Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA - Glamorise it

• 06-07-2006 9:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭

I was just thinking wouldnt it be great if the GAA especially when in Croker for big games had a bit more flair/glamour/razmataz whatever you want to call it to it.

What im talking about is music have a bit of U2/Christy Moore on the speakers before the match or some music as the players come on the pitch. Have cheerleaders etc at the game, just simply make the overall GAA package more entertaining. Im more of a soccer man and i go to all of the Irish games in Lansdowne and there just seems to be more of a carnival atmosphere at soccer internationals.

Also when a goal is scored have music playing of the counties song.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

*Jason Reilly scores a goal*

Speakers (in American accent): "This goal has been brought to you by Kingspan. Kingspan - Building your future"

Down with this sort of thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

Oh dear god no, I can't stand all that contrived 'atmosphere' in Lansdowne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭Trampas

R.Rated wrote:
    I was just thinking wouldnt it be great if the GAA especially when in Croker for big games had a bit more flair/glamour/razmataz whatever you want to call it to it.

What im talking about is music have a bit of U2/Christy Moore on the speakers before the match or some music as the players come on the pitch. Have cheerleaders etc at the game, just simply make the overall GAA package more entertaining. Im more of a soccer man and i go to all of the Irish games in Lansdowne and there just seems to be more of a carnival atmosphere at soccer internationals.

Also when a goal is scored have music playing of the counties song.

What games do you go that the atmosphere is bad??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭seedot

god no.

one of the worst things I have seen in Croke park was the combined rules game where they had brush shiels on the pa during the half time. Some guy proposed and brush completely lost the run of himself and forgot about the game, pushing some obviously reluctant woman for an answer she really didn't want to give while the first few minutes of the game played below him.

awful.

how this would improve the atmosphere that will be in croke park on the 16th as Dublin win their first back to back Leinster since 95 i dunno.

I do think the sunday games pundit could be less negative. I'm not saying I want them doing a 'sky' where they try and tell you Blackburn v Birmingham is going to be brilliant but a little less negativity would be good, just because a team isnt going to win the all Ireland dosent mean they're not capable of playing good football/hurling. Now that RTÉ have lost the premiership rights do you think they could cover more league and/or club matches. TG4 have shown there is a demand for this coverage and Setanta have 'the GAA show' which fills massive gap left by RTÉ for a good GAA chat show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

I've never been to a munster rugby match [obviously] but it does look like there's a great atmosphere at the games, hook and they boys go ott on it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GAA widow

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    *Jason Reilly scores a goal*

Speakers (in American accent): "This goal has been brought to you by Kingspan. Kingspan - Building your future"

Down with this sort of thing!

PSML at that!:D Very Madison Square Garden.

Surely a few tight fitting PROC tops have the same effect as a bunch of cheerleaders.

Brazilian style bikini tops in your county colours will be the next suggestion :rolleyes:

Careful now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

GAA widow wrote:
    Brazilian style bikini tops in your county colours will be the next suggestion :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I dunno about Glamorising it, but I love stuff like Penalty shoot outs, long puck competitions, free taking competitions.... holds the interest and the banter before the match and during half time.

Failing that, a few short skirts never goes wrong :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭youthacademy

seedot wrote:
    god no.

one of the worst things I have seen in Croke park was the combined rules game where they had brush shiels on the pa during the half time. Some guy proposed and brush completely lost the run of himself and forgot about the game, pushing some obviously reluctant woman for an answer she really didn't want to give while the first few minutes of the game played below him.

awful.

how this would improve the atmosphere that will be in croke park on the 16th as Dublin win their first back to back Leinster since 95 i dunno.

The Aussie rules rules game a couple of years back, what a joke! that poor woman must be divorced at this stage !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

The Aussie rules rules game a couple of years back, what a joke! that poor woman must be divorced at this stage !!!

I really felt sorry for her!

The atmosphere is generally ok at the minute and i think if the GAA were to go down that road it will all become far too commercialised. I know this would be a worse case scenario, but surely we dont want our sport becoming like American Football!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

The music played at Landsdowne when a team scores is awful. Its up to the fans to make the atmosphere and if a song is playing, it ruins it for me. Theres also a lot more craic between the GAA fans at matches, the insults and jokes...brilliant. Even noticed that at the Féile last weekend. Talking to some wAterford lads down my local pitch and they were hilarious. That was a little aside then. I also enjoy watching the 7-a-side matches aswell. can get some good action in that. Brush shields at that Aussie Rules game...disgrace

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Brush Shields is an idiot anyway. It was a very bad choice to have him there in the first place.

Mushy wrote:
    The music played at Landsdowne when a team scores is awful. Its up to the fans to make the atmosphere and if a song is playing, it ruins it for me. Theres also a lot more craic between the GAA fans at matches, the insults and jokes...brilliant. Even noticed that at the Féile last weekend. Talking to some wAterford lads down my local pitch and they were hilarious. That was a little aside then. I also enjoy watching the 7-a-side matches aswell. can get some good action in that. Brush shields at that Aussie Rules game...disgrace

Hey Mushy, Who won the Feile last weekend? Havent seen it anywhere in the papers during the week. The Kilmacud 7s are great craic the weekend of the all Ireland, I'd reckomend heading out to them to anyone, can be a good place to try and scrounge together tickets if yer stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I've been to both soccer and GAA matches, the soccer matches (3 number) were all friendly and the atmosphere was very light, maybe if I'd gone to a competative match.......... anyway the slagging at GAA championship matches is usually great, it makes it really and the hate too. I remember the hate of 91 against meath, anyway that was not there in the soccer matches I went to see, so I consider that maybe these are bad models, and this is not a soccer vs GAA thread far from it. I've been to pleanty of NL GAA matches where there was little or no atmosphere either.
    Even the international rules games, it's great being in CP when everyone is shouting for the same team, but you also miss someone to slag.
    However I went to a basketball game in the US a couple of years ago, the play was average but my wife loved all the glitz during the quaters etc. she would like to go again where as I'd settle for the highlights, maybe there is something in it alright but I dont think it should be all trad Irish entertainment etc if the idea is to make the games more appealing to a greater number of people then maybe the entertainment could be more "worldly".
    It would be very easy to make a complete balls of the whole thing too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Anyone remember the Eircell All Stars ad on RTE TV, with a hurler from Galway at the end - missing tooth - "strictly for the glamour of course"

Theres your glamour, now bugger off!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Ridiculous suggestion. Dont mean disrespect to OP but it is just an awful idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Waylander wrote:
    Ridiculous suggestion. Dont mean disrespect to OP but it is just an awful idea.

Agreed. Cheerleaders in the GAA..are ya mad? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭solskjaer20

I was down at the Féile watching the brother play there last week. (Baile an Doire Na Seamróg abú!!)

Great craic.

KIlcoo of Down were the winners.