Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork to lose....again

• 08-07-2006 10:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

A very very dissapiontedd Cork man...

Once again we look like we are to Kerry for the drink...not the game

What do you think....

Have we any chance.....

Can we play the GIRLS instead....they might win!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Neesha

Jaysus... you of little faith :p they didn't do too bad today... although Kerry will probably wipe them next week..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 REBEL CORK

I think this cork team have turned a corner.WE've dominated the under 21 scene in munster for the last 3 years and maybe this success is finally prevailing at senior level.

Kerry are certainly on a decline and the era of cork dominance just like that of 87-95 is on the verge of reoccuring.

Today for the most part it was 16 against 14, the ref was atrousious and decisions beyond belief at times.

The same heart and pride been produced next week, a better ref and our lads keeping their heads, I cant see nothing but a Cork victory.

But Cork football is so unpredicatable it could is easily be the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

REBEL CORK wrote:
    I think this cork team have turned a corner.WE've dominated the under 21 scene in munster for the last 3 years and maybe this success is finally prevailing at senior level.

Kerry are certainly on a decline and the era of cork dominance just like that of 87-95 is on the verge of reoccuring.

Today for the most part it was 16 against 14, the ref was atrousious and decisions beyond belief at times.

The same heart and pride been produced next week, a better ref and our lads keeping their heads, I cant see nothing but a Cork victory.

But Cork football is so unpredicatable it could is easily be the opposite

I really don't think kerry are in decline. Fair play to cork they put up a great battle today and probably deservered to win. I can't help but think this is exactly wat Kerry needed though. They hardly played brilliant against waterford and tipp but sure they really didn't need to did they. Cork gave them a Proper battle and a right good kick up the hole. I think Kerry will benifit greatly from that match and the replay. I do believe that they will beat cork next week though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Having been at yesterdays match it was a thriller and most people crapped in their pants nearly. Alot of Kerry people were expecting to win by about 15points as were Cork people expecting it to happen too. Poor match and disgraceful to see how Cork have lowered their game to typical Ulster standards. Kerry would have had won it had Bryan Sheehan converted only one of the several frees he sent wide. Paul O’Connor should have been taken off after 20mins also and the Gooch is yet to return to his classical form and was been heavily fouled as usual.The Cavan Referee was too busy looking for pennies instead of refereeing the game properly.

He was very inconsistent and at times both teams were only advancing up the field a few a metres at a time before the whistle was blown. I was querying myself was I at an American Football match? Donaghey did not deserve to be sent off also. A good hard match was just what Kerry needed and we will steam roll Cork next Sunday. 4 counties are now left in contention Kerry, Dublin, Armagh and Galway.

As for Cork the supporters infairness they were in good form compared to other years in Killarney, but the real shame was how only 27,000 people showed up when I have known 50,000+ to travel to the Munster final, Alot more Cork fans will travel next Sunday as they have their tails up and smell victory, it will be short lived though.

It was a pity what happened in the "Cork"* side of the stand when the Gardai had to intervene in the fighting that ensued after Anthony Lynch was red carded, IMO he should be banned for 6 months and this was not his first time being sent off against the Kingdom. Billy Morgan no doubt stirred some s*it that caused it, I swear to god if there were a competition for thickheadedness he'd win the World Cup of thickheadedness.

Up the Kingdom. Cherio Tyrone :p

*4 of the ten segments of the Stand were dominated by Cork Supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Actually NetWhizKid the commentators said that was the first time Lynch had been sent off in his career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GAA widow

netwhizkid wrote:

It was a pity what happened in the "Cork"* side of the stand when the Gardai had to intervene in the fighting that ensued after Anthony Lynch was red carded, [/SIZE]

I was sitting near that section (I'm from Cork, boyf is from Kerry, we got tickets via Kerry). Actually the vast majority of supporters in that section were Kerry supporters.
    Both Cork and Kerry supporters were involved in that incident in the stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

The game was there for the taking for Cork on Sunday and they just couldnt hill it off. Normally when the underdog misses their chance first time out, they dont get back at them in the replay but the way Kerry ave performed in the championship so far this year, this may not necessarily be the case at all. Cork were very committed the last day and they stopped the Kerry forwards from playing. If they can mange the same next week, theyare in with another big chance. BTW is the game on in Pairc Ui Chaoimh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

as fair as i know it is on Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭noel123ie

is the cork game on the tele sunday as Leinster and Connaught finals are on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

netwhizkid wrote:
    Poor match and disgraceful to see how Cork have lowered their game to typical Ulster standards.
    Were you watching the same game? Cork played very well, I thought. They didn't show the kind of flair that we're used to seeing from Kerry, but they had far more heart out there than the Kerry side, who seemed to sleepwalk through most of the game.
    Kerry would have had won it had Bryan Sheehan converted only one of the several frees he sent wide.
    And Cork would have won it if not for the goalpost. You could if-only from here to next week and still miss the fact that Kerry didn't want it, Cork did. Kerry just came in expecting to win. That said, Kerry had a very bad game, Cork played the best game I've seen from them in a while, and it was still a draw.
    the Gooch is yet to return to his classical form
    The guy's father died only a few months ago and it's not like he's been given much time - he was put back on the pitch less than a fortnight later. Odds are we won't see his "classical form" until next year at the earliest :(
    Donaghey did not deserve to be sent off also.
    I'm still trying to figure out what the heck he was sent off for.
    A good hard match was just what Kerry needed and we will steam roll Cork next Sunday.
    Isn't that what we were saying last Saturday too?
    Anthony Lynch was red carded, IMO he should be banned for 6 months and this was not his first time being sent off against the Kingdom.
    According to RTE, it was his first time being sent off, ever. And frankly, it was an incomplete call by the ref. Lynch did deserve to go, but Galvin (that dirty little git) should have been fecked off as well, or at least yellow-carded. He was busily laying into Lynch for a few minutes before Lynch turned round to lash out and hit the wrong Kerry player, and unless you can slap the ball out of someone's hands from behind with closed fists to the kidneys, it was hardly fair play.

Sparks wrote:

I'm still trying to figure out what the heck he was sent off for.

The ref called him over a couple of times for a few minor things and he ignored him - ref obviously wasn't happy with attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

That was it? The ref's ego?
    Ha. Likely story.
    Personally, I'm starting to think that someone showed him the Lynch elbowing incident during halftime and he decided that he ought to even things up and chucked the first kerry player he had a tenth of an excuse for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

GAA widow wrote:
    The ref called him over a couple of times for a few minor things and he ignored him - ref obviously wasn't happy with attitude.
    That shouldn't matter, immediately before the ref blew the whistle and sent him off he'd done absolutely nothing wrong. It shouldn't even have been a free from what I could see, and the Sunday Game panel were wondering as well. There's certain fouls set out in the rulebook that merit a yellow card, and Donnaghy definitely didn't commit one of them when he was sent off.

Breezer wrote:
    That shouldn't matter, immediately before the ref blew the whistle and sent him off he'd done absolutely nothing wrong. It shouldn't even have been a free from what I could see, and the Sunday Game panel were wondering as well. There's certain fouls set out in the rulebook that merit a yellow card, and Donnaghy definitely didn't commit one of them when he was sent off.

Hey, I'm not the one that sent him off!!:( Those were the reasons he was sent off, right or not, I'm not advocating them!

Anyway, I heard that it was the ref's first time referreeing a championship match and that he felt a bit bullied by the crowd - maybe he felt under pressure to even things up.
    You have to question the logic though about throwing in an inexperienced ref into a Cork/Kerry Munster final. Bet they'll have someone else for the replay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Kerrynoel

GAA widow wrote:

Have to agree with that. The ref whistled for Donaghy to come over at least three times. donaghy was not ignoring the ref, he just didnt think it was him that was being called.
    Ref might have been a bit pissed off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Kerrynoel

Anyway as a kerryman i would normally be confident of a good result in the replay. But i just dont know now. Kerry just have not clicked all year. No 10 min burst where we would get 1-3 or 1-4 and kill off the game. Too much slow ball. Nothing good going into the gooch. Roumers in Kerry that all is not well in the camp?
    Maybe it is the end of another Kerry era!!!:(