Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRL: 1X04 / 1X05 - "Cell Test" / "English, Fitz Or Percy" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **

• 11-07-2006 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN "CUTE POISON" / "ENGLISH, FITZ OR PERCY" -

Episode Title: "Cute Poison" / "English, Fitz Or Percy"
    Airdate: July 11th 2006

TV.com Summaries:

Cute Poison: Veronica keeps uncovering new information regarding Lincoln's case and decides she wants to work on the case full-time. When no one wants to help her on the case, Nick Savrinn (an attorney) offers his assistance and the two of them visit Lincoln.

English, Fitz Or Percy: Kellerman and Hale blackmail Warden Pope. Michael finds out he might get out earlier than anticipated. Veronica becomes uncertain of her allies.

Next Episode: 1X06 - "Riots, Drills and the Devil (1)" - July 18th 2006

WHat did you think of "Cell Test" / "English, Fitz Or Percy"? (average for both) 21 votes

0%
    9%
    Our man in Havanaconstipatinator 2 votes
    23%
    IvanBacchusgustavoAgamemnonDMBandit 5 votes
    47%
    weemcdThe Insiderdabbler2004NecronomiconRollo TamasihomerjkpokerwidowJelloHaven't a Cluekir18sty 10 votes
    9%
    prospectkevmy 2 votes
    9%
    monkeyfudgeMargeS 2 votes
    0%
    0%
    0%
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Sorry for the delay this week...

... didn't think we needed a discussion thread for both so give your opinion 1 - 10 on how the two episodes fared as a whole but feel free to nominate them individually in the thread along with any comments you may have.

EDIT: Oh.. i didn't see the episode tonight so i don't know if they advertised this but it's a double bill next week... the real turning point of the season for me... the two episodes that got me even that bit more hooked!

I'll say no more... as i think the Lost fans over-hyped "Walkabout" as such as amazing episode (which IT IS) in the first season of 'Lost' that all the hype resulted in inevitable disappointment for the Irish viewers.. or so i recall anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

two solid episodes. I forgot about half this stuff from the first time i watched these episodes. Tis' nice n'dandy to refresh me ol' memory.

huh! i thought rte did very well with the adverts. They even went straight from 9.00pm ep to 10.00pm ep without an ad break inbetween.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

Enjoyed it, liked the way it explained how nobody would have copped on that they are brothers as that was bugging me. Thought the warden coming down at the last minute to stop the transfer was a bit silly but I guess that's just for dramatic purposes! Loved the way he tested the system to see what street would be the best to use when they are escaping. Not hooked yet as much as Lost but getting there! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

I'm hooked now. Showing 2 episodes together is about the only thing RTE has ever got right *cough* lost series 2 finale *cough*. :mad:

I also like the way they explain the surname difference. The warden seems a bit too nice though. And who is the blond behind it all, Martha Stewart. Cooking in her big country estate. Just a guess, but she could only be the First Lady, the VPs wife or the President. Who else would have power over the secret service? Suppose we find out when they find out the reason behind the murder of the VPs brother.

When they got back to the appartment at the end and found out that the video was stolen, the lawyer (name?) gave a strange look. Either the appartment is bugged or the guy from Project Justice is working for the secret service.

UKTV Gold are showing these episode on Sunday night. Wonder will they show another batch the following weekend.

Thought the warden coming down at the last minute to stop the transfer was a bit silly but I guess that's just for dramatic purposes!

The good old warden. This is just an aside but the Warden is actually based on a real prison Warden, the actor who plays the Pope (Stacy Something) had a conviction back in the 70s (iirc) for cocaine smuggling in the UK and he got close to the Warden there and he based his character on him!

It's all on Wikipedia so it MUST be true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I have to say these episodes got me intersted but the next 4 really got me hooked, I'm on epsiode 15 and lads this is the best TV Series I have seen in a very long time, forget Lost this is much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Great double bill. I'm loving this show more and more with each episode.
    So much was good in this episode. Haywire going nuts and trying to see the tattoo(I wonder will he make a return later on), the "cute poison" in the toothpaste tubes, breaking through the wall, the special agents trying to get to the warden (and then seeing them outside the prison gates watching :) ), uncovering how the tape was forged and the highlight of course.... Michael testing the system. That plan was ingenious. Loved how the names English, Fitz & Percy turned out to be street names. They made it sound like they were talking about guards that they were going to "take down". I really like those sudden realisation moments. Lost does it well but Prison Break beats Lost for that hands down. It's just so much better paced than Lost. The amount of stuff that has happened in those two episodes alone. Lets hope it can keep it going though. At this rate they'll have broken out by episode 10!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Ah, two solid episodes. If there's still any nay-sayers out there, just wait until you see next week's double bill!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

pokerwidow wrote:
    UKTV Gold are showing these episode on Sunday night. Wonder will they show another batch the following weekend.

seems to be no episode the following saturday, double bill on sunday then repeats through the week

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Liked it alot (after getting a chance to watch it!) but it seems the ending was kinda poor. It just seemed to easy in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

This was the first episode I saw of Prison Break! I saw the ads for the start of it and thought it looked good but I was going on holidays and it was too late for me to get people to tape it. What number episode was this? Did I miss much? (Apart from the whole start of the series..:( )

I'm pretty much hooked now! I loved it!

How is there going to be a second series of this though, if they escape? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

What number episode was this? Did I miss much? (Apart from the whole start of the series..:( )
    As indicated, the two episodes last Monday were episodes 4 and 5 and you've missed a fair bit really.

This was the first episode I saw of Prison Break! I saw the ads for the start of it and thought it looked good but I was going on holidays and it was too late for me to get people to tape it. What number episode was this? Did I miss much? (Apart from the whole start of the series..:( )

I'm pretty much hooked now! I loved it!

How is there going to be a second series of this though, if they escape? :confused:

if you have UKTV Gold you can watch the episodes you missed this weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Mossy Monk wrote:
    if you have UKTV Gold you can watch the episodes you missed this weekend

Thanks! But nope, I don't have that..I just have cable. Ah well, maybe RTE will do some repeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Just buy season 1 part one on dvd, it's worth it :)

nah man, it's not worth it for just 11 episodes or whatever it is. My advise is to read this thread and take some inspiration from it.

Just buy season 1 part one on dvd, it's worth it :)

all those part 1 things that they are bringing out are a rip off. no one should buy them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

I'm starting to like prison break now. A wee bit. I'm still not the fella who plays Michael's biggest fan as I think his acting is woeful, especially when he keeps calling everyone gentlemen. I also thought when the fella who came in for a smoke as Michael was breaking out was stupid cuase one minute as yer man came in the door, Michael was on the ground, then a second later he was up in the ceiling. Utter nonsense.

Ok though, it ain't that bad...