're thieving swindlers with no sense of fair play and then they wonder why they're so unpopular.

Its hilarious how all this anger directed towards the evil bastard Satan-spawn taxi drivers the country over all seems to be Dublin based. You guys are funny...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Its hilarious how all this anger directed towards the evil bastard Satan-spawn taxi drivers the country over all seems to be Dublin based. You guys are funny...

How much do the donkey and carts charge down in Kerry? hwahwahwa ;)

Does that not tell you something about dublin-based taxi drivers?

Kernel wrote:
    How much do the donkey and carts charge down in Kerry? hwahwahwa ;)
    Depends on where you want to go. The Jarvies usually only work the National Park though.

Degsy wrote:
    Does that not tell you something about dublin-based taxi drivers?
    Dublin-based taxi drivers, yes. Dublin-based punters, yes.

Taxi drivers nationally, the OPs intended targets, no.

But as dublin has the largets popluation of punters AND taxi drivers would it not follow that the majority of the dissatisfaction would originate in Dublin?Not only that,outside Dublin,there's a good chance the taxi driver or his family might be known to the punter and also the length of the journey wwould probably leave less room for creative charging as the punter will have travelled the route (probably in the same taxi) many times

Thats not a valid excuse to target all taxi drivers equally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

this has already been discussed, Dublin is the default setting for boards, thats just the way it is

tbh ive never really had a problem with taxi drivers other than their scarcity during curcial points of my weekends

oh and the "ah im only doing nortsoide/soitside" b****x when you get into a taxi and wish to be taken across the liffey....can you're f****ng car not do a u-turn or something?

Dublin is the default setting for boards, thats just the way it is
    :rolleyes: Where can I change that? I don't see it in my CP.

You can change it by redistributing the population equally throughout the country so that each hick town and hamlet has the same number of people,computers and taxi drivers as dublin.Mind you it will never work.

Degsy wrote:
    You can change it by redistributing the population equally throughout the country so that each hick town and hamlet has the same number of people,computers and taxi drivers as dublin.Mind you it will never work.
    Ah, the decentralisation plan then :p

Ok, back on topic now...

Ah, the decentralisation plan then :p

Ok, back on topic now...

Grand so.Dublin taxi drivers,rightly or wrongly are *generally* disliked and *usually* any industrial action they take elicits very little in the way of sympathy.On a personal level theycan go to hell with thier bloody stoppages and whinging and they can have a bloody good root up the hole for good measure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭FillSpectre

I was in a taxi last week and the driver casually said a racist comment assuming for some reason I would agree with him. I left and decided to wind him up instead, asking how business was and all the "new" taxis must take theri business etc... All agreements and then I just casuually said well it is completely your own fault and the public could carless about what happens to taxi drivers.

He isnsited taxi drivers have not had a strike since 1974! I mean really insisted and went on about you can't judge them all the same becasue of bad experiences. I pointed out his racist comment and agreed you can't judge people like that

The best part was I refused to pay becasue he didn't have a printed reciept. He was pretty angry but did nothing.

What i think will happen is the same that happened in a lot of pubs in the last year or two.They jacked thier prices up once too often and people stayed away in droves,then the pubs were forced to drop prices and introduce loss leaders to get the punters back in.Another year or two the taxis will be so desperate for custom they'll be charging less than whats on the and who's fecking fault will that be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Yipper

So noone feels sorry for them???
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

*suddenly wakes up and slaps himself across the face*