Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 parcels delivered......will they know?

• 07-07-2006 9:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭

So I had ordered something from an Irish website over the weekend, it said it would take 3 business days to get delivered, which was fine. Thursday came and I gave them a call just to check on the status of the order and they said "oh that was sent out for delivery yesterday but there was some sort of problem with the carrier so it was re-sent this morning and you should get it today". I was more than happy with that and at 2pm an Post delivered it. Invoice had Monday's date on it but didn't really pay any attention to that.

Then this morning I got woken up by our doorbell, went down to investigate and it was a courrier with another parcel the exact same size. I was still half asleep so just signed for it and came in. Yes, it was the same thing again, this time with Wednesday's date on the invoice.

So now they've sent me €600 worth of mobile phones when I only paid them €300, think they'll cop it? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Gimme one of the phones and you'll be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭AnitaMcCluskey

Yeah 'm sure they'll cop on. You could just wait and see if they contact you about it or they maybe they'll just bill you again. You could always do the honest thing and contact them????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

You find this with websites a good bit. They just send another package out and don't care. I've gotten duplicate DVDs and CDs a few times. I know sometimes even if you contact them they will tell you to keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

But it's not a €30 dvd, its a €300 phone :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

eh well I work for a well known company ( think rainforest ) and I know for a fact we wouldn't cop that one at all. Keep it, if they say that it was signed for just deny it to the last :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

DamienH wrote:
    eh well I work for a well known company ( think rainforest ) and I know for a fact we wouldn't cop that one at all. Keep it, if they say that it was signed for just deny it to the last :)
    I've had two boxes of books delivered from that rainforrest company before after the first one got lost for a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 CJX-3X12

I know of a guy who ordered a diving suit off of the net, it got lost on the way so the company sent a second one. The suit got to him but shortly afterwards the lost suit arrived at his door. He did the honest thing and rang the company to get an address to send the extra suit back. They didn't even want to know about it. They have insurance on all their shippments and it would have been a huge headache to take the suit back. So my mate got two suits for the price of one, and this wasn't 300 euro it was closer to the 1000 euro mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Happens all the time with cdwow and play etc...
    because they take forever to arrive people complain and they resend the second copy.

I even managed to order the Simpsons boxset it didn't arrive after 3 weeks I complained ..they sent a second 3 weeks later still nothing so they refunded my money and the next day the 2 packages arrived hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I am sure they will cop it, do the honest thing and contact them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

^^ Do not, its their own stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ozzy

Same thing happened a while ago to someone I know, two brand new phones for the price of one, and nothing came of it. So safe bet I reckon.. you lucky schmuck. :)
    Or I could contact the phone guys now unless you sell it to me for a tenner? You have 5 minutes to comply...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

If you don't keep it, give it to me. I'll take the rap for it and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Legally the extra one doesn't belong to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

legally smegally, it's your :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I once got 2 pc's from a well known pc parts company in Ireland (think of the girls name Lara..... think they've gone bust since). Only paid for 1..... and sold the other 1 to a friend. Sold the other 1 later and made a profit on it. They never noticed a thing and this was 3 odd yrs ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭exactiv

hang onto it. it's not your fault. if they ring you looking for it, send it back. they won't care. they've better things to be worrying about.

legally doesn't matter at all... unless you have moral issues about doing big business out of a €300 phone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

I had a two grand pc with lcd monitor sitting in my house for nearly six weeks.It arrived and the caseing was slightly off centre so i asked for it to be replaced.A week later the new one arrived,so i asked the delivery guy if he was taking back the other one,said he knew nothing about it.
    Rang the company about five times over 3 weeks regarding its collection and they didnt seem bothered.After 6 weeks i demanded they come collect it as i was sick of looking at it sitting there.I would have sold it on no prob,i bet they wouldnt have missed it,however i wasnt too keen on the chances of getting stung for two grand more.

exactiv wrote:
    legally doesn't matter at all...
    Of course it matters. What if he sells it on for €200 (say), has good night out with coke and hookers, and then gets a phone call the next day from the company looking for their €300 phone?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

My Step-dad bought a PC off Dell with complete custom spec, his order came out to the house wrong, he sent it back, next one came out wrong so he demanded his money back and they finally sent him the new PC... and a week of two later his cheque was sent back to him aswell!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭/V\etalfish

Just hold onto it for about a week or so ,
    if they call or anything tell them you already rang them and they said they'd send a returns bag
    But its unlikely they'll do anything about it in the first place

seamus wrote:
    Of course it matters. What if he sells it on for €200 (say), has good night out with coke and hookers, and then gets a phone call the next day from the company looking for their €300 phone?

Well, if he enjoyed his night out then it would have been worth the hassel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Show some character and tell them you got a duplicate delivery.

I swear to god, when people something dishonest in this country they get a pat on the back and lots of smileys.
    But when they hear of a politician being dishonest, try shutting them up.

Sleipnir wrote:
    Show some character and tell them you got a duplicate delivery.

I swear to god, when people something dishonest in this country they get a pat on the back and lots of smileys.
    But when they hear of a politician being dishonest, try shutting them up.

Well unless you're a polititian be quiet. This is Ireland, enjoy it as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

... and then everyone wonders why are insurance premiums (all products) so high :rolleyes:

If there was a little less hush-hush-wink-wink in such situations (of taking advantage, for that's what it is) and a bit more honesty all around, well, firstly pigs might fly and, secondly, the premiums would stop increasing so rapidly.

Do the right thing (and hope that maybe you won't have to): at least give them notice of the dual delivery (so you have and they have it on record, and legally the ball is in their camp) and then leave it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 theluckyduck

Ya can do two things which will make sure that you don't get in trouble.

1. Tell them about the phone and wait a month. If they don't collect it, it is LEGALLY yours. (You don't have to arrange postage or anything, their mistake, they have to fix it!)

2. Don't tell them, wait a year and then it is legally yours.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

1. Tell them about the phone and wait a month. If they don't collect it, it is LEGALLY yours. (You don't have to arrange postage or anything, their mistake, they have to fix it!)

In what imaginary world would it be legally thiers in that instance?

I believe that only refers to items lost by someone else and you have to report it to the Gardai. Doesn't magically become yours.

The only thing legal in all this is that they legally cannot charge you for the second phone unless you refuse to return it. They can't charge you in anyway to return it either.

Here is what is likely to happen.
    Accountant is going to check the figures and see they are out by one phone and that the invoices from the delivery company don't add up.

They check the serial number to match it to your account. They probably won't even see its an error and instead bill you (as they obviously haven't gotten a bill for the second phone).

You can't claim you never received the item as you signed for it. Legally at that point they can charge you for it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

did you sign for both parcels? if so then they will know. its unlikely but they may not bother to check though. depends on the company. amazon have often sent me something twice and told me to keep both, but its usually because, given the cost of reposting, it isn't worth it.

apple once refunded AND replaced an item for me. it was a month before they noticed. :)

Ya can do two things which will make sure that you don't get in trouble.

Good luck

So if Bank Of Ireland put a billion euro in my account and don't realise it for a year, it's legally mine? Rubbish.

As Hobbes said, what you are refering to is that if you find lost property and hand it into a garda station it becomes yours after a year and a day.

I've studied this before (Consumers rights) and he does have every right to keep it in those circumstances.

This is not a new problem, it has not just a risen through the use of online ordering. I can guarantee that this was the law up till 2004 and i'm pretty sure that they have not changed it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Hobbes wrote:
    Here is what is likely to happen.
    Accountant is going to check the figures and see they are out by one phone and that the invoices from the delivery company don't add up.

They check the serial number to match it to your account. They probably won't even see its an error and instead bill you (as they obviously haven't gotten a bill for the second phone).

What imaginary software have they got to do that?.

The reality is that a picking order is sent to a warehouse and lists items to be sent to a particular address. They print off the label and send it without tracking the serial. Also most inventory systems do not cater for mis-delivered packages so what happens is that a clerk recalls the original transaction and resends it through the picking process as described. Same invoice. Hence they have no clear method of identifying people who have received said items twice.

I've studied this before (Consumers rights) and he does have every right to keep it in those circumstances.

This is not a new problem, it has not just a risen through the use of online ordering. I can guarantee that this was the law up till 2004 and i'm pretty sure that they have not changed it since.

Well whereabouts in the Statute Book is this particular law?
    He can keep it without saying anything? They posted so it's his and that's it? They can't invoice him for it?
    Does the law state that he can keep it if the company haven't invoiced him after a certain period of time?

So many questions......

Not gonna try and say I have studied law, as I have not but I am a commerce student. It's also in the Leaving Certificate business course.

1. It is only his if he follows the guidlines, if he deviates at all he will null and void any rights he has to the package.

2. They can't send him an invoice as he did not order it (This is a type of fraud!) Unless he sells it before the appropiate time is reached.

3. After the month/year (which ever way you decide to go about it) it is legally his. They can't bill him or demand him to return it.

It's up to him to decide.....just giving the little bit of knowledge that I have ;)

What luckyduck basically said, was give it to me. Out of curiosity, what phone is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Keep it, and whatever you do, don't post a thread about it on a popular internet forum.

There is alot of angry angry nerds on this forum!!! Chill...just some educated advice!!! Take it or leave it:D

You're actually a little off.

The limitation is six months. 30 days before that six month limit is up, the person who mistakenly received the item is obliged to contact the sender and inform them that they have 30 days to collect their item. If after those thirty days the item is not collected (assuming that the company has not been prevented from collecting their property), then it legally becomes the property of the person who received it.

There was a thread not so long ago about a guy who received a laptop from Dell after the order was cancelled. We checked into this, and the above is the situation.

Sleipnir, I'd say your billion euro situation wouldn't apply - after all the "money" would never have left possession of the bank, leaving them able to correct their mistake at will. Even if you did remove it, obviously you still couldn't keep it. :) If anyone remembers a couple of years back, an Irishman received some insane amount of money (€300,000 I think it was) due to a mix-up at the time of the euro changeover. He promptly withdrew the money and fled to Spain, but eventually had to come back due to a massive legal case being built up against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

This is why companies have insurance.
    The same things happen to us. We would order say X amount of light fittings (€60 worth each) and then maybe get 2 or 3 over.

We ring them to say there is 3 fittings over, do you want them back?

They reply, "keep them, pretend it never happened".

Welcome to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Day-wanna-wonga

DamienH wrote:

Eh, kinda difficult to say you only got one delivery, when they have 2 separate invoices signed for on 2 separate days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

can you tell me which website it was, so I can see if it happens to me? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

Well 1 of 2 things will happen

1 They will ask for the phone back from you.

2 it will be reported stolen and put on the handset blacklist via its IMEI

I used to work for one of the biggest mobile operators in this country / Europe and thats what they do.

Emmo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I can't believe the amount of dishonesty on this thread. Personally, I would call them up and tell them, and ask for them to arrange collection, which they almost certainly will do (you don't have to go to the trouble of posting it back yourself.)

They _may_ even say, fúck it, keep it, and if so your conscience (you do have one?) will be clear <- this outcome is however unlikely with something of that value.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

seamus wrote:
    'I just got one phone, what are you on about?' Then you give a sly look, which of course, they can't see over the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

'I just got one phone, what are you on about?' Then you give a sly look, which of course, they can't see over the phone.

They will be able to get a record of it being delivered and a copy of the signature (if it was signed for) though. :)

edit: I noes yew were joking. ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I was joking man, ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

What imaginary software have they got to do that?.

The reality is that a picking order is sent to a warehouse and lists items to be sent to a particular address. They print off the label and send it without tracking the serial. Also most inventory systems do not cater for mis-delivered packages so what happens is that a clerk recalls the original transaction and resends it through the picking process as described. Same invoice. Hence they have no clear method of identifying people who have received said items twice.

If you were in some fly-by-night place prehaps.

See that barcode on the side of the box? They scan those to check out items of inventory (and generally track the life-cycle of the item).

He would have two boxes against his order and each item would have thier own tracking number against them as well.

I've worked in a company that we had to do this (all be it 11 years ago). I'm pretty sure the technology has come along way since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

the right thing to do here is send it back :)

the best thing to do here is to keep it :D i say flog it on ebay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

So I had ordered something from an Irish website over the weekend, it said it would take 3 business days to get delivered, which was fine. Thursday came and I gave them a call just to check on the status of the order and they said "oh that was sent out for delivery yesterday but there was some sort of problem with the carrier so it was re-sent this morning and you should get it today". I was more than happy with that and at 2pm an Post delivered it. Invoice had Monday's date on it but didn't really pay any attention to that.

Then this morning I got woken up by our doorbell, went down to investigate and it was a courrier with another parcel the exact same size. I was still half asleep so just signed for it and came in. Yes, it was the same thing again, this time with Wednesday's date on the invoice.

So now they've sent me €600 worth of mobile phones when I only paid them €300, think they'll cop it? :)

It's not difficult. They are running a business so, if they want to keep existing, they stock take and know what they have and compare it with what they should have. So, short answer, yes.

Also, you have your own ethics to look at. It's clearly not yours, and you know it, so you should contact them asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

I once got three, yes three, deliveries of somthing (not cheap!) I had ordered online.
    Called them (as I was worried I might be charged 3 times!), response was, "hang on and Ill check your account"....."nope you were charged only once"......me- OK so when will you collect the other two? them- Oh we will ring you the day before."

That was over a year ago, so, I kept one and gave one to my mother as an xmas gift! :)

That way, they ever do call wanting it back, there it is, albiet used, but its not up to me to store it for them for a year, so "I stored it elsewhere and it was used sorry, but you never collected it!".

b :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Firstly, it's "she" not "he" :)

And secondly I fully intend calling them on Monday. I would obviously love them to say ah sure keep it but I'm more than willing to send it back. Provided they send a courier to my house when I'm here, I'm not changing plans or bringing it anywhere. Thread was just for general interest

If they ring asking for it, just start screaming:

"OMG FFS HAX U STOOPID N00b GET A FCKIN LIFE FFSOMGLOL!!!11!ONE!!ELEVEn