Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbours so Noisey

• 11-07-2006 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭

Hi lads. Wonder can you help. my neughbours are renting next door and they blare there music all windows open every bloody day. Is there anything I can do about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

you could ask them nicely to keep it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

What Ruggiebear said, also what time at night do they keep the music playing until? I think theres a certain time it is meant to be quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Ring the guards man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

get yourself a bigger stereo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Chakar wrote:
    Ring the guards man.

I'd ring the garda, or a gardaí parhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

I'd ring the garda, or a gardaí parhaps.

Parhaps that's the best idea so far. Or perhaps it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

blahblah06 wrote:
    Hi lads. Wonder can you help. my neughbours are renting next door and they blare there music all windows open every bloody day. Is there anything I can do about it
    Ha, you must be crazy if you think I'm turning my music down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Hi lads. bit more detail. The music is every day from 4 - 10 guaranted and its all that thump thump music. So its getting annoying. I rang the door bell one day and he lowered the music but didnt come to the door. then 5 mins l8r music was up again

I went around to the local guards today and they said they cannot do anything and to contact the local council. So I seen the chap out at his car and said it to him and even brought him into the sitting room to show him how loud it was he said he will lower it so here is hoping. sorry but had to rant and rave about it

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Move out to the countryside. Problem sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭jabberwock

noise regulations in ireland in general.

i'd say that if you live in a built up area the your Local Authority will more percise rulings in action, i.e. times, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭frodi

If you can contact the land lord and let him know the story and what you've done so far.

pornnapster did you not read my profile. I already live in the sticks lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Contact their landlord. My folks are landlord to a place with over grown students, and they are constantly being rang about their tenants behaviour. They are now on final warning.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

blahblah06 wrote:
    pornnapster did you not read my profile. I already live in the sticks lol
    Throw some cow's shíte on his door step then! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Throw some cow's shíte on his door step then! :D

Was just about to say it.
    Thats how we solve things down the country.

This was mentioned in the commuting forum yesterday.
    Thugs in Dublin through stones at trains.
    Thugs in Cluchie land throw cow's shíte at trains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Pull the main fuse from their ESB box.*
    No one ever thinks of checking it.

* Erm, don'tdo it, I was only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Chances are the house next door to you isn't registered with the local authority and the landlord isn't declaring tax.

Get the landlord to throw the tenant or tell him/her you'll be on to the local authority and he'll end up handing over 40% (?) of his rental income to Mr Cowen. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Be sure to document everything you do, time, place, whom spoken to, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭shnaek

There's a baby next door to us crying 4 - 10 guaranted and its all that WAH WAH crying. So its getting annoying. I rang the door bell one day and the crying stopped but he didnt come to the door. then 5 mins l8r crying was up again

It's all this bloody poor building and sound insulation combined with the lack of community despite the fact we are now all living on top of each other. Got to start investing in egg cartons methinks.

are you trying to take the piss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭shnaek

Just humorously pointing out that noise is a big problem these days. Not just music. I mean, even the bloody shower going next door can sound like a jack hammer!
    So fair play to you for speaking with them, but that's about all you can do. How could the Gardai tell them to keep the noise down and not tell other neighbours with noisy children to keep the noise down? It's a slippery slope. The only solution to which is good sound insulation, which alas very few of us have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

if so it was funny :D

Im so glad i have a detached house.. In an estate but if neighbours were noisy i would not notice so much.
    Are you in a detached house and can STILL hear it blaring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Knackers shouldn't be allowed to own stereos. They'll only use them to blare sh1te techno. FACT.

Nah im attached both sides. **** really I should have forked out the extra for a detached

subway wrote:
    get yourself a bigger stereo.

hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

The Gardaí won't do anything for you I'm afraid. It's a civil matter.

If they're renting get on to their landlord. It's harder to deal with noisey neighbours who actually own the house they live in.

On the bright side the bunch of boy racers who live across the road from me got kicked out of their house today.... yay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

When I was living in a semi-detached house in Galway last year our neighbour was constantly complaining to us about noise.

We were very considerate of him and never played loud music in the evenings and kept music during the day at a respectable level. However this didn't seem to be enough for him and he even went as far as lying to our landlord to try and get us evicted. While at work one day I got a phonecall from the landlord saying that our neighbour was complaining about loud music being played all that morning in our house. Fair enough except for the fact that nobody was in the house that morning.

After a while the local community Garda called over to have a chat with us. We presented our side of the story and he was satisfied that the matter was being blown out of all proportion. He also told us that it wasn't a Garda matter and he was really just there to try and make the peace between us.

Anyways - I'm not suggesting that you're making **** up but if talking to your neighbour doesn't help then perhaps you could get a local Garda to call over and chat with them. If all else fails - you'll have to go to the courts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

you could hook your bigger speakers up to a microphone and begin negotiations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Read on these boards a while back that it may be appropriate to face all household speakers against the wall oppostite to his bedroom wall just when he is about to knock off for some kip - and pump up the volume fully. You then sleep at a mates house......

.......Repeat indefinitely until he begs for forgiveness.

Personally I'd throw roadkill through his [closed] windows until he got around to understanding the nature of anti-social behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Glue his door bell into the 'ringing' position when he is out (super glue and some tape). Smear it with somehting appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Victor wrote:
    Glue his door bell into the 'ringing' position when he is out (super glue and some tape). Smear it with somehting appropriate.
    dont be so half arsed.
    open it up and solder them wires together.
    superglue the cover on and file down any screws holding it together.

make sure youve connected it to a nice powerful battery so him knowcking off the power wont stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

subway wrote:
    dont be so half arsed.
    open it up and solder them wires together.
    superglue the cover on and file down any screws holding it together.

make sure youve connected it to a nice powerful battery so him knowcking off the power wont stop it.

Now thats a bit more like it;)