Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are you at the peoples photography exhibition

• 10-07-2006 10:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭

Just wondering how many other boardsies have been allocated a space in the peoples photography exhibition ?

Looks like myself and elven have space 341 on the 'up and coming' area of the east side:

http://www.peoples-photography.com/Spaces/Layout_East/layout_east.html

Where is everyone else ? Shrimp is that you 3 doors up @ # 344 ? Alisonb are you the Ali facing dawson street ?

Maybe we can organise a meetup/session afterwards ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭masteroftherealm

Well I aint exhibiting but Ill hang round with ye/sessioning for the days ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Cool - you are of course welcome along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

I'll probably be around as well (as a visitor) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

I'm too nervous that nobody would buy anything and I'd waste all my money printing stuff!! So, I'll be there but also as a visitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Leaving it late as usual...

Are there still spaces availible yeah? There wasn't anything that I could see to the contrary on the site, but I could easily of overlooked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Bumping this once again to inform anyone thats interested that there seem to be spaces available, according to the reply I got from an earlier email.

I'm 421 on the south side.

Flipflip will be up with me with some of his prints too.

Off topic: What style prints are generally entered in this? I don't wanna come along and be laughed at :p

i [heart] dragging up old posts...

Just got my allocated space today.. I'm 4 spaces down from you Fajitas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

Rymus is this going to be a sale or just a exhibition.

I want to try and buy stuff off people there ,but I actually forgot it might be just a display.
    I know a couple from howth who do oil paintings and make a sh)t load of money off american tourists by selling stuff the same way.
    They mostly paint your typical irish scenario ,bushs and bristles or maybe a boat with a lad fishing from it.

That day is going to be good ,

Brian.

Good question.... I presumed it's like an 'art in the park' setup. You put up your stuff, people walk by and wave money at you. As far as I'm concerned it's a sale. I'm bringing alot of prints up with me anyway.

I can only hope and pray/prey (given that practically all of my shots are landscapes) that there are shedloads of American tourists around. If selling is likely to bring disapproving looks, I guess I'll either be getting looks or taking orders. Either works fine for me.

I'm not displaying on the day at all ,but I've got a portable selpy printer that will bang out at leat 108 prints.
    I'd like to offer people a chance to pay for a take home photo from the day and the offerings go to the children of lebanon. It would in my eyes be a part of the sharing that is going on.

I've a selphy printer thats got a battery ,the stuff costs me buttons and any money I get goes to said cause.

If anyone thinks this is baloney ,I'll knock it ,as I said it costs me buttons and will be part of the atmosphere of the day.

Brian.

could be a hit with the tourists...

Sorry rymus if I'm over zealous ,it's really nothing to me to bring the stuff with me and if it adds to the atmosphere ,then all the more.
    We'll know when the day comes ,whether it will be aprpopiate or not.

I'll have the readies for the incentives ,as long as they're up to the mark.

Brian.;)

_Brian_ wrote:
    I'm not displaying on the day at all ,but I've got a portable selpy printer that will bang out at leat 108 prints.
    I'd like to offer people a chance to pay for a take home photo from the day and the offerings go to the children of lebanon. It would in my eyes be a part of the sharing that is going on.

I've a selphy printer thats got a battery ,the stuff costs me buttons and any money I get goes to said cause.

If anyone thinks this is baloney ,I'll knock it ,as I said it costs me buttons and will be part of the atmosphere of the day.

Brian.

Thats a cool idea as far as I am concerned - I will give you a hand with that if you like.

Nice one morlar ,I wasn't sure if I was intrusive .
    I've got the printer with me when i need it ,it connects to any camera thats got the usual printer connection.

L8rs
    thanks

Sounds all good!

At least I'll know someone on my side!

Southside FTW! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Sorry, dragging up the thread again but it's close now...

Just finished sorting out my prints, and felt quite strange seeing them all laid out. Thought I'd share the moment, and all that. Is everyone else sorted? I got some plastic square mesh from Homebase for attaching them to on the fence, and a load of cable ties. Hope that does the trick. Any other helpful suggestions?

221452375_f54c45be3f.jpg

See everyone there, anyway :D

They look pretty cool - my ones are neeeaarly ready. *cough*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I'd love to do this, but:

a) I don't have any confidence in my photographs at all.
    b) I'm in Antrim, I don't drive (yet...long story).
    c) I'm generally lazy with photography, as I have a full time job and photography is a hobby which I only dream about me making any money from.

Steve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

I'd be interested, but.. next year. Far too late for this year, now, especially as I have no prints at all, and have not built up the courage to sit beside photos in public. : p

I'm picking up my first lot from the mounters today, and dropping in another...and picking up a few more from the printer....

Time is comin close though..

Wish I'd got mine properly mounted. Ah well, there's always next year.

How many you bringing, fajitas?

And... which pub are we going to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 fatbudgie

Lads I will be the one there with the big panoramics, you are welcome to drop by and say hello.

Now anybody thought about how they gonna price there stuff?

for example..

How much for an A3 print?

How much for an A3 framed print?

Anybody know what the going rate is? or I'll throw up a few suggestions if ya want.

by all means throw up a few suggestions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 fatbudgie

Well I haven't really got a clue so this is my first suggestion:

A3 framed: 75 Euro
    A3 unframed: 40 Euro

too cheap? what do ya think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Maybe next year I will have some stuff worth displaying, but right now I would just get laughed at. As for the fun and frolics, sorry I'll miss that, organised something for the same wkend without realising :( Anyway I'll just have to content myself with drinking cold cherry beer on the Grand Place while you lot shiver on the green.. tis a hard ol' life.
    PS: I nominate Al to keep you all in check, cos we know he does such a great job at it :D Warning to the ladies of Dublin, if you see some guys with cameras that look like they have had a few beverages of the alcoholic kind, "run away".

fatbudgie wrote:
    Well I haven't really got a clue so this is my first suggestion:

A3 framed: 75 Euro
    A3 unframed: 40 Euro

too cheap? what do ya think?

Seems reasonable enough... I'd put the unframed up a bit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Will you be taking credit and laser cards or must the punters stump up cash?
    I'm hoping to be able to drop by on Sunday and meet some of the illustrious members of this forum and see how the screen images translate to finished goods. Any bargain rate for boardsters?

joolsveer wrote:
    Will you be taking credit and laser cards or must the punters stump up cash?

That's a joke right? :D

You're right, it is a joke - nobody takes Laser, except Tesco and Dunnes!

I can imagine the row of people with chip & pin machines, in their deck chairs...

shur I was going to bring a till and have securicor standing by to do a drop to the bank... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭eas

Best of luck to everyone going out to this, look forward to reading the stories next week.

SELL SELL SELL......

Elven, your prints look very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

elven wrote:
    You're right, it is a joke - nobody takes Laser, except Tesco and Dunnes!

I can imagine the row of people with chip & pin machines, in their deck chairs...

I have seen people at similar art shows (like the one at Merrion Square) with signs saying they take visa cards.

Well do you need anyone to hold the cash for you?

On second thought.. I'll take Mastercard.. that is, I'll take it, but you might not get it back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

I might take part in this next year, didn't hear anything about it.
    I'm going to try drop in Sat and have a look around.
    10% discount for boardsie's? ;)

pfff.. if anything, 15% loading for boardsies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

Can you feel that? Feel the love in here haha

Best of luck with it anyways lads and lassies

elven wrote:
    Wish I'd got mine properly mounted. Ah well, there's always next year.

How many you bringing, fajitas?

And... which pub are we going to?

Er...I'm bringing up about 30ish?

Here's my first few that're fully mounted:
    259zyxc.jpg

Rymus might remember that floor too...intimatly... So intimatly, he just might not give out to me over the size of that image...

Oh...And er...Pub... Porterhouse ok with everyone and anyone?

Any other suggestions? I'd be happy with a dank alley and a bottle of buckfast, but open to all suggestions ;)

Fajitas! wrote:
    Oh...And er...Pub... Porterhouse ok with everyone and anyone?

Any other suggestions? I'd be happy with a dank alley and a bottle of buckfast, but open to all suggestions ;)

Porterhouse sounds good.

Major coincidence here:

I honestly had no idea this was happening:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054977549

Think we should join the festivities in a barrage of flashguns and incriminating photos? I do. :D

Fajitas, the prints are looking good, man.

I did like the porterhouse, but there was a severe shortage of seating there. I suppose that's the norm in the town on a saturday night, mind you. Can we get someone to go up early and bagsie a seat or two...?

Ooh, tell you what actually, I'll just bring the folding seat I'm getting for the exhibition, hehe ;)

We could sell prints to the drunkards...

100% real Boards.ie photo's. As seen on Flickr (And deviantart)

Picking up another 11 fully mounted ones Thurs and...14 or 15 A3 ones tomorrow to be mounted and collected friday morning.

I also have wooden clothes pegs, but nothing to hang them off... Erk!

Edit: I'm sitting on your lap Elven!

I won't respond to the lap sitting comment - except to say that my husband has mentioned possibly popping by to say hello ;)

I went and got some plastic chicken wire type grid stuff on a roll from homebase to attach to the fence and then attach the pictures to - that might do the trick for you as well? There was also a mesh for putting over ponds to stop animals getting in that was quite light but still sturdy (I tried to break a bit and couldn't) and that was bigger, might work for pics in mounts.

Hmmmm...interesting!

Was thinking of the plastic chicken wire... and the mesh you put over strawberries et all to stop birds...possibly the same as what you mentioned!

Is the chicken wire thing strong?

And I'm sure your husband won't mind. He can have one knee...

Yup that sounds like the stuff, the plastic chicken wire is more expensive, i got a narrow roll 0.5m x 5m and it was E18, the big roll was more like 30 quid, but the mesh was only 15 for a much bigger area, can't remember off the top of my head. The stuff I got is far more rigid, but the netting is quite strong.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/redmum/218440194/ There's a pic of the art thingy that was last weekend, using the chicken wire.

Oh, and I got a plastic dust sheet for emergency waterproofing, just in case.

And I'm definitely not being drawn into that other conversation.

Ah! Looks good so!

Might go for that.

So, left or right knee? Which is more comfortable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

does anyone know any good/cheap mounting places in dublin?

cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Right, so does everyone want to list what number stall they have so I'll know who I'm stalking...?

Fajitas! wrote:
    Major coincidence here:

I honestly had no idea this was happening:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054977549

Think we should join the festivities in a barrage of flashguns and incriminating photos? I do. :D

What and be surrounded by nerds all night ?

Zillah - myself and elven will be at stall 341 on the east side. (Till the prints sell out of course)